Maple Syrup Monitoring Program

Table of Contents

The Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) conducts an annual Maple Syrup Monitoring Program. Ontario Regulation 119/11 (O. Reg. 119/11) under the Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001 regulates the safety, sale, packaging and labelling, transportation, and advertising for sale of maple products produced by Ontario's non-federally registered maple producers. The Maple Monitoring Program is a tool used to assess compliance with O. Reg. 119/11.

Under this program, samples of maple syrup produced in Ontario are randomly collected from points of sale across the province. Laboratory analysis determines lead levels, as well as density (sugar content) and light transmission (colour classification) levels. Product containers and labels are reviewed to determine if the required packaging and labelling requirements are met.

Regulatory Requirements

Density and colour class requirements as well as labelling criteria for maple syrup are set out in O. Reg. 119/11. The regulation requires that accurate information be provided to buyers of maple syrup and promotes fair trading practices.

Density

Maple syrup that is sold or offered for sale must have a minimum soluble solids content of 66 percent (66º Brix).

Samples collected as part of this program are analyzed for density using a bench top digital refractometer.

Colour Class

The accurate colour class must appear on the label of all maple syrup containers. Colour class is determined by measuring per cent (%) light transmission. Samples are analyzed at a laboratory using an electronic spectrophotometer to determine light transmission.

On January 1, 2016, O. Reg. 119/11 was amended to include new grades and colour classifications. Until December 31, 2017, producers have the option of using either the "old" (Table 1) or the amended colour classifications (Table 2).

Table 1. Old Colour Classification for Maple Syrup

Colour Class Percentage of Light Transmission (%T)
Extra Light 75 or more
Light 60.5 or more but less than 75
Medium 44 or more but less than 60.5
Amber 27 or more but less than 44
Dark Less than 27

Table 2. Amended Colour Classification for Maple Syrup

Colour Class Taste Descriptor Percentage of Light Transmission (%T)
Golden Delicate Taste 75 or more
Amber Rich Taste 50 or more but less than 75
Dark Robust Taste 25 or more but less than 50
Very Dark Strong Taste Less than 25

Producers using the amended colour classes have the option of adding the taste descriptor associated with the colour classification. For example, the colour classification of Ontario Grade A maple syrup with a light transmission of 50% or more, but less than 75% may be labelled as either "Amber" or "Amber, Rich Taste".

Individual taste descriptors shown above in Table 2, may be associated only with the corresponding colour classifications. Use of taste descriptors other than Delicate, Rich, Robust and Strong is prohibited.

Grade

The grade, immediately followed by the colour class, must appear on the label of a maple syrup container offered for sale, sold or transported directly to a consumer or to a retail outlet if the maple syrup is packaged in a consumer or bulk container. Maple producers have the option of using either the "old" (Table 3) or "amended" grades (Table 4) until December 31, 2017.

Table 3. Old Grade for Maple Syrup

Grade Name Grade Requirements
Ontario No. 1 1. The maple syrup,
(a) is free from fermentation;
(b) is uniform in colour and free from any cloudiness or turbidity;
(c) has a maple flavour characteristic of its colour class and is free from any objectionable odour or taste.
2. The sale of the maple syrup is not prohibited by section 4 of O. Reg 119/11
Ontario Processing Grade The sale of the maple syrup is not prohibited by section 4 of O. Reg. 119/11

Table 4. Amended Grades for Maple Syrup

Grade Name Grade Requirements
Ontario Grade A 1. The maple syrup,
(a) is free from fermentation;
(b) is uniform in colour and free from any cloudiness or turbidity;
(c) has a maple flavour characteristic of its colour class and is free from any objectionable odour or taste.
2. The sale of the maple syrup is not prohibited by section 4 of this Regulation.
Ontario Processing Grade The sale of the maple syrup is not prohibited by section 4 of this Regulation.

"Ontario Grade A" must be used by non-federally registered packers. Only federally registered packers can use the federal "Canada" grade standards and names.

Labelling Requirements

Maple syrup labels on collected samples are reviewed to determine if they meet the labelling requirements outlined in O. Reg. 119/11. Every container of maple syrup with a capacity of more than 125 ml that is offered for sale, sold or transported must have a label with the following information:

  • name of the maple product ("Maple Syrup")
  • name and full address of the packer or the person for whom the maple product was packed (retailer, producer or other person)
  • volume of maple syrup in the container measured in metric volume units
  • grade immediately followed by the colour class when maple syrup is packed in consumer containers or bulk containers offered for sale, sold or transported directly to a consumer or a retail outlet.

A full address means sufficient information to identify the exact location of the relevant person's premises, such as a municipal address or property identification number, and includes a postal code.

For containers of maple syrup with a capacity of 125 ml or less, the grade, colour class and volume of the syrup are not required on the label.

Effective January 1, 2018, all maple syrup containers with a capacity of more than 125 ml must be identified with a production lot code.

Laboratory Testing

All maple syrup samples collected are analysed for the presence of lead.

