Your responsibilities under the Meat Regulation

What you should know if you raise, deal, handle or purchase livestock or poultry for slaughter

To help ensure a safe meat supply for consumers and to reduce the potential for food-borne illnesses, all meat offered for sale or distributed in Ontario must be inspected. The sale or distribution of uninspected meat is illegal.

Whether you are a commercial livestock producer, operate a small hobby farm, or buy and sell animals for slaughter, the meat from your livestock and poultry is subject to the same requirements under the Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001 and Regulation 31/05 (Meat Regulation).

The following information is provided for your protection, to help you understand your responsibilities and legal obligations as a producer or dealer of meat intended for sale or distribution.

What is the Meat Regulation?

Regulation 31/05 (Meat) under the Food Safety and Quality Act is administered by the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA). Its purpose is to help ensure that meat processed for consumption in Ontario meets food safety requirements. The regulation sets out requirements to ensure that animals are fit for slaughter, handled humanely and processed under sanitary conditions. All species of mammals and birds, raised in captivity and whose meat is intended for human consumption, are included in the regulation.

Under the regulation, all meat destined for sale or distribution, without exception, must originate from livestock or poultry slaughtered in provincially licensed or federally registered establishments, or imported from a federally recognized source.

In Ontario, no one can sell, transport, deliver or distribute meat unless:

  • The animal was inspected prior to slaughter (antemortem), approval for slaughter in accordance with the Meat Regulation, and the carcass was inspected following slaughter (post-mortem) and was approved for use as food in accordance with the Meat Regulation or the regulations under the Meat Inspection Act (Canada);
  • The animal was slaughtered in a plant operated by a provincially licensed operator or a federally registered establishment; and
  • The meat is stamped, labelled or tagged with an inspection legend.

In addition, no person can operate a slaughter facility without a licence.

What are my responsibilities under the Meat Regulation?

As a livestock or poultry producer or dealer in Ontario, you must ensure that your animals are slaughtered according to requirements under Regulation 31/05. If you intend to sell or distribute meat for human consumption, you have the legal obligation to ensure that your animals are slaughtered in a provincially licensed slaughter plant or federally registered establishment (websites are provided below to help you find a slaughter plant in your area).

Where do these requirements apply?

It is illegal to transport, deliver, sell or distribute uninspected meat anywhere in Ontario. All geographical areas of Ontario are covered in this requirement, without exception.

It is illegal to transport uninspected meat for any reason, including further processing, cutting and wrapping, distribution or sale.

How does the provincial meat inspection program work?

Through the application of the meat inspection program, OMAFRA's Food Inspection Branch ensures that provincially licensed slaughter plants comply with legislated standards for the production of safe meat products.

Skilled and knowledgeable meat inspectors, with veterinary support, are present in each slaughter plant, each day of slaughter, to inspect all animals and poultry intended for slaughter. Medium and large free-standing meat processing plants (meat plants that do not conduct slaughter activities) are usually inspected at a minimum once a month.

The meat inspection program monitors animal health, meat safety, the treatment of animals, proper handling of meat products, sanitation programs and water safety at Ontario's licensed plants.

In addition, each plant is audited annually by expert auditors contracted by the Ministry to ensure that they meet minimum requirements for provincial licensing.

What is the difference between provincial and federal slaughter plants?

All meat intended for sale or distribution in Ontario is subjected to full inspection before and after slaughter, whether in provincial slaughter plants or federally registered establishments, and both inspection programs receive full veterinary, laboratory and enforcement support.

The difference between federal and provincial inspection levels is one of scale and scope. While provincially licensed slaughter plants serve local livestock producers and can sell only within Ontario borders, currently only federally inspected establishments can sell across Canada and anywhere else in the world. Federally inspected plants tend to be much larger than provincially inspected plants.

What is "emergency slaughter"?

The Meat Regulation allows for the emergency slaughter of food animals outside of a slaughter plant in certain circumstances.

Emergency slaughter may only be performed where authorized by a regional veterinarian appointed by OMAFRA. A regional veterinarian can only approve emergency slaughter where it is necessary because an animal has escaped confinement, is injured and cannot be transported without undue suffering or distress, or cannot be transported without endangering the animal or persons.

