2015 Provincial Apiarist Report

Please contact apiary@ontario.ca for the report in PDF format

Table of Contents

Summary

The overall overwinter honey bee loss for the winter of 2014-2015 was reported to be 38 per cent, which is lower than the 58 per cent reported during the winter of 2013-2014. In 2015, approximately 32,000 honey bee colonies where shipped outside of Ontario for the pollination of cranberry and blueberry crops in Eastern Canada. The ministry engaged in regular and targeted inspections for the presence of an invasive pest, the small hive beetle (SHB). SHB was identified in 25 bee yards in the County of Niagara and all honey bee colonies and associated equipment have been detained in these yards. The SHB Quarantine Area (Essex County and part of Chatham-Kent County) remains in place.

Beekeeping Industry Summary

  • Number of registered beekeepers: 2,562
  • Number of producing colonies: 101,135
  • Average honey yield/colony: 93 lb (42 kg) per colony
  • Total estimated honey crop: 9,405,088 lb (4,266,076 kg)
  • Overall reported overwinter honey bee losses: 38 %

Prevalence of Diseases and Pests

  • American Foulbrood: 0.95%
  • European Foulbrood: 0.13%
  • Chalkbrood: 5.80%
  • Sacbrood virus: 0.54%
  • Small Hive Beetle: 0.51%
  • Varroa mite: 14.47%

Weather Patterns

The weather was favourable for honey production throughout most of Ontario in 2015 with high temperatures through summer and a hot, humid September. These conditions resulted in a strong fall nectar flow.

Honey Production

Honey survey questionnaires were mailed to commercial beekeepers in Ontario (those operating 50 or more colonies) to estimate the average honey production in the province for 2015. Responses were received from 20 per cent of commercial beekeepers, representing 9000 colonies across the province. Based on the responses from the 2015 Honey Survey the estimated honey production in Ontario was 93 lbs (42 kg) per colony. Many beekeepers anecdotally reported a high yield in 2015 honey production across Ontario for both summer and fall nectar flows.

Out of Province Pollination

The demand for pollination services for berry crops in Eastern Canada (Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia) has increased in recent years. The number of honey bee colonies leaving Ontario to pollinate crops in Eastern Canada has increased from 12,600 colonies in 2010 to 32,000 colonies in 2015. Bees raised for pollination services now represent nearly one third of the managed honey bee colonies in Ontario.

Prevalence of Pests and Diseases

The prevalence of pests and diseases were assessed by ministry apiary inspectors during the inspection of 8,822 colonies during the 2015 beekeeping season.

A. Varroa destructor Mites

Ministry apiary inspectors sampling for varroa mites during regular apiary inspections found low levels of infestation in many operations throughout the beekeeping season. The degree of varroa infestation is relative to treatment thresholds established by Guzman et al. (2010) who recommended that colonies be treated for varroa in May if the infestation is greater than two per cent and be treated in August if the infestation is greater than three per cent. While varroa is widely distributed across the province, the low degree of infestation may confirm the success that some beekeepers have had with the management of varroa mites. Across the province, 5,883 colonies were inspected for varroa using a standard alcohol wash and 851 of those were found to be positive.

Among commercial operations (those having 50 or more colonies), the mean varroa infestation was below treatment thresholds and ranged from 0.48 per cent in May to 0.59 per cent in October (Fig. 1). The mean varroa infestation was below recommended treatment thresholds at all sampling dates.

The degree of varroa infestation among small-scale operations (those having 49 or fewer colonies) was variable, ranging from 0.27 per cent in June to 4.53 per cent in October (Fig. 1). The mean varroa infestation was above recommended treatment thresholds in April, September and October and below treatment thresholds in May, June, July and August.

Mean infestation of the varroa mite (Varroa destructor) in per cent (%) plus or minus the standard error in colonies inspected by the Apiary Program in 2015, among commercial (blue bars) honey bee operations having 50 or more colonies and small-scale honey bee operations having 49 or fewer colonies. The red line denotes the recommended treatment threshold for May (2 %) and the purple line denotes the recommended treatment threshold for August (3 %) as described by Guzman et al. (2010).

Figure 1. Mean infestation of the varroa mite (Varroa destructor) in per cent (%) plus or minus the standard error in colonies inspected by the Apiary Program in 2015, among commercial (blue bars) honey bee operations having 50 or more colonies and small-scale honey bee operations having 49 or fewer colonies. The red line denotes the recommended treatment threshold for May (2 %) and the purple line denotes the recommended treatment threshold for August (3 %) as described by Guzman et al. (2010).

