Beekeeper Survey - 2011 Winter Loss Report for Apiculture in Ontario

Please contact apiary@ontario.ca for the report in PDF format.

During the Spring/Summer of 2011, the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) sent a survey to Ontario commercial beekeepers to estimate honey bee colony mortality over the winter of 2010/11. Eighty-six out of the 218 (39.4 percent) registered commercial beekeepers contacted, responded to the survey.

This report is based solely on the responses provided by the beekeepers who completed the survey. It should be noted that the data collected was not independently verified by OMAFRA and that some data was difficult to analyze due to a low number of responses to particular questions. For example, a greater response to analysis of treatment methods may have yielded different results. This highlights the need for a higher number of commercial beekeepers to respond to future surveys as well as the need for a reminder to respondents to complete all questions in the survey.

The survey was anonymous. It followed the same template as the National Apiculture Survey conducted through the Canadian Association of Professional Apiculturists. Survey results will be combined with the National Apiculture Survey to provide estimated winter morality information across Canada. In addition to mortality levels, the OMAFRA survey tracked some colony management and management practices for pests and diseases in honey bees.

Bee Mortality

The survey responses estimated the winter 2010/11 level of honey bee colony mortality among Ontario commercial beekeepers at 43 percent (mean) with a median of 41 percent. This is a substantially higher estimate than in any previous year. According to the literature, a normal level of winter mortality is typically considered to range from 5 to 15 percent (Furgala and McCutcheon, 1992).

Many of the beekeeping operations that responded to the survey reported their losses well above the mean, up to 60 percent in the 75th percentile of the respondents. At the same time, some beekeepers reported much lower wintering losses in the 5th percentile, at 10 percent mortality. Although the range of wintering losses reflects a wide variation in mortality among different operations (2 to 95 percent winter mortality), both the median and mean are indicative of high loss levels.

The level of winter mortality was separated by geographic region for comparison. Estimated mortality rates were as follows (counties are in brackets):

  • Near Northern Ontario (Bruce, Dufferin, Grey, Glengarry, Frontenac, Kawartha Lakes, Lanark, Leeds, Lennox and Addington, North Wellington, Ottawa, Carleton, Simcoe, Stormont, Victoria) - 39 per cent
  • Northern Ontario (Nipissing, Renfrew, Sudbury) - 41 per cent
  • South Central Ontario (Durham, Hamilton, Hastings, Huron, Northumberland, Oxford, Peel, Perth, Peterborough, Prince Edward, Waterloo, Wellington) - 47 per cent
  • Southern Ontario (Elgin, Haldimand, Kent, Lambton, Middlesex, Niagara, Norfolk) - 44 per cent

Statistically, there was no significant difference in mortality rates between the different regions.

In previous years, survey respondents estimated levels of winter mortality among honey bee colonies in Ontario at:

  • 20 percent in 2003
  • 18 percent in 2004
  • 19 percent in 2005
  • 14 percent in 2006
  • 35 percent in 2007
  • 32 percent in 2008
  • 31 percent in 2009
  • 20 percent in 2010

In 2007, the high level of estimated mortality was identified as a major concern for the industry. This was followed by two more consecutive years (2008, 2009) of high winter mortality for an estimated overall average of 33 percent over the three years. This is outlined in Figure 1.

Graph depicting estimated mortality of bees in Ontario.

Figure 1: Estimated mortality of honey bees in Ontario. The light coloured horizontal bar represents the normal level of mortality derived from a literature review.

Link to text describing figure 1

Management Practices and Treatments

Although there are many potential reasons for a colony not surviving the winter (e.g. varroa infestation, starvation, small cluster size, etc.) and there are many theories for the increased mortality in honey bee colonies (e.g. ineffective varroa control, new pathogens, pesticides, combination of multiple factors, etc.), the survey focused, to a large degree, on management techniques and treatments for varroa used by beekeepers. This emphasis was based on a study from the University of Guelph (Guzman et al., 2010) which identified varroa as being the primary factor in colony mortality in Ontario.

