New provisions for non-emergency slaughter of food animals on producer premises

Process summary for certified examiners

Ontario's Meat Regulation (O. Reg. 31/05 under the Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001) has been changed to provide options for cattle and pig producers who want to slaughter animals on their farm and have the carcasses processed off the farm. This processing must be conducted in a provincially licensed slaughter plant or provincially licensed free standing meat plant. The products can only be consumed by the producers and their immediate family on the premises where the animal was slaughtered. Products cannot be sold, shared, donated or distributed.

How it works for certified examiners

The process required under the regulation is designed to help producers ensure their animals are slaughtered humanely and in hygienic conditions, and that the resulting carcasses are fit to enter a meat plant thus preventing contamination of the plant.

An examiner certified for non-emergency, on-farm slaughter may provide stunning, slaughter and dressing services, and must perform ante mortem and post mortem examinations and ensure humane animal handling and sanitary dressing. Producers may also conduct the stunning, slaughter and dressing processes themselves if they wish, under the supervision of a certified examiner.

Producers can still slaughter and process carcasses on farm without the supervision or use of an examiner as long as the meat does not leave the premises and is consumed only by the producers and their immediate family.

To become certified to perform an on-farm slaughter under this new provision

Individuals interested in becoming a certified examiner must:

    • Submit an application
    • Take the theoretical training
    • Pass theoretical training exam
    • Take the practical training
    • Pass practical exam

Certified examiners should be aware that:

    • Certification expires on December 31 every second year and examiners must apply for renewal; update courses may be required for renewal.


    • Examiners must carry out their functions in accordance with the regulations and will be subject to ongoing oversight by OMAFRA.


    • Certificates may be suspended or revoked by an OMAFRA Director.

Once certified, examiners are issued an examination stamp with a unique number. Their name, city of residence and phone number will be included on OMAFRA's list of certified examiners, which will be posted on the website. Examiners can then be contacted by producers to perform the required examinations and either supervise or conduct the slaughter process on-farm.

Examiners are responsible for the following:

On slaughter day, on the producer's premises:

  • Fill out Parts 2, 3 and 4 of the Non-Emergency Slaughter Examination Record.


  • Examine the animal (ante mortem examination) and either approve it or refuse it for post mortem examination; the examiner must, in some specific cases, refer it to an OMAFRA regional veterinarian and place the animal on hold.


  • Follow any instructions received from the regional veterinarian or veterinary inspector.


  • Conduct bovine aging, during the ante mortem or post mortem examination.


  • Stun the animal to render it unconscious (mechanical penetrating device or rifle are the only permitted options) or supervise the stunning by the producer. Ensure this is done in an effective, humane and hygienic manner.


  • Slaughter the animal immediately or supervise the slaughter by the producer. Ensure this is done in a humane and hygienic manner.


  • Verify or complete bovine aging, if not completed during ante mortem examination.


  • Dress the carcass or supervise dressing by the producer. This includes removing the head, respiratory, digestive, reproductive and urinary systems, including the kidneys and other thoracic and abdominal organs.


  • Examine the dressed carcass (post mortem examination) immediately after slaughter and dressing. This includes an examination of the whole carcass and organs, including incision of required lymph nodes. Based on this assessment either :


  • determine that the carcass is fit to enter a meat plant and:
    • stamp the carcass with the examination stamp;
    • attach a numbered leg band; and
    • prepare a certificate to enter a meat plant.


    OR

  • Refuse entry of the carcass into a meat plant and must, under specific situations, refer the carcass to the regional veterinarian and place the carcass on hold. In this case, the examiner will not stamp the carcass, attach a leg band or complete the certificate.

Once slaughter, dressing and examination processes are completed and the carcass is approved to enter a meat plant:

  • Prepare the carcass for transport to the meat plant.