Text Equivalent to Figure 1

Management Practices

Ontario beekeepers have a variety of chemical treatment options available to manage varroa mites. According to a survey of beekeepers, the most popular synthetic acaricide is Apivar® and the least utilized treatment is Checkmite++™. To date, there have been documented resistance issues with both Checkmite++™ and Apistan® in Ontario. Additionally, many beekeepers are using 65 per cent liquid formic acid as a regular varroa treatment option.

B. American Foulbrood (AFB) and Other Brood Diseases

In 2015, American Foulbrood (AFB) was found in 84 honey bee colonies or 0.95 per cent of the colonies inspected in Ontario. Samples of AFB that have been tested for resistance to known treatments have confirmed that the strains of AFB circulating in Ontario are still susceptible to registered antibiotics. There have been no instances of antibiotic resistant AFB in Ontario to date. Other brood diseases that were tracked by the Apiary Program include European Foulbrood, Melissococcus plutonius, chalkbrood, Ascosphaera apis, and sacbrood (see Prevalence of Diseases and Pests).

C. Small Hive Beetle (SHB)

Following the discovery of SHB in Niagara County, the ministry began enhanced SHB surveillance. Ministry apiary inspectors visited targeted apiaries within a 15 km radius of known SHB-positive sites in the Niagara Region, and further expanded SHB surveillance to the western part of the Niagara Region and to areas surrounding apiaries where SHB had been confirmed in prior years. In 2015, a total of 25 apiaries, both commercial and small-scale operations tested positive for SHB.

As the status and presence of SHB is evolving in Ontario, the province is transitioning from an eradication strategy to a management strategy which is consistent with other jurisdictions. Effective management of SHB is important to minimizing the spread of this new pest. For more information, please review the SHB materials found online at www.ontario.ca/beekeeping or call 1-877-424-1300.

2015 Ontario Apiculture Survey Results

Overwinter Honey Bee Losses

A survey was used to estimate overwinter honey bee losses. The survey was distributed to 199 registered commercial beekeepers, those having 50 colonies or more. Responses were received from 55 per cent of commercial beekeepers representing 38,667 colonies across the province. Based on the results of the survey, commercial beekeepers reported an approximate 38 per cent overall honey bee colony loss during the 2014-2015 winter (Fig. 2). This is substantially less than the estimated 58 per cent overall winter loss reported in 2014. Although this decrease in winter loss is positive for the health of the beekeeping industry, it is still more than double what is considered to be sustainable by apiculturists. In Canada, 15 per cent is considered the maximum acceptable winter loss (Furgala and McCutcheon, 1992; CAPA, 2007 to 2015).

The overall overwinter loss reported annually by Ontario beekeepers from 2002-2003 to 2014-2015. The red line denotes what is considered the maximum acceptable overwinter loss (CAPA, 2007 to 2015).

Figure 2. The overall overwinter loss reported annually by Ontario beekeepers from 2002-2003 to 2014-2015. The red line denotes what is considered the maximum acceptable overwinter loss (CAPA, 2007 to 2015).

Text Equivalent to Figure 2

In-season Honey Bee Mortality Incidents

During the beekeeping seasons of 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015 there have been reports of in-season honey bee mortality incidents from beekeepers throughout Ontario. A honey bee incident can be defined as atypical effects characterized by bee mortality or sub-lethal effects observed in a honey bee colony reported by a beekeeper that is suspected by the beekeeper to be related to pesticide exposure. These incidents have been reported to Health Canada's Pest Management Regulatory Agency (PMRA) and have been tracked by OMAFRA, the Ministry of Environment and Climate Change (MOECC) and the PMRA.

Ontario's Pollinator Health Strategy

The Ontario government has initiated a Pollinator Health Strategy to address current and emerging threats to pollinator health under four broad categories:

  • Reduced Habitat and Poor Nutrition
  • Diseases, Pests, Genetics
  • Exposure to Pesticides
  • Extreme Weather and Climate Change

In November, 2014, the Ontario government highlighted two aspirational targets:

  • To reduce overwinter mortality rates for managed honey bees to 15 per cent by 2020.
  • To achieve an 80 per cent reduction in the number of acres planted with neonicotinoid (NNI) treated corn and soybean seed by 2017.

Two components of the strategy - financial support for the beekeeping sector and a regulation to reduce the use of NNI-treated corn and soybean seeds - have already launched. A third component of the strategy is the development of a Pollinator Health Action Plan. Stakeholders, including the public, provided input to help shape the draft Action Plan which was released for public comment in January 2016.

