2011 Ontario Provincial Apiarist Annual Report

Weather

Weather was a major factor negatively affecting honey bees in many areas of Ontario in 2011. The spring of 2011 was characterized by a very prolonged, cool and rainy period throughout most regions of the province. These cool conditions stressed weakened colonies and delayed the building of worker population by honey bee colonies. This may have contributed to a further decline in weakened colonies into the late spring resulting in increased spring mortality. The summer conditions were mostly hot and dry in many areas of the province.

Despite a long, cold winter (2010 - 2011) in Essex County the small hive beetles (SHB) found in the fall of 2010 have been able to successfully survive. Adult SHB were found in honey bee colonies in the spring of 2011. Furthermore, these adults were capable of reproduction.

Honey Production

It was a mixed year for honey production in Ontario. In many cases beekeepers reported a large variation of production from site to site. In areas of North Wellington and in areas surrounding Kingston many beekeepers reported average to higher-than-average levels of production. Production in northern regions of the province has been reported to be well below expected levels. The main issue identified by producers was insufficient numbers of foragers in the colony to capture the nectar flow. This was mostly attributed to the cool and late spring which held back colony development and growth. At the same time, beekeepers in the south-western parts of the province produced an unexpectedly large honey crop. Based on the responses to the provincial honey survey, the estimated average honey production in Ontario in 2011 is 90 lbs / colony, down from 107 lbs / colony in 2010.

Varroa and Tracheal Mites

Varroa and tracheal mites are well established and widely distributed throughout Ontario. The only region where varroa or tracheal mites have not been recorded is the region of Thunder Bay. Varroa mites resistant to both fluvalinate and coumaphos are established in multiple regions of Ontario. At present, there have been no confirmed cases of varroa mites resistant to the active ingredient amitraz (Apivar®).

American Foulbrood and Other Brood Diseases

The bacterial disease, American Foulbrood (AFB), is resident within Ontario. In 2011, 24 instances of AFB, representing 57 colonies, were found in Ontario. This is still the most contagious and virulent brood disease of honey bees. When found, AFB samples are sent to the USDA Lab in Beltsville, Maryland to test for antibiotic resistance. Resistance to Oxy-tetracycline has not been found in AFB in Ontario. All beekeepers should take particular care to only use approved and registered antibiotics for the prevention of AFB infections. In order to prevent the development of resistance to antibiotics, beekeepers should only use oxytetracycline in powdered sugar. "Extender" or "grease patties" should never be used. This method has risks for contaminating the honey crop and the development of antibiotic-resistant AFB.

Other brood diseases that were tracked by the inspection program include European Foulbrood, Mellisococcus pluton (found in 0.01 per cent of inspected colonies), chalkbrood, Ascophaera apis (found in 3.6 per cent of inspected colonies) and sacbrood (found in 0.01 per cent of inspected colonies).

Pollination

Pollination demand for berry crops in New Brunswick increased from 12,600 honey bee colonies in 2010 to 14,700 in 2011. This represents approximately 17 per cent of the managed colonies in Ontario. There are reports that blueberry growers in Eastern Canada were still in need of up to 6,000 additional honey bee colonies. There are also indications that the blueberry acreage will increase substantially in Eastern Canada with several thousand acres being developed in Northern Ontario within the next 10 years. This will further increasing the demand for pollination services provided by Ontario honey bee colonies.

Honey bee colonies moving to New Brunswick and Quebec from Ontario require inspections for the presence of AFB and SHB and an import permit from Ontario and the receiving province. No SHB were found in, or in areas associated with, loads of honey bee colonies leaving Ontario.

Industry Make-Up

At present there are 2,900 beekeepers in Ontario. This represents 41 per cent of the beekeepers in Canada. The 87,000 managed honey bee colonies in Ontario represent 15 per cent of the honey bee population in Canada. Although Ontario has a very large proportion of beekeepers with relatively small operations, the vast majority of honey bee colonies are managed by a thriving commercial sector. Two hundred and thirty commercial beekeepers manage 70,000 of the 87,000, or 80 per cent, of the colonies in the province. Honey bee colonies are currently managed at approximately 6,000 sites.

