2013 Provincial Apiarist Annual Report

Please contact apiary@ontario.ca for the report in PDF format


Winter mortality (38 per cent for 2012-13) was higher than the previous year (12 per cent). Approximately 24,400 honey bee colonies left Ontario for pollination of cranberries and blueberries. Approximately 11,350 colonies were inspected for small hive beetle (SHB). SHB was found in six beeyards belonging to three beekeepers in the County of Chatham-Kent, adjacent to the Quarantine Area. All 110 honey bee colonies and associated equipment have been quarantined in each of these yards. The Quarantine Area remains in place in Essex County and part of Chatham-Kent County.

A number of incidents (covering 319 locations) citing bee mortality (acute and chronic) have been reported in association with corn and soybean seed planting. The primary concern is that honey bees are being exposed to damaging levels of neonicotinoid insecticides used to treat the seeds. These incidents are being responded to by the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA), (for pest, diseases and management practices) and the Pest Management Regulatory Agency (PMRA) with the Ministry of Environment (MOE) (pesticide residues). Residues of clothianidin and thiamethoxam have been found in the majority of honey bee samples collected from these reported incidents. The PMRA has concluded "that the majority of pollinator mortalities were a result of exposure to neonicotinod insecticides" for incidents in both 2012 and 2013 and "that current agricultural practices related to the use of neonicotinoid treated corn and soybean seed are not sustainable".

The Ontario government established the Ontario Bee Health Working Group to provide advice on how to prevent honey bee mortality in relation to corn and soybean seeds treated with neonicotinoid insecticides. The working group membership includes Ministry staff from OMAFRA, MOE, and PMRA, including specialists in the area of pesticides, field crops and apiculture, along with beekeepers, grain farmers, pesticide and agrochemical industries.

A. Beekeeping Industry Statistics

  • Number of registered beekeepers: 3,155
  • Number of producing colonies: 97,500
  • Average honey yield/colony: 65.26 lb (29.6 kg) colony
  • Total estimated honey crop: 6,526,000 lb (2,600,000 kg)
  • Colonies wintered last year (years 2012/2013): 101,000
  • Average winter mortality: 38 %

B. Diseases and Pests

  • American Foulbrood: 11,346 colonies inspected / 117 colonies infected = 1.3% incidence
  • European Foulbrood: 11,346 colonies inspected / 1 colony infected = 0.05% incidence
  • Chalkbrood: 11,346 colonies inspected / 118 colonies infected = 1.0% incidence
  • Sacbrood virus: 11,346 colonies inspected / 52 colonies infected = 0.5% incidence
  • Varroa mite (inspection was done on intensity, not incidence)
  • Small Hive Beetle: 11,346 colonies inspected / 110 colonies infected = 1.0 % incidence

Weather Patterns

There were numerous cool and rainy periods throughout the 2013 season in Ontario.

Honey Production

Honey production decreased in Ontario in 2013 at 65.26 lbs / colony. The average honey crop in 2012 was 93.45 lbs / colony (2012 Honey Survey). The cool and rainy weather may have contributed to the reduced honey yield. Some beekeepers also reported a delay or failure of honey bee colonies to build up to the appropriate strength required to harvest the available nectar resources.


Demand for pollination services for berry crops in Eastern Canada has increased in recent years. In 2010, 12,600 honey bee colonies left Ontario for pollination, 14,700 colonies in 2011, 26,000 colonies in 2012 and 24,400 colonies in 2013. This represents almost one quarter of the managed colonies in Ontario. These colonies left Ontario to pollinate blueberries, cranberries and canola in the provinces of Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia. There are indications that the blueberry acreage will increase substantially in Eastern Canada and Ontario with areas being developed in different areas of Northern Ontario within the next decade. This will further increase the demand for pollination services by Ontario beekeepers and provide additional opportunities for the industry to expand and diversify.