  • Transport the carcass to the selected, approved meat plant. This can also be done by the producer. All transport requirements must be followed. Carcasses or parts of carcasses must :
    • be transported to a provincially licensed meat plant approved by an OMAFRA regional veterinarian to receive on-farm slaughtered carcasses
    • have a stamp, leg bands and certificate
    • be transported in a clean, leak-proof container
    • be securely fastened to container
    • be protected from contaminants
    • not be exposed to public view, and
    • if the hide has been removed, be washed and wrapped in a material that is durable, free of contaminants and suitable for packaging food products (for example, plastic food wrap).

  • Retain a record of slaughter for 12 months and provide the records to OMAFRA upon request.

Restrictions

Certified examiners should be aware of the following:

  • Examiners are not employees of OMAFRA. They are independent individual members of the public. Producers can become examiners. Inspectors appointed under the Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001 are prohibited from becoming examiners.


  • Certified examiners set their own fees.


  • Only bovine animals under 30 months of age (UTM) and porcine animals are eligible to enter a meat plant under this provision.


  • Non-emergency, on-farm slaughter must be conducted humanely and in hygienic condition


  • Farmers may decide that they no longer want to send the carcass of an animal to a meat plant, and may opt out of the process at any point except:
    • from the time the animal is presented for ante mortem to the conclusion of the ante mortem examination; and
    • from the time the carcass is presented for post mortem to the conclusion of the post mortem examination; and
    • for the need to comply with any decision or orders that are made in connection with ante and post mortem examinations, including any orders for condemnation.

  • As a result of the examination process, the carcass may have to be condemned for food safety reasons.


  • A farm slaughtered carcass can only be transported to an approved, provincially licensed meat plant. Products processed from a farm slaughtered carcass can only be transported back to the producer's premises where the animal was slaughtered.


  • All products must be for consumption by the producer and their immediate family on the producer's premise where the animal was slaughtered. OMAFRA will monitor the number of animals slaughtered per producer and per farm under this provision. Products cannot be sold, shared or donated.


  • Producers are responsible for verifying the availability of their selected plant, as plants are only allowed to accept on-farm slaughtered carcasses up to a total of 16 weeks per year: a maximum of four weeks during the spring period (March 1 to April 30) and a maximum of 12 weeks during the fall period (September 1 to December 31).


  • Certified examiners are permitted to slaughter or supervise slaughter of any bovine or porcine animal on the producer's premise outside of the specified timeframes, however, these carcasses are not permitted to enter a meat plant and must stay on the producer's premises, for the producer's and their immediate family's consumption.


  • Records must be kept by examiners and provided to OMAFRA upon request.

For additional information, or to obtain an application package for certified examiner training, visit OMAFRA's website.



For more information:
Toll Free: 1-888-466-2372 ext 6-4230
Local: (519) 826-4230
E-mail: foodinspection@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 24 April 2008
Last Reviewed: 24 April 2008

Nouvelles dispositions relatives à l'abattage non urgent à la ferme des animaux destinés à l'alimentatione

 

Sommaire à l'intention des examinateurs agréés

 

Des modifications ont été apportées au règlement sur les viandes (Règlement de l'Ontario 31/05 pris en application de la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments) pour accommoder les producteurs de bovins et de porcs qui veulent abattre des animaux à la ferme et faire conditionner les carcasses ailleurs. Ce conditionnement doit être effectué dans un abattoir titulaire d'un permis provincial ou dans un établissement de transformation de la viande sans abattoir. Les produits peuvent être consommés uniquement par les producteurs et leur famille immédiate à l'endroit où l'animal a été abattu. Ils ne peuvent être vendus, partagés, donnés ni distribués.

Marche à suivre pour les examinateurs agréés
Le processus prévu dans le règlement est destiné à aider les producteurs à faire en sorte que leurs animaux sont abattus sans cruauté et dans des conditions hygiéniques, et que les carcasses sont aptes à pénétrer dans un établissement de transformation de la viande sans causer de contamination.

Un examinateur des abattages fermiers non urgents agréé peut offrir des services d'étourdissement, d'abattage et d'habillage. Il lui incombe de procéder à des examens ante mortem et post mortem et de veiller au traitement sans cruauté de l'animal et à l'habillage hygiénique de la carcasse. Les producteurs peuvent également effectuer l'étourdissement, l'abattage et l'habillage eux-mêmes, s'ils le veulent, sous la supervision d'un examinateur agréé.

