Disposal of Deadstock Regulation 105/09

Application and Scope

Regulation 105/09 under the Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001 governs the disposal of deadstock in the possession of a custodian and the disposal of any dead animal collected by a collector or received by a disposal facility.

Deadstock

Regulation 105/09 generally applies to specified farmed food animals that are dead, were not slaughtered for food and are not disposed of under any other legislation. Deadstock includes dead alpacas, bison, cattle, deer, elk, goats, llamas, sheep, yaks, horses, ponies, donkeys, pigs and other porcine animals and ratites. The carcasses of poultry and rabbits also are included as deadstock if the custodian at the time of their death had more than 300 rabbits, or 50 turkeys or 300 poultry other than turkeys, whether dead or alive. Hybrids of any of these animals are also deadstock.

Custodian

Regulation 105/09 defines a custodian as any person having responsibility for the care of and had control of an animal that is deadstock immediately before the animal died. A custodian does not include a farm operator. Veterinarians who accept carcasses of deadstock for the purpose of conducting a postmortem are deemed to be custodians when they receive the carcasses. Operators of businesses that receive and handle live animals for the purpose of sale or distribution or for the purpose of feeding, watering and resting animals while in transit are deemed to be custodians if they accept the carcasses of animals that died in transit for the purpose of disposing of the carcasses.

Deadstock Disposal Methods for Custodians and Farm Operators Who Do Not Dispose of Deadstock on Farm

Custodians must dispose of their deadstock by having them collected by a licensed collector or by transporting them to licensed disposal facilities or approved waste disposal sites. Farm operators who wish to dispose of deadstock off-farm must dispose of them in the same manner as custodians.

General Disposal Rules

Generally, deadstock must be collected or transported within 48 hours of death. The regulations, however, allow custodians and farm operators to store mortalities under certain conditions. Carcasses may be stored for up to 14 days if stored at a temperature of four degrees Celsius or less, and up to 240 days if the carcass is kept in frozen storage.

Post Mortem Activity Rule

If a carcass is to be subjected to a post mortem examination, investigation or loss adjustment, the custodian may hold the carcass beyond 48 hours for up to 7 days following its death. The regulation requires carcasses held for these purposes to be disposed of immediately following the completion of the activity.

Rules for In-transit Mortalities

Transporters of live animals are responsible for and have control of animals on their vehicles. As such, transporters are custodians of any animals that are deadstock that die on their vehicles and are thus responsible for the disposal of the carcasses. If a delivery of live animals is made to a business that receives and handles livestock for sale or distribution or for the purpose of feeding, watering or resting animals in transit, the operator of the business may choose to receive deadstock from a transporter for the purpose of its disposal. Where a business operator chooses to receive a dead animal that is deadstock in any delivery of live animals, responsibility for the disposal of the deadstock shifts from the transporter to the business operator.

Delivery Options - Non-Bovine Deadstock

Deadstock that is collected by a collector, is transported by a custodian or is transported by a farm operator for the purposes of off-farm disposal can only be delivered to the following locations for disposal:

  • A disposal facility operated by a person licensed under Regulation 105/09 to operate a:
    • Transfer station,
    • Salvaging facility,
    • Rendering facility, or
    • Composting facility; or
  • A waste disposal site operating under a certificate of approval or provisional certificate of approval issued under the Environmental Protection Act (EPA).

Delivery Options - Bovine Deadstock

Bovine deadstock that is not disposed of on the site where death occurred is subject to the federal Health of Animals Regulations. Please contact Canadian Food Inspection Agency for conditions and requirements governing the transporting and disposal of bovine deadstock.

Transporting of Deadstock

All persons, whether collectors, custodians or farm operators must ensure that any vehicle, trailer or transport container used for the purpose of transporting deadstock meets the following minimum requirements to comply with federal and provincial law.

  • The vehicle, trailer or transport container must be designed and equipped to prevent leakage or escape of materials from the dead animal.
  • Surfaces that may come into contact with a dead animal must be constructed with impervious materials and be capable of withstanding repeated cleaning and sanitizing.
  • Dead animals must be transported without being in public view.
  • Dead animals must not be transported in the same vehicle with live animals or food for human consumption.
  • After delivering dead animals to a licensed disposal facility or an Environmental Protection Act (EPA) approved waste disposal site, the vehicle must be thoroughly cleaned and sanitized. Cleaning and sanitizing must be done before leaving a disposal facility.
  • Prior to transporting dead cattle a permit must be obtained from the CFIA.
  • Prior to being transported all dead cattle are to be stained in accordance with federal law, have Canadian Cattle Identification Agency (CCIA) ear tag attached and other imposed conditions.

In addition to these requirements, collectors are required to carry evidence of their collectors licence in the cab of the transport vehicle. This is not a requirement for vehicles used by custodians and farm operators to transport dead animals.

Record Keeping

Record keeping requirements for licensees can be found at Off-Farm Deadstock Licensing Requirements. Custodians are not required to keep records.