Pest and Disease Levels in Ontario

Varroa and Tracheal Mites

Varroa sampling during regular apiary inspections showed low levels in many operations throughout the beekeeping season. These low levels may confirm the success that some beekeepers have had with their management of varroa mites. However, some cases of high varroa levels were observed, which could be traced back to the treatment strategy that the beekeeper had used. Therefore, beekeepers must ensure that their treatment strategy is effective in controlling varroa levels in their honey bee colonies. It is also essential that beekeepers monitor their levels of varroa and treat early before damage occurs in their colonies.

American Foulbrood (AFB) and Other Brood Diseases

In 2013, American Foulbrood (AFB), Paenibacillus larvae, was found in 30 beeyards, representing 117 honey bee colonies or 1.3 per cent of inspected colonies in Ontario. This figure may reflect the focus on "at-risk" beeyards, based on proximity to other infected locations.

Other brood diseases that were tracked by the Apiary Program include European

Foulbrood, Melissococcus plutonius, chalkbrood, Ascosphaera apis, and sacbrood.

(See Section B).

2013 Ontario Apiculture Survey Results - Levels of Winter Loss and Management Practices of Ontario Beekeepers

Winter Loss

The level of honey bee colony mortality over the winter was 38 per cent. This level of winter loss in Ontario is a major concern for beekeepers. This is up significantly from last year's 12 per cent reported mortality. The threshold of acceptable levels of winter loss is 15 per cent.

Winter mortality was more than double that level in the years of 2007 to 2009 and nearly three times that level in 2011.

*Figure 1: The threshold of acceptable levels of winter loss is 15 per cent. Source: Canadian Association of Professional Apiculturists (CAPA)

Winter Mortality of Honey Bee Colonies in Ontario

Alternate Text

Management Practices

Ontario beekeepers have a variety of chemical treatment options available to manage varroa mites. The most popular synthetic acaricide treatment is Apivar®, with the limited use of Checkmite++™ by beekeepers. There are documented resistance issues with Checkmite++™ and Apistan® in Ontario. Although there are populations of varroa in Ontario that are resistant to Apistan®, this resistance can vary (70 to 90 per cent efficacy in controlling varroa mites in honey bee colonies - Technology Transfer Program, Ontario Beekeepers' Association (OBA) - personal communication). As such, beekeepers are still using Apistan® in rotation with other mite treatments. Many beekeepers are still using 65 per cent liquid formic acid as regular treatment option, especially in the spring.

Small Hive Beetle Status

The distribution and population levels of Small Hive Beetle (SHB) in Ontario are being tracked by the Apiary Program. Colonies are visually inspected for the presence of SHB adults and larvae.

Apiary Inspectors have also monitored targeted sites. These targeted sites are located in areas that are of potentially higher risk of being infested by SHB (Counties of Lambton, Niagara, Chatham-Kent and those along the St. Lawrence), either by their geographic proximity (along the USA border) to areas known to have SHB or by suspected association with a known area (e.g. through known or suspected trace-outs, selling, or movement of honey bees).

In total, 11,346 honey bee colonies were inspected for the presence of SHB. Small Hive Beetle was present in six of the 876 sites (Section B). This is the same number of positive sites as in 2012 and 2011. All positive locations were found in Chatham-Kent County, directly adjacent to the Quarantine Area (Essex County and part of Chatham-Kent County). The six positive sites include three different beekeepers and 110 honey bee colonies. All honey bee colonies and associated equipment have been quarantined at these six locations. In three of the six locations, the honey bee colonies and equipment have since been moved into the Quarantine Area. The Quarantine Area remains in place in Essex County and part of Chatham-Kent County.

For more information on biosecurity practices and identification of SHB see:



Bee Kill Incidents

During the beekeeping season of 2013, there were multiple reports from beekeepers throughout Ontario experiencing bee kill incidents (approximately 319 locations and 79 affected beekeepers). Beekeepers have reported these incidents to the PMRA. The symptoms documented and reported by beekeepers were characteristic of acute pesticide poisoning (large piles of dead bees in front of the colony, trembling, shaking and atypical behaviour displayed in bees). Health Canada has analyzed samples of dead bees collected from these incidents. Samples were screened for multiple pesticides. Seventy-five per cent of the samples were positive for levels of commonly used pesticides on corn seed and soybean seed (clothianidin and thiamethoxam). (It is also important to note that, though the analysis indicates the presence of clothianidin, thiamethoxam breaks down to metabolites that include clothianidin).