Les producteurs peuvent encore abattre et conditionner les carcasses à la ferme sans la supervision ou l'aide d'un examinateur, pourvu que la viande ne quitte pas les lieux et soit consommée uniquement par eux-mêmes et leur famille immédiate.

Pour être autorisé à effectuer un abattage fermier en vertu de cette nouvelle disposition

Toute personne qui souhaite devenir examinateur agréé doit :

  • Présenter une demande
  • Suivre la formation théorique
  • Réussir l'examen théorique
  • Suivre la formation pratique
  • Réussir l'examen pratique

Les examinateurs agréés doivent garder à l'esprit ce qui suit :

  • L'agrément prend fin le 31 décembre une année sur deux et les examinateurs doivent présenter une demande de renouvellement; des cours de perfectionnement pourraient être exigés.


  • Les examinateurs doivent s'acquitter de leurs fonctions conformément aux règlements et seront assujettis à une surveillance continue de la part du MAAARO.


  • Le directeur du MAAARO peut suspendre ou révoquer les certificats.


Après avoir reçu leur agrément, les examinateurs recevront un tampon d'inspection comportant un numéro unique. La liste des examinateurs agréés du MAAARO indiquera leurs nom, ville de résidence et numéro de téléphone; elle sera affichée sur le site Web du ministère. Les producteurs communiqueront avec les examinateurs pour leur demander d'effectuer les inspections requises et de superviser ou d'effectuer les abattages fermiers.

Responsabilités des examinateurs :

Le jour de l'abattage, dans l'établissement du producteur :

  • Remplir les parties 2, 3 et 4 du Dossier d'inspection d'abattage non urgent.


  • Examiner l'animal (inspection ante mortem) et l'approuver ou le refuser aux fins de l'inspection post mortem; l'examinateur doit, dans certains cas, l'orienter vers un vétérinaire régional du MAAARO et mettre l'animal de côté.


  • Suivre les instructions du vétérinaire régional ou de l'examinateur vétérinaire.


  • Déterminer l'âge du bovin durant l'inspection ante mortem ou post mortem.


  • Étourdir l'animal pour le rendre inconscient (un appareil pénétrant mécanique ou un fusil sont les seules méthodes permises) ou superviser l'étourdissement par le producteur. Veiller à ce que l'étourdissement soit efficace, sans cruauté et hygiénique.


  • Abattre l'animal immédiatement ou superviser l'abattage par le producteur. Veiller à ce que l'abattage soit effectué sans cruauté et d'une manière hygiénique.


  • Vérifier ou déterminer l'âge du bovin si cela n'a pas été fait durant l'inspection ante mortem.


  • Habiller la carcasse ou superviser l'habillage par le producteur. L'habillage consiste à retirer la tête, les systèmes respiratoire, digestif, reproductif et urinaire, y compris les reins et autres organes thoraciques et abdominaux.


  • Examiner la carcasse habillée (inspection post mortem) immédiatement après l'abattage et l'habillage. L'inspection consiste à effectuer un examen complet de la carcasse et des organes et à inciser les ganglions lymphatiques requis. En fonction de cet examen :


    • déterminer que la carcasse est apte à pénétrer dans un établissement de transformation de la viande et :
      • estampiller la carcasse avec le tampon d'inspection;
      • attacher une bague numérotée;
      • préparer un certificat d'entrée dans un établissement de transformation de la viande.

      OU

      • refuser l'accès de la carcasse à un établissement de transformation de la viande et, dans certaines situations, orienter la carcasse vers le vétérinaire régional et la mettre de côté. Dans ce cas, l'examinateur n'estampille pas la carcasse, n'attache pas de bague et ne remplit pas le certificat.

