The Meat Plant Audit Program

Information for operators of provincially licensed meat plants

The Ontario government is committed to continuing to strengthen and support Ontario's strong record of food safety.

The safety of Ontario's meat supply is regulated by the Meat Regulation (O. Reg. 31/05) under the Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001. Apart from federally registered establishments, meat plants that slaughter and/or produce meat and meat products for sale only in Ontario are provincially licensed and inspected by the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA).

In addition to regular inspection services, all provincially licensed meat plants are subject to periodic compliance verification audits. The Meat Plant Audit Program is administered by the Food Inspection Branch of OMAFRA.

Why are meat plants audited?

Provincially licensed abattoirs and freestanding meat plants are audited to verify their compliance with the food safety requirements as set out in the Meat Regulation. A compliance verification audit is a point-in-time that provides a picture of a plant's food safety performance against the regulatory requirements.

Who does the audit?

The Food Inspection Branch administers the Meat Plant Audit Program using veterinary and food safety experts as auditors. Ministry veterinarians conduct the compliance verification audits in abattoirs. QMI-SAI Canada Limited has been selected, through a competitive procurement process, to conduct the compliance verification audits in freestanding meat plants as well as the processing portion of slaughter plants that carry out processing activities that have an increased food safety risk, such as curing, dehydrating, fermenting or smoking a meat product.

How often will my plant be audited?

All provincially licensed plants are audited periodicially. A plant may be audited more often if it is producing a higher-risk product or has received an unsatisfactory rating. Plant operators are generally notified when their audit will occur.

How does the audit work?

Auditors conduct on-site visits to review the overall structure, operations and documentation of a meat plant. Findings are assessed against the regulatory requirements, using the Meat Plant Guidelines (MPGs), to determine whether or not the plant is compliant. The MPGs are a resource and a tool used to assist auditors in the assessment of a meat plant's compliance with the regulatory requirements.

Compliance verification audits cover the following areas:

  • Premises, Facilities and Equipment of Meat Plants
  • Water Used in Meat Plants
  • Operation of Meat Plants
  • Personnel at Meat Plants
  • Slaughter of Food Animals (including humane handling and animal welfare standards)
  • Inedible Materials
  • Meat Products - Process Controls
  • Meat Product Standards
  • Inspection Legend, Labelling and Packaging
  • Transportation Standards
  • Distribution Records, Recall Procedure and Notice to the Public

Each MPG standard has been assigned an objective risk ranking (low, medium, high, significant-high or critical-high). The risk ranking is a score that reflects the food safety impact of a deficiency for that particular standard. The ranking of the standards maximizes the objectivity and transparency of the compliance verification process.

For example, there would be a lower impact on food safety if a plant does not meet the requirement for clearly posting notices outlining the plant visitor policy at the plant entrances versus a significant-high food safety risk if the plant's refrigerated storage fails to maintain an internal meat/meat product temperature of 4ºC or less.

Audit ratings

Following the audit, the plant receives an audit rating which reflects the types and number of deficiencies that are noted during the audit. As of September 1, 2010, a simplified audit rating system was implemented to improve transparency. This easy-to-understand system is similar to that used by several jurisdictions for evaluating food safety at restaurants.

There are three possible audit ratings:

Rating
What the rating means:
Pass

When no critical or significant high-risk deficiencies are observed or the total number of deficiencies observed falls within defined limits.

The plant meets or exceeds regulatory requirements and can operate as a licensed plant.

Conditional Pass

When one or more significant high-risk deficiencies are observed or the total number of deficiencies observed exceeds defined acceptable limits.

The plant needs to address certain deficiencies within a defined period of time to achieve a "Pass" rating and continue to operate as a licensed plant.

Fail

When one or more critical high-risk deficiencies are observed or the total number of deficiencies observed exceeds defined acceptable limits.

The plant cannot operate and its licence is suspended.

All meat plants that receive a "Pass" rating following the audit or move into a "Pass" rating following appropriate corrective action(s) are included on the published list of licensed meat plants on OMAFRA's website. This list is updated regularly.

What happens when the audit is completed?

Immediately after the on-site audit has been completed, the auditor holds and exit meeting with the plant management, provides a summary of observations and highlights deficiencies. Following the exit meeting:

  • Ministry inspection staff ensure that any deficiencies identified during an audit, that may have an immediate impact on food safety, are addressed and corrected right away so that they do not represent a risk to public health. If a critical public health issue exists, the operator's licence may be provisionally suspended.
  • Ministry inspection staff schedule a corrective action plan (CAP) meeting with the operator. The timing of that meeting depends on the plant's audit rating.
  • During the CAP meeting, participants agree on an action plan and timelines to correct deficiencies found in the plant as the result of the audit.
  • Ministry inspection staff monitor the implementation of the CAP, work with the plant operator, and provide assistance and advice to deal with the corrective action plan and any food safety or animal welfare issues identified in the audit.