In most cases, damage was reported close to the planting of treated corn seed (by proximity and by date). In 2013 however, approximately one-third of the reported incidents took place in summer and fall. As such, other routes of exposure are being examined. This is the second year in a row this issue has been reported in Ontario.

The PMRA reported that, "the information evaluated to date, suggests that clothianidin and/or thiamethoxam contributed to many of the 2013 bee losses," and that, "preliminary information indicates that there may be differences in the information reported for the 2013 incidents which included losses of field force; steady decline in population; and more reports of lack of recovery and chronic or ongoing effects such as queen and brood effects."

The PMRA has released a detailed report on the specifics related to the bee kill incidents in 2012. Preliminary reports are available for 2013. It is important to note that with all the incidents there were no known cases of off-label or improper use of pesticides by the growers.





In 2013, clothianidin and thiamethoxam were found in all sample categories (dead and dying honey bees, live honey bees, pollen from the brood nest, honey from the brood nest, water from the surrounding area, and flowering vegetation). These compounds were found in most pollen and honey bee samples from colonies reported to be affected. The proportion and levels of these compounds are covered in the following report:


More incidents of acute pesticide damage have been reported in Ontario than any other region of North America. Approximately four per cent of all registered beeyards in Ontario have been affected and, in some counties, the proportion of affected beeyards may be more than 30 per cent. The reason for this significant number of reports during the past season has yet to be determined. Further research and the analysis of incident reporting and environmental assessment by regulators are ongoing to help clarify and address this issue.

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Paul Kozak, Provincial Apiarist
Creation Date: 15 July 2014
Last Reviewed: 22 October 2015

Rapport annuel de l'apiculteur provincial de l'Ontario - 2013

Aperçu

La mortalité hivernale (38 pour cent en 2012-2013) a été plus élevée que l'année précédente (12 pour cent). Environ 24 400 colonies d'abeilles mellifères ont été expédiées hors de l'Ontario pour la pollinisation des canneberges et des bleuets. Près de 11 350 colonies ont fait l'objet d'inspection pour le dépistage du petit coléoptère des ruches (PCR). Cet insecte a été observé dans six ruchers appartenant à trois apiculteurs du comté de Chatham-Kent, adjacent à la zone de quarantaine. Toutes les 110 colonies d'abeilles mellifères et le matériel utilisé pour ces dernières ont été mis en quarantaine dans chacun de ces ruchers. La zone de quarantaine demeure en vigueur dans le comté d'Essex et dans certaines parties du comté de Chatham-Kent.

Un certain nombre d'incidents (répartis dans 319 sites) associés à la présence de mortalité chez les abeilles (aiguë et chronique) ont été signalés dans le cadre de semis de maïs et de soya. On pointe surtout du doigt le fait que les abeilles mellifères ont été exposées à des niveaux nocifs d'insecticides de la catégorie des néonicotinoïdes, utilisés pour traiter les semences. Le ministère de l'Agriculture et de l'Alimentation (MAAO) et le ministère des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAR) (en ce qui a trait aux méthodes de lutte contre les insectes et les maladies) ainsi que l'Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire (ARLA) en collaboration avec le ministère de l'Environnement de l'Ontario (MEO) (pour les résidus de pesticides) se penchent sur ce dossier. Des résidus de clothianidine et de thiaméthoxame ont été détectés dans la majorité des échantillons d'abeilles mellifères prélevés dans le cadre de ces incidents. L'ARLA a conclu que « que la plupart des mortalités d'insectes pollinisateurs étaient attribuables à l'exposition aux insecticides de la catégorie des néonicotinoïdes » dans le cas des incidents signalés en 2012 et 2013 et que « les pratiques agricoles actuelles ayant trait à l'utilisation de semences de maïs et de soja traitées aux néonicotinoïdes ne sont pas viables ».

