Declaration of Quarantine

In the matter of the small hive beetle infestations in honey bee (Apis mellifera) colonies in the County of Essex, in the Province of Ontario;

The purposes of this quarantine declaration are to protect those parts of the Province that are believed to be free from the presence of the small hive beetle (Aethina tumida) and to prevent, detect, control, suppress or mitigate the small hive beetle in the Quarantine Area, as this particular pest is a significant risk to managed honey bee colonies in the Province (hereinafter "the pest");

In brief, the reasons for issuing this declaration are that adult small hive beetles will seek out bee apiaries and colonies for shelter, food and a breeding area for their developing young. Their larvae are the most destructive life stage of the small hive beetle, as they feed upon bee brood, pollen, honey and tunnel through the wax combs consuming protein required for their development. Weakened and compromised honey bee apiaries and colonies are at greatest risk of small hive beetle damage. However, healthy nucleus colonies and queen banks may also be at risk. In the case of severe infestations, honey bee colonies may perish or abandon their hives; and

The pest is a new and emerging species in Ontario that was discovered in the Province in September 2010. It has the capacity to spread to new sites through its capacity to fly and through the movement of bees, honey bee colonies and bee materials:

Declaration of Quarantine

Now therefore, pursuant to section 11 of the Bees Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. B.6 (hereinafter "the Act") and the power delegated to me by the Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs, I hereby establish a quarantine area being the entire County of Essex and all of that part of the Municipality of Chatham-Kent lying south-westwards of a line made up of a Town Line Road, Pump Road and Merlin Road (also known as County Road 7) therein, as if these roadways extended continuously from points of intersection with the shorelines of Lake St. Clair and Lake Erie as depicted in the map appended hereto (herein "the Quarantine Area").

Until such time as this Declaration is amended or revoked, I require that all owners or custodians of premises1 in the Quarantine Area having honey bee apiaries, hives or colonies or facilities where honey bees are produced or located or where honey extraction operations are conducted:

  1. Refrain from moving any honey bee colonies or related bee or beekeeping equipment within the Quarantine Area from any premises suspected or confirmed to be infested with the pest without prior written approval issued through the Provincial Apiarist;
  2. Refrain from moving any honey bee colonies, parts of honey bee colonies, utensils used in the keeping of bees, other beekeeping equipment, bee products, bee by-products, fomites, conveyances, bees or any other biological material out of the Quarantine Area without the prior written approval by the Provincial Apiarist. The only material that may move out of the Quarantine Area is honey, mead or royal jelly that is in sealed containers and heat rendered wax or propolis that is solid and free of debris and in sealed containers;
  3. Follow all protocols for the monitoring and surveillance of the pest as may be directed by the Provincial Apiarist;
  4. When the presence of the pest is confirmed by an inspector, participate in all treatment protocols as may be directed by the Provincial Apiarist for honey bee apiaries, colonies, beekeeping equipment or soil in the immediate area;
  5. Report via telephone or email all previously unreported findings or suspected findings of the pest in any life stage or specific symptoms associated with small hive beetle in honey bee apiaries, colonies or related beekeeping equipment to the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture Food and Rural Affairs at 1-877-424-1300 or ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca within twenty-four (24) hours of detection;
  6. Examine all honey bee apiaries, colonies and related beekeeping equipment for evidence of the pest within twenty-four (24) hours prior to movement between premises within Quarantine Area;
  7. Isolate, mark and restrict access to honey bee apiaries, colonies or related beekeeping equipment suspected or confirmed by an inspector to be infested with the pest;
  8. Immediately upon leaving the vicinity of any honey bee apiaries or colonies on the premises,
    1. Thoroughly inspect all clothing, including protective beekeeping clothing and veils, to ensure it is free of small hive beetles. Handle all beekeeping material in a manner that does not cause the small hive beetle to be spread within the Quarantine Area;
    2. Cleanse all footwear of fomites capable of carrying or transmitting the small hive beetle, including soil, in the manner specified by the Provincial Apiarist before being worn at another site within the Quarantine Area; and
    3. Disinfect all utensils used in the keeping of bees, beekeeping equipment, colony and other such tools in the manner as may be specified by the Provincial Apiarist before further use at another site within the Quarantine Area;
    4. Visit non-infested sites before visiting infested sites within any premises when the presence of the pest is confirmed by an inspector, and
  9. Create and maintain complete written records of sales, purchases and any movement of any honey bee apiaries, colonies and beekeeping equipment, including the names, contact numbers and business locations of the persons concerned as well as the salient dates, a description of the colonies and their number, and any equipment involved.
  10. Until such time as this Declaration is amended or revoked, no person shall move any honey bee colonies or related bee or beekeeping equipment through the Quarantine Area without the prior written approval by the Provincial Apiarist.