References

Canadian Association of Professional Apiculturists (CAPA) Statement on honey bee losses in Canada. 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015. www.capabees.com

Guzman-Novoa, E., Eccles L., Calvete, Y., McGowan, J., Kelly, P. and Correa-Benitez, A. 2010. Varroa destructor is the main culprit for death and reduced populations of overwintered honey bees in Ontario, Canada. Apidologie. 4 (4) 443-451


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Wael Haddad - Apiary Data Coordinator/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 09 May 2016
Last Reviewed: 09 May 2016

Rapport de l'apiculteur provincial pour 2015

S'il vous plaît contacter apiary@ontario.ca pour le rapport en format PDF.

Table des matières

Sommaire

Au total, les pertes d'abeilles mellifères signalées pour l'hiver 2014 2015 ont été de 38 %, soit moins que les 58 % de pertes compilées pour l'hiver 2013 2014. En 2015, environ 32 000 colonies d'abeilles mellifères ont été expédiées hors de l'Ontario pour la pollinisation de cultures de canneberges et de bleuets dans l'Est du Canada. Le ministère a entrepris des inspections régulières ciblées visant à détecter la présence d'un insecte nuisible envahissant, soit le petit coléoptère des ruches. Celui-ci a été identifié dans 25 ruchers du comté de Niagara, et on a donc isolé les colonies et l'équipement connexe de ces ruchers. Pour l'instant, la mise en quarantaine créée en raison de la présence du petit coléoptère des ruches (comté d'Essex et partie du comté de Chatham Kent) demeure en vigueur.

Données sommaires sur l'industrie apicole

  • Nombre d'apiculteurs inscrits : 2 562
  • Nombre de colonies en production : 101 135
  • Rendement moyen en miel par colonie : 42 kg (93 lb) par colonie
  • Récolte totale de miel estimée : 4 266 076 kg (9 405 088 lb)
  • Taux global de mortalité hivernale : 38 %

Prévalence des maladies et des insectes nuisibles

  • Loque américaine : 0,95 %
  • Loque européenne : 0,13 %
  • Acosphérose : 5,80 %
  • Couvain sacciforme : 0,54 %
  • Petit coléoptère des ruches : 0,51 %
  • Varroa : 14.47%

Conditions météorologiques

Les conditions météorologiques ont été favorables pour la production de miel pendant la majeure partie de l'Ontario en 2015, les températures ayant été élevées durant l'été et le mois de septembre, chaud et humide. Ces conditions ont favorisé une miellée abondante à l'automne.

Production de miel

Pour estimer la production moyenne de miel en 2015, des questionnaires ont été envoyés aux apiculteurs commerciaux (définis à cette fin comme possédant 50 colonies ou plus). Les réponses ont été reçues de 20 % des apiculteurs commerciaux, ce qui représente 9000 colonies dans toute la province. D'après le sondage de 2015, la production de miel estimée en Ontario était de 93 livres par colonie (ou 42 kilogrammes par colonie). Beaucoup d'apiculteurs ont rapporté anecdotiquement un rendement élevé en 2015 la production de miel de l'Ontario pour l'été et l'automne flux de nectar.

Pollinisation hors de l'Ontario

La demande de services de pollinisation pour les cultures de petits fruits dans l'Est du Canada (Québec, Nouveau Brunswick et Nouvelle Écosse) a augmenté ces dernières années. Le nombre de colonies d'abeilles mellifères envoyées par l'Ontario pour aller polliniser des cultures dans l'Est du Canada est passé de 12 600 colonies en 2010 à 32 000 en 2015. Les abeilles élevées pour des services de pollinisation représentent maintenant près du tiers de toutes les colonies gérées en Ontario.

Prévalence des maladies et des insectes nuisibles

La prévalence des maladies et parasites ont été évalués par les inspecteurs du ministère apicoles lors de l'inspection de 8822 colonies au cours de la saison 2015 de l'apiculture.