This industry is one of the most diverse in Canada with beekeepers invested in honey production for a large domestic market, honey bee colony and queen production and sales, as well as pollination of a vast fruit and vegetable sector. A substantial proportion of the blueberry crop in Eastern Canada is reliant on the numbers and early build of colonies from Ontario. There is also a considerable production of domestic honey bee colonies in Ontario. In 2011, 82 beekeepers held queen and nuc permits allowing for the sale of honey bee material to other beekeepers.

Pollination Value

Honey bees provide $171 million in annual pollination value to Ontario agriculture. This figure may be greatly underestimated as the high pollination value of blueberries outside of Ontario is not included. Michigan State recently revised their estimates for pollination value of honey bees at approximately $1 billion for the state. For comparison purposes, see:
http://bees.msu.edu/2010/03/bees-worth-a-billion-in-michigan/

2011 Apiculture Survey Results

Based on the results from the 2011 Apiculture Survey, the provincial mean for estimated colony mortality over the winter of 2010-2011 was 43 per cent, while the median was 41 per cent. This survey represents a response rate of 39.4 per cent amongst 218 commercial beekeepers. This is the highest level of average winter loss recorded in Ontario. A normal level of winter mortality is typically considered to range from 5 to 15 per cent (Furgala and McCutheon, 1992).

Many of the beekeeping operations that responded to the survey reported their losses well above the mean, up to 60 per cent in the 75th percentile of the respondents. At the same time, some beekeepers reported much lower wintering losses in the 5th percentile, at 10 per cent mortality. Although the range of wintering losses reflects a wide variation in mortality among different operations (2 to 95 per cent winter mortality), both the median and mean are indicative of high levels of loss.

Based on research from the University of Guelph (Guzman et al., 2010) and reports and field observation from other provinces (Currie et al., 2010), varroa is still the main factor in colony mortality. The overall virulence of Nosema ceranae in honey bees is somewhat unclear (requiring further research) and there are many other pathogens such as viruses that further impact honey bees.

Weather patterns may have had some impact on the survival of colonies into spring. In 2010, in most parts of the province, the spring was early, up to three weeks earlier than normal in most regions (April). This would have resulted in much earlier brood production in honey bee colonies and varroa reproduction. Without effective varroa control in spring of 2010, it is possible that many colonies may have gone into the fall with much higher varroa levels than a typical year. This is only speculation as no data was collected to demonstrate varroa levels increasing earlier than normal.

As mentioned above, the extremely wet and cool spring conditions in 2011 may have contributed to further colony decline, particularly in weak colonies that could not increase their numbers. This was anecdotally reported from many different beekeeping operations.

Colony Collapse Disorder, which has been identified in the USA, has not been identified in Canada. To be clear, this disorder has been associated with a distinct set of conditions that has not been presently validated in Canada (vanEngelsdorp et al., 2008; Currie et al., 2010).

Figures 1 and 2 below show average winter mortality of honey bee colonies in Ontario from 2003 to 2011, and a comparison of winter mortality between provinces in 2010 and 2011.

Figure 1. Average winter mortality of honey bee colonies in Ontario

Graph image of winter mortality of honey bee colonies in Ontario
Text equivalent -Figure 1

Figure 2. Winter Mortality Amongst Canadian Provinces in 2010 and 2011

Graph of winter mortality of honey bee colonies in Canada

Text equivalent - Figure 2

For more information on winter mortality in honey bees see: http://www.omafra.gov.on.ca/english/food/inspection/bees/2011-winter-loss.htm

Small Hive Beetle Distribution

The distribution and population levels of small hive beetles (SHB) in Ontario are being tracked by the Apiculture Inspection Program (OMAFRA). All honey bee colonies that are inspected for the presence of American Foulbrood are also inspected for SHB. This includes all colonies that belong to beekeepers applying for a permit to sell, move or import queens and nucs. Colonies are visually inspected for the presence of SHB adults and larvae with particular attention to areas of the hive where SHB is more likely to be found.

In addition to regular visual inspection of honey bee colonies throughout Ontario, Apiary Inspectors have also monitored targeted sites on an ongoing basis. These targeted sites are located in areas that are of potentially higher risk of being infested by SHB (Counties of Lambton, Niagara, Chatham-Kent and those along the St. Lawrence), either by their geographic proximity to areas known to have SHB or by suspected association with a known area (e.g. through known or suspected trace-outs, selling, or movement of honey bees).

