OMAFRA's Dairy Food Safety Program

Table of contents

Raw Milk Quality Programs

Ontario's Raw Milk Quality Programs apply to the production of raw milk on dairy farms and its transportation to dairy plants for processing. The programs are based on a comprehensive legislative framework in the Milk Act (Ontario) and include inspection of farm premises and tank-trucks, certification and inspection of bulk tank milk graders, oversight of milk collection and transportation to dairy plants, and laboratory testing.

Raw Cow Milk

The Dairy Farmers of Ontario (DFO) administer the raw milk quality program for cow milk. OMAFRA is responsible for the monitoring and auditing of DFO's administration of the program. This arrangement is established through legislation and a comprehensive administrative agreement.

Raw Goat Milk

OMAFRA is responsible for the administration of the raw milk quality program for goat milk.

Transportation of Raw Milk from Farm to Processor

The Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) requires all raw milk to be graded before being transported from the farm and prior to being received at a processing plant as part of a thorough quality-control process, as per requirements of Regulation 761 under the Milk Act (Ontario). All graders must be certified as outlined under the Grader's Certification section.

Testing Raw Milk

A sample of milk is collected from the bulk tank before the milk is transferred to the milk tank-truck. A certified Bulk Tank Milk Grader (BTMG) ensures that the sample is representative of the milk in the bulk tank. These milk samples are refrigerated and transported to Laboratory Services Division, University of Guelph for regulatory testing. At the laboratory the milk is analyzed for composition (fat, protein, lactose and other solids), bacteria content, somatic cell count levels, the presence of chemical residues, and abnormalities. Goat milk test results are reported to the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA), who in turn, report results to producers as soon as possible. Cow milk test results are reported to Dairy Farmers of Ontario (DFO), who make the results available to producers as soon as possible. Producers are subject to penalties and follow-up action in cases where raw milk test results indicate food safety or quality issues ('adverse' test results). Producers are notified of any adverse test results and may be further contacted or visited by inspection staff to resolve issues.

Dairy Plant Program

Under the Milk Act (Ontario), OMAFRA licenses all Ontario dairy plants.

Dairy plants that distribute finished products out of the province or internationally, or that supply federally registered dairy plants with dairy inputs, must also be federally registered with the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA).

Federally registered plants are inspected by CFIA and non-federally registered plants are inspected by OMAFRA. OMAFRA also has inspection responsibility for federally registered fluid milk plants that are not participating in the CFIA's Food Safety Enhancement Program.

Every licensed operator is responsible for ensuring they consistently produce safe products that meet all the relevant microbial and compositional standards. They are also responsible for ensuring that they operate and maintain their plants in conditions that meet all relevant federal legislation and/or provincial regulatory requirements as outlined in Regulations 761 and 753 under the Milk Act.

Each licensed facility that is inspected by OMAFRA receives the equivalent of one comprehensive in-depth inspection annually and as many follow-ups as necessary to ensure compliance with all applicable regulatory requirements.

OMAFRA Dairy Plant Specialists refer to CFIA's Dairy Establishment Inspection Manual (DEIM) when conducting their inspections. The DEIM is a set of industry-accepted guidelines developed and maintained by the CFIA, with input from industry and the provinces. The DEIM is based on federal legislation and regulations under the Canada Agricultural Products Act and the Food and Drugs Act. OMAFRA's use of DEIM is as a reference to industry accepted guidelines to compliment direct enforcement of the regulatory requirements under the Milk Act (Ontario). CFIA uses DEIM as an interpretation of federal requirements.

Food labelling and advertisement requirements are provided in the Consumer Packaging and Labelling Act (Canada). Information on how to comply with food labelling and advertising requirements is available in The Guide to Food Labelling and Advertising posted on the CFIA website.

Retail outlets attached to a dairy plant fall under municipal jurisdiction and are inspected by officials from the local public health unit.

Environmental and Finished Product Sampling and Testing Programs

OMAFRA conducts routine targeted finished product sampling and testing along with environmental monitoring programs to check that milk products produced in provincially licensed dairy plants are being made in a safe environment and meet all the applicable standards.