Executed at Guelph, Ontario, this th day of , 2011.

Original signed by

Dr. Deborah Stark
Chief Veterinarian for Ontario

______________________________

1 In this Declaration, "premises" means land, buildings, structures, facilities, or any of them, and includes waters, temporary and portable structures, trailers that are not part of a conveyance, portable facilities and any part or parts of any of them.

Appendix

(See Map)


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Food Inspection Branch OMAFRA
Creation Date: 07 March 2011
Last Reviewed: 07 March 2011

Déclaration de quarantaine

Dans l'affaire des infestations du petit coléoptère des ruches dans les colonies d'abeilles mellifères (Apis mellifera) du comté d'Essex, dans la province de l'Ontario :

Les buts de la présente d'éclaration de quarantaine sont de protéger les régions de la province que l'on pense être exemptes de la présence du petit coléoptère des ruches (Aethina tumida), ainsi que de prévenir, détecter, contrôler, supprimer ou minimiser le petit coléoptère des ruches dans la zone de quarantaine, car ce ravageur présente un risque important pour les colonies d'abeilles mellifères gérées de la province (ci-après, " le ravageur ").

En bref, les raisons de l'émission de cette déclaration sont les suivantes : Le petit coléoptère des ruches adulte recherche les colonies d'abeilles mellifères pour s'abriter, se nourrir, se reproduire et y élever sa progéniture. Ce sont les larves qui causent le plus de dommages aux colonies d'abeilles mellifères. Elles se nourrissent de couvain, de pollen, de miel et forment des tunnels dans les rayons de cire pour y ingérer les protéines nécessaires à leur développement. Les colonies d'abeilles mellifères affaiblies sont le plus à risque en ce qui a trait aux dommages causés par le petit coléoptère des ruches. Toutefois, les nuclei sains sont également menacés, de même que les reines en stockage. Dans le cas des infestations graves de petit coléoptère des ruches, les colonies peuvent périr ou abandonner la ruche; et

Le ravageur est une nouvelle espèce émergente en Ontario qui a été découverte dans la province en septembre 2010. Il peut se propager à de nouveaux sites parce qu'il peut voler et grâce aux déplacements d'abeilles, de colonies d'abeilles mellifères et de matériel apicole :

Déclaration de quarantaine

Pour ces motifs, conformément à l'article 11 de la Loi sur l'apiculture, L.R.O. 1990, ch. B.6 (ci-après, " la Loi ") et aux pouvoirs qui me sont délégués par le ministre de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales, j'établis par les présentes une zone de quarantaine qui englobe la totalité du comté d'Essex et la partie de la municipalité de Chatham-Kent située au sud-ouest d'une ligne constituée par Town Line Road, Pump Road et Merlin Road (également appelé County Road 7), comme si ces routes étaient prolongées sans interruption à partir de points d'intersection avec les rives du lac St. Clair et du lac Érié, comme l'illustre la carte ci-jointe (ci-après, " la zone de quarantaine ").

Jusqu'à ce que la présente déclaration soit modifiée ou révoquée, j'exige que tous les propriétaires ou gardiens d'établissements situés dans la zone de quarantaine où se trouvent des ruchers, des ruches d'abeilles mellifères ou des installations où des abeilles mellifères sont produites ou situées ou où ont lieu des activités d'extraction du miel :