The standard SHB trap used this season (2011) was the bottom board trap. This trap is a shallow black plastic pan that fits underneath the colony, resting on top of the bottom board, elevated by a wooden slat. The pan is filled with food grade vegetable oil and covered with a grid that is too small for honey bees to fit through but big enough for adult SHB to fit through. Two other types of traps (top bar traps and bucket traps) were used in the field inspections, although at much lower levels and only under certain conditions.

Two hundred and forty-four sites were monitored in the 2011 beekeeping season, representing 123 beekeepers and 4,006 honey bee colonies (figure 3).

Figure 3. Small hive beetle inspections by region

Map showing small hive beetle inspectin areas by region

Text equivalent - Figure 3

Figure 4. Small hive beetle locations in Ontario

Map of small hive beetle locations in Ontario

Text equivalent - Figure 4

SHB was found to be present in five of the 244 sites (figure 4):

  • One site less than 10 km outside of the quarantine area in Chatham-Kent County - There were six full-size honey bee colonies on site. The presence of SHB was self reported by the beekeeper. The beekeeper involved had purchased honey bee colonies from a beekeeper within the Quarantine Area a year earlier.
    Action Taken: The site was placed under quarantine. The beekeeper agreed to voluntarily move all colonies to a site within the Quarantine Area. Ground drench (Permethrin) was then applied to the soil where the bees were kept.
  • One site in Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry County, east of Cornwall - The yard is located on the north side of the St. Lawrence River and is approximately 10 km from Quebec where SHB is considered resident. The yard contains 25 full-size colonies. The beekeeper involved is a commercial beekeeper with multiple sites. Other yards of the beekeeper and surrounding beekepers were inspected for the presence of SHB and none were found to be positive. The levels of SHB in the yards where the beetle was found is considered low (there was only one beetle found in all colonies examined).
    Action Taken: The beeyard has been placed under individual quarantine.
  • Two sites in Dufferin County - The sites are located near the town of Shelburne, approximately 80 km north-west of Toronto. There are 17 colonies in one yard and 23 in the second yard. Both yards belong to a single beekeeper. This finding may be considered a traceout given that the colonies were purchased from another beekeeper who has an association with the Quarantine Area.
    Action Taken: Both beeyards have been placed under quarantine.
  • Two sites in Lambton County, near the city of Sarnia - There are 26 colonies in one yard and 23 in the second yard. Both beeyards belong to the same beekeeper. Both yards are very close to Michigan State where SHB is resident.
    Action Taken: Both beeyards have been placed under quarantine.

All positive sites have been reported to the CFIA and the World Organization for Animal Health (OIE). The CFIA has recognized all action that has been taken on the sites and has reclassified the Chatham-Kent site as free of SHB. Ontario will continue to work with the CFIA on monitoring and mitigating SHB.

The Quarantine Area (encompassing the entire County of Essex and all of that part of the Municipality of Chatham-Kent lying south-westwards of a line made up of a Town Line Road, Pump Road and Merlin Road also known as County Road 7) is still being maintained (figure 5). This was the first area where SHB was found in Ontario and is the epicentre of the infestation.

Figure 5. Quarantine area for small hive beetle in Ontario

Map showing the quarantine area for small hive beetle in Ontario

Text equivalent - Figure 5

OMAFRA's SHB inspection and monitoring activities are covered in greater detail in the Small Hive Beetle Report for Ontario - 2011:
http://www.omafra.gov.on.ca/english/food/inspection/bees/apicultu.html

References

Currie R., Guzman E. and Pernal, S. 2010. Honey bee colony losses in Canada. Journal of Apicultural Research. 49 (1): 104-106.

Guzman-Novoa E., Eccles L., Calvete Y., McGowan J., Kelly P. and Correa-Benitez A. 2010. Varroa destructor is the main culprit for death and reduced populations of overwintered honey bees in Ontario, Canada. Apidologie. 4 (4) 443-451.

Furgala, B; McCutcheon, D M (1992) Wintering productive colonies. In Graham J M (Ed). The hive and the honey bee (revised edition). Dadant and Sons; Hamilton, IL, USA. pp. 829-868.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Paul Kozak, Provincial Apiarist
Creation Date: 27 February 2012
Last Reviewed: 27 February 2012

Rapport annuel de l'apiculteur provincial de l'Ontario - 2011

Conditions météorologiques

Les conditions météorologiques sont parmi les facteurs qui ont le plus nui aux abeilles mellifères dans de nombreuses régions de l'Ontario en 2011. Le printemps a été caractérisé par une très longue période de froid et de pluie dans la majeure partie de la province. Ces conditions ont ajouté au stress des colonies affaiblies et retardé l'accroissement des populations d'ouvrières, ce qui pourrait avoir accéléré le déclin des colonies jusque vers la fin du printemps et entraîné une hausse du taux de mortalité printanière. En été, de nombreuses régions de la province ont surtout connu un temps chaud et sec.

