Table of Contents

Regulation of the Beekeeping Industry

In Ontario, we're working to support healthy, thriving populations of pollinators that in turn support a strong, successful agri-food sector and a healthy environment. For more information on the province's pollinator health strategy, please click here.

The Ontario Bees Act is the legislation that regulates beekeeping in Ontario. Its main purpose is to protect the health of honey bees, particularly from pests and diseases. The act requires that anyone who owns or is in possession of honey bees to register with the Apiary Inspection Program.

The Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) Apiary Program conducts field inspections for the presence of honey bee diseases and pests, provides advisory and issues permits to beekeepers. For a list of OMAFRA Apiary Inspectors, please click here.

In addition, the Apiary Program is actively engaged in monitoring honey bee health across Ontario, and conducting surveys of beekeeper management practices, overwinter losses and the tracking of reported honey bee health concerns. Please see the links below for an overview of the beekeeping regulations in Ontario, for direct links to the Ontario Bees Act and Regulation, for Regulations that affect the packaging of honey under the Food Safety and Quality Act and for information related to registration, permitting and shipping of honey bees.


The Apiary Program has compiled a number of resources for beekeepers specifically focused on honey bee pests and diseases. Like all other animals, honey bees are susceptible to pests and diseases which may impact the health of a honey bee colony with effects ranging from minor stress to the death of the colony. Some of these pests and diseases are quite common while others are rarely encountered. It is important for beekeepers to be aware, learn to identify them and effectively manage pests and diseases to maintain healthy colonies. For information on honey bee pests and disease, including American Foulbrood, Varroa mites and small hive beetle, please see the links below:

American Foulbrood
Varroa destructor mites
Small Hive Beetle

Additional information about best management practices for beekeepers in advance of winter, wildlife damage, and the relationship between bees, bears and beekeepers, please see the links below:

Insecticide Concerns

A honey bee incident is defined as a typical or unusual effects observed in a honey bee colony reported by a beekeeper. These incidents are suspected by the beekeeper to be related to pesticide exposure and are often characterized by bee mortality or sub-lethal effects on colonies.

In Ontario, honey bee incidents should be reported to the Pest Management Regulatory Agency by contacting Health Canada at 519-826-2985. More information about the Health Canada Pest Management Regulatory Agency Incident Reporting Program and how to report suspected incidents is available on the Health Canada website. For more information, please see the links below:

Small Hive Beetle Management Strategy

As the status and presence of small hive beetle (SHB) is evolving in Ontario, the province is transitioning from eradication to a management strategy. With input from the beekeeping industry, Ontario has developed a Small Hive Beetle Management Strategy for 2016 with the following objectives:

  1. Minimize the impact of SHB to beekeepers
  2. Mitigate the spread of SHB in Ontario
  3. Minimize disruption of economic activity for beekeepers and growers who require pollination services

The ministry has developed a public facing map that summarizes the number of cases of SHB since January 1, 2015 at the municipality level. This map allows the ministry to publically report on the number of positive SHB-findings in Ontario. Beekeepers may also reference this map to mitigate the risk associated with future honey bee colony movement. To access the small hive beetle map, please click on the link below and read the terms of use:

Small Hive Beetle

Information and Reports

The Apiary Program is actively engaged in monitoring honey bee health across Ontario, and conducting surveys of beekeeper management practices, overwinter losses and the tracking of reported honey bee health concerns. This information is compiled into two types of reports, the Provincial Apiarist Report (annually) and the Ontario Apiculture Winter Loss Report.

Provincial Apiarist Reports
Apiculture Winter Loss Report*

*Note: The Ontario Apiculture Winter Loss Report has only been published in recent years where high overwinter honey bee mortality was report. Since 2007, the Canadian Association of Professional Apiculturists (CAPA) has compiled and published statistics for Canadian honey bee colony losses. These statistics provide an ongoing picture of the health of apiculture in Canada and are available online.

Additional information about the estimated number of beekeepers, honey bee colonies, the production and value of honey and horticultural statistics can be found below:

Resources and Services

Insurance and Financial Services

A new bee mortality production insurance plan helps to protect farmers in Ontario from losses caused by factors beyond their control, and covers colony losses caused by insured perils that occur during the overwinter period. For eligibility requirements and more information on the bee mortality plan, visit Agricorp's website. Beekeepers can also access AgriStability, AgriInvest and the Self-Directed Risk Management Program. To explore your options, contact Agricorp.

Bee Yard Registration

If you need help locating a parcel of land to register your bee yard, please visit AgMaps Geographic Information Portal. The Agricultural Information Atlas is an interactive online application that allows you to create custom maps and find agricultural information for Ontario. It combines agricultural data on soils and drainage, as well as data layers from other Government of Ontario ministries.