A. Le Varroa

Les inspecteurs apicoles du ministère qui prélèvent des échantillons afin de vérifier la présence de l'acarien de l'abeille durant leurs inspections ont constaté un faible niveau d'infestation dans de nombreuses exploitations apicoles durant la saison apicole. Le degré d'infestation par le varroa dépend des seuils de traitement établis par Guzman et coll. (2010), qui recommandent que les colonies soient traitées en mai pour la présence de varroa si le taux d'infestation dépasse les 2 % et en août, s'il dépasse les 3 %. Bien que le varroa soit très répandu dans la province, le faible taux d'infestation peut être un signe qu'il y a des apiculteurs qui arrivent à bien gérer le varroa. À l'échelle de la province, 5 883 colonies ont fait l'objet d'une inspection pour la détection de la présence de varroa à l'aide d'un traitement standard à l'alcool, et on a obtenu un résultat positif pour 851 colonies.
Dans les exploitations commerciales (de 50 colonies ou plus), l'infestation moyenne par le varroa était inférieure aux seuils de traitement et allaient de 0,48 % en mai à 0,59 % en octobre (Fig. 1). Le taux d'infestation moyen par le varroa était inférieur aux seuils de traitement recommandés pour toutes les dates de prélèvement d'échantillons.

L'infestation par le varroa dans les petites exploitations (de 49 colonies ou moins) était d'un degré variable, soit de 0,27 % en juin à 4,53 % en octobre (Fig. 1). Le niveau moyen d'infestation par le varroa était supérieur aux seuils de traitement recommandés en avril, en septembre et en octobre et inférieur aux seuils de traitement pour mai, juin, juillet et août.
Taux d'infestation moyen par le varroa (Varroa destructor) en pourcentage (%) plus ou moins l'erreur type dans les colonies inspectées par le Programme Rucher en 2015. Des exploitations commerciales apicoles (de 50 colonies ou plus) sont notés dans le bleu et les petites exploitations apicoles (de 49 colonies ou moins) sont en gris. La ligne rouge correspond au seuil de traitement recommandé pour mai, tandis que la ligne violette correspond au seuil de traitement recommandé pour août par Guzman et coll. (2010).

Figure 1. Taux d'infestation moyen par le varroa (Varroa destructor) en pourcentage (%) plus ou moins l'erreur type dans les colonies inspectées par le Programme Rucher en 2015. Des exploitations commerciales apicoles (de 50 colonies ou plus) sont notés dans le bleu et les petites exploitations apicoles (de 49 colonies ou moins) sont en gris. La ligne rouge correspond au seuil de traitement recommandé pour mai, tandis que la ligne violette correspond au seuil de traitement recommandé pour août par Guzman et coll. (2010).

Texte correspondant à la figure 1

Pratiques de gestion

Les apiculteurs de l'Ontario disposent d'une variété de traitements chimiques pour gérer le varroa. L'acaricide synthétique le plus populaire est ApivarMD et le moins utilisé, Checkmite++MC. Jusqu'ici, il y a eu quelques problèmes de résistance qui ont été signalés tant avec Checkmite++MC qu'ApistanMD en Ontario. De plus, beaucoup d'apiculteurs utilisent de l'acide formique liquide à 65 % comme traitement régulier contre le varroa.

B. Loque américaine et autres maladies du couvain

En 2015, la loque américaine a été détectée dans 84 colonies d'abeilles mellifères ou 0,95 % des colonies inspectées en Ontario. L'analyse des échantillons prélevés qui ont été analysés pour évaluer la résistance aux traitements connus a confirmé que les souches qui circulent en Ontario continuent de réagir aux antibiotiques enregistrés. Jusqu'ici, on n'a pas trouvé de loque américaine résistante aux antibiotiques en Ontario. Les autres maladies du couvain qui ont été décelées dans le cadre du Programme d'apiculture sont la loque européenne, Melissococcus plutonius, l'acosphérose, le champignon Ascosphaera apis et le couvain sacciforme (voir page 1).

C. Petit coléoptère des ruches

Après la découverte de spécimens de petit coléoptère des ruches dans le comté de Niagara, le ministère a resserré la surveillance. Les inspecteurs apicoles du ministère ont visité des apiculteurs ciblés dans un rayon de 15 km des exploitations ayant donné des résultats positifs dans la région de Niagara et ils ont étendu la surveillance à la partie ouest de la région de Niagara et aux secteurs entourant les exploitations apicoles où la présence de cet insecte avait été détectée les années d'avant. En 2015, il y a au total 25 exploitations apicoles, qu'elles soient commerciales ou de petite envergure, qui ont obtenu des résultats positifs.

À mesure que la présence du petit coléoptère des ruches et la situation en Ontario évoluent, la province fait la transition d'une stratégie d'élimination à une stratégie de gestion ce qui est cohérent avec les autres juridictions. Il importe d'assurer une gestion efficace, de manière à réduire au minimum la propagation de ce nouvel insecte. Pour en savoir plus long, jetez un coup d'œil à l'information en ligne, au www.ontario.ca/apiculture, ou composez le 1 877 424 1300.