For Species Other Than Cow and Goat

OMAFRA does not license or inspect dairy production, transportation or processing operations that handle milk only from species other than cow and goat. Milk from species other than cow and goat is not regulated under the Milk Act.

If finished milk products from other species are distributed out of the province or are used in federal plants as dairy inputs the CFIA will register and inspect the plant.

The local public health unit inspects facilities that process milk only from species other than cow and goat, and are not federally registered. In general, public health units are responsible for ensuring that these operations are in compliance with Food Premise Regulation 562 under the Health Protection and Promotion Act.

When requested, OMAFRA Dairy Food Safety Program staff will work with producers, transporters or processors who only handle milk from species other than cow and goat. Staff will assist new and existing operators in their operations related to farm premise standards, facility and equipment design, on-farm milking start-ups, milk-handling practices, milk transport to plants and plant processing operations.

Distribution Licensing and Inspections

Under the Non-shopkeeper Distributor Program, OMAFRA licenses and inspects distributors of fluid milk products to ensure milk products are stored and transported under appropriate conditions.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 13 December 2012
Last Reviewed: 17 July 2014

Programme de salubrité des produits laitiers du MAAARO

Table des matières

Programme de contrôle de la qualité du lait cru

Le Programme de contrôle de la qualité du lait cru régit la production de lait cru dans les fermes laitières et son transport vers les usines laitières pour la transformation. Le programme est basé sur le cadre législatif exhaustif de la Loi sur le lait (Ontario) et comprend l'inspection des exploitations agricoles et des camions-citernes, l'accréditation et l'inspection des préposés au classement du lait, la surveillance de la collecte du lait et du transport vers les usines laitières ainsi que les analyses en laboratoire.

Lait de vache cru

Dairy Farmers of Ontario (DFO) assure la gestion du Programme de contrôle de la qualité du lait cru pour le lait de vache. Le MAAARO sont responsables de la surveillance et de la vérification de la gestion du programme. Cet arrangement est prévu par une loi et par une entente administrative exhaustive.

Lait de chèvre cru

Le MAAARO sont responsables de la gestion du Programme de contrôle de la qualité du lait cru pour le lait de chèvre.

Transport du lait cru de la ferme à l'usine de transformation

Le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAARO) exigent que le lait cru soit classé avant son transport à partir de la ferme et sa réception dans une usine de transformation dans le cadre d'un processus de contrôle de la qualité rigoureux, conformément aux exigences de la Loi sur le lait (Ontario). Tous les préposés au classement doivent être accrédités, comme l'indique la section « Accréditation des préposés au classement ».

Analyse du lait cru

Un échantillon de lait cru est prélevé dans le réservoir à lait avant que ce dernier soit transféré dans le camion-citerne. Un classeur agréé de lait en citerne doit s'assurer que l'échantillon est représentatif du lait contenu dans le réservoir. Ces échantillons de lait sont réfrigérés et acheminés à la Division des services de laboratoire de l'Université de Guelph pour analyse réglementaire. Au laboratoire, les analyses de lait portent sur sa composition (matière grasse, protéine, lactose et autres solides), son contenu bactérien, le comptage des cellules somatiques, la présence de résidus de produits chimiques et les anomalies observées. Les résultats des analyses de lait de chèvre sont communiqués au ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAARO), qui transmet ensuite les résultats aux producteurs le plus rapidement possible. Les résultats d'analyse de lait de vache sont communiqués aux Dairy Farmers of Ontario (DFO), qui rendent les résultats accessibles aux producteurs le plus tôt possible.

Les producteurs s'exposent à des pénalités et peuvent faire l'objet de mesures de suivi si les résultats des analyses du lait crû révèlent un problème au niveau de la qualité ou de la salubrité (résultats d'analyse " insatisfaisant "). Les producteurs sont informés de tout résultat d'analyse insatisfaisant et le personnel d'inspection peut communiquer avec eux ou leur rendre visite afin de résoudre le problème.

Programme de l'usine laitière

Délivrance de permis et inspection des usines laitières

En vertu de la Loi sur le lait (Ontario), le MAAARO sont responsables de la délivrance de permis à toutes les usines laitières de l'Ontario.