An animal must undergo an ante mortem inspection by an OMAFRA appointed inspector or veterinary inspector before the animal can be approved for emergency slaughter and a meat plant approved by the regional veterinarian must be willing to accept the carcass for processing. Emergency slaughter must be performed in accordance with the regulations and the carcass must be transported to the approved meat plant within a specified time. Post mortem inspection must be completed by an OMAFRA appointed inspector or veterinary inspector within the time set by the regional veterinarian following slaughter. Provided all of these requirements are met and the carcass of the animal passes post mortem inspection, the carcass may be approved for processing and sale or distribution to the public.

Farmers who have an animal that appears to meet the criteria for emergency slaughter outside of a meat plant can contact a licensed meat plant operator to initiate the process. It should be noted that, under the Health Protection and Promotion Act administered by the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care, the presence of any uninspected meat in a food premises such as butcher shop or other food processing facility is prohibited.

Can I slaughter my own animals to feed my family?

Yes, provided you comply with on of the following options.

Option 1

Producers can slaughter animals and process the carcasses on the farm at any time of the year and are exempt from the Meat Regulations, provided all the following conditions are met:

  • The animals must be slaughtered for consumption by the producer or the producer's immediate family only,
  • The slaughter must be performed on the producer's premises by the producer or a certified examiner; and;
  • The meat must be consumed only by the producer or the producer's immediate family on the producer's premises.

The meat from an animal slaughtered under this option cannot be sold, delivered, distributed, or transported off the farm under any circumstances.

Am I allowed to hire a butcher to come to my farm and do the cutting and wrapping on site for me?

A producer exempt from the Meat Regulations, who meets all criteria described above, is not prohibited from hiring the services of a butcher to conduct cutting and wrapping activities on the farm where the animal was slaughtered. The meat cannot be sold, delivered, distributed, or transported off the farm under any circumstance.

Option 2

Cattle and swine producers who want to slaughter healthy animals on their farm and have the carcasses processed off the farm may engage in the Non-Emergency slaughter provisions in O. Reg 31/05 under the Food Safety and Quality Act 2001, provided the following conditions are met:

  • Only cattle under 30 months of age (UTM) and pigs are eligible to enter a meat plant under this provision;
  • An examiner certified for non-emergency, on-farm slaughter may provide stunning, slaughter and dressing services and must perform ante mortem and post mortem examinations;
  • Carcasses and products can only be transported to and from a provincially licenced meat plant;
  • Provincially licenced meat plants must be approved to process on-farm slaughtered carcasses and are only allowed to accept them up to a total of 16 weeks per year: a maximum of four weeks during the spring period (March 1 to April 30) and a maximum of 12 weeks during the fall period (September 1 to December 31);
  • Processing of products are limited by the regulation, to cutting, grinding, wrapping and/or freezing of beef or pork, and processing ham, bacon or sausage from pork only.
  • The products can only be consumed by the producer and their immediate family on the premises where the animal was slaughtered; and
  • Products cannot be sold, shared, donated or distributed.

For more information on teh Non-Emergency Slaughter procisions visit http://www.omafra.gov.on.ca/english/food/inspection/nes_titlepage.htm

Under the Health Protection and Promotion Act administered by the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care, the presence of any uninspected meat in a food premises such as a butcher shop or other food processing facility is prohibited unless otherwise specified in the Act.

Do requirements under the Meat Regulation apply to hunted game?

The Meat Regulation allows for and establishes standards for the hygienic processing of hunted game carcasses and products in provincially licensed meat plants. These plants require approval from an OMAFRA regional veterinarian.

All hunted game carcasses or products processed in a provincially licensed meat plant must be returned to the owner for consumption. They cannot be sold to the public.

Where can I find a licensed slaughter plant?

A list of provincially licensed slaughter plants is posted on OMAFRA's website at:
www.omafra.gov.on.ca/english/food/inspection/meatinsp/licenced_operators_list.htm

All federally registered establishments are listed at :

http://active.inspection.gc.ca/scripts/meavia/reglist/reglist.asp?lang=e

If a slaughter plant cannot be found on either list, it is probably not licensed to slaughter in Ontario.

What should I do if I become aware of illegal slaughter activity?

The Ontario government does not tolerate illegal slaughter. Government and partner organizations work jointly to uncover illegal slaughter operations and prosecute their operators.

