Egg Grading, Distribution, Sales and Processing in Ontario

Background

Egg grading has been an established practice in Canada since the 1940s. The purpose of egg grading is to maximize the quality and safety of chicken eggs sold to consumers.

At the grading station, eggs are washed and go through the candling process, where a light makes visible interior defects and cracks in the shell that may not otherwise be seen with the naked eye. Eggs that are cracked, dirty, or leaking have a higher risk of Salmonella contamination and are prevented from entering the table egg market.

Federal and provincial regulations regarding egg grading, distribution, sales and processing are in place to protect consumers.

Regulatory Requirement for Eggs in Ontario

Regulation 171/10 - Eggs and Processed Egg under the Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001 regulates the sale, distribution, offering for sale, shipping, transportation and advertising of eggs and processed egg in Ontario.

The following summarizes the requirements:

  • Grading and processing of eggs must be done in federally registered stations according to the federal Eggs and Processed Egg Regulations under the Canada Agricultural Products Act. There is also a grading requirement under the Food Premises Regulation (Ontario Regulation 562) under the Health Protection and Promotion Act, administered by local health authorities.
  • Ungraded eggs may only be sold to an egg dealer or egg-grading station, except for those sold by producers on the farm premises directly to consumers.
  • Inedible egg and inedible processed egg are prohibited from being used in preparation of food for human consumption or in the food prepared for animals if the meat of those animals is intended for human consumption. The preparation of animal food using inedible egg and inedible processed egg and the preparation of food for human consumption must be done in separate facilities.
  • Records of shipments of inedible egg and inedible processed egg that leave the grading stations must be kept for a period of at least one year. Records must include the shipment date, receiver and quantity of inedible egg or inedible processed egg.

Requirements under other legislation

Requirements for egg grading and processing stations

All egg grading and processing stations are federally registered and inspected. Requirements with respect to these facilities are outlined in the federal Egg Regulations and Processed Egg Regulations under the Canada Agricultural Products Act, including requirements for:

  • construction, licensing, operation and maintenance of egg grading and egg processing stations;
  • grading, packing and marking of eggs and processed egg.

Record-keeping requirements for egg grading stations

Grading station operators are required to maintain records regarding the number of eggs from each producer's lot and the grade of those eggs through a Grading Summary. These requirements are outlined in the Egg Farmers of Ontario General Regulations.

Grading requirements for retail sales

The Food Premises Regulation (Ontario Regulation 562) under the Health Protection and Promotion Act, administered by the local health authorities, requires that all eggs at retail be graded. This includes farmers' markets and other retail outlets.

Additional Information

For full details on these regulations, please refer to:

Provincial regulations:
Federal regulations:

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: October 2017
Last Reviewed: October 2017

Classement, distribution et vente d'œufs en Ontario

Contexte

Le classement des œufs est une pratique courante au Canada depuis les années 1940. L'objectif de classement des œufs est d'optimiser la qualité et la sécurité des œufs de poule vendus aux consommateurs.

Au poste de classement, les œufs sont nettoyés et inspectés grâce au processus de mirage, qui consiste à placer les œufs sous une lumière afin de détecter les défauts intérieurs et les fissures de la coquille qui autrement, ne sont pas visibles à l'œil nu. Les œufs qui sont craquelés, sales, ou coulants présentent un risque plus élevé de contamination à la salmonelle et ne peuvent donc pas être vendus comme des œufs de consommation.

Il existe des règlements fédéraux et provinciaux sur le classement, la distribution, la vente et la transformation visant à assurer la protection des consommateurs.

Exigences réglementaires concernant les œufs en Ontario

Le règlement 171/10 – œufs et œufs transformés pris en application de la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments régit la vente, la distribution, l'offre en vente, l'expédition, le transport et la publicité des œufs et des œufs transformés en Ontario.

Voici un résumé des exigences :

  • Le classement et la transformation des œufs doivent être effectués dans des installations agréées par le fédéral conformément à la réglementation fédérale sur les œufs et les œufs transformés de la Loi sur les produits agricoles au Canada. Il s'agit aussi d'une exigence en vertu du Règlement sur les établissements d'alimentation (Règlement de l'Ontario 562) pris en application de la Loi sur la protection et la promotion de la santé, qui est administrée par les autorités sanitaires locales.
  • Les œufs non classés peuvent être uniquement vendus à des marchands d'œufs ou à des postes de classement, à l'exception de ceux qui sont vendus par des producteurs qui pratiquent la vente directe auprès des consommateurs à la ferme.
  • L'utilisation d'œufs et d'œufs transformés impropres à la consommation est interdite dans la préparation d'aliments destinés à la consommation humaine ainsi que dans les aliments préparés pour les animaux si la viande de ces animaux est destinée à la consommation humaine. La préparation d'aliments pour animaux utilisant des œufs et des œufs transformés impropres à la consommation et la préparation d'aliments destinés à la consommation humaine doivent se faire dans des installations distinctes.
  • Les registres des expéditions d'œufs et d'œufs transformés impropres à la consommation qui sortent des postes de classement doivent être conservés pendant au moins un an. Ils doivent indiquer la date d'expédition, le destinataire et la quantité d'œufs et d'œufs transformés impropres à la consommation.

Exigences en vertu d'autres lois

Exigences concernant les postes de classement et les installations de transformation

Les postes de classement et les installations de transformation des œufs sont inspectés et agréés par le gouvernement fédéral. Les exigences relatives à ces installations sont énoncées dans la réglementation fédérale sur les œufs et les œufs transformés de la Loi sur les produits agricoles au Canada, parmi lesquelles, des exigences concernant

  • la construction, l'homologation, le fonctionnement et l'entretien des postes de classement et des installations de transformation des œufs;
  • le classement, l'emballage et le marquage des œufs et des œufs transformés.

Exigences concernant la conservation des registres des postes de classement d'œufs

Les exploitants de postes de classement doivent conserver les registres concernant le nombre d'œufs provenant de chaque lot du producteur et le classement de ces œufs dans un sommaire de classement. Ces exigences sont énoncées dans la réglementation générale des Producteurs d'œufs de l'Ontario.

Exigences en matière de classement pour les ventes au détail

Le Règlement sur les établissements d'alimentation (Règlement de l'Ontario 562) pris en application de la Loi sur la protection et la promotion de la santé, administré par les autorités sanitaires locales, exige que tous les œufs vendus au détail soient classés. Cela comprend les marchés agricoles et d'autres points de vente au détail

Complément d'information

Pour obtenir tous les détails de ces règlements, veuillez consulter les sites suivants :

Règlements provinciaux :
Règlements fédéraux 

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : Octobre 2017
Dernière révision : Octobre 2017