Malgré l'hiver long et froid qui a sévi dans le comté d'Essex en 2010-2011, les petits coléoptères des ruches (PCR) découverts à l'automne 2010 ont réussi à survivre. Des PCR adultes ont été trouvés dans des colonies mellifères au printemps 2011 et par surcroît, ils se sont révélés capables de se reproduire.

Production de miel

Les producteurs de miel ont eu une année en dents de scie en Ontario. Dans bien des cas, les apiculteurs ont signalé un fort écart de production d'un rucher à l'autre. Dans la région de North Wellington et aux environs de Kingston, beaucoup ont enregistré des niveaux de production de moyens jusqu'à supérieurs à la moyenne. Par contre, dans le nord de la province, la production a été nettement inférieure aux niveaux prévus. Les producteurs ont déterminé que le principal problème venait d'un nombre insuffisant de butineuses dans les colonies pour rapporter la miellée. Ce manque a été attribué en majeure partie au printemps frais et tardif qui a entravé le développement et la croissance des colonies. Parallèlement, les apiculteurs du sud-ouest de la province ont enregistré de manière inattendue de fortes récoltes de miel dans une région où elles sont habituellement beaucoup moins abondantes. D'après les résultats du sondage provincial sur l'apiculture, la production estimative moyenne de miel en Ontario s'est établie à 90 lb (40 kg) par colonie en 2011, contre 107 lb (48,5 kg) par colonie en 2010.

Varroa et acarien de l'abeille

Le varroa et l'acarien de l'abeille sont bien établis et largement répartis dans tout l'Ontario. La région de Thunder Bay est la seule où aucune de ces deux espèces n'a été signalée. Des varroas résistants au fluvalinate et au coumaphos sont établis dans plusieurs régions de la province. Jusqu'ici, aucun cas de résistance du varroa à l'ingrédient actif amitraze (Apivar®) n'a été confirmé en Ontario.

Loque américaine et autres maladies du couvain

La maladie bactérienne de la loque américaine est établie en Ontario. En 2011, 24 cas touchant 57 colonies ont été répertoriés dans la province. Cette maladie du couvain est la plus contagieuse et la plus virulente chez les abeilles mellifères. Lorsqu'elle est détectée, des échantillons sont envoyés au laboratoire de l'USDA à Beltsville, dans le Maryland, où sont alors effectués des tests de résistance aux antibiotiques. On n'a recensé aucun cas de résistance de la loque américaine à l'oxytétracycline en Ontario. Tous les apiculteurs devraient prendre garde d'utiliser uniquement des antibiotiques approuvés et homologués pour prévenir les infections par la loque américaine. Afin d'empêcher le développement d'une résistance aux antibiotiques, il est conseillé d'administrer l'oxytétracycline seulement avec du sucre en poudre. Les diluants ou « galettes de graisse » sont à éviter, car ils risquent de contaminer la récolte de miel et de favoriser la résistance de la loque américaine aux antibiotiques.

Entre autres maladies du couvain détectées grâce au programme d'inspection, mentionnons la loque européenne, Mellisococcus pluton (découverte dans 0,01 % des colonies inspectées), le couvain plâtré, Ascophaera apis (découvert dans 3,6 % des colonies inspectées), et le couvain sacciforme (découvert dans 0,01 % des colonies inspectées).

Pollinisation

La demande de services de pollinisation chez les producteurs de bleuets du Nouveau Brunswick est passée de 12 600 colonies mellifères en 2010 à 14 700 en 2011, ce qui représente environ 17 % des colonies régies en Ontario. Apparemment, les producteurs de bleuets de l'Est du Canada auraient besoin de 6000 colonies additionnelles. Il semble également que la superficie des bleuetières augmentera considérablement dans l'Est canadien et que plusieurs milliers d’acres de cultures seront établis dans le Nord de l'Ontario au cours des 10 prochaines années. Ceci fera augmenter encore davantage la demande de services de pollinisation fournis par les propriétaires de colonies mellifères de l'Ontario.