If you have any information regarding meat processing activities you think may be illegal or may compromise food safety and public health, please call OMAFRA's 24-hour, toll-free Meat Inspection Hotline:

1-888-466-2372, ext. 64230

You may also call Crime Stoppers at: 1-800-222-TIPS (8477).

A team of expert investigators and compliance officers investigates tips and complaints regarding illegal slaughter. You will not be asked to provide your name or any other personal information.

What are the penalties for offences?

A person who breaks the law covering meat inspection is guilty of a serious offence. On conviction, the offender is liable for a first offence to a maximum fine of $25,000 for
each day or part of a day on which the offence occurs or continues; (or $50,000 for a subsequent offence for each day or part of a day on which the offence occurs or continues) or to imprisonment for a term of up to two years, or to both fine and imprisonment.

Where can I find more information?

For access to the complete act and regulations, please refer to the Ontario Statutes and Regulations website at www.e-laws.gov.on.ca. For more information about Ontario's meat inspection program, visit OMAFRA's website at www.omafra.gov.on.ca

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-888-466-2372 ext 6-4230
Local: (519) 826-4230
E-mail: foodinspection@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff Food Safety and Environment Division / Animal health and Welfare Branch / Veterinary Inspection and Audit
Creation Date: 07 December 2006
Last Reviewed: 07 January 2010

Vos obligations en vertu du règlement sur les viandes

Ce que vous devez savoir si vous élevez, vendez, manipulez ou achetez du bétail ou de la volaille destinés à l'abattage

Pour assurer la salubrité de l'approvisionnement en viandes pour les consommateurs et réduire le risque de maladies d'origine alimentaire, toutes les viandes vendues ou distribuées en Ontario doivent être inspectées. La vente ou la distribution de viande non inspectée est illégale.

Que vous soyez éleveur commercial de bétail, propriétaire d'une petite ferme d'agrément ou encore négociant d'animaux destinés à l'abattage, la viande provenant de votre bétail et de votre volaille est assujettie aux mêmes exigences en vertu de la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments et du Règlement 31/05 (règlement sur les viandes).

Les renseignements suivants vous sont fournis pour votre protection, et pour vous aider à comprendre vos responsabilités et les obligations que vous imposent la loi et le règlement en tant que producteur ou négociant de viande destinée à la vente ou à la distribution.

Qu'est-ce que le règlement sur les viandes?

Le Règlement 31/05 (viandes) pris en application de la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments est administré par le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAARO). Il vise à faire en sorte que la viande destinée à la consommation en Ontario réponde aux exigences en matière de salubrité alimentaire. Il contient des règles pour s'assurer que les animaux sont aptes à l'abattage, traités sans cruauté et transformés dans des conditions hygiéniques. Il s'applique à toutes les espèces de mammifères et d'oiseaux élevés en captivité et dont la viande est destinée à la consommation humaine.

En vertu du règlement, toute la viande destinée à la vente ou à la distribution, sans exception, doit provenir de bétail ou de volaille abattu dans un établissement titulaire d'un permis provincial ou agréé fédéral, ou encore importée d'une source reconnue par le gouvernement fédéral.

En Ontario, nul ne peut vendre, transporter, livrer ou distribuer de la viande à moins de respecter les conditions suivantes :

  • L'animal a été inspecté avant l'abattage (ante mortem), son abattage a été approuvé conformément au règlement sur les viandes, et la carcasse a été inspectée après l'abattage (post mortem) et approuvée pour usage alimentaire conformément au règlement sur les viandes ou aux règlements pris en application de la Loi sur l'inspection des viandes (Canada);
  • L'animal a été abattu dans un établissement exploité par un titulaire de permis provincial ou agréé fédéral;
  • La viande porte une estampille ou une étiquette d'inspection.

En outre, nul ne peut exploiter un abattoir sans permis.

Quelles sont mes responsabilités en vertu du règlement sur les viandes?

En tant que producteur ou négociant de bétail ou de volaille en Ontario, vous devez vous assurer que vos animaux sont abattus conformément au Règlement 31/05. Si vous avez l'intention de vendre ou de distribuer de la viande destinée à la consommation humaine, la loi vous oblige à faire en sorte que vos animaux soient abattus dans un abattoir titulaire d'un permis provincial ou agréé fédéral (voir les sites Web ci-dessous pour localiser un abattoir dans votre région).