Le gouvernement de l'Ontario a créé le Groupe de travail de l'Ontario sur la santé des abeilles avec le mandat de formuler des conseils sur la prévention de la mortalité au sein des colonies d'abeilles mellifères, associée aux semences de maïs et de soya traitées avec des néonicotinoïdes. Le groupe de travail se compose de représentants du personnel du MAAARO, MEO et de l'ARLA, qui sont spécialistes dans les domaines des pesticides, des grandes cultures et de l'apiculture, ainsi que des apiculteurs, des producteurs de céréales et des représentants du secteur des pesticides et de l'agrochimie.

A. Statistiques sur l'industrie apicole

  • Nombre d'apiculteurs inscrits : 3 155
  • Nombre de colonies en production : 97 500
  • Rendement moyen de miel/colonie : 65,26 lb (29,6 kg) par colonie
  • Récolte totale de miel estimée : 6 526 000 lb (2 600 000 kg)
  • Colonies ayant hiverné l'an dernier (années 2012/2013) : 101 000
  • Mortalité hivernale moyenne : 38 %

B. Maladies et insectes nuisibles

  • Loque américaine : 11 346 colonies inspectées/117 colonies infectées = incidence de 1,3 %
  • Loque européenne : 11 346 colonies inspectées/1 colonie infectée = incidence de 0,05 %
  • Couvain plâtré : 11 346 colonies inspectées/118 colonies infectées = incidence de 1,0 %
  • Virus du couvain sacciforme : 11 346 colonies inspectées/52 colonies infectées = incidence de 0,5 %
  • Varroa (l'inspection a été fondée sur l'intensité et non sur l'incidence)
  • Petit coléoptère des ruches : 11 346 colonies inspectées/110 colonies infectées = incidence de 1,0 %

Tendances climatiques

De nombreuses périodes fraîches et pluvieuses ont été observées au cours de la saison 2013 en Ontario.

Production de miel

La production de miel a diminué en Ontario en 2013 pour se situer à 65,26 lb/colonie. La récolte moyenne de miel en 2012 avait été de 93,45 lb/colonie (Sondage 2012 sur le miel). Les températures fraîches et pluvieuses ont pu contribuer à la réduction des rendements en miel. Certains apiculteurs ont signalé que des colonies d'abeilles avaient pris du retard à prendre les forces nécessaires pour récolter le nectar offert et dans certains cas elles en avaient été même incapables.

Pollinisation

La demande pour les services de pollinisation des cultures de petits fruits dans l'est du Canada a augmenté au cours des dernières années. En 2010, 12 600 colonies d'abeilles mellifères ont été expédiées de l'Ontario à des fins de pollinisation contre14 700 colonies en 2011, 26 000 colonies en 2012 et 24 400 colonies en 2013. Cela représente presque le quart des colonies gérées en Ontario. Ces colonies ont quitté l'Ontario pour polliniser les fleurs de bleuets, de canneberges et de canola dans les provinces du Québec, du Nouveau-Brunswick et de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Certains indices signalent que les superficies consacrées aux bleuets augmenteront considérablement dans l'est du Canada et en Ontario avec des secteurs se développant dans différentes régions du nord de l'Ontario au cours de la prochaine décennie. La demande de services de pollinisation continuera d'augmenter pour les colonies d'abeilles mellifères en Ontario et fournira d'autres possibilités qui permettront à l'industrie de prendre de l'expansion et de se diversifier.

Prévalence des insectes nuisibles et des maladies en Ontario

Varroa et acariens de l'abeille

Les prélèvements pour la détection du varroa au cours des inspections apicoles régulières ont révélé une faible prévalence dans bon nombre d'exploitations au cours de la saison apicole. Cette faible prévalence confirme peut-être le succès remporté par certains apiculteurs dans leur lutte contre le varroa. On a cependant observé des niveaux de varroas élevés dans certains cas, qui peuvent être liés au programme de lutte utilisé. Les apiculteurs sont donc invités à s'assurer que leur programme de lutte est efficace contre le varroa dans leurs colonies. Il est également important que les apiculteurs exercent un suivi de la prévalence du varroa et effectuent les traitements tôt avant que les dommages surviennent dans leurs colonies.

