Varroa Mite - Biology and Diagnosis

Varroa mites, Varroa destructor, are the most serious threat to honey bees. Varroa were previously known by the species name Varroa jacobsoni. Varroa are relatively large external parasites that feed on the body fluids of adult and developing honey bees (figures 1 - 2). Varroa cause physical damage, weaken bees and transmit a variety of pathogens, particularly viruses. In almost all cases, when varroa infestations are not effectively managed they will eventually result in the death of the entire honey bee colony. It is crucial that beekeepers manage the health of their honey bees by suppressing the population of varroa in all of their honey bee colonies throughout the beekeeping season.

Varroa mite in honey bee brood cell

Figure 1. Varroa mite in honey bee brood cell

Varroa mite on a honey bee

Figure 2. Varroa mite on a honey bee


Varroa originally evolved in Asia, on a different species of honey bee, the Asian honey bee (Apis cerana), and has since spread to the western honey bee (Apis mellifera) throughout most of the world.

Varroa is now present in almost all honey bee colonies at levels of infestation that are always increasing unless treated. If you have honey bees, you will have varroa. Any feral colonies present in Ontario will also be infested with varroa. At present, the region of Thunder Bay in north western Ontario is not known to have varroa . This is likely due to the prolonged isolation of the area from other populations of honey bees.

Different populations of varroa have become resistant to multiple classes of chemical treatments (fluvalinate, coumaphos and amitraz). Some treatments that were once effective at treating varroa may have limited effectiveness. Although there have been documented cases of amitraz resistance in other countries, there has not been a documented case of amitraz resistance of varroa in Canada at the time of this publication. However, resistance to fluvalinate and coumaphos are common amongst populations of varroa in Canada, including Ontario.

Life Cycle and Biology

Varroa mites are arachnids. They belong to the same class of animals as spiders, ticks and other mites. The most commonly encountered life stage of the varroa is the mature female mite. Unless referred to otherwise in this document, all varroa are mature females.

Varroa are relatively large parasites compared to their host. It would be like having a tick the size of a small plate feeding on your body! Varroa are darkish red, oval in shape, approximately 1 x 1.5 mm wide, with the body surface covered in fine hairs and eight legs located at the front of the body (figure 3). Varroa have well developed chelicerae (jaws) that are used to puncture and attach themselves to the body of their host. Although varroa mites do not have eyes, they detect honey bees by smell and movement. They move fast and can easily move from the body of one honey bee to another.

Adult female mites. Upperview (left), underview (right)

Figure 3. Adult female mites. Upperview (left), underview (right)

Varroa are completely dependent on honey bee colonies for survival and reproduction. Varroa cannot live separately from honey bees for more than a few days. Varroa will feed on the haemolymph (blood) of adult honey bees after piercing their soft membranes located between segments of the exoskeleton, usually between their lower abdominal plates.

To reproduce, the parent varroa enter the brood cell of the honey bee right before the cell is capped (figure 4). Once the cell is capped, the parent varroa lays eggs and pierces the developing bee brood, leaving a wound open in it. The eggs hatch, the offspring mate with each other and feed on the developing bee brood along with the parent mite.

Varroa infested brood

Figure 4. Varroa infested brood

The numbers of varroa offspring generated in a brood cell depends on the time the cell remains capped. This is why varroa are able to produce more offspring in drone brood (2 to 2.5 offspring in 14 to 15 days capped) rather than in worker brood (1.5 offspring in 12 days capped). Thus, varroa are adapted to seeking out drone brood. As the new adult bee emerges from the brood cell, the parent mite and the female mite offspring are released. The parasitized honey bee brood will emerge weakened with a shortened lifespan.

The pattern of varroa population growth follows that of the honey bee colony. When honey bee brood is present, the varroa population increases with a large proportion (2/3) of varroa are protected inside the brood cells from chemical treatments (~12 days for workers and 14 to 15 days for drone). If left unmanaged the varroa population in a honey bee colony will increase from spring and reach extremely high levels towards the end of summer when the winter population of bees are developing. After the honey bee colony stops rearing brood in late fall, all the varroa in the population become concentrated on the bodies of the adult bees.


In almost all situations varroa is highly virulent and will lead to the eventual death of a honey bee colony. Research demonstrates that inadequate varroa control is the primary cause of mortality in honey bee colonies in Ontario (Guzman et al., 2010).

Varroa mites weaken bees by damaging tissue and depleting body fluids during development and adulthood. They also transmit pathogens, such as viruses, to individual bees (figure 5).

Worker bee infected with deformed wing virus (on left)

Figure 5. Worker bee infected with deformed wing virus (on left)

Varroa are always in honey bee colonies. Chemical treatments or cultural control are almost always necessary to manage infestations under damaging levels. However, even when chemical treatments are applied to reduce varroa infestations there are always some varroa left over. They can increase their population within a colony to the point where the colony becomes severely weakened and will die.