For more information contact:

Contact the Dead Animal Disposal Advisor with the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) at 1-888-466-2372 ext. 67510 or kevin.joynes@ontario.ca.

For the exact wording of the regulation, please visit the e-laws website.


This document is not a description of all of the requirements contained in O. Reg. 105/09, and the regulation itself must be to read to determine all such requirements. In the event that there is a conflict between the FSQA or O. Reg. 105/09 and this document, the FSQA and O. Reg. 105/09 govern.

Stakeholders should seek their own legal advice if they have concerns about the requirements or applicability of O. Reg. 105/09, or about the requirements or applicability of any other Act, regulation or policy mentioned in this document.

This document will be updated from time to time. Always check the OMAFRA website to ensure that you have the most up to date version of this document.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca


Author: Kevin Joynes - Dead Animal Disposal Advisor/OMAFRA/AHWB/VIA; Bill Groot-Nibbelink - Livestock Regulatory Affairs Specialist/OMAFRA/AHWB/VS
Creation Date: 26 March 2009
Last Reviewed: 15 November 2013

Règlement de l'Ontario 105/09, Élimination des animaux morts

Application et champ d'application

Le Règlement de l'Ontario 105/09, pris en application de la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments, porte sur l'élimination des animaux morts qu'un gardien a en sa possession et l'élimination de tout animal mort qu'un ramasseur est allé chercher ou qui a été transporté à une installation d'élimination.

Animaux morts

Le règlement 105/09 porte de façon générale sur les animaux d'élevage morts à la ferme, mais qui n'ont pas été abattus pour l'alimentation humaine et dont l'élimination n'est régie par aucune autre réglementation. Il vise les animaux morts suivants : alpacas, bisons, bovins, cerfs, wapitis, chèvres, lamas, moutons, yacks, chevaux, poneys, ânes, pourceaux, et autres animaux porcins et ratites. Les carcasses de volailles et de lapins sont aussi incluses si au moment de leur mort le gardien avait plus de 300 lapins, de 50 dindons ou de 300 volailles autres que les dindons, morts ou vivants. Les hybrides de l'un ou l'autre de ces animaux en font aussi partie.

Gardiens

Le règlement 105/09 définit comme gardien toute personne qui est responsable des soins et du contrôle d'un animal maintenant mort immédiatement avant que cet animal ne meure. Un exploitant agricole n'est pas considéré comme un gardien. Les vétérinaires qui acceptent des carcasses d'animaux en vue d'une autopsie sont considérés comme étant leurs gardiens quand ils les reçoivent. Les exploitants d'entreprises qui reçoivent et manipulent des animaux vivants en vue de leur vente ou de leur distribution ou dans le but de les nourrir, de leur fournir de l'eau ou de leur assurer du repos pendant leur transport sont considérés comme étant leurs gardiens s'ils acceptent les carcasses d'animaux reçues des camionneurs au cours de leur transit dans le but de les éliminer.

Méthodes d'élimination des animaux morts par les gardiens (y compris les vétérinaires, les transporteurs et les exploitants d'entreprises commerciales) et les exploitants agricoles qui n'éliminent pas les animaux morts sur la ferme

Les gardiens doivent éliminer les animaux morts en demandant à un ramasseur titulaire d'un permis de venir chercher l'animal ou en apportant ce dernier à une installation d'élimination titulaire d'un permis ou à un lieu d'élimination des déchets approuvé. Les exploitants agricoles qui souhaitent éliminer eux-mêmes des animaux morts ailleurs qu'à la ferme sont tenus de procéder de la même manière que les gardiens.

Règles générales d'élimination

Règle générale, le gardien est tenu d'éliminer l'animal mort ou de le faire transporter dans un délai de 48 heures de la mort. Toutefois, le règlement permet aux gardiens et aux exploitants agricoles d'entreposer l'animal en respectant certaines conditions. Les carcasses peuvent être entreposées pour une période allant jusqu'à 14 jours à une température de 4 degrés Celsius ou moins, ou jusqu'à 240 jours si elles sont congelées.

Règle sur les activités entourant une autopsie

Si une carcasse doit faire l'objet d'une autopsie, d'une enquête ou qu'elle fait partie d'un règlement de sinistre, le gardien peut la conserver plus de 48 heures, jusqu'à 7 jours après la mort de l'animal. Le règlement stipule que les carcasses conservées à cette fin doivent être éliminées immédiatement au terme de l'activité.

Règles sur les animaux morts pendant le transport

Les transporteurs d'animaux vivants sont responsables des animaux qui sont dans leurs véhicules et doivent en avoir le contrôle. En tant que tels, les transporteurs sont les gardiens de tous les animaux qui sont morts dans leurs véhicules et ils sont responsables de l'élimination des carcasses. Si une livraison d'animaux vivants est effectuée à une entreprise qui reçoit et manipule des animaux vivants en vue de leur vente ou de leur distribution, de les nourrir, de leur fournir de l'eau ou de leur assurer du repos pendant qu'ils sont en transit, l'exploitant de l'entreprise peut accepter un animal mort d'un transporteur pour l'éliminer. Quand un exploitant d'entreprise accepte un animal mort avec toute livraison d'animaux vivants, la responsabilité de l'élimination de l'animal mort passe du transporteur à l'exploitant.

