Food Safety Monitoring Program for Foods of Plant Origin


The Food Inspection Branch of the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs routinely assesses Ontario-produced foods of plant origin for various contaminants. Ontario Regulation 119/11 - Produce, Honey and Maple Products, under the Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001, contributes to minimizing food safety risk for Ontario consumers.

The Food Safety Monitoring (FSM) Program is a tool to assist in the detection of non-compliance with standards regarding microbial organisms, agricultural chemicals, and heavy metals on or in Ontario-produced foods of plant origin. Through this program, the ministry gathers valuable information that supports Ontario's agri-food industry in producing safe foods of plant origin so that consumers can purchase Ontario products with confidence.

This program runs annually, with the bulk of the sampling activity taking place from May to October. Inspectors collect the majority of the samples over the summer months to correspond with the Ontario growing season.

Authority to Collect Samples

Ontario Regulation 119/11 is under the Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001. Inspectors are appointed under the act, which gives them the authority to collect samples.

Collection Locations

Samples are collected, according to established protocols, from points of sale and distribution centers across the province. These locations include retail operations, farmers' markets, roadside stands and warehouses. Only harvested produce, honey and maple products that are offered for sale or intended for sale are sampled.

Sampling Plan Design

The FSM Program is divided into two parts:

  • routine monitoring
  • compliance sampling

Routine Monitoring

The sampling plan adopts a risk-based approach.

Three factors are considered when determining what commodities to collect:

  1. dietary importance/consumption patterns
  2. how commodities are consumed (raw, cooked)
  3. outbreak data (world wide)

Two factors are considered when determining the number of each commodity to collect:

  1. production volumes in Ontario
  2. history of non-compliance

The sampling plan is broken down by commodity and county and does not identify specific collection sites or producer operations. Samples are randomly collected.

When non-compliance is detected on a routine monitoring sample, the producer is moved to the compliance part of the program.

Compliance Sampling

Samples collected as part of compliance sampling are based on previous compliance history.

Samples are collected each year from producers that have had non-compliance detected on previous samples. Samples are collected annually until the producers have two consecutive years of compliant results. Once two years of compliant results are received, the producer is removed from the compliance list.

Type of Analysis

Samples are analyzed for one or more of the following:

  • microbial organisms
  • agricultural chemical residues
  • heavy metals

Laboratory Results and Compliance Activities

When contaminant levels above Health Canada's acceptable limits are detected, the producer is immediately notified. Arrangements are made for a follow-up visit with a Risk Management Specialist to help identify causes and suggest corrective action. Other agencies may be notified to aid in follow-up action (e.g., Canadian Food Inspection Agency).

Additional Information

For additional information on the FSM Program, including results summaries, yearly program descriptions and how to obtain your lab results please visit the Foods of Plant Origin website at: www.ontario.ca/producesafety.

References

The Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001 as well as Ontario Regulation 119/11 can be found at www.ontario.ca/laws.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Linda Hill, Data and Issues Coordinator
Creation Date: January 2014
Last Reviewed: June 2017

Programme de contrôle de la salubrité des aliments d'origine végétale


La Direction de l'inspection des aliments du ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires de l'Ontario évalue régulièrement les aliments d'origine végétale produits en Ontario pour déceler la présence de divers contaminants. Le Règlement de l'Ontario 119/11 (Produits agricoles, miel et produits de l'érable), pris en application de la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments, contribue à réduire au minimum les risques liés à la salubrité des aliments pour les consommateurs de l'Ontario.

Le Programme de contrôle de la salubrité des aliments est un outil qui permet de détecter les cas de non-respect des normes relatives aux organismes microbiens, aux produits chimiques agricoles et aux métaux lourds qui sont présents sur ou dans les aliments d'origine végétale produits en Ontario. Grâce à ce programme, le ministère peut recueillir des renseignements utiles qui aident l'industrie agroalimentaire de l'Ontario à produire des aliments d'origine végétale sans danger de sorte que les consommateurs puissent acheter en toute confiance des produits de l'Ontario.