The detected lead level is compared to Health Canada's guideline of 0.5 parts per million. Producers are immediately notified by telephone if the lead level detected exceeds the guideline in the sample collected. The Canadian Food Inspection Agency is also notified and may take follow-up action, including possible collection of new samples, product detention and/or disposal or recall.

Compliance and Violations

The Ministry takes a proactive approach to compliance based on prevention. The first stage is education and advice. If education and advice fail to bring about voluntary correction, additional steps may be taken. Progressive compliance steps may include verbal or written warnings, compliance orders with specific instructions, product detention or seizure.

For more information on progressive compliance refer to the infosheet "What you Should Know About Ticketable Offences".

Additional Information

For more information on labelling maple syrup, refer to the infosheet "Label Requirements for Maple Products in Ontario", O. Reg. 119/11 or the "Maple Products Guidance" document.

For additional information on the Maple Syrup Monitoring Program, and a summary of samples collected, visit the Foods of Plant Origin website at: www.ontario.ca/producesafety.

References

This document is provided for information purposes only. Please refer to the legislation for complete requirements. O. Reg. 119/11 can be found at www.ontario.ca/laws.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
Creation Date: April 2016
Last Reviewed: June 2016

Programme de contrôle de la qualité du sirop d'érable

Table des matières

Le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAARO) réalise chaque année un Programme de contrôle de la qualité du sirop d'érable. Le Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11 pris en application de la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments régit la salubrité, la vente, l'emballage, l'étiquetage et le transport des produits de l'érable provenant d'établissements ontariens non agréés par le gouvernement fédéral ainsi qu'à la publicité concernant ces produits. Le Programme de contrôle de la qualité du sirop d'érable est un outil servant à évaluer la conformité au Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11.

Dans le cadre de ce programme, des échantillons de sirop d'érable produit en Ontario sont prélevés au hasard à des points de vente un peu partout dans la province. Des analyses de laboratoire permettent de déterminer la concentration de plomb ainsi que la densité (teneur en sucre) et la transmission de la lumière (classification selon la couleur). On examine les contenants et les étiquettes afin d'établir si les exigences relatives à l'emballage et à l'étiquetage sont remplies.

Exigences règlementaires

Les exigences relatives à la densité et à la classe de couleur ainsi que les critères d'étiquetage du sirop d'érable sont énoncés dans le Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11. Ce règlement exige que des renseignements précis soient fournis aux acheteurs de sirop d'érable et promeuvent des pratiques commerciales loyales.

Densité

Le sirop d'érable qui est vendu ou mis en vente doit avoir une teneur minimale en extraits secs solubles de 66 %. (66° Brix).

On analyse les échantillons prélevés dans le cadre du programme en vue de déterminer la densité du produit à l'aide d'un réfractomètre numérique de table.

Classe de couleur

La classe de couleur exacte doit figurer sur l'étiquette de tous les contenants de sirop d'érable. On la détermine en mesurant le pourcentage (%) de transmission de lumière. Des échantillons sont analysés dans un laboratoire à l'aide d'un spectrophotomètre électronique pour déterminer la transmission de lumière.

Le 1er janvier 2016, on a modifié le Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11 afin d'y inclure de nouvelles catégories et classes de couleur. Jusqu'au 31 décembre 2017, les producteurs peuvent utiliser soit les anciennes classes (tableau 1), soit les nouvelles (tableau 2).

Tableau 1. Anciennes classes de couleur pour le sirop d'érable

Classe de couleur Pourcentage de transmission de lumière (%)
Extra clair 75 ou plus
Clair De 60,5 à moins de 75
Médium De 44 à moins de 60,5
Ambré De 27 à moins de 44
Foncé Moins de 27

Tableau 2. Nouvelles classes de couleur pour le sirop d'érable

Classe de couleur Descripteur de goût Pourcentage de transmission de lumière (%)
Doré Goût délicat 75 ou plus
Ambré Goût riche De 50 à moins de 75
Foncé Goût robuste De 25 à moins de 50
Très foncé Goût prononcé Moins de 25

Les producteurs qui utilisent les nouvelles classes de couleur peuvent ajouter le descripteur de goût qui y est associé. Par exemple, pour la classe de sirop d'érable « Ontario catégorie A » ayant un pourcentage de transmission de lumière de 50 % à moins de 75 %, la mention « Ambré » ou « Ambré, goût riche » peut figurer sur l'étiquette.

Chacun des descripteurs de goût indiqués ci-dessus dans le tableau 2 ne peut être associé qu'à la classe de couleur correspondante. L'utilisation d'un descripteur de goût autre que délicat, riche, robuste et prononcé est interdite.

Catégorie

La catégorie, qui est immédiatement suivie par la classe de couleur, doit figurer sur l'étiquette d'un contenant de sirop d'érable mis en vente, vendu ou transporté directement jusqu'à un consommateur ou un point de vente au détail si le sirop d'érable est emballé dans un petit ou un gros contenant. Jusqu'au 31 décembre 2017, les producteurs acéricoles peuvent utiliser les anciennes catégories (tableau 3) ou les nouvelles (tableau 4).