Les colonies qui sont acheminées de l'Ontario jusqu'au Nouveau-Brunswick et au Québec doivent subir l'examen de dépistage de la loque américaine et du PCR. De plus, il est nécessaire d'obtenir un permis d'importation de l'Ontario et de la province destinataire. Le PCR n'a pas été découvert dans les chargements de colonies mellifères qui ont quitté l'Ontario ni dans les régions connexes.

Composition de l'industrie

L'Ontario compte à l'heure actuelle 2900 apiculteurs, chiffre qui équivaut à 41 % des apiculteurs au Canada. Les 87 000 colonies mellifères régies en Ontario représentent 15 % de la population d'abeilles à miel au Canada. Bien qu'il y ait en Ontario une très vaste proportion d'apiculteurs qui dirigent des exploitations relativement petites, la grande majorité des colonies font partie d'un secteur commercial prospère. Deux cent trente apiculteurs commerciaux régissent 70 000 (80 %) des 87 000 colonies de la province, dans environ 6000 ruchers.

L'industrie est l'une des plus diversifiées au Canada : les apiculteurs assurent en effet la production de miel destiné à un important marché intérieur, la production et la vente de colonies mellifères et de reines-abeilles, ainsi que la pollinisation au sein de l'énorme secteur des fruits et légumes. Une forte proportion des cultures de bleuets de l'Est canadien dépend du nombre et de l'établissement des colonies en Ontario, et la province enregistre également une production considérable de colonies mellifères domestiques. En 2011, 82 apiculteurs détenaient des permis de reines-abeilles et de nucléus qui les autorisaient à vendre ces produits à d'autres apiculteurs.

Valeur de la pollinisation

La valeur annuelle de la pollinisation par les abeilles mellifères s'élève à 171 millions de dollars pour l'agriculture ontarienne. Il est d'ailleurs probable que ce chiffre soit grandement sous-estimé, car l'important secteur de la pollinisation des bleuets en dehors de l'Ontario n'est pas pris en compte dans le calcul. L'État du Michigan a récemment corrigé son estimation de la valeur de la pollinisation par les abeilles mellifères et l'évalue maintenant à un milliard de dollars. À titre de comparaison, voir la page
http://bees.msu.edu/2010/03/bees-worth-a-billion-in-michigan/.

Résultats du sondage sur l'apiculture de 2011

Selon les résultats du sondage sur l'apiculture de 2011, la moyenne provinciale de mortalité des colonies a été de 43 % pendant l'hiver 2010-2011, tandis que la médiane se situait à 41 %. Le sondage a obtenu un taux de réponse de 39,4 % parmi 218 apiculteurs commerciaux. La moyenne de mortalité hivernale de 43 % est la plus élevée qui ait été enregistrée en Ontario, le taux normal se situant habituellement entre 5 et 15 % (Furgala et McCutheon, 1992).

Un grand nombre des apiculteurs qui ont répondu au sondage ont signalé des pertes bien supérieures à la moyenne, allant jusqu'à 60 % dans le 75e centile des répondants, tandis que certains autres ont enregistré des pertes beaucoup plus faibles de 10 % dans le 5e centile. Bien que la fourchette de mortalité hivernale dénote une forte variation parmi les ruchers (entre 2 et 95 %), la médiane et la moyenne indiquent toutes deux des pertes élevées.

Selon des recherches menées à l'Université de Guelph (Guzman et al., 2010) et d'après les rapports et les données d'observation sur le terrain qui nous sont parvenus d'autres provinces (Currie et al., 2010), le varroa demeure le principal facteur qui explique la mortalité des colonies. La virulence générale de Nosema ceranae chez les abeilles mellifères est incertaine (d'autres recherches s'imposent) et il existe de nombreux autres agents pathogènes, comme des virus, qui ont des répercussions supplémentaires sur les abeilles.