  1. S'abstiennent de déplacer les colonies d'abeilles mellifères ou le matériel apicole associé à l'intérieur de la zone de quarantaine à partir d'un établissement dans lequel une infestation est soupçonnée ou confirmée, sans l'approbation préalable de l'apiculteur provincial;
  2. S'abstiennent de déplacer les colonies d'abeilles mellifères, des parties de colonies d'abeilles mellifères, les ustensiles utilisés pour l'apiculture, tout autre matériel apicole, les produits ou sous-produits des abeilles, les vecteurs passifs, les moyens de transport, les abeilles et tout autre matériel biologique hors de la zone de quarantaine sans l'approbation écrite préalable de l'apiculteur provincial. Les seuls matériels qui peuvent sortir de la zone de quarantaine sont le miel, l'hydromel ou la gelée royale contenus dans des bocaux scellés, et la cire ou le propolis fondus à la chaleur qui sont solides, exempts de débris et placés dans des bocaux scellés;
  3. Respectent tous les protocoles de surveillance du ravageur, selon les instructions de l'apiculteur provincial;
  4. Lorsque la présence du ravageur est confirmée par un inspecteur, participent à tous les protocoles de traitement, selon les instructions de l'apiculteur provincial, relatifs aux ruchers et aux colonies d'abeilles mellifères, au matériel apicole ou au sol se trouvant dans la zone immédiate;
  5. Signalent par téléphone ou par courriel au ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario toute découverte soupçonnée du ravageur dans les ruchers ou les colonies d'abeilles mellifères, quels que soient l'étape du cycle de vie ou les symptômes associés au petit coléoptère des ruches, dans les 24 heures qui en suivent la détection (1-877-424-1300 ou ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca);
  6. Examinent l'ensemble des ruchers et des colonies d'abeilles mellifères et le matériel apicole associé pour déceler toute trace du ravageur dans les 24 heures qui précèdent un déplacement entre établissements dans la zone de quarantaine;
  7. Isolent et marquent les ruchers ou les colonies d'abeilles mellifères ou le matériel apicole associé, où une infestation par le ravageur est soupçonnée ou confirmée par un inspecteur, et limiter l'accès à ceux-ci;
  8. En quittant les alentours d'un rucher ou d'une colonie d'abeilles mellifères dans l'établissement, prennent immédiatement les mesures suivantes :
    1. Inspecter attentivement les vêtements, les tenues d'apiculteur protectrices et les voiles, afin de s'assurer qu'ils sont exempts du petit coléoptère des ruches; Manipuler tout le matériel apicole d'une manière qui ne cause pas la propagation du petit coléoptère des ruches dans la zone de quarantaine;
    2. Nettoyer toutes les chaussures pour les débarrasser de vecteurs passifs capables de transporter ou de transmettre le petit coléoptère des ruches, y compris le sol, de la manière indiquée par l'apiculteur provincial, avant de les porter sur un autre site dans la zone de quarantaine;
    3. Désinfecter tous les ustensiles utilisés pour l'apiculture, le matériel apicole, les colonies et autres outils semblables de la manière indiquée par l'apiculteur provincial avant de s'en servir de nouveau sur un autre site dans la zone de quarantaine;
  1. Visitent les sites non infestés avant les sites infestés à l'intérieur d'un établissement lorsque la présence du ravageur est confirmée par un inspecteur; et
  2. Créent et tiennent des dossiers écrits complets des ventes, des achats et des déplacements de ruchers ou colonies d'abeilles mellifères ou de matériel apicole, y compris le nom, le numéro de téléphone et l'adresse de l'emplacement de chaque personne concernée, ainsi que les dates pertinentes, une description des colonies et leur nombre, et tout matériel concerné.

Jusqu'à ce que la présente déclaration soit modifiée ou révoquée, aucune personne ne doit déplacer de colonies d'abeilles mellifères ou de matériel apicole associé au travers de la zone de quarantaine sans l'approbation écrite préalable de l'apiculteur provincial.

Signé à Guelph, en Ontario, ce jour de 2011.

Original signé par:

Dr Deborah Stark
Vétérinaire en chef de l'Ontario

______________________________

1 Dans la présente déclaration, le terme " établissement " signifie le terrain, les bâtiments, les structures, les installations ou l'un ou l'autre de ceux-ci, et inclut les eaux, les structures temporaires et portatives, les remorques qui ne font pas partie d'un moyen de transport, les installations portatives et toute partie de celles-ci.

Annexe

voir la carte


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Food Inspection Branch OMAFRA
Date de création : 08 Mars 2011
Dernière révision : 08 Mars 2011