Of the respondents, 50 (58.5 percent) reported monitoring for varroa mites. Among the monitoring methods, mite or alcohol wash was the most popular (40 percent), followed by the sticky board (25 percent).

All survey respondents reported treating for varroa mites in the fall of 2010. The majority (82 percent) of beekeepers treated between late August and mid-September. Only 12 percent of all respondents treated in late September or later. As late fall varroa treatment has typically been associated with high mortality, correlations were done between treatment time and mortality. Statistical analysis of survey data did not reveal any significant relationship between treatment time and mortality. Other factors may have impacted this correlation, therefore caution should be applied in drawing any conclusions. Beekeepers should still treat for varroa in a timely manner.

Beekeepers continue to use a variety of treatment methods for varroa. Among survey respondents, the most popular treatment was Apivar® (37 percent of respondents), followed by formic acid (19.5 percent) and then by a combination of various treatments, including oxalic acid. CheckMite+ (2.4 percent) and Apistan® (1.2 percent) are still being used, although by fewer beekeepers.

A statistical analysis (Kruskal - Wallis test) of the four major treatments (Apivar®, Apivar®/Formic Acid, Formic Acid, Formic Acid/Oxalic Acid) revealed no significant difference (p=0.30) between the levels of winter mortality.

Forty-five percent of the survey respondents treated for nosema in the fall. There was no statistical difference in mortality levels between those beekeepers who treated and those who did not.

Beekeepers subjectively attributed mortality to ineffective varroa control, nosema, poor queens, weak colonies, and weather.

Queen Management and Colony Replacement

According to survey respondents, roughly one in three queens (32 percent) were replaced with new queens amongst operations, with the 75th percentile at 50 percent. The level of queen replacement attributed to queen problems averaged 10 percent. For the most part, replacement queens used by beekeepers were sourced from within the province. Australia was the largest source of out-of-province queens. Queen bee origin is outlined in Figure 2.

This image indicates the origin of queens in Ontario by type.

Figure 2: Origin of honey bee queens in Ontario.

With respect to replacement colonies, beekeepers reported roughly one in three colonies (36 percent) were new. The replacement level was not significantly different across the different regions of the province.

Link to text describing figure 2

Pollination Services

On average, 18 percent of the colonies represented in the survey were used for pollination services in 2010. Some of these operations used 80 to 100 percent of their colonies for pollination services. Southern Ontario had the highest proportion (34 percent) of colonies used for this service.

General Comments

The reasons for the overall levels of mortality province wide are a matter of speculation on the part of the author. However, the following are some potential factors:

  • Based on research from the University of Guelph (Guzman et al., 2010) and reports and field observation from other provinces (Currie et al., 2010), varroa is still the main factor in colony mortality. The overall virulence of Nosema ceranae in honey bees is somewhat unclear and there are many other pathogens such as viruses that have a further impact on honey bees.
  • Weather patterns may have had some impact on the survival of colonies. Last year, in most parts of the province, there was an early spring (April 2010), up to three weeks earlier than normal in most regions. This would have resulted in much earlier brood production in honey bee colonies and varroa reproduction.
  • Without effective varroa control in the spring of 2010, it is possible that many colonies may have been going into the fall with much higher varroa levels than a typical year. This is only speculation as no data was collected to demonstrate varroa levels increasing earlier than normal.
  • In many regions (south-western Ontario), the winter (November 2010 to March 2011) was also much colder and longer than usual, making weak and underfed colonies particularly vulnerable. Furthermore, this spring (April 2011 to June 2011) arrived very late with uncharacteristically cool and damp conditions. This resulted in a delayed population build-up in many colonies. Many beekeepers had to feed colonies just to maintain their population. Anecdotal reports from some operations revealed that the poor spring conditions resulted in substantial increases in winter losses well into mid-spring.

Colony Collapse Disorder, which has been identified in the USA, has not been identified in Canada. To be clear, this disorder has been associated with a distinct set of conditions that has not been presently validated in Canada (vanEngelsdorp et al., 2008; Currie at al., 2010).