Organic Certification

Organic apiculture in Canada is governed by the Canadian Organic Standards, which outlines the principles and practices of organic management. The standard, along with the accompanying Permitted Substances List, dictate what practices and substances can be used in organic production in Canada. If you are interested in pursuing organic certification, please consult the Government of Canada regulations.

Organic Agriculture Centre of Canada

Apiculture Business Resources

There are a number of businesses servicing the apiculture industry in Ontario. This includes the sale of honey bee queens, nucleus and full-size colonies, beekeeping equipment and agricultural pollination. Please note that the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food & Rural Affairs does not endorse any particular beekeeping suppliers or business. The honey bee queen, nucleus and colony producers and the beekeeping supplies listed below are businesses who have agreed to have their information displayed on this website. More information on beekeeping services available in Ontario may be accessed through the Ontario Beekeepers' Association.

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Wael Haddad - Apiary Data Coordinator/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 23 January 2007
Last Reviewed: 24 June 2016

Apiculture


Table des matières


Réglementation de l'apiculture

L'Ontario s'emploie à favoriser le développement de populations de pollinisateurs saines et productives qui, à leur tour, contribuent au dynamisme et à la réussite du secteur agroalimentaire et à un environnement sain. Pour en savoir plus long sur la Stratégie ontarienne pour la santé des pollinisateurs, cliquez ici.

En Ontario, l'apiculture est régie par la Loi sur l'apiculture, qui vise avant tout à protéger les abeilles mellifères contre les insectes nuisibles et les maladies. En vertu de la Loi, quiconque est propriétaire ou en possession d'abeilles mellifères doit s'inscrire au Programme d'apiculture.

Dans le cadre de son Programme d'apiculture, le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAARO) effectue des inspections sur place pour déceler la présence de maladies et d'ennemis des abeilles mellifères en plus de donner des conseils aux apiculteurs et de leur délivrer des permis. Cliquez ici pour obtenir la liste des inspecteurs apicoles du MAAARO.

Par ailleurs, le Programme d'apiculture surveille activement la santé des abeilles mellifères partout en Ontario, effectue des sondages sur les pratiques de gestion des apiculteurs et les pertes hivernales et assure le suivi des préoccupations signalées concernant la santé des abeilles mellifères. Les liens ci-dessous permettent d'obtenir une vue d'ensemble de la réglementation sur l'apiculture en Ontario, de consulter la Loi sur l'apiculture de l'Ontario et son règlement d'application ainsi que la réglementation prise en vertu de la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments qui a une incidence sur l'emballage du miel et d'obtenir des renseignements sur l'inscription, la délivrance de permis et l'expédition d'abeilles mellifères.

Fiches INFO

Le personnel du Programme d'apiculture a regroupé des ressources à l'intention des apiculteurs qui portent sur les ennemis et les maladies des abeilles mellifères. Comme les animaux, l'abeille mellifère est vulnérable aux ennemis et aux maladies, qui peuvent avoir des effets divers sur une colonie d'abeilles mellifères, par exemple lui causer un peu de stress ou même entraîner sa mort. Parmi ces ennemis et maladies, il y en a qui sont très courants tandis que d'autres sont rares. Les apiculteurs doivent connaître les ennemis et les maladies, apprendre à les reconnaître et les gérer efficacement pour que leurs colonies d'abeilles demeurent en santé. Pour vous renseigner sur les ennemis et les maladies de l'abeille mellifère, notamment la loque américaine, le varroa et le petit coléoptère des ruches, veuillez cliquer sur les liens ci-dessous.

Loque américaine
Varroa
Petit coléoptère des ruches

Les liens ci-dessous mènent à d'autres renseignements au sujet des pratiques de gestion optimales sur les préparatifs avant l'hiver à l'intention des apiculteurs, des dommages causés par la faune et de la relation entre les abeilles, les ours et les apiculteurs.

Préoccupations concernant les insecticides

On parle d'incident d'abeilles lorsque des effets atypiques ou inhabituels observés dans une colonie d'abeilles sont rapportés par un apiculteur qui soupçonne l'exposition aux pesticides d'en être la cause. Un incident est souvent caractérisé par la mortalité des abeilles ou des effets sublétaux observés dans une colonie.

En Ontario, il faut déclarer les incidents d'abeilles à l'Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire (ARLA) en communiquant avec Santé Canada, au 519 826-2985. Vous trouverez d'autres renseignements sur le Programme de déclaration d'incident relatif aux produits antiparasitaires de l'ARLA et sur la façon de déclarer des incidents dans le site Web de Santé Canada. Pour de plus amples détails, cliquez sur les liens ci-dessous.

