About the Meat Inspection Program

  1. Meat Inspection Training
  2. Monitoring and Surveillance
  3. Compliance Verification Audits
  4. Progressive Compliance
  5. Complaint Resolution
  6. Regulator's Code of Practice

An Introduction to Meat Safety in Ontario

Regulatory Programs in Meat Plants

Meat processing plants in Ontario are either federally registered or provincially licensed. Plants that ship meat products outside the province must be federally registered. All other plants are licensed by OMAF and MRA (Ontario Ministry of Agriculture and Food and Ministry of Rural Affairs) under the Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001 (FSQA).

Licensing and meat plant inspections are important checkpoints along the food safety chain. By tracking, recording and monitoring activities in meat plants, the ministry helps ensure that proper slaughter and meat handling procedures are achieved.

An OMAF inspector is present anytime slaughter is taking place at a provincially licensed abattoir. Inspectors ensure live animals are being treated humanely and are inspected before slaughter. All carcasses are inspected after slaughter to ensure that no unhealthy animals or unfit meat is introduced into the food chain. Inspectors also inspect premises, operational practices and ensure products are labeled properly.

Voluntary Programs in Meat Plants

OMAF works closely with industry groups, such as the Ontario Independent Meat Processors, to advance food safety in all provincial plants.

OMAF encourages the meat processing industry to adopt Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points (HACCP) programs. The Advantage Series of Food Safety programs, based on internationally recognized good manufacturing practices and HACCP, were specifically designed for Ontario's small and medium size food processors. The ministry has helped Ontario's abattoirs and free standing meat plants make necessary changes through the Meat Plant Assistance Program, the Growing Forward Food Safety and Traceability Initiative and the Traceability Foundations Initiative.

Meat Inspector Training in Ontario

Ontario's 170 meat inspectors, including meat hygiene officers and further processing inspectors, undergo comprehensive and rigorous training so they are thoroughly qualified and provide expert, consistent advice. Meat inspectors have many responsibilities including:

  • inspecting facilities for sanitation,
  • maintaining operational standards,
  • monitoring adherence to regulations regarding the manufacture, preparation, packaging and labeling of meat products,
  • ensuring the humane treatment of animals,
  • determining if live animals are healthy and fit for slaughter,
  • inspecting animal carcasses after slaughter to determine if they are fit for consumption,
  • approving carcasses and applying the inspection legend,
  • identifying carcasses and portions of carcasses suspected of disease, and
  • collecting samples for lab testing,
  • guarding against environmental contaminants.

Meat Inspector Training Program

Certification recognizes that an inspector appointed under the Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001 is fully qualified to conduct all inspection duties and related responsibilities in Ontario's provincially licensed meat plants. The training program contributes to uniformity of inspections across the province.

The Meat Inspection Program relies on veterinarians, subject matter experts (from within and outside the ministry), and experienced inspectors to help train newly hired meat inspection staff.

There are numerous checks and balances in Ontario's meat inspection system including: veterinary oversight (veterinary scientists, regional veterinarians); technical support (food scientists, regulatory specialists); regular laboratory testing; and compliance verification audits.

Monitoring and Surveillance

OMAF uses a microbiological monitoring program in provincially licensed meat plants that produce ready-to-eat meat products. Our meat inspectors collect samples of ready-to-eat meat products.

Test results are compared to Health Canada guidelines and shared with operators. If test results exceed Health Canada's acceptable limits the ministry notifies the Canadian Food Inspection Agency which then conducts a risk assessment and takes appropriate action, including a possible product recall. OMAF meat inspection staff work with plant operators as they implement a corrective action plan.

Monitoring test results gives operators important information regarding the effectiveness of food safety protocols in their plants. The program also provides useful information about areas of potential contamination in their meat plants and the safety of their ready-to-eat meat products.

Compliance Verification Audits

In addition to regular inspection services, all provincially licensed meat plants are periodically audited. A plant may be audited more often if it produces a high-risk product or has received an unsatisfactory rating. Provincially licensed abattoirs and freestanding meat plants are audited to verify their compliance with the food safety requirements outlined in the Meat Regulation. The Compliance Verification Program, administered by OMAF's Food Inspection Branch, uses veterinary experts and a third-party auditing service for food safety audits.

Audit Ratings

OMAF uses a rating system similar to that used by several jurisdictions for rating restaurant compliance with food safety requirements. There are three possible audit ratings:

  • "Pass" means the plant meets or exceeds regulatory requirements and can operate as a licensed meat plant.
  • A "Conditional Pass" means the plant needs to address certain deficiencies within a defined period of time to achieve a "Pass" rating and continue to operate as a licensed plant.
  • A plant that receives a "Fail" rating cannot operate and its license is suspended.