Les usines laitières qui distribuent des produits finis à l'extérieur de la province ou du pays ou qui approvisionnent des usines laitières agréées par le gouvernement fédéral en intrants laitiers doivent également être agréées par le gouvernement fédéral auprès de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA).

Les usines agréées par le gouvernement fédéral sont inspectées par l'ACIA; les autres le sont par le MAAARO. Le MAAARO sont également responsables de l'inspection des usines de lait de consommation agréées par le gouvernement fédéral qui ne participent pas au Programme d'amélioration de la salubrité des aliments de l'ACIA.

Il revient à chaque exploitant titulaire d'un permis de voir à ce que ses produits soient salubres et respectent les normes microbiologiques et de composition applicables. Il doit aussi exercer ses activités et entretenir son usine dans des conditions conformes à toutes les exigences réglementaires provinciales ou fédérales applicables.

Chaque usine titulaire d'un permis inspectée par le MAAARO fait l'objet d'une inspection minutieuse et complète chaque année et d'autant de suivis qu'il est nécessaire afin d'assurer la conformité à toutes les exigences réglementaires qui s'appliquent.

Les spécialistes des usines laitières du MAAARO consultent le Manuel d'inspection des établissements laitiers de l'ACIA (en anglais seulement) pour procéder à une inspection. Ce manuel est un recueil de lignes directrices acceptées par l'industrie créé et mis à jour par l'ACIA avec le concours de l'industrie et des provinces. Il est basé sur la législation et les règlements fédéraux pris en application de la Loi sur les produits agricoles au Canada et de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues. Le MAAARO s'en servent pour se renseigner sur les lignes directrices acceptées par l'industrie, qui viennent compléter l'application directe des exigences réglementaires prévues par la Loi sur le lait (Ontario). L'ACIA l'utilise pour sa part comme outil d'interprétation des exigences fédérales.

Les points de vente au détail d'une usine laitière relèvent de la compétence des municipalités et sont inspectés par les représentants du bureau de santé publique de la région.

Programmes de surveillance environnementale ainsi que d'échantillonnage et d'analyse des produits finis

Le MAAARO effectuent régulièrement l'analyse et l'échantillonnage de produits finis ciblés et met en œuvre des programmes de surveillance environnementale afin de vérifier si les produits laitiers venant des usines laitières titulaires d'un permis provincial sont fabriqués dans un milieu salubre et satisfont à toutes les normes applicables.

Variétés de lait autres que le lait de vache ou de chèvre

Le MAAARO ne sont pas responsables de la délivrance des permis ni de l'inspection des installations de production, de transport et de transformation du lait d'autres espèces d'animaux que la vache et la chèvre. Le lait des autres espèces d'animaux n'est pas régi par la Loi sur le lait.

Si des produits laitiers finis provenant d'autres espèces d'animaux sont distribués à l'extérieur de la province ou sont utilisés dans des usines laitières agréées par le gouvernement fédéral comme des intrants laitiers, l'ACIA doit agréer et inspecter l'usine.

Le bureau de santé publique de la région inspecte les usines qui transforment exclusivement le lait d'espèces d'animaux autres que la vache et la chèvre et qui ne sont pas agréées par le gouvernement fédéral. En général, les bureaux de santé publique doivent veiller à ce que ces établissements soient conformes au Règlement 562 sur les services d'alimentation (en anglais seulement) pris en vertu de la Loi sur la protection et la promotion de la santé.

Le personnel responsable du Programme de salubrité des produits laitiers du MAAARO doit travailler en collaboration avec les producteurs, les transporteurs ou les entreprises de transformation qui se spécialisent dans le lait d'autres espèces d'animaux que la vache et la chèvre. Il aide les nouveaux exploitants et ceux en place à respecter les exigences liées aux installations agricoles, à la conception de l'usine et de l'équipement, au démarrage des activités de production laitière, aux pratiques de manutention du lait, au transport du lait vers les usines et aux activités de transformation en usine.

Délivrance de permis de distribution et inspections

En vertu du programme de distributeur n'exploitant pas un commerce de détail, le MAAARO délivrent des permis et assure l'inspection des distributeurs de lait de consommation pour veiller à ce que les produits laitiers soient conservés et transportés dans des conditions adéquates.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 23 mai 2013
Dernière révision : 04 juillet 2014