Provincial Meat Plant Decision Tree

The Provincial Meat Plant Decision Tree (Do You Operate A Provincial Meat Plant?) is a tool created by the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) to help potential meat plant operators understand the compliance and regulatory framework that may apply to their business practices based on the activities they conduct.

The Provincial Meat Plant Decision Tree (Do You Operate a Provincial Meat Plant?) is a tool created by the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) which takes someone through a series of questions to help potential meat plant operators understand the compliance and regulatory framework that may apply to their business practices based on the activities they conduct.

First question is are you federally registered?

If you are federally registered, you are subject to federal inspection (Canadian Food Inspection Agency) under the Meat Inspection Act.

If you are not federally registered, do you slaughter food animals?

If you slaughter food animals, you require a licence to operate a provincial meat plant and are subject to OMAFRA inspection under the Meat Regulation.

If you do not slaughter food animals, is more than 50 per cent of your business a food service premise? Food Service Premise as defined in the Food Premises Regulation means any food premise where meals or meal portions are prepared for immediate consumption or sold or served in a form that will permit immediate consumption on the premises or elsewhere.

If more than 50 per cent of your business is a food service premise, you are subject to public health inspection under the Food Premises Regulation.

If more than 50 per cent of your business is not a food service premise, do you prepare only pizza, sandwiches, bouillon or edible oil or fat or products that contain 25 per cent meat or less (by weight)?

If you prepare only pizza, sandwiches, bouillon or edible oil or fat or products that contain 25 per cent meat or less (by weight), you are subject to public health inspection under the Food Premises Regulation.

If you do not prepare only pizza, sandwiches, bouillon or edible oil or fat or products that contain 25 per cent meat or less (by weight), do you conduct any "Category 2 activities"?

Category 2 activities as defined by the Meat Regulation are canning, curing, dehydrating, emulsifying, fermenting or smoking of a meat product, processing burnt heads or feet of cattle or sheep, unfinished green tripe or casings, bile, blood products containing salt or other ingredients or reproductive organs from the carcasses of food animals, preparing mechanically separated meat, any other processing activity performed in respect of a carcass, a part of a carcass or a meat product that in the opinion of a director presents a medium to high risk of adversely affecting the safety for human consumption of the carcass, the part of the carcass or the meat product, as the case may be, and receiving, skinning, cutting, wrapping, freezing farm slaughtered carcasses, grinding meat from farm slaughtered carcasses and processing ham, bacon and sausage from farm slaughtered carcasses that are derived from pigs.

If you conduct any "Category 2 activities" you require a licence to operate a provincial meat plant and are subject to OMAFRA inspection under the Meat Regulation.

If you do not conduct any Category 2 activities, do you conduct any "Category 1 activities"? Category 1 activities as defined by the Meat Regulation are aging or breaking of a carcass or a part of a carcass, aging, boning, comminution, cutting, fabrication, marinating, slicing or tenderizing of a meat product, packaging of a meat product for wholesale or other sale or distribution to persons other than consumers, pre-packaging of a meat product, cooking of ready-to-serve meat products for the purpose of immediate consumption, and any other processing activity performed in respect of a carcass, a part of a carcass or a meat product that in the opinion of a director presents a low risk of adversely affecting the safety for human consumption of the carcass, the part of the carcass or the meat product, as the case may be.

If you do not conduct any "Category 1 activities", you are subject to public health inspection under the Food Premises Regulation.

If you do conduct any Category 1 activities, do you sell or distribute more than 20,000 kg of meat products to other businesses?

If you do not sell or distribute more than 20,000 kg of meat products to other businesses, you are subject to public health inspection under the Food Premises Regulation.

If you do you sell or distribute more than 20,000 kg of meat products to other businesses, do the sales to other businesses account for more than 25 per cent of meat products sold by your business?

If the sales to other businesses do not account for more than 25 per cent of meat products sold by your business, you are subject to public health inspection under the Food Premises Regulation.

If the sales to other businesses account for more than 25 per cent of meat products sold by your business, then you require a licence to operate a provincial meat plant and are subject to OMAFRA inspection under the Meat Regulation.

This document is effective October 21, 2016 and is for summary and information purposes only. For specific details refer to Ontario Regulation 31/05 (Meat). Some businesses may be subject to inspection by both OMAFRA and public health. The regulation may apply differently than indicated above in specific situations.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Meat Inspection Program
Creation Date: 09 February 2017
Last Reviewed: 09 February 2017

L'arbre décisionnel des établissements provinciaux de transformation des viandes

L'Arbre de décision pour les établissements provinciaux de transformation des viandes (Exploitez-vous un établissement provincial de transformation des viandes??) est un outil mis au point par le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAARO) pour aider les personnes qui souhaitent exploiter un établissement de transformation des viandes à comprendre le cadre de conformité et la structure réglementaire qui peuvent s'appliquer à leurs pratiques commerciales en fonction des activités qui y sont réalisées.

L'arbre décisionnel des établissements provinciaux de transformation des viandes (Exploitez-vous un établissement provincial de transformation des viandes?) est un outil élaboré par le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAARO) qui présente une série de questions visant à aider les exploitants potentiels d'établissements de transformation des viandes à comprendre le cadre de conformité et de réglementation pouvant s'appliquer à leurs pratiques commerciales selon les activités qu'ils exercent.

La première question est la suivante : Êtes-vous agréé par le gouvernement fédéral?