Failure on the part of the plant operator to meet the agreed upon CAP action-by-dates may result in progressive compliance action.

What happens if my licence is suspended?

If a plant's licence to operate is suspended as a result of the compliance verification audit, a notice of opportunity for a hearing before a Director is sent to the operator. Ministry staff will work with the plant operator and provide compliance assistance and advice.

A plant's licence may only be reinstated once a hearing has been held and/or the Director is satisfied that the corrective action(s), taken by plant operator to bring the plant's compliance to an acceptable level, has been completed.

For additional information contact:


Veterinary Inspection and Audit Unit
Food Inspection Branch
Minstry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
5th Floor, 1 Stone Road West
Guelph, ON N1G 4Y2
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Tel: 1-519-826-1300
Author: Food Safety and Environment Division/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 17 February 2002
Last Reviewed: 13 February 2012

Programme de vérification des établissements de transformation des viandes

Renseignements à l'intention des exploitants d'établissements de transformation des viandes titulaires d'un permis provincial

Le gouvernement de l'Ontario est déterminé à améliorer encore davantage les excellents résultats enregistrés dans la province en matière de salubrité des aliments.

La salubrité des viandes en Ontario est régie par le règlement sur les viandes (Règlement de l'Ontario 31/05), pris en application de la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments. À l'exception des établissements titulaires d'un permis fédéral, les établissements qui abattent des animaux ou qui produisent des viandes ou des produits à base de viande vendus exclusivement en Ontario détiennent un permis provincial et sont assujettis à des inspections du ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales (MAAARO).

En plus des inspections régulières, tous les établissements ayant un permis provincial doivent se soumettre à des vérifications périodiques de la conformité. Le Programme de vérification des établissements de transformation des viandes est administré par la Direction de l'inspection des aliments du MAAARO.

Pourquoi les établissements de transformation des viandes subissen t-ils des vérifications?

Les vérifications des abattoirs et des établissements de transformation de la viande sans abattoir qui sont titulaires d'un permis provincial servent à évaluer le respect des exigences en matière de salubrité des aliments qui sont prescrites par le règlement sur les viandes. Elles permettent de clairement mesurer de façon ponctuelle le rendement d'un établissement en matière de salubrité des aliments par rapport aux exigences réglementaires.

Qui procède aux vérifications?

C'est la Direction de l'inspection des aliments qui administre le Programme de vérification des établissements de transformation des viandes et ce sont des vétérinaires et des experts de la salubrité des aliments qui jouent le rôle de vérificateurs. Les vétérinaires du ministère procèdent aux vérifications de la conformité dans les abattoirs. WMI-SAI Canada ltée est l'entreprise qui a été retenue à la suite d'un processus d'appel d'offres pour la réalisation des vérifications de la conformité dans les établissements de transformation de la viande sans abattoir ainsi que dans la partie consacrée à la transformation des viandes des abattoirs exerçant des activités de transformation qui représentent des risques accrus pour la salubrité des aliments, comme la salaison, la déshydratation, la fermentation ou la fumaison des produits à base de viande.

À quelle fréquence mon établissement subira-t-il des vérifications?

Tous les établissements titulaires d'un permis provincial subissent des vérifications périodiques, qui peuvent être plus fréquentes si les produits comportent des risques élevés ou si l'établissement a déjà obtenu une cote insatisfaisante. Les établissements savent généralement à l'avance quand ils subiront leur vérification.

Comment se déroulent les vérifications?

Les vérificateurs examinent sur place la structure générale, le fonctionnement et la documentation de l'établissement. On compare les données recueillies aux exigences réglementaires, à l'aide des lignes directrices (Meat Plant Guidelines, en anglais seulement), pour déterminer si l'établissement est conforme à ces exigences. Ce document est un outil dont se servent les vérificateurs pour évaluer le degré de conformité des établissements aux exigences réglementaires.

Les vérifications de la conformité englobent les aspects suivants :

  • les lieux, les installations et l'équipement de l'établissement de transformation des viandes
  • l'eau utilisée par l'établissement
  • le fonctionnement de l'établissement
  • le personnel de l'établissement
  • l'abattage des animaux destinés à l'alimentation (y compris les normes en matière de bien être des animaux et de traitement exempt de cruauté)
  • les matières non comestibles
  • les contrôles des processus pour les produits à base de viande
  • les normes pour les produits à base de viande
  • la légende d'inspection des viandes, l'étiquetage et l'emballage
  • les normes de transport
  • les registres de distribution, la procédure de rappel et les avis au public.