Loque américaine et autres maladies du couvain

En 2013, la loque américaine, Paenibacillus larvae, a été observée dans 30 ruchers, ce qui représente 117 colonies ou 1,3 pour cent des colonies inspectées en Ontario. Ces chiffres témoignent peut-être de l'accent mis sur les ruchers « en danger », en fonction de la proximité des autres zones infectées et des renseignements disponibles provenant des antécédents de l'état de la maladie.

D'autres maladies du couvain qui ont été décelées par le programme d'inspection comprennent la loque européenne, Melissococcus plutonius, le couvain plâtré, Ascosphaera apis, et le couvain sacciforme.

(voir la section B).

Résultats du sondage 2013 auprès des apiculteurs de l'Ontario - Niveaux de pertes hivernales et pratiques de gestion des apiculteurs de l'Ontario

Pertes hivernales

Le taux de mortalité dans les colonies d'abeilles mellifères au cours de l'hiver a été de 38 pour cent. L'ampleur des pertes hivernales en Ontario est très préoccupante pour les apiculteurs. Ce taux est nettement supérieur à celui de l'an dernier, lequel était de 12 pour cent. On estime qu.un seuil de 15 pour cent est acceptable. La mortalité hivernale a été plus que le double de ce qui a été observé de 2007 à 2009 et près du triple du taux de 2011.

Figure 1

Figure 1

Texte équivalent

Pratiques de gestion

Les apiculteurs de l'Ontario ont une gamme d'options de traitements chimiques à leur disposition pour lutter contre le varroa. L'acaricide synthétique le plus populaire est Apivar®, alors que Checkmite++™ est moins utilisé par les apiculteurs, les problèmes de résistance avec Checkmite++™ et Apistan® étant reconnus en Ontario. Bien que certaines populations de varroas en Ontario sont encore résistantes à Apistan®, cette résistance peut varier (70 à 90 pour cent d'efficacité contre le varroa dans les colonies d'abeilles mellifères, selon une communication personnelle avec un collègue du Programme de transfert technologique de l'Ontario Beekeepers' Association (OBA). Ainsi, bon nombre d'apiculteurs utilisent encore Apistan® en rotation avec d'autres traitements contre les acariens. Beaucoup d'apiculteurs utilisent encore une solution liquide à 65 pour cent d'acide formique comme traitement régulier, surtout au printemps.

Situation relative au petit coléoptère des ruches

Le suivi de la distribution et des niveaux de population du petit coléoptère des ruches (PCR) en Ontario s'effectue dans le cadre du programme apicole. Des colonies sont visuellement inspectées en vue de dépister la présence du PCR à l'état adulte ou larvaire.

Les inspecteurs de ruchers ont également surveillé les emplacements ciblés. Ces derniers se trouvent dans des régions qui présentent un risque accru d'infestation par le PCR (comtés de Lambton, Niagara, Chatham-Kent, et ceux qui sont situés le long du fleuve Saint Laurent), soit à cause de la proximité géographique de zones où la présence du PCR est connue, soit à cause d'un lien présumé avec une zone touchée (p. ex., par le repérage, la vente ou la circulation, connus ou présumés, d'abeilles mellifères).

Au total, 11 346 colonies ont été inspectées dans le cadre du dépistage de la présence du PCR. Le PCR était présent dans six des 876 sites observés (section B), soit le même nombre qu'en 2012 et 2011. Tous les emplacements positifs ont été observés dans le comté de Chatham-Kent, qui est directement adjacent à la zone de quarantaine (comté d'Essex et une partie du comté de Chatham-Kent). Les six emplacements positifs étaient répartis chez trois apiculteurs et comportaient 110 colonies. Toutes les colonies et le matériel utilisé dans les ruchers affectés ont été mis en quarantaine dans ces six emplacements. Dans trois des six emplacements, les colonies d'abeilles mellifères et le matériel ont été déplacés depuis dans la zone de quarantaine. Cette dernière demeure en vigueur dans le comté d'Essex et dans une partie du comté de Chatham-Kent.