It is important for beekeepers to know the level of varroa infestation in a honey bee colony before it becomes too high. Thus, beekeepers must continuously monitor levels of infestation in their honey bee colonies and treat them at regular intervals to ensure levels of infestation are kept below damaging levels (figure 6).

Worker bees in brood nest. Note the small red dots on the surface of the bees - Varroa mites.

Figure 6. Worker bees in brood nest. Note the small red dots on the surface of the bees - Varroa mites.

Colonies with high levels of varroa infestation in a weakened state may have their honey stores robbed by foraging bees of stronger, healthier colonies. When this occurs varroa can transfer to the robbing bees which spreads the mite to a healthy colony. Therefore, it is just as important to keep varroa levels under control in neighbouring colonies within a beeyard.

Beekeepers must take particular care not to delay late summer or early fall treatments for varroa as the winter bees that are being produced during this time must be healthy as they will make up the winter population (cluster) of bees.

Detailed instructions are given in the following documents on OMAFRA's web site:

Varroa-Sampling and Monitoring Infosheet and Treatment recommendations.



Guzman-Novoa E., Eccles L., Calvete Y., McGowan J., Kelly P. and Correa-Benitez A. 2010. Varroa destructor is the main culprit for death and reduced populations of overwintered honey bees in Ontario, Canada. Apidologie. 4 (4) 443-451.

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 10 April 2012
Last Reviewed: 22 December 2015

Varroa - Biologie et Diagnostic

Le varroa, Varroa destructor, représente la plus importante menace pour les abeilles mellifères. Par le passé, il était connu sous le mon de l'espèce bactérienne, c.-à-d. Varroa jacobsoni. Le varroa est un parasite externe de taille relativement grande qui se nourrit des liquides organiques des abeilles mellifères adultes ou en développement. Il cause des dommages matériels, affaiblit les abeilles et transmet divers pathogènes, en particulier des virus. Dans presque tous les cas, lorsqu'une infestation au varroa n'est pas bien gérée, toute la colonie d'abeilles finit par mourir. Il est primordial que les apiculteurs s'occupent de la santé de leurs abeilles mellifères en éliminant la population de varroas dans toutes les colonies durant la saison apicole.

Varroa adult femelle (roughe) et varroas femelles en voie de devenir adults.

Figure 1. Varroa adulte femelle (rouge) et varroas femelles en voie de devenir adults.

Infestation de varroas facile à voir par un point foncé sur l'abdomen.

Figure 2. Infestation de varroas facile à voir par un point foncé sur l'abdomen.

Prevalence

Le varroa s'est d'abord développé en Asie sur une espèce différente d'abeilles mellifères, les abeilles asiatiques (Apis cerana), et s'est ensuite étendu pour atteindre les abeilles occidentales (Apis mellifera) dans la majeure partie du monde.

Le varroa est maintenant présent dans la plupart des colonies d'abeilles mellifères et, à défaut d'un traitement, l'intensité des infestations ne fait qu'augmenter. Si vous avez des abeilles mellifères, vous avez des varroas. Les colonies sauvages présentes en Ontario sont également infestées par le varroa. À l'heure actuelle, il n'y aurait pas de varroa dans la région de Thunder Bay, qui se trouve dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Ontario. Cela vient probablement du fait que la région est depuis longtemps isolée des autres populations d'abeilles mellifères.

Différentes populations de varroas sont devenues résistantes à de nombreux types de traitements chimiques (le fluvalinate, le coumaphos et l'amitraz). Certains traitements qui étaient auparavant efficaces pour combattre le varroa peuvent avoir une efficacité limitée. Même s'il y a des cas prouvés de résistance à l'amitraz dans d'autres pays, on n'en comptait aucun au Canada au moment de la publication du présent document. Cependant, la résistance au fluvalinate et au coumaphos est courante chez les populations de varroas du Canada et notamment de l'Ontario.

Cycle de vie et biologie

Le varroa est un arachnide qui appartient à la même catégorie que l'araignée, la tique et d'autres acariens. Les populations de varroas se composent principalement des femelles matures. Sauf indication contraire dans le présent document, tous les varroas sont des femelles matures.

Le varroa est un parasite relativement grand par rapport à son hôte. C'est comme si une tique de la taille d'une petite assiette se nourrissait sur votre corps. Le varroa est rouge foncé, a une forme ovale et mesure environ 1 mm x 1,5 mm. La surface de son corps est couverte de poils fins, et il a huit pattes situées sur la partie avant du corps (figure 4). De plus, le varroa possède des chélicères (mâchoires) bien développées qu'il utilise pour perforer le corps de son hôte et s'y fixer. Même s'il n'a pas d'yeux, le varroa détecte les abeilles mellifères grâce à son odorat et aux mouvements. Il est très rapide et peut facilement se déplacer d'une abeille à l'autre.

Varroas adultes femelles.

Figure 3. Varroas adultes femelles.

La survie et la reproduction du varroa reposent entièrement sur les colonies d'abeilles mellifères. Le varroa ne peut vivre séparément des abeilles mellifères pendant plus de quelques jours. Il se nourrit de l'hémolymphe (sang) des abeilles adultes après avoir percé leurs membranes souples situées entre les parties de l'exosquelette, en général entre les segments abdominaux inférieurs.

