New provisions for non-emergency slaughter of food animals on producer premises

Process summary for meat plants


Ontario's Meat Regulation (O. Reg. 31/05 under the Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001) has been changed to provide options for cattle and swine producers who want to slaughter animals on their farm and have the carcasses processed off the farm. This processing must be conducted in a provincially licensed slaughter plant or provincially licensed free standing meat plant. The products can only be consumed by the producer and their immediate family on the premises where the animal was slaughtered. Products cannot be sold, shared, donated or distributed.

How it works for Meat Plants
The process required under the regulation is designed to help producers ensure their animals are slaughtered humanely and in hygienic conditions, and that the resulting carcasses are fit to enter a meat plant.

Producers can still slaughter and process carcasses on the farm without the supervision or use of an examiner as long as the meat does not leave the premises and is consumed only by the producer and his/her immediate family.

Meat plant operators who want to offer processing services to producers who slaughter animals on-farm, or have animals slaughtered on-farm by a certified examiner, must:

  • Be provincially licensed to operate a slaughter plant or a freestanding meat plant under the Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001;


  • Develop a written protocol for receiving and processing farm-slaughtered animals;


  • Satisfy regulatory requirements, including separation, sanitation and labelling procedures to prevent cross-contamination of inspected meat products with uninspected products, and to make sure that these carcasses and products do not get confused with inspected carcasses and meat products, at the meat plant and after they leave the meat plant;


  • Receive approval from an OMAFRA regional veterinarian for their written protocol and approval to receive on-farm slaughtered carcasses for processing;


  • Determine the period during which they want to receive on-farm slaughtered carcasses. Plants are only allowed to receive on-farm slaughtered carcasses up to a total of 16 weeks per year: a maximum of four weeks during the spring period (March 1 to April 30) and a maximum of 12 weeks during the fall period (September 1 to December 31);


  • Keep records at the plant of carcasses received.


  • Meat plant operators and staff must ensure the process meets all the requirements under the regulation and that the product is returned to the producer and not sold or distributed to the public.


Prior to allowing on-farm slaughtered carcasses into the meat plant, operators must:

  • Ensure carcasses are stamped with the examination stamp, have leg bands and are accompanied by a certificate to enter a meat plant. An operator can receive a carcass that is delivered without a certificate or examination stamp, but only for the purpose of condemning and disposing of it;


  • Ensure carcasses are free of contamination at receiving.

After receiving the carcass into the plant:

  • Complete Part 5 of the Non-Emergency Slaughter Examination Record, which accompanied the carcass;


  • Record carcasses received. OMAFRA can provide recording sheets upon request;

 

Operator is permitted to:

    • skin and remove the feet from the carcass
    • Cut, wrap, freeze and/or grind meat derived from the carcass
    • process bacon, ham or sausage (from pork only)

Once processing is completed:

  • Label all products derived from on farm slaughtered carcasses with "Producer Owned, Not for Sale" with letters measuring at least 1.25 cm in height;


  • Return all products to the producer within 28 days from carcass receipt at the plant.


  • Retain records of on-farm slaughtered carcasses received and processed for 12 months.

Restrictions

Meat plant operators should be aware of the following restrictions:

  • Only bovine animals under 30 months of age (UTM) and porcine animals are eligible to enter a provincially licensed meat plant under this provision.


  • A farm slaughtered carcass can only be transported to an approved provincially licensed meat plant. Products processed from a farm slaughtered carcass can only be transported back to the producer's premises where the animal was slaughtered.


  • All products must be for consumption by the producer and their immediate family on the producer's premises where the animal was slaughtered. OMAFRA will monitor the number of animals slaughtered per producer and per farm under this provision. Products cannot be sold, shared or donated.


  • Farm slaughtered carcasses are only permitted entry into meat plants during specified time periods of the year. Plants are only allowed to accept on-farm slaughtered carcasses up to 16 weeks per year: a maximum of four weeks during the spring period (March 1 to April 30) and a maximum of 12 weeks during the fall period (September 1 to December 31).

For additional information, visit OMAFRA's website or refer to contact information below.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-888-466-2372 ext 6-4230
Local: (519) 826-4230
E-mail: foodinspection@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 24 April 2008
Last Reviewed: 24 April 2008

Nouvelles dispositions relatives à l'abattage non urgent à la ferme des animaux destinés à l'alimentation

 

Sommaire à l'intention des établissements de transformation de la viande


Des modifications ont été apportées au règlement sur les viandes (Règlement de l'Ontario 31/05 pris en application de la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments) pour accommoder les producteurs de bovins et de porcs qui veulent abattre des animaux à la ferme et faire conditionner les carcasses ailleurs. Ce conditionnement doit être effectué dans un abattoir titulaire d'un permis provincial ou dans un établissement de transformation de la viande sans abattoir. Les produits peuvent être consommés uniquement par les producteurs et leur famille immédiate à l'endroit où l'animal a été abattu. Ils ne peuvent être vendus, partagés, donnés ni distribués.

Marche à suivre pour les établissements de transformation de la viande
Le processus prévu dans le règlement est destiné à aider les producteurs à faire en sorte que leurs animaux sont abattus sans cruauté et dans des conditions hygiéniques, et que les carcasses sont aptes à pénétrer dans un établissement de transformation de la viande.

