Honey Program

Description

Honey program staff prepare and disseminate educational material for producers on requirements legislated by Regulation 119/11 of the Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001. This regulation includes labelling and grade standards.

Staff liaise with industry and other government agencies on an on-going basis to address concerns of the Ontario honey industry. The Program supports development of food safety and quality assurance programs by providing materials and resources to assist in program development and review. Staff work closely with the University of Guelph Honey Bee Research Centre and also the Ontario Beekeepers Association Tech-Transfer Program on scientific and field oriented studies of honey bee problems.

Honey samples are collected for analysis under the Food Safety Monitoring Program. When lead levels and drug residues are found to be in excess of Health Canada guidelines or when there is non-compliance with Regulation 119/11, producers and/or other agencies are notified. Staff assist individual producers in resolving identified food safety and regulatory non compliance issues identified by the testing program. Compliance and enforcement action may be taken in the event of serious and/or repeated non-compliance.

The Provincial Apiarist oversees compliance and enforcement of the Bees Act. Bee inspectors are employed in agricultural regions of Ontario to inspect honey bees and to carry out moving and selling permit inspections. When American Foulbrood is discovered, orders are issued to destroy the infected colonies.

Information gathered from all aspects of the program is communicated by the Provincial Apiarist to individual beekeepers, to industry-as-a-whole and to each of the province's local beekeeper's associations.

Contacts:

If you require further information on:

Quality and Food Safety - contact

Paul Bailey
Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
Food Inspection Branch
1 Stone Road West, 5th Floor NW
Guelph, Ontario   N1G 4Y2
Tel: (519) 826-4380
Fax: (519) 826-4375


Production issues - contact

Paul Kozak
Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
Apiary Specialist
5th Floor NW, 1 Stone Road West
Guelph, Ontario   N1G 4Y2
Tel: (519) 826-3595
Fax: (519) 826-4375


Canada Agricultural Products Act - contact

Debbie Fishbein
CFIA Ottawa
(613) 221-7029
E-mail: dfishbein@inspection.gc.ca


Sal DeMonte
CFIA Guelph
(519) 837-9400
E-mail: demontes@inspection.gc.ca


Ontario Beekeepers' Association

Maureen Vander Marel
Business Administrator
Tel: (905) 636 0661


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 19 February 2003
Last Reviewed: 18 February 2014

Programme du miel

| Description | Personnes-ressources |

Description :

Le personnel du Programme du miel prépare et diffuse du matériel didactique destiné aux producteurs sur les exigences prévues par le Règlement 119/11 pris en application de la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments comprenant l'étiquetage et les normes de classement.

Le personnel est en contact permanent avec l'industrie et les organismes gouvernementaux dans le but de répondre aux préoccupations de l'industrie apicole. Le Programme contribue à l'élaboration de programmes sur la salubrité des aliments et l'assurance de la qualité en proposant des documents et ressources visant à aider à leur développement et à leur examen. Le personnel travaille en étroite collaboration avec le centre de recherche sur les abeilles domestiques de l'Université de Guelph ainsi qu'avec le programme Tech-Transfer de l'Ontario Beekeepers Association dans le cadre d'études scientifiques et de terrain concernant les problèmes rencontrés par les abeilles domestiques.

Des échantillons de miel sont prélevés afin d'être analysés dans le cadre du Programme de contrôle de la salubrité des aliments. Si l'on trouve des taux de teneur en plomb et de résidus de drogue supérieurs aux lignes directrices de Santé Canada ou si le Règlement 119/11 n'est pas respecté, les producteurs et/ou autres organismes en seront informés. Le personnel aide les producteurs à résoudre tout problème de salubrité des aliments et de non-respect de la réglementation identifié par le programme d'essai. Des mesures d'observance et de coercition pourraient être prises en cas de grave non-respect et/ou de non-respect répété.

L'apiculteur provincial veille au respect et à l'observation de la Loi sur l'apiculture. Des inspecteurs apicoles travaillent dans les régions agricoles de l'Ontario afin d'inspecter les abeilles domestiques et de procéder au transfert et à la vente des permis d'inspection. En cas de présence de loque américaine, il est ordonné de détruire les colonies infectées.

Des renseignements recueillis sur tous les aspects du Programme sont transmis par l'apiculteur provincial aux apiculteurs, à l'industrie dans son ensemble ainsi qu'à chaque association d'apiculteurs locale de la province.

Personnes-ressources :

Si vous avez besoin de plus amples renseignements sur :

La qualité et la salubrité des aliments - veuillez contacter

Paul Bailey
Ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario
Direction de l'inspection des aliments
1 Stone Road Ouest, 5e étage N.O.
Guelph (Ontario) N1G 4Y2
Tél. : 519 826-4380
Téléc. : 519 826-4375


Les questions concernant la production - communiquez avec

Paul Kozak
Ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales
Spécialiste de l'apiculture
1, rue Stone ouest, 5e étage n.o.
Guelph (ON) N1G 4Y2
Téléphone : (519) 826-3595
Télécopieur : (519) 826-4375


Loi sur les produits agricoles au Canada - communiquez avec

Debra Fishbein
ACIA Ottawa
(613) 221-7029


Sal DeMonte
ACIA Guelph
(519) 837-9400


Ontario Beekeepers' Association

Maureen Vander Marel
Business Administrator
Téléphone : 519-674-1592


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Division de l'industrie alimentaire est à votre service/MAAARO
Date de création : 12 février 2002
Dernière révision : 18 février 2014