Où s'appliquent ces exigences?

Il est illégal de transporter, de livrer, de vendre ou de distribuer de la viande non inspectée où que ce soit en Ontario. Cette exigence s'applique à toutes les régions de l'Ontario, sans exception.

Il est illégal de transporter de la viande non inspectée pour quelque raison que ce soit, y compris la transformation, le découpage, l'emballage, la distribution ou la vente.

Comment fonctionne le programme provincial d'inspection des viandes?

Dans le cadre du programme d'inspection des viandes, la Direction de l'inspection des aliments du MAAARO veille à ce que les abattoirs titulaires d'un permis provincial respectent les normes prévues dans la loi pour la fabrication de produits de viande salubres.

Des inspecteurs de viandes compétents sont sur place tous les jours dans les abattoirs pour inspecter tous les animaux destinés à l'abattage, et reçoivent l'appui de vétérinaires. Les petits et moyens établissements de transformation de la viande (qui ne font pas d'abattage) sont inspectés généralement une fois par semaine.

Le programme d'inspection des viandes a pour but de surveiller la santé des animaux, la salubrité des viandes, le traitement des animaux, la manutention des produits de la viande, les programmes d'assainissement et la salubrité de l'eau dans les établissements titulaires de permis de l'Ontario.

En outre, chaque établissement est vérifié chaque année par des vétérinaires experts pour s'assurer qu'il répond aux normes minimales pour l'obtention d'un permis provincial.

Quelle est la différence entre les abattoirs provinciaux et fédéraux?

La viande destinée à la vente ou à la distribution en Ontario doit faire l'objet d'une inspection complète avant et après l'abattage, que ce soit dans un établissement provincial ou un établissement agréé fédéral, et ces deux programmes d'inspection ont recours à des vétérinaires, à des laboratoires et à du personnel d'application de la loi.

Les programmes fédéral et provincial d'inspection varient sur le plan de leur envergure et de leur portée. Les abattoirs titulaires d'un permis provincial servent les producteurs de bétail locaux et peuvent vendre leurs produits uniquement en Ontario; par contre, à l'heure actuelle, seuls les établissements inspectés par le gouvernement fédéral peuvent vendre leurs produits dans tout le Canada et à l'étranger. Les abattoirs inspectés par le gouvernement fédéral sont généralement beaucoup plus gros que les abattoirs inspectés par la province.

Qu'est-ce que « l'abattage d'urgence »?

Le règlement sur les viandes permet l'abattage d'urgence d'animaux destinés à l'alimentation hors d'un abattoir, dans certaines circonstances.

L'abattage d'urgence peut être effectué uniquement avec l'autorisation d'un vétérinaire régional désigné par le MAAARO. Un vétérinaire régional approuve l'abattage d'urgence uniquement s'il est nécessaire parce qu'un animal s'est échappé du lieu où il était retenu, qu'il est blessé et ne peut être transporté sans qu'il ne souffre ou soit incommodé ou qu'il ne peut être transporté sans mettre en danger l'animal ou les personnes.

Un inspecteur ou un inspecteur vétérinaire délégué par le MAAARO doit effectuer une inspection ante mortem de l'animal avant que l'abattage d'urgence ne soit approuvé, et un établissement approuvé par le vétérinaire régional doit accepter la carcasse pour la transformer. Il faut effectuer l'abattage d'urgence selon la réglementation et transporter la carcasse à l'établissement dans un délai précis. L'inspection port mortem doit avoir lieu dans le délai établi par le vétérinaire régional après l'abattage.

Si toutes les exigences sont satisfaites et que la carcasse passe l'inspection post mortem, on peut la transformer et vendre ou distribuer la viande au public. Les éleveurs dont un animal semble répondre à ces critères peuvent communiquer avec un exploitant d'abattoir titulaire d'un permis en vue d'engager le processus. Soulignons qu'en vertu de la Loi sur la protection et la promotion de la santé administrée par le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée de l'Ontario, la présence de viande non inspectée dans un dépôt d'aliments comme une boucherie ou un établissement de transformation de la viande est interdite.

Puis-je abattre mes propres animaux pour nourrir ma famille?