Immediately after an on-site audit the auditor holds an exit meeting with plant management, provides a summary of observations and highlights deficiencies. An OMAF manager meets plant management after the exit meeting to establish completion dates for any identified deficiencies.

The plant operator must ensure that all corrective action is completed by the due date. Compliance is monitored by OMAF meat inspection staff.

Managing Food Safety Risks Through Progressive Compliance

When it comes to meat plants, the primary purpose of the Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001 (FSQA) is to provide standards for the safe, humane slaughter of healthy food animals and the processing of meat products in an environment that manages and minimizes the health and food safety risks to the consumer.

A meat plant operator's responsibility is to produce safe food. To do so, meat plant staff must comply with the Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001 and its regulations.

When a meat plant operation is not in compliance, OMAF staff follow a progressive compliance protocol. A progressive approach may include:

  • educating the operator about food safety requirements,
  • establishing mutually agreed upon timelines with operators to address deficiencies,
  • a verbal warning,
  • issuing a warning letter outlining clear expectations,
  • stopping production at a plant for up to 24 hours,
  • placing products under detention so they cannot be transported or sold,
  • issuing a Compliance Order with specific conditions,
  • suspending the license to operate if the non-compliance is believed to be an immediate or serious threat to the health and/or safety of the public, any person or any animal, or there is a pattern of non-compliance that indicates a serious risk exists.
  • Suspension may lead to a hearing.

Complaint Resolution for Meat Plant Operators

OMAF is committed to ensuring meat plant operators are treated with professionalism, objectivity and respect. There may be instances when a meat plant operator feels his or her concerns are not being addressed satisfactorily. OMAF has a process in place to assist them.

If an operator has concerns related to an inspector's approach, or does not understand why an inspector asked for specific changes, operators can contact an OMAF area manager. Subsequently, operators can contact a regional manager.

As outlined in the Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001, plant operators can request a hearing about the status of their license or the disposition of detained meat products. An adjudicator decides, based on factual evidence and the legislative and regulatory requirements, what action should be taken. Hearing decisions are posted on OMAF's website for 30 days. An operator may request a hearing with respect to any regulatory issue. Operators can appeal hearing decisions to the Agriculture and Food Appeal Tribunal.

Regulator's Code of Practice

The Regulator's Code of Practice for provincial inspection, investigation and enforcement staff includes four service standards and seven elements of professionalism. For the full Code of Conduct meat inspection staff follow please visit www.omafra.gov.on.ca/english/food/inspection/code-profess.htm.

For more information you can visit ontario.ca/meatinspection.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAF Staff
Creation Date: 06 June 2011
Last Reviewed: 03 March 2014

À propos du Programme d'inspection des viandes

  1. Formation sur l'inspection des viandes
  2. Contrôle et surveillance
  3. Vérification de la conformité
  4. Mesures progressives en matière de conformité
  5. Règlement de plaintes
  6. Code de pratique des autorités de réglementation

Introduction à la salubrité des viandes en Ontario

Programmes de réglementation des établissements de transformation des viandes

Les établissements ontariens de transformation des viandes sont soit agréés par le gouvernement fédéral, soit titulaires d'un permis provincial. Les établissements qui expédient des produits de viande hors de la province doivent être agréés par le fédéral. Tous les autres détiennent un permis du MAAO aux termes de la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments (LQSA).

Les permis et les inspections des établissements sont d'importants maillons de la chaîne de salubrité des aliments. Le suivi, la consignation et le contrôle des activités des établissements de transformation des viandes nous permettent d'assurer l'adoption de procédures adéquates d'abattage des animaux et de manutention des viandes.

Un inspecteur du MAAO doit se trouver sur place chaque fois qu'il y a abattage dans un abattoir titulaire d'un permis provincial. La présence de l'inspecteur permet d'assurer que les animaux vivants sont traités sans cruauté et sont inspectés avant l'abattage. Toutes les carcasses doivent être inspectées ensuite pour s'assurer qu'aucun animal en mauvaise santé et qu'aucune viande impropre à la consommation ne se retrouve dans la chaîne alimentaire. Les inspecteurs examinent également les lieux, les pratiques opérationnelles et l'étiquetage approprié des produits.

Programmes facultatifs dans les établissements de transformation des viandes

Le MAAO collabore de près avec des représentants de l'industrie, comme l'Ontario Independent Meat Processors, pour promouvoir la salubrité des aliments dans tous les établissements de transformation des viandes de la province.