Un niveau de risque objectif a été attribué à chaque norme des lignes directrices (faible, moyen, élevé, très élevé et extrêmement élevé). Il indique les effets sur la salubrité des aliments du non-respect de la norme en question. Le classement des normes vient maximiser l'objectivité et la transparence du processus de vérification.

Par exemple, les effets sur la salubrité des aliments seraient moins importants si un établissement négligeait de placer bien en vue aux entrées un avis énonçant sa politique sur les visiteurs que si ses réfrigérateurs n'arrivaient pas à maintenir une température interne de 4 oC ou moins pour les viandes et les produits à base de viande.

Cotes résultant des vérifications

Après une vérification, l'établissement reçoit une cote basée sur le nombre et la gravité des lacunes observées durant la vérification. Le 1er septembre 2010, on a implanté une échelle de cotation simplifiée pour améliorer la transparence. Cette échelle, plus facile à comprendre, est semblable à celle employée à différents endroits en dehors de l'Ontario pour évaluer la salubrité des aliments dans les restaurants.

L'échelle comporte trois cotes.

Cote
Signification
Réussite

Aucune lacune pour des normes ayant un niveau de risque très élevé ou extrêmement élevé n'a été observée et le nombre total de lacunes ne dépasse pas la limite établie.

L'établissement remplit les exigences réglementaires minimales ou les dépasse et peut poursuivre ses activités comme établissement titulaire d'un permis.

Réussite conditionnelle

Une ou plusieurs lacunes pour des normes ayant un niveau de risque très élevé ont été observées ou le nombre total de lacunes dépasse la limite acceptable établie.

L'établissement doit remédier à certaines lacunes dans un délai donné pour obtenir la cote <<Réussite>> et peut poursuivre ses activités comme établissement titulaire d'un permis.

Échec

Une ou plusieurs lacunes pour des normes ayant un niveau de risque extrêmement élevé ont été observées ou le nombre total de lacunes dépasse la limite acceptable établie.

L'établissement doit cesser ses activités et son permis est suspendu.

Tous les établissements de transformation des viandes qui reçoivent la cote <<réussite>> à la suite d'une vérification ou après avoir pris des mesures correctives appropriées figurent dans la liste des établissements de transformation des viandes titulaires d'un permis affichée dans le site Web du MAAARO. Cette liste est mise à jour régulièrement.

Que se passe-t il après une vérification?

Dès qu'ils ont terminé la vérification sur place, les vérificateurs tiennent avec la direction de l'établissement une réunion de bilan durant laquelle ils résument les observations et ils signalent les lacunes, et voici ce qui est fait par la suite.

  • Les inspecteurs du ministère voient à ce que les lacunes observées durant la vérification qui représentent des risques immédiats pour la salubrité des aliments fassent l'objet d'une intervention immédiate, de manière à éviter les dangers pour la santé publique. Dans les cas où il existe un danger important pour la santé publique, le permis de l'établissement peut être suspendu temporairement.
  • Les inspecteurs du ministère organisent une réunion visant à établir le plan de mesures correctives avec l'exploitant, dans un délai qui dépend de la cote obtenue par l'établissement durant la vérification.
  • Durant cette réunion, les participants conviennent du plan d'action et des délais impartis pour remédier aux lacunes observées à l'établissement durant la vérification.
  • Les inspecteurs du ministère supervisent la mise en œuvre du plan, travaillent en collaboration avec l'exploitant et lui fournissent de l'aide et des conseils pour l'application du plan de mesures correctives et le règlement de tout problème relevé durant la vérification qui concerne la salubrité des aliments ou le bien-être des animaux.

L'exploitant qui ne respecte pas le calendrier pour l'application du plan de mesures correctives s'expose à des sanctions progressives.

Que se passe-t il si mon permis est suspendu?

Si le permis d'un établissement est suspendu à la suite d'une vérification de la conformité, un avis de possibilité d'audience devant un directeur est expédié à l'exploitant. Le personnel du ministère collabore avec l'exploitant et lui donne de l'aide et des conseils pour qu'il puisse se conformer aux exigences.

Le permis ne peut être renouvelé qu'une fois que l'audience a eu lieu ou que le directeur est convaincu que les mesures correctives ont été prises par l'exploitant pour que son établissement remplisse de façon satisfaisante les exigences.

Pour des renseignements supplémentaires contactez :


Unité des inspections vétérinaires et de la vérification
Direction de l'inspection des aliments
Ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales
1 Stone Road West, 5e étage
Guelph (Ontario) N1G 4Y2
Adresse électronique : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Téléphone : 1 519 826-1300
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 12 février 2002
Dernière révision : 13 février 2012