Les conditions météorologiques pourraient avoir eu un impact sur la survie des colonies jusqu'au printemps. En 2010, dans la majeure partie de la province, le printemps a été précoce et s'est installé jusqu'à trois semaines plus tôt qu'en temps normal (avril) dans la plupart des régions. Cela aurait eu pour résultat d'avancer considérablement l'époque de la production du couvain dans les colonies mellifères, ainsi que la reproduction du varroa. Si des mesures de lutte efficaces n'ont pas été prises contre le varroa au printemps 2010, il se peut que de nombreuses colonies aient connu à l'automne des taux de varroa considérablement supérieurs à ceux d'une année normale. Cependant, ce n'est qu'une supposition, car aucune donnée n'a été recueillie pour confirmer que les niveaux de varroas augmentaient plus tôt que d'habitude.

Comme il est mentionné plus haut, le froid et l'humidité extrêmes qui ont caractérisé le printemps 2011 pourraient avoir aggravé le déclin des colonies, en particulier celles qui étaient affaiblies et ne pouvaient pas augmenter leur population. Beaucoup d'apiculteurs ont fait ce commentaire anecdotique.

Le syndrome d'effondrement des colonies, qui a été diagnostiqué aux États-Unis, ne l'a pas été au Canada. Ce syndrome est associé à un ensemble distinct de conditions qui, à l'heure actuelle, n'a pas été confirmé au Canada (vanEngelsdorp et al., 2008; Currie et al., 2010).

Les figures 1 et 2 ci-dessous montrent la mortalité hivernale moyenne des colonies mellifères en Ontario de 2003 à 2011, ainsi qu'une comparaison des taux de mortalité hivernale entre les provinces en 2010 et 2011.

Figure 1. Mortalité hivernale moyenne pour les abeilles mellifères en Ontario

Mortalité hivernale moyenne pour les abeilles mellifères en Ontario

Texte équivalent

Figure 2. Mortalité hivernale dans les provinces canadiennes en 2010 et en 2011

Mortalité hivernale dans les provinces canadiennes en 2010 et en 2011

Texte équivalent

Pour en savoir davantage sur la mortalité hivernale des abeilles mellifères, voir la page http://www.omafra.gov.on.ca/french/food/inspection/bees/2011-winter-loss.htm.

Répartition du petit coléoptère des ruches

En Ontario, la répartition et la population du petit coléoptère des ruches (PCR) font l'objet d'un suivi dans le cadre du programme d'inspection apicole (MAAARO). Toutes les colonies mellifères qui sont inspectées pour le dépistage de la loque américaine le sont également pour celui du PCR. Cela comprend toutes les colonies appartenant aux apiculteurs qui demandent un permis pour vendre, déplacer ou importer des reines-abeilles et des nucléus. L'inspection visuelle permet de détecter la présence des PCR adultes et des larves, et porte particulièrement sur les endroits de la ruche où le PCR est plus susceptible de se trouver.

En plus de faire l'inspection visuelle régulière des colonies mellifères de l'ensemble de l'Ontario, les inspecteurs apicoles surveillent continuellement les ruchers cibles. Ceux-ci se trouvent dans des régions qui présentent un risque accru d'infestation par le PCR (comtés de Lambton, Niagara, Chatham-Kent, et ceux qui sont situés le long du fleuve Saint-Laurent), soit à cause de la proximité géographique de zones où la présence du PCR est connue, soit à cause d'un lien présumé avec une zone touchée (p. ex., traçage, vente ou circulation connus ou présumés d'abeilles mellifères).

Le piège à PCR standard qui a été utilisé pendant la campagne 2011 était le piège de plancher. Ce piège comporte un plateau peu profond de plastique noir que l'on place sur le plancher de la ruche en le surélevant grâce à des planchettes de bois. Le plateau est rempli d'huile végétale alimentaire et recouvert d'un grillage dont la maille est trop fine pour que les abeilles puissent la traverser, mais qui laisse passer les PCR adultes. Deux autres types de piège (piège de traverse supérieure et seau) ont été utilisés pendant les inspections sur le terrain mais beaucoup moins fréquemment et seulement dans certaines circonstances.

Deux cent quarante-quatre ruchers ont été surveillés pendant la campagne apicole 2011, ce qui représente 123 apiculteurs et 4006 colonies mellifères (se reporter à la figure 3).