Based on survey results, it appears that in 2010-2011, Ontario commercial beekeepers experienced increased levels of mortality in honey bee colonies beyond historical levels.

Recommendations for Future Surveys

The survey provided a snapshot of the health of the industry. It would be useful for future surveys to track pest and parasite levels to also have an idea of infestation intensity across the province. A greater level of beekeeper participation and completion of all survey questions would greatly enhance the quality of the data extracted from future surveys.

Paul Kozak
Provincial Apiarist
Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
Foods of Plant Origin
Food Inspection Branch
1 Stone Road West, 5th Floor NW
Guelph ON N1G 4Y2
Tel: 519 826-3595 or 1-888-466-2372 Ext. 63595
Fax: 519 826-4375
Email: Paul.Kozak@ontario.ca

References:

Currie R., Guzman E. and Pernal, S. 2010. Honey bee colony losses in Canada. Journal of Apicultural Research. 49 (1): 104-106.

Furgala B., and McCutcheon, D.M. 1992. Wintering productive colonies. In Graham J M (Ed). The hive and the honey bee (revised edition). Dadant and Sons; Hamilton, IL, USA pp. 829-868.

Guzman-Novoa E., Eccles L., Calvete Y., McGowan J., Kelly P. and Correa-Benitez A. 2010. Varroa destructor is the main culprit for death and reduced populations of overwintered honey bees in Ontario, Canada. Apidologie. 4 (4) 443-451.

VanEngelsdorp D., Hayes, J JR., Underwood R.M. and Pettis J. 2008. A survey of honey bee colony losses in the U.S., fall 2007 to spring 2008. PLoS ONE3(12):e4071. DOI: 10.1371/journal.pone.0004071


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Paul Kozak- Provincial Apiarist / OMAFRA
Creation Date: 08 September 2011
Last Reviewed: 22 October 2015

Sondage auprès des apiculteurs - Rapport 2011 sur les pertes hivernales pour l'apiculture en Ontario

S'il vous plaît contacter apiary@ontario.ca pour le rapport en format PDF.

Pendant le printemps/été de 2011, le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAARO) a envoyé un sondage aux apiculteurs commerciaux en Ontario pour estimer la mortalité dans les colonies d'abeilles mellifères pendant l'hiver de 2010-2011. Quatre-vingt-six des 218 apiculteurs commerciaux inscrits avec lesquels nous avons communiqué, soit 39,4 pour cent) ont répondu au sondage.

Le présent rapport est basé exclusivement sur les réponses des apiculteurs qui ont répondu au sondage. Il faut noter que les données recueillies n'ont pas été vérifiées de façon indépendante par le MAAARO et que certaines données se sont avérées difficiles à analyser en raison d'un nombre peu élevé de réponses à certaines questions. Par exemple, un plus grand nombre de réponses à la question portant sur l'analyse des méthodes de traitement aurait peut-être produit des résultats différents. Cela souligne la nécessité qu'un nombre plus élevé d'apiculteurs commerciaux réponde aux prochains sondages, ainsi que la nécessité de rappeler aux répondants de répondre à toutes les questions du sondage.

Le sondage était anonyme. Il suivait le même modèle que le sondage national sur l'apiculture effectué par l'Association canadienne des apiculteurs professionnels. Les résultats de ce sondage seront combinés avec ceux du sondage national sur l'apiculture afin de générer une estimation de la mortalité hivernale dans l'ensemble du Canada. En plus des taux de mortalité, le sondage du MAAARO a effectué le suivi de certaines pratiques de gestion des colonies relativement aux animaux nuisibles et aux maladies qui attaquent les abeilles mellifères.

Mortalité des abeilles

D'après les réponses au sondage, il a été estimé que le taux de mortalité des colonies d'abeilles mellifères pendant l'hiver 2010-2011, chez les apiculteurs commerciaux de l'Ontario, s'établissait à une moyenne de 43 pour cent, avec une médiane de 41 pour cent. Cette estimation est considérablement supérieure à celle des années précédentes. Selon les ouvrages scientifiques, un taux de mortalité hivernale normal se situe généralement entre 5 et 15 pour cent (Furgala et McCutcheon, 1992).