Les producteurs peuvent encore abattre et conditionner les carcasses sur leur ferme sans la supervision ou l'aide d'un examinateur, pourvu que la viande ne quitte pas les lieux et soit consommée uniquement par eux-mêmes et leur famille immédiate.

Les exploitants d'établissements de transformation de la viande qui souhaitent offrir des services de conditionnement aux producteurs qui abattent les animaux à la ferme ou les font abattre à la ferme par un examinateur agréé doivent :

  • Être titulaires d'un permis provincial d'exploitation d'un abattoir ou d'un établissement de transformation de la viande en vertu de la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments.


  • Élaborer un protocole écrit pour la réception et le conditionnement des animaux abattus à la ferme.


  • Répondre aux exigences réglementaires, notamment en matière d'isolement, d'hygiène et d'étiquetage pour prévenir une contamination croisée entre les produits de la viande inspectés et non inspectés et éviter toute confusion entre ces produits à l'établissement de transformation de la viande et après leur départ de celui-ci.


  • Faire approuver leur protocole écrit par un vétérinaire régional du MAAARO et être autorisés à recevoir les carcasses des animaux abattus à la ferme aux fins de conditionnement.


  • Déterminer la période durant laquelle ils veulent recevoir les carcasses des animaux abattus à la ferme. Les établissements sont autorisés à recevoir les carcasses des animaux abattus à la ferme seize semaines par année seulement : quatre semaines au printemps (du 1er mars au 30 avril) et douze semaines à l'automne (du 1er septembre au 31 décembre).


  • Conserver dans l'établissement les dossiers des carcasses reçues.


  • Les exploitants et le personnel des établissements de transformation de la viande doivent s'assurer que la procédure respecte toutes les exigences énoncées dans le règlement et que le produit est retourné au producteur et n'est pas vendu ni distribué au public.


Avant d'autoriser l'entrée des carcasses des animaux abattus à la ferme dans l'établissement de transformation de la viande, les exploitants doivent :

  • Veiller à ce que les carcasses soient estampillées avec le tampon d'inspection, portent des bagues et soient accompagnées d'un certificat les autorisant à pénétrer dans un établissement de transformation de la viande. Un exploitant peut recevoir une carcasse livrée sans certificat ni tampon d'examen uniquement à des fins de saisie et d'élimination.


  • Veiller à ce que les carcasses soient exemptes de contamination à leur arrivée.

Après l'entrée de la carcasse dans l'établissement :

  • Remplir la partie 5 du Dossier d'inspection d'abattage non urgent qui accompagne la carcasse.


  • Enregistrer les carcasses reçues. Le MAAARO fournira des feuilles d'enregistrement sur demande.

Les exploitants sont autorisés à :

    • dépouiller la carcasse et à retirer les pieds
    • découper, emballer, congeler ou hacher la viande provenant de la carcasse
    • conditionner le bacon, le jambon ou la saucisse (du porc seulement)

Lorsque le conditionnement est terminé :

  • Apposer sur tous les produits dérivés des carcasses d'animaux abattus à la ferme une étiquette mentionnant " Producer Owned, Not for Sale " (propriété du producteur, pas à vendre) en lettres mesurant au moins 1,25 cm de hauteur.


  • Retourner tous les produits au producteur dans les 28 jours suivant la réception de la carcasse à l'établissement.


  • Conserver pendant 12 mois les dossiers des carcasses d'animaux abattus à la ferme reçues et conditionnées.

Restrictions

Les exploitants d'établissements de transformation de la viande doivent garder à l'esprit les restrictions suivantes :

  • Seuls les bovins de moins de trente mois et les porcs sont autorisés à pénétrer dans un établissement de transformation de la viande en vertu de cette disposition.


  • Une carcasse d'animal abattu à la ferme ne peut être transportée qu'à un établissement de transformation de la viande autorisé et titulaire d'un permis de la province. Les produits transformés provenant de la carcasse d'un animal abattu à la ferme peuvent être acheminés uniquement aux installations où l'abattage a eu lieu.


  • Tous les produits doivent servir à la consommation personnelle du producteur et à celle de sa famille immédiate sur les lieux où l'animal a été abattu. Le MAAARO surveillera le nombre d'animaux abattus par chaque producteur et chaque ferme aux termes de cette disposition. Les produits ne peuvent être vendus, partagés ni donnés.


  • Les carcasses d'animaux abattus à la ferme peuvent pénétrer dans les établissements de transformation de la viande seulement durant certaines périodes de l'année. Les établissements sont autorisés à recevoir les carcasses des animaux abattus à la ferme seize semaines par année seulement : quatre semaines au printemps (du 1er mars au 30 avril) et douze semaines à l'automne (du 1er septembre au 31 décembre).

Pour obtenir un complément d'information, consulter le site Web du MAAARO ou communiquer avec la personne-ressource sous-mentionnée.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 888 466-2372 ext 6-4230
(519) 826-4230
Courriel : foodinspection@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 24 avril 2008
Dernière révision : 24 avril 2008