Pour plus d'information sur les pratiques recommandées en matière de biosécurité et sur l'identification du PCR, voir :
http://www.omafra.gov.on.ca/french/food/inspection/bees/biosecurity.htm
www.omafra.gov.on.ca/french/food/inspection/bees/shb-reportfindings.pdf

Incidents associés à des pertes d'abeilles

Au cours de la saison apicole 2013, l'Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire (ARLA) de Santé Canada a reçu un nombre important de déclarations d'incidents faisant état de cas de mortalité d'abeilles mellifères (environ 319 emplacements et 79 apiculteurs concernés). Les symptômes documentés et signalés par les apiculteurs évoquaient une intoxication aiguë causée par des pesticides (amoncellement d'abeilles mortes devant la colonie, tremblements, secousses et comportement atypique observé chez les abeilles). Santé Canada a analysé des échantillons d'abeilles mortes recueillis dans le cadre de ces incidents. Les échantillons ont été analysés pour plusieurs pesticides. Soixante-quinze pour cent des échantillons étaient positifs pour les niveaux de pesticides couramment utilisés sur les semences de maïs et de soya (clothianidine et thiaméthoxame). (Il est également important de préciser que bien que l'analyse indique la présence de clothianidine, le thiaméthoxame se dégrade en métabolites qui incluent la clothianidine).

Dans la plupart des cas, les dommages ont été signalés à proximité de semences de maïs traitées (en fonction de la proximité et de la date). En 2013 cependant, environ le tiers des incidents signalés sont survenus durant l'été et l'automne. On envisage donc d'autres voies d'exposition. C'est la deuxième année que ce phénomène est rapporté en Ontario.

Selon l'ARLA, « Les renseignements examinés jusqu'à maintenant indiquent que la clothianidine ou le thiaméthoxame, ou les deux, ont contribué à de nombreuses pertes d'abeilles en 2013, » et que « les renseignements provisoires indiquent qu'il existe de nombreuses différences parmi les renseignements signalés concernant les incidents de 2013, y compris les pertes d'abeilles ouvrières, le déclin soutenu de la population, l'augmentation des signalements relatifs à l'absence de rétablissement et les effets chroniques ou permanents, comme ceux observés chez les reines et sur les couvains. »

L'ARLA a publié un rapport détaillé sur les circonstances entourant les incidents ayant causé la mort d'abeilles en 2012. Les rapports provisoires de 2013 peuvent être consultés. Il est important de préciser que pour tous les incidents aucun cas d'utilisation en dérogation des directives de l'étiquette ou d'usage inapproprié de pesticides par les producteurs n'a été signalé.

En 2013, de la clothianidine et du thiaméthoxame ont été détectés dans toutes les catégories d'échantillons (abeilles mellifères mortes et mourantes, abeilles mellifères vivantes, pollen provenant du nid à couvain, miel provenant du nid à couvain, eau du milieu environnant, et plantes en fleurs). Ces substances ont été trouvées dans la plupart des échantillons de pollen et de miel recueillis dans les colonies affectées. Les pourcentages et les concentrations des résidus sont donnés dans le rapport suivant :

http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/cps-spc/pubs/pest/_fact-fiche/bee_mortality-mortalite_abeille-fra.php

Un plus grand nombre d'incidents d'intoxication aiguë par des pesticides ont été signalés en Ontario que dans toute autre région d'Amérique du Nord. Environ quatre pour cent de tous les ruchers inscrits an Ontario ont été touchés et, dans certains comtés, la proportion de ruchers atteints pourrait être supérieure à 30 pour cent. On ne connaît pas encore la raison de nombre important de signalements au cours de la dernière saison. La poursuite des recherches, l'analyse des signalements et l'évaluation environnementale par les organismes de réglementation aideront à clarifier la question et à prendre les mesures appropriées.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Paul Kozak
Date de création : 15 juillet 2014
Dernière révision : 15 juillet 2014