Wildlife Damage to Bee Colonies, Bee Hives & Bee Hive Related Equipment

A new Ontario Wildlife Damage Compensation Program came into effect July 1, 2011. A component of the program involves providing financial assistance to beekeepers whose bee colonies, bee hives and bee hive related equipment have been damaged by eligible species of wildlife identified as bear, deer, raccoon and skunk.

The program is administered by the Rural Programs Branch of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food & Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) and its purpose is to encourage production of honey in Ontario by having beekeepers report damage caused to bee colonies, bee hives and bee hive related equipment by species of wildlife as identified above. Maximum compensation values are as follows:

  • Maximum compensation value for a Bee Colony is $150
  • Maximum compensation value for a Bee Hive / Bee Hive Related Equipment is $100

Beekeepers who have suffered damage and want to apply for compensation under the program are required within 48 hours of discovering damage to notify a Wildlife Damage Evaluator (Bee Inspector) for their respective county, district or region or by calling Robin Chandra, Financial Officer, OMAFRA at 1-888-466-2372 extension 519-826-3833.

To contact a Wildlife Damage Evaluator (Bee Inspector) for your area, please visit the website: http://www.omafra.gov.on.ca/english/food/inspection/bees/info_beeinspectors.htm

Additional information on the Ontario Wildlife Damage Compensation Program can be found at www.ontario.ca/predation and in the Program Guidelines.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Robin Chandra, Financial Officer
Creation Date: 26 November 2013
Last Reviewed: 31 May 2016

Dommages causés par la faune aux colonies d'abeilles, aux ruches et à l'équipement apicole

Un nouveau Programme ontarien d'indemnisation des dommages causés par la faune est en vigueur depuis le 1er juillet 2011. Un volet du programme permet de procurer de l'aide financière aux apiculteurs dont les colonies d'abeilles, les ruches et l'équipement apicole ont été endommagés par des espèces fauniques admissibles, soit l'ours, le cerf, le raton laveur et la moufette.

Le programme est géré par la Direction des programmes des collectivités rurales du ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAARO). Il a pour but de favoriser la production de miel en Ontario en permettant aux apiculteurs de signaler les dommages causés par les espèces fauniques mentionnées ci-dessus aux colonies d'abeilles, aux ruches et à l'équipement apicole. Le programme offre les indemnités maximales suivantes :

  • Indemnité maximum pour une colonie d'abeilles : 150 $.
  • Indemnité maximum pour une ruche et de l'équipement apicole : 100 $.

Les apiculteurs qui ont subi des dommages et souhaitent présenter une demande d'indemnisation en vertu du programme doivent, dans les 48 heures suivant la découverte des dommages, aviser un évaluateur des dommages causés par la faune (un inspecteur apicole) de leur comté, district ou région ou appeler Robin Chandra, agent des finances, MAAARO, au 1 888 466-2372, poste 519 826-3833.

Pour communiquer avec l'évaluateur des dommages causés par la faune (inspecteur apicole) de votre région, visitez le site suivant : www.omafra.gov.on.ca/french/food/inspection/bees/info_beeinspectors.htm

Pour des renseignements supplémentaires sur le Programme ontarien d'indemnisation des dommages causés par la faune, consultez le site www.ontario.ca/predation et les lignes directrices du programme.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Robin Chandra
Date de création : 28 novembre 2013
Dernière révision : 17 octobre 2017