Bon nombre des exploitations d'apiculture qui ont répondu au sondage ont signalé des pertes considérablement supérieures à la moyenne, jusqu'à 60 pour cent dans le 75e centile des répondants. En même temps, certains apiculteurs ont signalé des pertes hivernales considérablement inférieures dans le 5e centile, avec une mortalité de 10 pour cent. Bien que la gamme des pertes hivernales reflète une variation plus importante de la mortalité dans les différentes exploitations (mortalité hivernale entre 2 et 95 pour cent), la médiane et la moyenne traduisent toutes deux des taux de perte élevés.

À des fins de comparaison, le taux de mortalité hivernale a été divisé par région géographique. Les taux de mortalité estimés sont les suivants (les comtés figurent entre parenthèses).

  • Près du nord de l'Ontario (Bruce, Dufferin, Grey, Glengarry, Frontenac, Kawartha Lakes, Lanark, Leeds, Lennox and Addington, North Wellington, Ottawa, Carleton, Simcoe, Stormont, Victoria) - 39 pour cent
  • Nord de l'Ontario (Nipissing, Renfrew, Sudbury) - 41 pour cent
  • Région centre-sud de l'Ontario (Durham, Hamilton, Hastings, Huron, Northumberland, Oxford, Peel, Perth, Peterborough, Prince Edward, Waterloo, Wellington) - 47 pour cent
  • Sud de l'Ontario (Elgin, Haldimand, Kent, Lambton, Middlesex, Niagara, Norfolk) - 44 pour cent

Statistiquement, on n'a observé aucune différence dans le taux de mortalité d'une région à l'autre.

Au cours des années précédentes, les répondants avaient estimé les taux de mortalité hivernale des colonies d'abeilles mellifères en Ontario à :

  • 20 pour cent en 2003
  • 18 pour cent en 2004
  • 19 pour cent en 2005
  • 14 pour cent en 2006
  • 35 pour cent en 2007
  • 32 pour cent en 2008
  • 31 pour cent en 2009
  • 20 pour cent en 2010

En 2007, le taux élevé de mortalité estimée avait été reconnu comme une préoccupation importante pour le secteur. Cette année a été suivie par deux autres années consécutives (2008 et 2009) de mortalité hivernale élevée, pour une moyenne globale estimée de 33 pour cent sur les trois années. Cela est présenté dans la figure 1.

Cette figure montre mortalité des colonies par année de 2003 à 2011.

Figure 1 : Estimation de la mortalité des abeilles mellifères en Ontario. La barre horizontale pâle représente le taux de mortalité normal, tiré d'une analyse documentaire.

Lien vers le texte descriptif pour la figure 1

Pratiques de gestion et traitements

Bien qu'il existe plusieurs raisons pour lesquelles une colonie pourrait ne pas survivre à l'hiver (p. ex., infestation de varroas, famine, petits groupes, etc.) et plusieurs théories prétendant expliquer la mortalité accrue au sein des colonies d'abeilles mellifères (p. ex., lutte inefficace contre les varroas, nouveaux pathogènes, pesticides, combinaison de facteurs, etc.), le sondage s'est concentré principalement sur les techniques de gestion et les traitements contre les varroas auxquels ont recours les apiculteurs. Cet accent était basé sur une étude de l'Université de Guelph (Guzman et al., 2010) qui avait déterminé que les varroas étaient le principal facteur explicatif de la mortalité des colonies en Ontario.

Parmi les répondants, 50 (58,5 pour cent) ont indiqué qu'ils surveillaient la présence de varroas. Parmi les méthodes de surveillance, le lavage ou le lavage à l'alcool était la plus populaire (40 pour cent), suivie par les cartons collants (25 pour cent).