Figure 3. Inspections pour le petit coléoptère des ruches par région

Inspections pour le petit coléoptère des ruches par région

Texte équivalent

La présence du PCR a été détectée dans quatre des 244 ruchers (se reporter à la figure 4) :

Figure 4. Lieux d'infestation par le petit coléoptère des ruches en Ontario

Lieux d'infestation par le petit coléoptère des ruches en Ontario

Texte équivalent

  • Un rucher situé à moins de 10 km de la zone de quarantaine, dans le comté de Chatham-Kent - Le rucher comptait six colonies mellifères complètes. L'apiculteur a lui-même signalé la présence du PCR. Un an auparavant, il avait acheté des colonies mellifères auprès d'un apiculteur se trouvant dans la zone de quarantaine.
    Mesure prise : Le rucher a été mis en quarantaine. L'apiculteur a accepté de déménager toutes les colonies à l'intérieur de la zone de quarantaine. Un traitement par bassinage (perméthrine) a été appliqué au sol à l'endroit où étaient les ruches.
  • Un rucher situé dans le comté de Stormont, Dundas et Glengarry, à l'est de Cornwall - Le rucher se trouve sur la rive nord du fleuve Saint-Laurent, à environ 10 km du Québec où il existe des populations résidentes de PCR. Le rucher contient 25 colonies complètes. L'apiculteur concerné possède des ruchers commerciaux en plusieurs endroits. Les autres ruchers de cet apiculteur et les ruchers environnants ont été inspectés pour détecter la présence du PCR mais aucun n'était infesté. On considère que l'infestation du rucher où le PCR a été découvert est de faible intensité (un seul coléoptère a été repéré dans toutes les colonies examinées).
    Mesure prise : Le rucher a été mis en quarantaine individuelle.
  • Deux ruchers situés dans le comté de Dufferin - Les ruchers se trouvent près de la ville de Shelburne, à environ 80 km au nord-ouest de Toronto. Il y a 17 colonies dans un rucher et 23 dans l'autre. Les deux ruchers appartiennent au même apiculteur. La découverte du PCR dans ces ruchers peut être considérée comme un retraçage compte tenu que les colonies ont été achetées auprès d'un autre apiculteur qui a un lien avec la zone de quarantaine.
    Mesure prise : Les deux ruchers ont été mis en quarantaine.
  • Deux ruchers situés dans le comté de Lambton, près de Sarnia - Il y a 26 colonies dans un rucher et 23 dans l'autre. Les deux ruchers appartiennent au même apiculteur et tous deux se trouvent non loin de l'État du Michigan, où il existe des populations résidentes de PCR.
    Mesure prise : Les deux ruchers ont été mis en quarantaine.

Tous les ruchers infestés ont été signalés à l'ACIA et à l'Organisation mondiale de la santé animale (OIE). L'ACIA a tenu compte de toutes les mesures prises dans les ruchers et a déclaré le rucher de Chatham-Kent exempt de PCR. L'Ontario continuera de travailler avec l'ACIA pour surveiller le PCR et atténuer les risques.

La zone de quarantaine (comprenant tout le comté d'Essex et toute la partie de la municipalité de Chatham-Kent située au sud-ouest de la ligne formée par Town Line Road, Pump Road et Merlin Road, aussi appelée County Road 7) est encore maintenue (se reporter à la figure 5). C'est dans cette région que le PCR a été découvert pour la première fois en Ontario et elle constitue l'épicentre de l'infestation.

Figure 5. Zone de quarantaine associée au petit coléoptère des ruches en Ontario

Zone de quarantaine associée au petit coléoptère des ruches en Ontario

Texte équivalent

On trouvera dans le Rapport sur le petit coléoptère des ruches en Ontario - 2011 un compte rendu plus détaillé des activités d'inspection et de surveillance du MAAARO à l'endroit du PCR.
http://www.omafra.gov.on.ca/french/food/inspection/bees/apicultu.html.


Bibliographie

Currie R., Guzman E. et Pernal, S. « Honey bee colony losses in Canada », Journal of Apicultural Research, 2010, vol. 49 (1), p. 104-106.

Guzman-Novoa E., Eccles L., Calvete Y., McGowan J., Kelly P. et Correa-Benitez. « A. Varroa destructor est le principal responsable de la mort et de la réduction des populations de colonies d'abeilles (Apis mellifera) après hivernation en Ontario, Canada », Apidologie, 2010, vol. 41 (4), p. 443-451.

Furgala, B. et McCutcheon, D. M. « Wintering productive colonies », 1992. Graham J. M. (dir.). The hive and the honey bee (édition revue), Dadant and Sons, Hamilton, IL, É.-U., p. 829-868.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 09 mars 2012
Dernière révision : 09 mars 2012