Le MAAO incite l'industrie à adopter des programmes d'analyse des risques et maîtrise des points critiques (HACCP). La Série de programmes Avantage pour la salubrité des aliments, fondée sur des bonnes pratiques de fabrication et le HACCP, qui sont reconnus dans le monde entier, a été conçue spécialement pour les petits et moyens établissements de transformation de l'Ontario. Le Ministère a aidé les abattoirs et les établissements de transformation des viandes autonomes de l'Ontario à faire les changements nécessaires, dans le cadre du Programme d'aide aux établissements de transformation des viandes, de l'Initiative de salubrité et de traçabilité des aliments (ISTA) qui fait partie du cadre stratégique Cultivons l'avenir, et de l'Initiative d'infrastructure pour la traçabilité.

Formation des Inspecteurs des Viandes en Ontario

Les 170 inspecteurs des viandes ontariens, y compris les agents de l'hygiène des viandes et les inspecteurs de transformation ultérieure, doivent suivre une formation rigoureuse et approfondie afin d'être parfaitement qualifiés et de pouvoir fournir des conseils uniformes en tant qu'experts. Les inspecteurs des viandes ont plusieurs responsabilités, dont les suivantes :

  • inspecter les installations pour vérifier l'hygiène;
  • maintenir des normes opérationnelles;
  • surveiller la conformité aux règlements concernant la fabrication, la préparation, l'emballage et l'étiquetage des produits de viande;
  • assurer le traitement sans cruauté des animaux;
  • déterminer si les animaux vivants sont en santé et aptes à l'abattage;
  • inspecter les carcasses d'animaux après l'abattage pour déterminer s'ils sont propres à la consommation;
  • approuver des carcasses et appliquer l'étiquette d'inspection;
  • identifier des carcasses et des parties de carcasses que l'on soupçonne malades;
  • recueillir des échantillons pour des tests en laboratoire;
  • assurer une protection contre les contaminants environnementaux.

Programme de formation des inspecteurs des viandes

Le certificat reconnaît qu'un inspecteur nommé en vertu de la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments est parfaitement compétent pour satisfaire tous ses devoirs d'inspection et responsabilités connexes dans les établissements de transformation titulaires d'un permis provincial de l'Ontario. Le programme de formation aide à réaliser des inspections uniformes à l'échelle de la province.

Le programme d'inspection des viandes se fie aux vétérinaires, aux spécialistes en la matière (au sein et à l'extérieur du Ministère) et aux inspecteurs expérimentés pour aider à former le nouveau personnel d'inspection des viandes.

Il y a de nombreux freins et contrepoids dans le système d'inspection des viandes de l'Ontario, y compris la surveillance des vétérinaires (scientifiques en médecine vétérinaire, vétérinaires régionaux), un appui technique (scientifiques dans le domaine des aliments et dans le domaine de la réglementation), des tests réguliers en laboratoire et des vérifications de la conformité.

Contrôle et Surveillance

Le MAAO utilise un programme de contrôle microbiologique réglementaire des établissements titulaires d'un permis provincial pour la transformation des produits de viande prêts à manger. Nos inspecteurs des viandes recueillent des échantillons de produits de viande prêts à manger.

Les résultats des tests sont comparés aux lignes directrices microbiologiques de Santé Canada et partagés avec les exploitants. Si les résultats dépassent les limites microbiologiques acceptables fixées par Santé Canada, le Ministère avise l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments qui effectue alors une évaluation des risques et prend les mesures nécessaires, y compris un rappel possible du produit. Le personnel d'inspection des viandes du MAAO collabore avec les exploitants des établissements lorsqu'ils mettent en œuvre des plans d'action correcteurs.

Le contrôle des résultats des tests fournit aux exploitants des renseignements importants sur l'efficacité des protocoles de salubrité des aliments dans leurs établissements. Le programme fournit également de l'information utile concernant les zones de contamination possibles dans leurs établissements et la salubrité de leurs produits de viande prêts à manger.

Vérification de la Conformité

En plus des inspections régulières, tous les établissements ayant un permis provincial doivent se soumettre à des vérifications périodiques. Ces vérifications peuvent être plus fréquentes si les produits comportent des risques élevés ou si l'établissement a déjà obtenu une cote insatisfaisante. Les vérifications des abattoirs et des établissements autonomes de transformation des viandes titulaires d'un permis provincial servent à évaluer le respect des exigences en matière de salubrité des aliments qui sont prescrites par le règlement sur les viandes. Le programme d'inspection des viandes, administré par la Direction de l'inspection des aliments du MAAO, utilise des spécialistes du domaine de la médecine vétérinaire et un service de vérification par un tiers pour effectuer des vérifications de la salubrité des aliments.

