Resources

Provincial and National Dairy Organizations

The Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) shares the responsibility for ensuring the safety of Canada's food supply with federal and municipal governments and industry.

The Canadian Food Inspection Agency regulates dairy products processed in federally inspected establishments or being imported into Canada to verify they are safe, properly labelled and eligible for inter-provincial or international trade.

Health Canada is responsible for establishing policies, setting standards and providing advice and information on the safety and nutritional value of Canada's food supply.

The Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care is Ontario's publicly funded health system to help people stay healthy, deliver good care when people need it and protect the health system for future generations. The local municipal public health units are responsible for the administration of Regulation 562 of the Health Protection and Promotion Act.

The Canadian Dairy Commission coordinates federal and provincial dairy policies related to cow milk production and pricing.

The Dairy Farmers of Canada was established in 1934 by producers as the voice of Canadian bovine dairy producers.

The Dairy Farmers of Ontario (DFO) is the marketing group for the province's cow dairy sector. Since 1998, DFO has been authorized (under an agreement with OMAFRA) to administer Regulation 761 under the Milk Act for cow milk producers, pertaining to farm premises, raw milk quality testing, tank-truck inspections, Bulk Tank Milk Grader (BTMG) certification and monitoring and milk transportation to licensed dairy processors.

The Ontario Dairy Council is a voluntary industry association that represents the interests and concerns of the province's dairy processors.

Ontario Goat is a producer organization representing Ontario's milk, meat and fibre sectors.

Resource Documents:

The National Dairy Code is a technical reference document that provides guidance to provincial and federal governments and industry on minimum standards for milk production, transportation and processing.

The Dairy Establishment Inspection Manual (DEIM) is a set of industry-accepted guidelines developed and maintained by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) with input from industry and the provinces. The DEIM supports federal legislation and regulations under the Canada Agricultural Products Act and the Food and Drugs Act. CFIA and OMAFRA rely on the DEIM to conduct dairy plant inspections.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 24 May 2013
Last Reviewed: 04 July 2014

Ressources

La salubrité de l'approvisionnement alimentaire du Canada est une responsabilité que le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAARO) assument en collaboration avec le gouvernement fédéral, les administrations municipales et l'industrie.

L'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments réglemente les produits laitiers qui sont transformés dans les établissements inspectés par le gouvernement fédéral ou qui sont importés au Canada afin de vérifier s'ils sont salubres, bien étiquetés et admissibles au commerce interprovincial ou international.

Santé Canada s'occupe d'établir des politiques et des normes et de fournir des avis et des renseignements sur l'innocuité et la valeur nutritive de l'approvisionnement alimentaire du Canada.

Le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée gère le système de santé public de l'Ontario. Sa mission consiste à aider les gens à rester en santé, à leur fournir les soins nécessaires et à protéger le système de santé pour les prochaines générations. Les bureaux de santé locaux voient à l'administration du Règlement 562 (en anglais seulement) pris en application de la Loi sur la protection et la promotion de la santé.

La Commission canadienne du lait coordonne les politiques laitières fédérales et provinciales liées à la production et à l'établissement du prix du lait de vache.

Créé en 1934, l'organisme Producteurs laitiers du Canada s'est établi comme la voix des producteurs canadiens de bovins laitiers.

Dairy Farmers of Ontario ou DFO (en anglais seulement) est l'organisme responsable de la commercialisation pour l'industrie du lait de vache dans la province. Depuis 1998, DFO est autorisé (dans le cadre d'une entente conclue avec le MAAARO) à administrer, pour les besoins de la production de lait de vache, les dispositions du Règlement 761 pris en vertu de la Loi sur le lait qui portent sur les lieux d'exploitation, l'analyse de la qualité du lait cru, l'inspection des camions citernes, l'accréditation et la surveillance des préposés au classement du lait ainsi que le transport du lait vers les usines de transformation titulaires d'un permis.

L'Ontario Dairy Council est une association sectorielle à adhésion volontaire qui représente les intérêts des entreprises de transformation laitière ontariennes.

Documents de référence

Le Code national sur les produits laitiers est un document de référence technique qui aide les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux ainsi que les dirigeants de l'industrie à assurer l'application des normes minimales relatives à la production, au transport et à la transformation du lait.

Le Manuel d'inspection des établissements laitiers est un recueil de lignes directrices acceptées par l'industrie créé et mis à jour par l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) avec le concours de l'industrie et des provinces. Il est basé sur la législation et les règlements fédéraux pris en application de la Loi sur les produits agricoles au Canada et de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues. L'ACIA, le MAAARO utilisent tous ce manuel à titre de document de référence pour l'inspection des usines laitières.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 24 mai 2013
Dernière révision : 04 juillet 2014