Résultats du sondage de 2015 auprès d'apiculteurs de l'Ontario

Pertes hivernales d'abeilles mellifères

Un sondage a été utilisé pour estimer les pertes hivernales d'abeilles mellifères. Le sondage a été distribué à 199 apiculteurs commerciaux inscrits (définis à cette fin comme possédant 50 colonies ou plus). Des réponses ont été reçues de 55 % des apiculteurs commerciaux, ce qui représente 38 667 colonies dans l'Ontario. Les exploitations commerciales ayant au moins 50 colonies ont rapporté des pertes globales d'environ 38 % de toutes les colonies d'abeilles mellifères durant l'hiver 2014 2015 (figure 2), soit bien moins que les pertes estimatives de 58 % déclarées pour 2014. Même si cette diminution est bonne pour la rentabilité de l'industrie, il n'en reste pas moins que c'est plus du double de ce qui est considéré comme viable par les apiculteurs. Au Canada, un taux de 15 % est considéré comme le maximum acceptable pour les pertes hivernales (Furgala et McCutcheon, 1992; CAPA, 2007 à 2015).

Les pertes hivernales totales rapportées par année par les apiculteurs de l'Ontario de 2002 2003 à 2014 2015. La ligne rouge correspond à ce qui est considéré comme le niveau maximum acceptable de pertes hivernales (APAC, 2007 à 2015).

Figure 2. Les pertes hivernales totales rapportées par année par les apiculteurs de l'Ontario de 2002 2003 à 2014 2015. La ligne rouge correspond à ce qui est considéré comme le niveau maximum acceptable de pertes hivernales (APAC, 2007 à 2015).

Texte correspondant à la figure 2

Incidents de mortalité saisonnière

Durant les saisons apicoles de 2012, 2013, 2014 et 2015, il y a eu des incidents de mortalité saisonnière d'abeilles mellifères un peu partout en Ontario qui ont été signalés à l'Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire (ARLA) de Santé Canada et dont le suivi a été fait par le MAAARO, le ministère de l'Environnement et de l'Action en matière de changement climatique ainsi que par l'ARLA. Un incident d'abeilles peut être défini comme effets atypiques caractérisées par la mortalité des abeilles ou des effets sub-létaux observées dans une colonie d'abeilles rapporté par un apiculteur qui est soupçonné par l'apiculteur à être lié à l'exposition aux pesticides.

Stratégie ontarienne pour la santé des pollinisateurs

Le gouvernement de l'Ontario a lancé une Stratégie ontarienne pour la santé des pollinisateurs visant à contrer les nouvelles menaces aussi bien que celles qui existent déjà pour la santé des pollinisateurs et qui se classent dans quatre grandes catégories :

  • réduction de l'habitat et mauvaise nutrition;
  • maladies, insectes nuisibles et génétique;
  • exposition aux pesticides;
  • conditions météorologiques extrêmes et changements climatiques.

En novembre 2014, le gouvernement de l'Ontario a défini deux objectifs visés.

  • Ramener les taux de mortalité hivernale pour les abeilles mellifères gérées à 15 % d'ici 2020.
  • Réduire de 80 % le nombre d'acres où sont cultivés du maïs et du soya dont les semences ont été traitées aux néocotinoïdes (NNI) d'ici 2017.

Les deux premiers volets de la stratégie, soit le soutien financier du secteur de l'apiculture et la réglementation visant à réduire l'utilisation de semences de maïs et de soya traitées aux néocotinoïdes, ont déjà été lancés. Le troisième volet est l'élaboration d'un plan d'action pour la santé des pollinisateurs. Différents intéressés, notamment des membres de la population, ont exprimé leur opinion pour contribuer à l'élaboration du plan d'action, qui a été rendu public en février 2016 en vue de recueillir des commentaires.

Bibliographie

Association canadienne des apiculteurs professionnels (ACPA). Statement on Honey Bee Losses in Canada, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 et 2015. www.capabees.com

Guzman-Novoa, E., L. Eccles, Y. Calvete, J. McGowan, P. Kelly et A. Correa-Benitez. 2010. Varroa Destructor is the Main Culprit for Death and Reduced Populations of Overwintered Honey Bees in Ontario, Canada, Apidologie, vol. 41, no 4, p. 443-451.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Wael Haddad - Apiary Data Coordinator/MAAARO
Date de création : 09 mai 2016
Dernière révision : 09 mai 2016