Tableau 3. Anciennes catégories de sirop d'érable

Nom de catégorie Exigences de la catégorie
Ontario no 1 1. Le sirop d'érable :
a) ne fermente pas;
b) est limpide et de couleur uniforme;
c) possède une saveur d'érable caractéristique de sa classe de couleur et est exempt d'odeur ou de goût désagréable.
2. La vente du sirop d'érable n'est pas interdite par l'article 4 du Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11.
Ontario La vente du sirop d'érable n'est pas interdite par l'article 4 du Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11.

Tableau 4. Nouvelles catégories de sirop d'érable

Nom de catégorie Exigences de la catégorie
Ontario
catégorie A
1. Le sirop d'érable :
a) ne fermente pas;
b) est limpide et de couleur uniforme;
c) possède une saveur d'érable caractéristique de sa classe de couleur et est exempt d'odeur ou de goût désagréable.
2. La vente du sirop d'érable n'est pas interdite par l'article 4 du présent règlement.
Ontario La vente du sirop d'érable n'est pas interdite par l'article 4 du présent règlement.

La catégorie « Ontario catégorie A » doit être utilisée par les emballeurs dont l'établissement n'est pas agréé par le gouvernement fédéral. Seuls les emballeurs dont l'établissement est agréé par le gouvernement fédéral peuvent utiliser les catégories et le mot « Canada ».

Exigences en matière d'étiquetage

On examine les étiquettes figurant sur les échantillons de sirop d'érable prélevés afin de déterminer si les exigences en matière d'étiquetage énoncées dans le Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11 sont respectées. Chaque contenant de sirop d'érable d'une capacité de plus de 125 ml qui est mis en vente, vendu ou transporté doit porter une étiquette sur laquelle figurent les renseignements suivants :

  • le nom du produit d'érable (« sirop d'érable »);
  • le nom et l'adresse complète de l'emballeur ou de la personne pour qui le produit d'érable a été emballé (détaillant, producteur ou autre personne);
  • la quantité de sirop d'érable mesurée dans le contenant en unités métriques de volume;
  • la catégorie immédiatement suivie de la classe de couleur si le sirop d'érable est emballé dans des contenants de consommation ou des contenants en vrac mis à la vente, vendus ou transportés directement jusqu'à un consommateur ou un point de vente au détail.

Le terme « adresse complète » s'entend des renseignements suffisants pour permettre de préciser l'emplacement exact des locaux de la personne concernée, comme l'adresse municipale ou la cote foncière, et notamment du code postal.

En ce qui concerne les contenants de sirop d'érable d'une capacité de 125 ml ou moins, il n'est pas obligatoire d'indiquer la catégorie, la classe de couleur et le volume du sirop d'érable sur l'étiquette.

À compter du 1er janvier 2018, tous les contenants de sirop d'érable d'une capacité supérieure à 125 ml devront être identifiés au moyen d'un code de lot de production.

Analyses de laboratoire

Tous les échantillons de sirop d'érable prélevés sont analysés pour que la présence de plomb soit détectée.

La concentration de plomb détectée est comparée à la directive de Santé Canada, soit 0,5 partie par million. Les acériculteurs sont immédiatement informés par téléphone si la concentration de plomb détectée dans l'échantillon prélevé est supérieure à ce que prévoit cette directive. L'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments est également informée et pourrait prendre des mesures de suivi, notamment le prélèvement probable de nouveaux échantillons ou la confiscation et/ou l'élimination ou le rappel du produit.

Conformité et violations

Ces ministères ont adopté une approche proactive en matière de conformité qui est axée sur la prévention. La première étape consiste à fournir des renseignements et des conseils. Si cela ne suffit pas à convaincre les acériculteurs d'apporter volontairement des correctifs, d'autres mesures peuvent être prises. Les mesures de conformité progressive peuvent comprendre des avertissements oraux ou écrits, des ordonnances de conformité contenant des directives particulières ainsi que la confiscation ou la saisie du produit.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur la conformité progressive, reportez-vous à la fiche d'information intitulée Ce que vous devez savoir au sujet des infractions pouvant faire l'objet de contraventions.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour obtenir un complément d'information sur l'étiquetage du sirop d'érable, reportez-vous à la fiche d'information intitulé Exigences en matière d'étiquetage des produits d'érable en Ontario, au Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11 ou au Document d'orientation sur les produits de l'érable.

Pour obtenir d'autres renseignements sur le Programme de contrôle de la qualité du sirop d'érable et un sommaire des échantillons prélevés, veuillez consulter le site Web consacré aux aliments d'origine végétale, à l'adresse suivante : www.ontario.ca/salubritefruitsetlegumes.

Références

Le présent document n'est fourni qu'à titre informatif. Veuillez vous reporter à la législation pour connaître toutes les exigences. Vous trouverez le Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11 à l'adresse suivante : www.ontario.ca/fr/lois.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario
Date de création : Avril 2016
Dernière révision : Juin 2016