Choix de livraison - Animaux morts autres que les bovins

Les animaux morts que vont chercher des ramasseurs, qui sont transportés par des gardiens ou un exploitant agricole dans le but de les éliminer hors de la ferme, doivent être apportés à l'une des installations suivantes pour être éliminés :

  • une installation d'élimination dont l'exploitant est titulaire d'un permis en vertu du règlement 105/09 qui l'autorise à exploiter :
    • une station de transfert;
    • une installation de récupération;
    • un fondoir;
    • une installation de compostage;
  • un lieu d'élimination de déchets approuvé qui est exploité en vertu d'un certificat d'autorisation ou d'un certificat d'autorisation provisoire conformément à la Loi sur la protection de l'environnement (LPE).

Choix de livraison - cadavres de bovins

Les cadavres de bovins qui ne sont pas éliminés sur le lieu où la mort de l'animal s'est produite sont régis par le Règlement sur la santé des animaux fédéral. Veuillez contacter l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments pour les conditions et les exigences régissant le transport et l'élimination des cadavres de bovin.

Transport d'animaux morts

Toute personne, qu'elle soit un ramasseur, gardien ou exploitant agricole, doit veiller à ce que le véhicule, la remorque ou le récipient de transport utilisé pour le transport des animaux morts respecte, afin d'être conforme aux lois fédérales et provinciales, les normes minimales décrites ci-dessous :

  • les véhicules, remorques ou récipients de transport doivent être conçus et équipés de façon à prévenir l'écoulement de liquides ou la fuite de matières provenant du cadavre de l'animal;
  • les surfaces qui entrent en contact avec un animal mort doivent être construites de matériaux imperméables et assez résistants pour être nettoyés et assainis à répétition;
  • les animaux morts qui sont transportés doivent être cachés à la vue du public;
  • les animaux morts ne doivent jamais être transportés dans le même véhicule que des animaux vivants ou des aliments destinés à la consommation humaine;
  • il est obligatoire de nettoyer et d'assainir complètement le véhicule, après livraison des animaux morts à une installation d'élimination titulaire d'un permis ou à un site approuvé en vertu de la Loi sur la protection de l'environnement (LPE). Le nettoyage et l'assainissement doivent être effectués avant de quitter l'installation d'élimination;
  • il est nécessaire d'obtenir un permis de l'ACIA avant de transporter des cadavres de bovins;
  • avant tout transport, une marque de couleur visible doit être appliquée sur chaque cadavre de bovins conformément à la loi fédérale, l'animal mort doit avoir à l'oreille l'étiquette d'identification de l'Agence canadienne d'identification du bétail (ACIB) et il faut veiller à satisfaire à toute autre exigence.

Outre ces exigences, les ramasseurs sont tenus de conserver dans la cabine du véhicule de transport une preuve de leur permis. Cette preuve n'est pas nécessaire dans le cas de véhicules utilisés par des gardiens et des exploitants agricoles pour transporter des animaux morts.

Tenue de dossiers

Veuillez consulter les Exigences en matière de permis pour l'élimination des animaux morts ailleurs qu'à la ferme pour connaître les exigences en matière de tenue de dossiers. Les gardiens ne sont pas obligés de tenir de dossiers.

Pour plus de détails

Pour communiquer avec le conseiller en élimination de cadavres d'animaux du ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAARO) au 1-888-466-2372, poste 67510, ou lui écrire à l'adresse kevin.joynes@ontario.ca.

Pour consulter le texte du règlement, voir le site Lois-en-ligne au site Web.


Le présent document ne décrit pas toutes les dispositions du Règlement de l'Ontario 105/09, et celui-ci doit être lu pour connaître toutes les règles qu'il faut observer. S'il y a un conflit entre le présent document et la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments ou le Règlement de l'Ontario 105/09, ce sont la loi et le règlement qui l'emportent.

Les personnes concernées devraient obtenir des avis juridiques si elles ont des questions au sujet des dispositions ou de l'applicabilité du Règlement de l'Ontario 105/09, ou au sujet des dispositions ou de l'applicabilité des lois, politiques et règlements mentionnés dans le présent document.

Le présent document a été actualisé le 26 mars 2009 et le sera de nouveau de temps à autre. Il faut toujours vérifier le site Web du ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales pour être certain d'avoir la version la plus récente du présent document.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca


Auteur : Kevin Joynes - Dead Animal Disposal Advisor/OMAFRA/AHWB/VIA; Bill Groot-Nibbelink - Livestock Regulatory Affairs Specialist/OMAFRA/AHWB/VS
Date de création : 20 avril 2009
Dernière révision : 20 avril 2009