Federal/Provincial/Territorial Interprovincial Meat Trade Pilot Project

On December 6, 2010, the federal government announced the launch of the federal provincial-territorial interprovincial meat trade pilot project.

Ontario's meat plants are important to producers and to the provincial economy. That's why the Ontario government is working with the federal government to explore ways to make it easier for smaller meat plants to reach new markets.

This initiative is intended to help small- and medium-sized businesses meet federal meat hygiene rules for interprovincial trade. A limited number of pilots will be selected across Canada. Although only one or two Ontario provincially licensed meat plants will be selected as pilots, the pilot project results will help remove barriers to interprovincial trade and help plants interested in selling beyond Ontario's borders, no matter what their size.

The federal government is committing up to $3 million to the project. Provinces are looking at funding options for their contribution toward the pilot, and the pilot plants will be expected to fund part of the cost of the project.

 



For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff)
Creation Date: 01 December 2010
Last Reviewed: 17 May 2011

Projet pilote fédéral-provincial-territorial sur le commerce interprovincial des viandes

Le 6 décembre 2010, le gouvernement fédéral annonçait le lancement du projet pilote fédéral-provincial-territorial sur le commerce interprovincial des viandes.

Les établissements de transformation des viandes de l'Ontario sont importants pour les producteurs et pour l'économie provinciale. C'est pourquoi le gouvernement de l'Ontario cherche, avec le gouvernement fédéral, des moyens de faciliter la tâche aux petits établissements de transformation des viandes qui veulent pénétrer de nouveaux marchés.

Ce projet vise à aider les petites et moyennes entreprises (abattoirs et établissements de transformation sans abattoir) à se conformer aux exigences de l'administration fédérale en matière d'hygiène des viandes pour le commerce interprovincial. Un nombre limité d'établissements sélectionnés dans l'ensemble du Canada y participeront. Même si ces participants comprendront seulement un ou deux établissements titulaires d'un permis en Ontario, ce projet pilote contribuera à éliminer les obstacles entravant le commerce interprovincial et aidera donc les établissements qui veulent développer une clientèle en dehors de l'Ontario, peu importe leur taille.

Le gouvernement fédéral investira dans le projet des sommes pouvant atteindre trois millions de dollars. Les provinces sont quant à elles en train de déterminer les sources de financement qu'elles utiliseront pour le projet pilote, et les établissements participants devront aussi payer une partie des coûts.

 


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 01 décembre 2010
Dernière révision : 17 mai 2011