Pour se reproduire, le varroa adulte pénètre dans l'alvéole de l'abeille mellifère juste avant qu'elle soit operculée. Il pond ensuite des œufs et transperce le couvain en développement en y laissant une plaie ouverte. Une fois les œufs éclos, les petits s'accouplent entre eux et, avec le parent, se nourrissent du couvain en développement (figure 4).

Alvéole ouverte montrant le couvain infesté.

Figure 4. Alvéole ouverte montrant le couvain infesté.

Le nombre de petits produits dans une alvéole dépend de la période durant laquelle l'alvéole demeure operculée. C'est pourquoi le varroa peut produire plus de petits dans un couvain de faux-bourdons (2 à 2,5 petits dans une alvéole operculée pendant 14 à 15 jours) que dans un couvain d'ouvrières (1,5 petit dans une alvéole operculée pendant 12 jours). Par conséquent, le varroa est adapté à la recherche de couvains de faux-bourdons. Lorsque les nouvelles abeilles adultes sortent de l'alvéole, le parent et les petits acariens sont libérés. Le couvain parasité se trouve affaibli, et sa durée de vie est raccourcie.

La croissance de la population de varroas suit celle de la colonie d'abeilles mellifères. Lorsque le couvain est présent, la population de varroas augmente et une grande proportion (les deux tiers) est protégée contre les traitements chimiques (environ 12 jours pour les ouvrières et 14 à 15 jours pour les faux-bourdons) à l'intérieur des alvéoles. Si on ne prend aucune mesure, la population de varroas présente dans une colonie d'abeilles augmentera à compter du printemps et sera extrêmement élevée vers la fin de l'été, soit au moment où la population d'abeilles d'hiver se développe. Une fois que la colonie d'abeilles a cessé d'élever des couvains à la fin de l'automne, toute la population de varroas se concentre sur le corps des abeilles adultes.

Incidence

Dans presque toutes les situations, le varroa est très virulent et finit par tuer la colonie d'abeilles. Selon des études, les mesures insuffisantes de lutte contre le varroa constituent la principale cause de mortalité des colonies d'abeilles en Ontario (Guzman, et autres 2010).

Le varroa affaiblit les abeilles en endommageant leurs tissus et en réduisant leurs liquides organiques pendant leur développement et une fois qu'elles ont atteint l'âge adulte. En outre, il transmet des pathogènes, tels que des virus, à des abeilles (figure 6). Le varroa est toujours présent dans les colonies d'abeilles. Des traitements chimiques ou des mesures de lutte culturale sont presque toujours nécessaires pour gérer les infestations afin qu'elles ne causent pas trop de dommages. Cependant, même lorsqu'on applique des traitements chimiques pour réduire les infestations, il reste toujours des varroas. La population de varroas dans une colonie peut augmenter au point où celle-ci devient sérieusement affaiblie et meurt.

Abeille ouvière adult infectée par le virus des ailes déformées (à gauche).

Figure 5. Abeille ouvière adult infectée par le virus des ailes déformées (à gauche).

Il est important que les apiculteurs connaissent le niveau d'infestation par le varroa dans une colonie d'abeilles mellifères avant qu'il devienne trop élevé. Par conséquent, ils doivent surveiller constamment les niveaux d'infestation dans leurs colonies et appliquer régulièrement des traitements afin de limiter les dommages causés par les infestations (figure 6).

Les colonies qui sont affaiblies en raison d'une forte infestation par le varroa peuvent se faire piller leurs réserves de miel par les butineuses des colonies fortes et saines. En pareil cas, le varroa peut se retrouver sur les abeilles pilleuses et infester une colonie saine. Par conséquent, il est également important de limiter les niveaux d'infestation par le varroa dans les colonies avoisinantes du rucher.

Colonie d'abeilles très infestée de varroas à la surface des abeilles adultes.

Figure 6. Colonie d'abeilles très infestée de varroas à la surface des abeilles adultes.

Les apiculteurs doivent veiller à ne pas retarder l'application de traitements contre le varroa à la fin de l'été ou au début de l'automne, car les abeilles d'hiver qui sont produites durant cette période doivent être en santé puisqu'elles constitueront la population d'hiver (grappe).

Pour obtenir des instructions détaillées: http://www.omafra.gov.on.ca/french/food/inspection/bees/varroa-sampling.htm

et

http://www.omafra.gov.on.ca/french/food/inspection/bees/2012-treatment.htm

Ressource & ouvranges reommandés

Bibliographie

Guzman-Novoa, E., L. Eccles, Y. Calvete, J. McGowan, P. Kelly and A. Correa-Benitez. "Varroa destructor is the main culprit for death and reduced populations of overwintered honey bees in Ontario, Canada", Apidologie, 41(4), p. 443-451, 2010.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 13 avril 2012
Dernière révision : 22 décembre 2015