Si c'est le cas, vous êtes soumis à des inspections fédérales (Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments) en vertu de la Loi sur l'inspection des viandes.

Si vous n'êtes pas agréé par le gouvernement fédéral, est-ce que vous abattez des animaux pour alimentation humaine?

Dans l'affirmative, vous avez besoin d'un permis pour exploiter un établissement provincial de transformation des viandes et êtes soumis à des inspections du MAAARO en vertu du règlement sur les viandes.

Si vous n'abattez pas d'animaux pour alimentation humaine, est-ce que plus de 50 % de vos activités sont propres à un lieu de restauration? Au sens du règlement sur les lieux de restauration, un lieu de restauration est tout lieu où des repas ou des portions de repas sont préparés pour consommation immédiate ou sont vendus ou servis sous une forme qui en permet la consommation immédiate sur place ou ailleurs.

Si plus de 50 % de vos activités sont propres à un lieu de restauration, vous êtes soumis à des inspections effectuées par les bureaux de santé publique en vertu du règlement sur les lieux de restauration.

Si plus de 50 % de vos activités ne sont pas propres à un lieu de restauration, est-ce que vous préparez seulement des pizzas, des sandwiches, des bouillons, des graisses ou huiles alimentaires ou des produits qui contiennent 25 % de viande ou moins (en poids)?

Dans l'affirmative, vous êtes soumis à des inspections effectuées par les bureaux de santé publique en vertu du règlement sur les lieux de restauration.

Si vous ne préparez pas seulement des pizzas, des sandwiches, des bouillons, des graisses ou huiles alimentaires ou des produits qui contiennent 25 % de viande ou moins (en poids), exercez-vous des activités de catégorie 2?

Les activités de catégorie 2 définies dans le règlement sur les viandes sont les suivantes : la mise en conserve, le saumurage, la déshydratation, la mise en émulsion, la fermentation ou le fumage d'un produit de viande, la transformation de têtes ou de pieds de bovins ou d'ovins passés à la flamme, de tripes ou de boyaux verts non blanchis, de bile, de produits à base de sang contenant du sel ou autres ingrédients ou d'organes reproductifs provenant de carcasses d'animaux pour alimentation humaine, la préparation de la viande séparée mécaniquement, toute autre activité de transformation menée à l'égard d'une carcasse, d'une partie de carcasse ou d'un produit de viande qui, selon un directeur, présente un risque moyen à élevé de rendre la carcasse, la partie ou le produit impropre à la consommation humaine ainsi que la réception, le dépouillement, le dépeçage, l'enveloppage ou la congélation de carcasses d'animaux abattus à la ferme, le hachage de la viande provenant de telles carcasses et la transformation du jambon, du bacon et de la saucisse provenant de telles carcasses s'il s'agit de porcs.

Si vous exercez des activités de catégorie 2, vous avez besoin d'un permis pour exploiter un établissement provincial de transformation des viandes et êtes soumis à des inspections du MAAARO en vertu du règlement sur les viandes.

Si vous n'exercez pas des activités de catégorie 2, exercez-vous des activités de catégorie 1? Les activités de catégorie 1 définies dans le règlement sur les viandes sont les suivantes : la maturation ou le cassage d'une carcasse ou partie de carcasse, la maturation, le désossage, le hachage fin, le dépeçage, la fabrication, le marinage, le tranchage ou l'attendrissement d'un produit de viande, l'emballage d'un produit de viande en vue de sa vente en gros ou autre ou de sa distribution à d'autres personnes que des consommateurs, le préemballage d'un produit de viande, la cuisson de produits de viande prêts à servir en vue de leur consommation immédiate ainsi que toute autre activité de transformation menée à l'égard d'une carcasse, d'une partie de carcasse ou d'un produit de viande qui, selon un directeur, présente un faible risque de rendre la carcasse, la partie ou le produit impropre à la consommation humaine.

Si vous n'exercez pas des activités de catégorie 1, vous êtes soumis à des inspections effectuées par les bureaux de santé publique en vertu du règlement sur les lieux de restauration.

Si vous exercez des activités de catégorie 1, vendez-vous ou distribuez-vous plus de 20 000 kilos de produits de viande à d'autres entreprises?

Dans la négative, vous êtes soumis à des inspections effectuées par les bureaux de santé publique en vertu du règlement sur les lieux de restauration.

Si vous vendez ou distribuez plus de 20 000 kilos de produits de viande à d'autres entreprises, est-ce que vos ventes à d'autres entreprises représentent plus de 25 % des produits de viande vendus par votre entreprise?

Si ce n'est pas le cas, vous êtes soumis à des inspections effectuées par les bureaux de santé publique en vertu du règlement sur les lieux de restauration.

Si vos ventes à d'autres entreprises représentent plus de 25 % des produits de viande vendus par votre entreprise, vous avez besoin d'un permis pour exploiter un établissement provincial de transformation des viandes et êtes soumis à des inspections du MAAARO en vertu du règlement sur les viandes.

Le présent résumé est en vigueur à compter du 21 octobre 2016 et n'est fourni qu'à titre indicatif. Pour obtenir des détails, se reporter au Règlement de l'Ontario 31/05 (Viandes). Des entreprises peuvent être soumises à la fois à des inspections du MAAARO et à des inspections effectuées par les bureaux de santé publique. Le règlement peut s'appliquer différemment de ce qui est indiqué ci-dessus dans des situations particulières.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Meat Inspection Program
Date de création : 09 February 2017
Dernière révision : 09 February 2017