Tous les répondants au sondage ont indiqué avoir appliqué un traitement contre les varroas pendant l'automne 2010. La majorité (82 pour cent) des apiculteurs a appliqué ce traitement entre la fin du mois d'août et le milieu du mois de septembre. Seuls 12 pour cent des répondants ont appliqué un traitement à la fin du mois de septembre ou plus tard. Comme l'application à la fin de l'automne du traitement contre les varroas a typiquement été associée à une mortalité élevée, des corrélations ont été établies entre le moment du traitement et la mortalité. Une analyse statistique des données recueillies lors du sondage n'a révélé aucun lien important entre le moment du traitement et la mortalité. Il est possible que d'autres facteurs aient eu un impact sur cette corrélation, et il faut faire preuve de prudence avant de tirer des conclusions. Les apiculteurs doivent tout de même appliquer un traitement contre les varroas au moment opportun.

Les apiculteurs continuent d'utiliser différentes méthodes de traitement contre les varroas. Parmi les répondants au sondage, le traitement le plus populaire était Apivar® (37 pour cent des répondants), suivi par l'acide formique (19,5 pour cent), puis par une combinaison de différents traitements, y compris l'acide oxalique. CheckMite+™ (2,4 pour cent) et Apistan® (1,2 pour cent) sont encore utilisés, quoique par moins d'apiculteurs.

Une analyse statistique (test Kruskal-Wallis) des quatre principaux traitements (Apivar®, Apivar®/acide formique, acide formique, acide formique/acide oxalique) n'a décelé aucune différence importante (p=0,30) entre les taux de mortalité hivernale.

Quarante-cinq pour cent des répondants au sondage ont appliqué un traitement contre la nosémose à l'automne. Aucune différence statistique des taux de mortalité n'a été observée entre les apiculteurs qui avaient appliqué un traitement et ceux qui ne l'avaient pas fait.

Subjectivement, les apiculteurs ont attribué la mortalité à la lutte inefficace contre les varroas, à la nosémose, à de mauvaises reines, à des colonies faibles et aux conditions météorologiques.

Gestion des reines et remplacement des colonies

Selon les répondants au sondage, environ une reine sur trois (32 pour cent) a été remplacée par une nouvelle reine dans les exploitations, le 75e centile se situant à 50 pour cent. Le niveau de remplacement des reines attribuable aux problèmes relatifs aux reines s'établissait en moyenne à 10 pour cent. Pour la plupart, les reines de remplacement utilisées par les apiculteurs provenaient de l'intérieur de la province. L'Australie était la source la plus importante de reines provenant de l'extérieur de la province. L'origine des reines est présentée dans la figure 2.

Cette figure montre l'origine des reines en Ontario.

Figure 2: Origine des reines en Ontario.

Lien vers le texte descriptif pour la figure 2

En ce qui concerne le remplacement des colonies, les apiculteurs ont indiqué qu'environ une colonie sur 3 (36 pour cent) était nouvelle. Le niveau de remplacement ne présentait aucune différence importante entre les différentes régions de la province.

Pollinisation

En moyenne, 18 pour cent des colonies représentées dans le sondage ont été utilisées pour la pollinisation en 2010. Certaines de ces exploitations utilisaient entre 80 et 100 % de leurs colonies pour la pollinisation. Le sud de l'Ontario est la région qui comptait la proportion la plus élevée (34 pour cent) de colonies utilisées à cette fin.

Commentaires généraux

Les raisons des taux globaux de mortalité à l'échelle de la province sont des conjectures de l'auteur. Toutefois, les facteurs potentiels suivants sont à retenir :