Un producteur qui possède, élève et abat des animaux sur sa propriété est soustrait à l'application du règlement sur les viandes si toutes les conditions suivantes sont réunies :

  • Les animaux doivent être abattus pour la consommation par le producteur ou sa famille immédiate seulement;
  • L'abattage doit être effectué par le producteur sur sa propriété;
  • La viande doit être consommée uniquement par le producteur ou sa famille immédiate, sur la propriété du producteur.

La viande en question ne peut être vendue, livrée, distribuée ou transportée hors de l'exploitation agricole en aucune circonstance.

En outre, en vertu de la Loi sur la protection et la promotion de la santé administrée par le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée de l'Ontario, la présence de viande non inspectée dans un dépôt d'aliments comme une boucherie ou un établissement de transformation de la viande est interdite. La viande non inspectée provenant d'animaux abattus à la ferme doit être transformée, préparée et consommée à la ferme, uniquement par le producteur et sa famille immédiate.

Puis-je embaucher un boucher qui viendra dans mon exploitation pour faire le découpage et l'emballage de la viande?

Un producteur soustrait à l'application du règlement sur les viandes et qui répond à tous les critères précédents peut embaucher un boucher qui fera du découpage et de l'emballage sur place. Cependant, la viande en question ne peut être vendue, livrée, distribuée ou transportée hors de l'exploitation agricole en aucune circonstance.

Le règlement sur les viandes s'applique-t-il au gibier de chasse?

Le règlement sur les viandes permet la transformation hygiénique des carcasses de gibier de chasse et de produits connexes dans les abattoirs titulaires d'un permis provincial, et établit des normes à ce sujet. Ces abattoirs doivent recevoir l'approbation du directeur MAAARO.

Les carcasses de gibier de chasse et les produits qui en sont tirés et qui ont été transformés dans un abattoir titulaire d'un permis provincial doivent être remis au propriétaire pour sa consommation. Ils ne peuvent être vendus au public.

Où se trouvent les abattoirs titulaires de permis?

Une liste des abattoirs titulaires d'un permis provincial est affichée dans le site Web du MAAARO à : Établissements de transformation des viandes titulaires d'un permis provincial.

Les établissements agréés fédéraux figurent à l'adresse suivante : Rechercher la liste des établissements de viande agréés par le gouvernement fédéral et leurs exploitants autorisés.

Un abattoir qui ne figure sur ni l'une ni l'autre de ces listes n'est probablement pas autorisé à faire de l'abattage en Ontario.

Que dois-je faire si je suis témoin d'activités d'abattage illégales?

Le gouvernement de l'Ontario ne tolère pas l'abattage illégal. Avec des organismes partenaires, il s'emploie à découvrir les exploitations illégales et à poursuivre leurs propriétaires.

Si vous avez des renseignements à communiquer au sujet d'activités de transformation de la viande qui, selon vous, pourraient être illégales ou poser des risques pour la salubrité des aliments ou la santé publique, veuillez appeler la ligne d'inspection des viandes du MAAARO, accessible jour et nuit, au numéro suivant :

1 888 466-2372, poste 519 826-4230

Vous pouvez également appeler Échec au crime à 1 800 222-8477.

Une équipe d'enquêteurs spécialisés et d'agents de l'application des lois font enquête sur les informations et plaintes reçues au sujet d'activités possibles d'abattage illégal. Les appelants ne seront pas tenus de donner leur nom ou d'autres renseignements personnels.

Quelles sont les peines prévues en cas d'infraction?

Toute personne qui contrevient à la loi régissant l'inspection des viandes est coupable d'une infraction grave. Sur déclaration de culpabilité, le contrevenant est passible d'une amende maximum de 25 000 $ par jour ou partie d'une journée pour une première infraction (ou de 50 000 $ pour les infractions subséquentes) ou d'une peine d'emprisonnement pouvant aller jusqu'à deux ans, ou des deux.

Où peut-on obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires?

Pour obtenir le texte complet de la loi et du règlement, consulter le site Web des lois et règlements de l'Ontario. Pour des précisions sur le programme d'inspection des viandes de l'Ontario, visiter le site Web du MAAARO.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 07 decembre 2006
Dernière révision : 03 mars 2019