Foods of Plant Origin - Inspection Programs

Table of Contents


Introduction

Foods of plant origin are produce (fruits and vegetables), sprouts, culinary herbs, nuts, edible fungi, maple and honey products. The Foods of Plant Origin (FPO) Program within the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture and Food (OMAF), and Ministry of Rural Affairs (MRA) provides food safety direction and advice to non-federally registered foods of plant origin food packers and processors.

The FPO Program is responsible for two components of food management and safety in Ontario:

In addition, the FPO Program has regulatory responsibility for Apiary Program delivery and plays a lead role in ensuring agency accountability through their work at the Ontario Food Terminal Board.

Federal

The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) is the lead authority on honey legislation pertaining to foods of plant origin food producers and processors. CFIA verifies maple and processed fruit and vegetable products regulated under the Canada Agricultural Products Act in federally-registered establishments or imported into Canada are safe, properly packaged and labelled. CFIA is the only government organization that can issue a food recall.

Municipal

Through its public health units the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care is responsible for public health issues, business licenses and food premise inspection for foods of plant origin food processors.

Together, all three levels of government maximize the safety of the food we eat and drink.

Acts and Regulations

Food Safety Monitoring Program

Fresh Fruits and Vegetables

Honey

Maple Products

Maple Newsletter

Juice

Frequently Asked Questions

Additional Resources


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 19 September 2003
Last Reviewed: 18 February 2014

Aliments d’origine végétale

Table des matières


Introduction

Les aliments d'origine végétale englobent les produits agricoles (fruits et légumes), les pousses, les herbes culinaires, les noix, les champignons comestibles, le miel et les produits de l'érable. Le Programme des aliments d'origine végétale du ministère de l'Agriculture et de l'Alimentation fournit des conseils et des directives sur la sécurité alimentaire aux emballeurs et transformateurs d'aliments d'origine végétale non inscrits auprès du gouvernement fédéral.

Le Programme des aliments d'origine végétale est responsable de deux volets de la sécurité et de la gestion des aliments en Ontario :

Par ailleurs, le Programme des aliments d'origine végétale est aussi responsable de la réglementation visant la mise en œuvre du programme d'apiculture et joue un rôle essentiel pour assurer la responsabilisation des organismes dans le cadre de leur travail au sein de la Commission du Marché des produits alimentaires de l'Ontario.

Fédéral

L'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) est la principale autorité en matière de législation du miel concernant les producteurs et transformateurs de produits alimentaires d'origine végétale. L'ACIA s'assure que les produits de l'érable ainsi que les fruits et les légumes transformés, réglementés en vertu de la Loi sur les produits agricoles au Canada, qui sont produits dans des établissements agréés par le gouvernement fédéral, ou importés au Canada, sont salubres, sains, emballés et étiquetés de façon adéquate. L'ACIA est le seul organisme gouvernemental autorisé à émettre un rappel d'aliment.

Municipal

Par le biais de ses bureaux de santé, le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée de l'Ontario est responsable des questions de santé publique, des permis délivrés aux entreprises et de l'inspection des services d'alimentation des transformateurs de produits alimentaires d'origine végétale.

Ensemble, ces trois paliers de gouvernements maximisent la sécurité des produits alimentaires que nous consommons.

Lois et règlements sur le bétail

Programme de contrôle de la salubrité des aliments

Fruits et légumes

Miel

Érable

Bulletin d'érable

Jus

Foire aux questions

Ressources supplémentaires :


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 12 février 2002
Dernière révision : 19 novembre 2014