Dès que les procédures d'abattage, d'habillage et d'examen sont terminées et que la carcasse est autorisée à pénétrer dans un établissement de transformation de la viande :

  • Préparer la carcasse en vue du transport à l'établissement de transformation de la viande.
  • Transporter la carcasse à l'établissement de transformation de la viande choisi et approuvé. Le producteur peut également accomplir cette tâche. Toutes les exigences en matière de transport doivent être respectées. Les carcasses ou parties de carcasse doivent :
    • être acheminées à un établissement de transformation de la viande autorisé par un vétérinaire régional du MAAARO à recevoir les carcasses d'abattages fermiers
    • comporter un tampon, des bagues et un certificat
    • être transportées dans un contenant propre et étanche
    • être solidement attachées au contenant
    • être protégées contre les contaminants
    • ne pas être exposées aux regards
    • si le cuir a été retiré, être lavées et enveloppées dans un matériel durable, exempt de contaminants et convenable pour l'emballage des aliments (par exemple, emballage pour aliments en plastique).
  • Conserver un rapport de l'abattage pendant 12 mois et fournir le dossier au MAAARO sur demande.

Restrictions

Les examinateurs agréés devraient être au courant de ce qui suit :

  • Les examinateurs ne sont pas des employés du MAAARO, mais des membres du public indépendants. Les producteurs peuvent devenir des examinateurs. Les inspecteurs nommés en vertu de la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments ne peuvent devenir examinateurs.


  • Les examinateurs agréés établissent leurs propres tarifs.


  • Seuls les bovins de moins de trente mois et les porcs sont autorisés à pénétrer dans un établissement de transformation de la viande en vertu de cette disposition.


  • L'abattage fermier non urgent doit être effectué sans cruauté et dans des conditions hygiéniques.


  • Les cultivateurs qui décident qu'ils ne veulent plus envoyer la carcasse d'un animal à un établissement de transformation de la viande peuvent interrompre le processus n'importe quand sauf :
    • à partir du moment où l'animal est présenté pour l'examen ante mortem jusqu'à la fin de l'examen; et
    • à partir du moment où la carcasse est présentée pour l'examen post mortem jusqu'à la fin de l'examen; et
    • s'il est nécessaire de respecter une décision ou des ordonnances rendues à la suite des examens ante mortem et post mortem, notamment des ordonnances de saisie.


    À la suite de l'examen, il se peut que l'on saisisse la carcasse pour des motifs de salubrité alimentaire.

  • Une carcasse d'animal abattu à la ferme ne peut être transportée qu'à un établissement de transformation de la viande autorisé et titulaire d'un permis de la province. Les produits transformés provenant de la carcasse d'un animal abattu à la ferme peuvent être transportés uniquement aux installations où l'abattage a eu lieu.


  • Tous les produits doivent servir à la consommation personnelle du producteur et à celle de sa famille immédiate sur les lieux où l'animal a été abattu. Le MAAARO surveillera le nombre d'animaux abattus par chaque producteur et chaque ferme aux termes de cette disposition. Les produits ne peuvent être vendus, partagés ni donnés.


  • Il incombe aux producteurs de vérifier la disponibilité de l'établissement qu'ils ont choisi, car les établissements sont autorisés à recevoir les carcasses des animaux abattus à la ferme seize semaines par année seulement : quatre semaines au printemps (du 1er mars au 30 avril) et douze semaines à l'automne (du 1er septembre au 31 décembre).


  • Les examinateurs agréés sont autorisés à abattre ou à superviser l'abattage des bovins ou des porcs dans les installations du producteur en dehors des périodes précisées. Cependant, ces carcasses ne sont pas autorisées à pénétrer dans un établissement de transformation de la viande et doivent rester dans les installations du producteur et servir à la consommation de celui ci et à celle de sa famille immédiate.


  • Les examinateurs doivent conserver des dossiers et les remettre au MAAARO sur demande.

Pour obtenir un complément d'information ou une trousse de demande de formation d'examinateur agréé, consulter le site Web du MAAARO.



Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 888 466-2372 ext 6-4230
(519) 826-4230
Courriel : foodinspection@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 24 avril 2008
Dernière révision : 24 avril 2008