La Stratégie de lutte contre le petit coléoptère des ruches

Comme le statut et la présence du petit coléoptère des ruches évoluent en Ontario, la province délaisse sa stratégie d'éradication au profit d'une stratégie de gestion. Grâce aux observations de l'industrie apicole, l'Ontario a élaboré une Stratégie de lutte contre le petit coléoptère des ruches pour 2016, laquelle comporte les objectifs suivants :

  1. réduire au minimum l'incidence du petit coléoptère des ruches sur les apiculteurs;
  2. atténuer la propagation du petit coléoptère des ruches en Ontario;
  3. minimiser l'interruption de l'activité économique pour les apiculteurs et les producteurs qui ont besoin de services de pollinisation.

Le ministère a élaboré une carte destinée au public qui résume le nombre d'infestations par le petit coléoptère des ruches depuis le 1er janvier 2015 dans les municipalités. Cette carte permet au ministère de rendre publiquement compte du nombre d'infestations confirmées de petits coléoptères des ruches en Ontario. Les apiculteurs peuvent également se reporter à cette carte pour réduire les risques associés au déplacement de colonies d'abeilles dans l'avenir. Pour consulter la carte sur le petit coléoptère des ruches, veuillez cliquer sur le lien ci-dessous et prendre connaissances des conditions d'utilisation.

Petit coléoptère des ruches carte de répartition

Information et rapports

Le Programme d'apiculture surveille activement la santé des abeilles mellifères partout en Ontario, effectue des sondages sur les pratiques de gestion des apiculteurs et les pertes hivernales et assure le suivi des préoccupations signalées concernant la santé des abeilles mellifères. Ces renseignements sont regroupés dans deux types de rapports, le rapport annuel de l'apiculteur provincial et le rapport sur les pertes hivernales d'abeilles en Ontario.

Rapports annuels de l'apiculteur provincial
Rapports sur les pertes hivernales pour l'apiculture*

*Remarque : Le rapport sur les pertes hivernales pour l'apiculture en Ontario n'est publié que depuis quelques années en raison du taux élevé de mortalité hivernale des abeilles mellifères. Depuis 2007, l'Association canadienne des apiculteurs professionnels (ACAP) compile et publie des statistiques sur les pertes de colonies d'abeilles mellifères au Canada. Ces statistiques permettent de savoir en tout temps comment se porte l'industrie apicole au Canada et peuvent être consultées en ligne à l'adresse http://www.capabees.com/capa-statement-on-honey-bees/ (en anglais seulement).

Des renseignements sur le nombre estimatif d'apiculteurs et de colonies d'abeilles mellifères, la production et la valeur du miel ainsi que des statistiques horticoles sont accessibles au moyen des liens ci-dessous.

Ressources et services

Assurance et services financiers

Un nouveau régime d'assurance-production aide à protéger les agriculteurs de l'Ontario contre les pertes attribuables à des facteurs indépendants de leur volonté. Il couvre les pertes de colonies d'abeilles causées par des risques assurés qui se concrétisent durant la période d'hivernage. Pour connaître les conditions d'admissibilité et en savoir plus long sur le régime d'assurance-production contre la mortalité des abeilles, rendez-vous dans le site Web d'Agricorp. Les apiculteurs peuvent également bénéficier d'Agri-stabilité, d'Agri-investissement et du programme d'autogestion des risques. Communiez avec Agricorp pour explorer les possibilités qui s'offrent à vous.

Inscription des ruchers

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour trouver une parcelle de terrain afin d'inscrire votre rucher, consultez le Portail de l'information géographique Agri Cartes. L'Atlas de l'information agricole est une application interactive en ligne qui vous permet de créer des cartes sur mesure et de trouver de l'information agricole pour l'Ontario. L'Atlas combine des données agricoles sur les sols et le drainage ainsi que des couches de données provenant d'autres ministères du gouvernement de l'Ontario.

Certification biologique

L'apiculture biologique au Canada est régie par les normes biologiques canadiennes, qui énoncent les principes et les pratiques de la gestion biologique. Les normes, ainsi que la liste des substances permises qui les accompagne, énoncent les pratiques et les substances qui peuvent être utilisées pour la production biologique au Canada. Si vous souhaitez obtenir la certification biologique, veuillez consulter la réglementation du gouvernement du Canada.

Centre d'agriculture biologique du Canada

Ressources pour l'industrie apicole

Il existe un certain nombre d'entreprises qui fournissent des services à l'industrie apicole en Ontario, qu'il s'agisse de la vente de reines, de nucléus, de colonies complètes et de matériel apicole ou de services de pollinisation agricole. Il est à noter que le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario n'appuie aucun fournisseur de matériel apicole ni aucune entreprise en particulier. Les producteurs de reines, de nucléus et de colonies et les fournisseurs de matériel apicole indiqués ci-dessous sont des entreprises qui ont accepté que des renseignements à leur sujet soient affichés dans le présent site Web. L'Ontario Beekeepers' Association (en anglais seulement) peut fournir d'autres renseignements sur les services apicoles offerts en Ontario.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Wael Haddad - Apiary Data Coordinator/MAAARO
Date de création :
Dernière révision : 31 octobre 2016