Cotes résultant des vérifications

Le MAAO se sert d'un système de cotes similaires à celui utilisé dans plusieurs autres compétences pour évaluer la conformité de restaurants aux exigences en matière de salubrité des aliments. L'échelle comporte trois cotes :

  • « Réussite »signifie que l'établissement remplit les exigences réglementaires minimales ou les dépasse et peut poursuivre ses activités comme établissement titulaire d'un permis.
  • Une « réussite conditionnelle »signifie que l'établissement doit remédier à certaines lacunes dans un délai donné pour obtenir la cote « réussite »et peut poursuivre ses activités comme établissement titulaire d'un permis.
  • L'établissement qui reçoit la cote « échec »doit cesser ses activités et son permis est suspendu.

Dès qu'ils ont terminé la vérification sur place, les vérificateurs tiennent avec la direction de l'établissement une réunion de bilan durant laquelle ils résument les observations et ils signalent les lacunes. Un chef de service du MAAO rencontre la direction de l'établissement après la réunion de bilan pour dresser un calendrier des mesures nécessaires pour corriger les lacunes identifiées en précisant les délais.

L'exploitant de l'établissement doit s'assurer que toutes les mesures correctives ont été effectuées d'ici la date d'échéance. La conformité est contrôlée par le personnel d'inspection des viandes du MAAO.

Gérer les Risques pour la Salbrité des Aliments avec des Mesures Progressives en Matière de Conformité

Pour les établissements de transformation des viandes, l'objectif principal de la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments est de fournir des normes assurant l'abattage sécuritaire et sans cruauté d'animaux en santé propres à la consommation et la transformation des produits de viande dans un milieu capable de gérer et de minimiser les risques de santé et de salubrité des aliments pour les consommateurs.

La responsabilité de l'exploitant d'établissement de transformation des viandes est de produire des aliments salubres. Pour ce faire, le personnel de ces établissements doit respecter la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments et ses règlements connexes.

Lorsqu'un établissement de transformation des viandes ne se conforme pas à la loi et aux règlements, le personnel du MAAO suit un protocole de mesures progressives en matière de conformité. Une démarche de mesures progressives peut comprendre :

  • éduquer l'exploitant au sujet des exigences de salubrité des aliments;
  • établir des délais fixés par entente mutuelle avec les exploitants pour traiter les lacunes;
  • donner un avertissement verbal;
  • délivrer une lettre d'avertissement identifiant clairement les attentes;
  • cesser la production dans un établissement pendant un maximum de 24 heures;
  • retenir des produits pour qu'ils ne puissent pas être transportés ou vendus;
  • délivrer un ordre de conformité avec des conditions précises;
  • suspendre le permis d'exploitation si le fait de ne pas se conformer semble poser un danger immédiat ou grave pour la santé et/ou la sécurité du public, de toute personne ou de tout animal, ou il y a des antécédents de non-conformité qui montrent qu'un risque important se pose;
  • tenir une audience à la suite de la suspension.

Règlement des plaintes pour les exploitants d'établissements de transformation des viandes

Le MAAO s'engage à ce que les exploitants d'établissements de transformation des viandes soient traités avec professionnalisme, objectivité et respect. Dans le cadre de vos fonctions d'exploitant d'établissement de transformation des viandes, il se peut que vos revendications ne soient pas entendues selon vos attentes. Le MAAO veut vous aider et a un processus en place pour ce faire.

Voici la marche à suivre en cas de revendications concernant les interventions d'un inspecteur ou en cas d'incompréhension des raisons pour lesquelles un inspecteur a demandé d'apporter certains changements. L'exploitant peut communiquer avec un chef de secteur du MAAO. Ensuite, l'exploitant peut communiquer avec un chef régional.

Tel qu'établi dans la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments, un exploitant d'établissement de transformation des viandes peut demander la tenue d'une audience pour savoir ce qui se passe avec son permis ou ce qu'il doit faire avec les produits de viande retenus. Un arbitre décide, en se fondant sur les preuves factuelles ainsi que sur les exigences légales et réglementaires, des mesures qui doivent être prises. Les décisions découlant des audiences sont affichées sur le site Web du MAAO pendant 30 jours. Un exploitant peut demander une audience concernant tout problème de réglementation. Les exploitants peuvent appeler d'une décision d'une audience auprès du Tribunal d'appel de l'agriculture, de l'alimentation et des affaires rurales.

Code de pratique des autorités de réglementation

Le Code de déontologie qui vise le personnel chargé des inspections, des enquêtes et de l'application des règlements comprend quatre normes de service et sept éléments de professionnalisme. Pour consulter la version complète du Code de déontologie que doit respecter le personnel d'inspection des viandes, visitez www.omafra.gov.on.ca/french/food/inspection/code-profess.htm.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, vous pouvez visiter ontario.ca/inspectiondesviandes.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 26 juillet 2011
Dernière révision : 03 mars 2014