Dans le cadre de ce programme annuel, la majeure partie des activités d'échantillonnage se déroulent de mai à octobre. Des inspecteurs prélèvent la plupart des échantillons pendant les mois d'été, c'est à-dire pendant la saison de croissance en Ontario.

Pouvoir de prélever des échantillons

Le Règlement de l'Ontario 119/11 a été pris en application de la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments. Des inspecteurs sont nommés en vertu de la Loi et, à ce titre, ont le pouvoir de prélever des échantillons.

Lieux des prélèvements

Des échantillons sont prélevés, conformément aux protocoles établis, à des points de vente et à des centres de distribution situés un peu partout dans la province. Il peut s'agir notamment de magasins de détail, de marchés de producteurs, de comptoirs routiers ou d'entrepôts. Seuls les produits agricoles, le miel et les produits de l'érable récoltés qui sont mis en vente ou destinés à être vendus sont échantillonnés.

Plan d'échantillonnage

Le Programme de contrôle de la salubrité des aliments comprend deux volets :

  • la surveillance régulière;
  • l'échantillonnage de conformité.

Surveillance régulière

Le plan d'échantillonnage repose sur une approche fondée sur le risque.

Trois facteurs sont pris en considération au moment de déterminer les denrées qui seront incluses dans l'échantillonnage :

  1. l'importance des denrées dans le régime alimentaire ou les habitudes de consommation;
  2. la façon dont les denrées sont consommées (crues ou cuites);
  3. les données sur les éclosions (à l'échelle mondiale).

On tient compte de deux facteurs pour déterminer le nombre d'échantillons à prélever pour chaque denrée :

  1. les volumes de production en Ontario;
  2. les antécédents en matière de conformité.

Le plan d'échantillonnage est structuré en fonction des denrées et des comtés et n'indique pas de lieux précis de prélèvement ni de producteurs visés. Les échantillons sont prélevés au hasard.

Lorsqu'un cas de non-conformité est détecté dans le cadre de la surveillance régulière, le producteur en cause est pris en charge par le volet du programme portant sur la conformité.

Échantillonnage de conformité

Dans le cadre de ce volet du programme, on prélève des échantillons en fonction des antécédents en matière de conformité.

Des échantillons sont prélevés chaque année chez les producteurs qui ont eu des échantillons non conformes par le passé. L'échantillonnage annuel se poursuit jusqu'à ce que les producteurs en question obtiennent des résultats conformes pendant deux années consécutives. Par la suite, le nom de ces producteurs est retiré de la liste de conformité.

Types d'analyse

On analyse les échantillons afin de déceler la présence de ce qui suit :

  • organismes microbiens;
  • résidus de produits chimiques agricoles;
  • métaux lourds.

Résultats des analyses de laboratoire et activités liées à la conformité

Lorsque des concentrations de contaminant supérieures aux limites jugées acceptables par Santé Canada sont détectées, le producteur en est immédiatement avisé. On prend des dispositions afin qu'un spécialiste de la gestion des risques effectue une visite de suivi pour déterminer les causes et proposer des mesures correctives. D'autres organismes peuvent être avisés afin de faciliter les mesures de suivi (p. ex. l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments).

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour obtenir d'autres détails au sujet du Programme de contrôle de la salubrité des aliments ainsi que les sommaires des résultats, la description des programmes annuels et la marche à suivre pour obtenir vos résultats d'analyse de laboratoire, veuillez consulter le site Web sur les aliments d'origine végétale, au www.ontario.ca/salubritefruitsetlegumes.

Ressources

La Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments et le Règlement de l'Ontario 119/11 peuvent être consultés au www.ontario.ca/fr/lois.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Linda Hill, Data and Issues Coordinator
Date de création : January 2014
Dernière révision : June 2017