  • En se basant sur une étude de l'Université de Guelph (Guzman et al., 2010) et sur des rapports et des observations sur le terrain provenant d'autres provinces (Currie et al., 2010), les varroas sont toujours le principal facteur qui explique la mortalité des colonies. La virulence générale de Nosema ceranae chez les abeilles mellifères est peu claire et il existe de nombreux autres pathogènes, comme des virus, qui ont un impact supplémentaire sur les abeilles mellifères.
  • Il est possible que les conditions météorologiques aient eu un impact sur la survie des colonies. L'an dernier, dans la plupart des régions de la province, le printemps est arrivé tôt (avril 2010), jusqu'à 3 semaines avant la normale dans la plupart des régions. Cela aurait entraîné la production de couvains beaucoup plus tôt dans les colonies d'abeilles mellifères et la reproduction des varroas beaucoup plus tôt.
  • Sans une lutte efficace contre les varroas pendant le printemps de 2010, il est possible qu'au début de l'automne, de nombreuses colonies aient connu des niveaux de varroas considérablement supérieurs à ceux d'une année normale. Cela ne constitue qu'une conjecture, car aucune donnée n'a été recueillie pour indiquer que les niveaux de varroas augmentaient plus tôt que d'habitude.
  • Dans de nombreuses régions (sud-ouest de l'Ontario), l'hiver (de novembre 2010 à mars 2011) a également été beaucoup plus froid et plus long que d'habitude, ce qui rendait les colonies faibles et sous-alimentées particulièrement vulnérables. De plus, ce printemps (d'avril 2011 à juin 2011) est arrivé très tard, avec des conditions plus fraîches et humides que la normale. Cela a entraîné dans de nombreuses colonies un retard de l'augmentation de la population. Bon nombre d'apiculteurs ont dû nourrir leurs colonies pour maintenir leur population. Certaines exploitations affirment que les mauvaises conditions printanières ont entraîné des augmentations considérables des pertes hivernales, s'étendant jusqu'au milieu du printemps.

Le syndrome d'effondrement des colonies, qui a été observé aux États-Unis, ne l'a pas été au Canada. Ce syndrome est associé à un ensemble distinct de conditions qui, à l'heure actuelle, n'a pas été validé au Canada (vanEngelsdorp et al., 2008; Currie at al., 2010).

En se basant sur les résultats du sondage, il semble qu'en 2010-2011, les apiculteurs commerciaux de l'Ontario ont subi une augmentation des taux de mortalité des colonies d'abeilles mellifères qui dépassent les niveaux historiques.

Recommandations pour de futurs sondages

Le sondage a fourni un instantané de l'état de santé de l'industrie. Il serait utile que les sondages futurs effectuent le suivi des niveaux d'animaux nuisibles et de parasites, afin d'obtenir également un aperçu de l'intensité des infestations dans l'ensemble de la province. Un taux plus élevé de participation de la part des apiculteurs, et la réponse à toutes les questions du sondage, permettraient d'améliorer considérablement la qualité des données tirées des sondages futurs.

Paul Kozak
Apiculteur provincial
Ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario
Aliments d'origine végétale
Direction de l'inspection des aliments
1 Stone Road West, 5e étage NO
Guelph (Ontario) N1G 4Y2
Tél. : 519 826-3595 ou 1-888-466-2372, poste 63595
Téléc. : 519 826-4375
Courriel : paul.kozak@ontario.ca

Bibliographie :

Currie R., E. Guzman et S. Pernal, 2010. Honey bee colony losses in Canada. Journal of Apicultural Research. 49 (1) : 104-106.

Furgala B., et D.M. McCutcheon, 1992. Wintering productive colonies. In Graham J M (Ed). The hive and the honey bee (édition révisée). Dadant and Sons; Hamilton, IL, États-Unis. p. 829-868.

Guzman-Novoa E., L. Eccles, Y. Calvete, J. McGowan, P. Kelly, et A. Correa-Benitez, 2010. Varroa destructor is the main culprit for death and reduced populations of overwintered honey bees in Ontario, Canada. Apidologie. 4 (4) 443-451.

Vanengelsdorp D., J. Hayes, JR., R.M. Underwood, et J. Pettis, 2008. A survey of honey bee colony losses in the U.S., fall 2007 to spring 2008. PLoS ONE3(12):e4071. DOI : 10.1371/journal.pone.0004071


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Paul Kozak - Apiculteur provincial / MAARO
Date de création : 09 septembre 2011
Dernière révision : 22 octobre 2015