Off-Farm Deadstock Licensing Requirements

A natural consequence of livestock production is the animal mortalities caused by disease or infirmity. The collectors and processors of dead farmed animals play an important role in ensuring the proper disposal of animals that die off-farm and mortalities that farm operators choose not to dispose of on their farms. The proper management of dead animals is crucial to maintaining public confidence in Ontario's food production and food safety systems.

The primary purpose of Regulation 105/09 under the Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001 (FSQA) is to ensure that meat from deadstock does not enter the human food chain. Another critically important function of the Regulation is to ensure that livestock that die off-farm, or are disposed of off-farm, are disposed of in a manner that protects human and animal health and minimizes environmental impacts.

Regulation 105/09 governs the off-farm disposal of deadstock and mortalities occurring off-farm. For the purposes of licensees, deadstock animals are alpacas, bison, cattle, deer, elk, goats, llamas, sheep, yaks, horses, ponies, donkeys, pigs and other porcine animals, ratites, rabbits and poultry. Poultry means chickens, turkeys, geese, ducks, guinea fowl, quail, pigeons, partridges and pheasants. Hybrids of any of these animals are also deadstock.

The Regulation specifies who may collect or receive deadstock for disposal, specifies who must be licensed and sets out the methods of disposal. The Regulation requires anyone in the business of collecting deadstock to be licensed. Any one who receives deadstock for the purposes of salvaging meat from carcasses, feeding carcasses to captive wildlife, rendering, composting or storing and shipping is required to be licensed. The regulation also requires anyone in the business of receiving and distributing meat obtained from deadstock to be licensed.

Licensees

Below is a brief description of the persons who are required to be licensed and some of their responsibilities. Complete information on the licensing requirements and the responsibilities of licensees is available by contacting the ministry's Dead Animal Disposal Advisor or in Regulation 105/09 on the government's e-Laws website.

Collectors

Any person in the business of collecting and transporting deadstock must be licensed and meet the standard requirements for vehicles and proper transport. Transporting your Deadstock.

Proof of a collector's license must be displayed in the windshield in the form of a decal issued by the ministry or a copy of valid collector's licence.

Collectors may only deliver the dead animals they collect to:

  • deadstock disposal facilities with licensed operators:
    • transfer stations
    • salvaging facilities
    • composting facilities, and
    • rendering facilities;
  • an approved waste disposal site, or
  • an equivalent facility outside Ontario that may legally accept the dead animals.

Under the regulations, a collector's licence is required by any person that transports any dead animal from one licensee:

  • to another licensee
  • to an approved waste disposal site, or
  • an equivalent facility outside of Ontario.

Except in specified circumstances, only collectors and Environmental Protection Act (EPA) approved waste carriers may transport unfinished compost from a composting disposal facility to an EPA approved waste disposal site.

Complete information on the licensing requirements and the responsibilities of collectors is available by contacting the ministry's Dead Animal Disposal Advisor or in Regulation 105/09 on the government's e-Laws website.

Transfer Stations

Any person that operates a site to receive deadstock for the sole purpose of temporarily storing the carcasses before sending them to a permitted disposal destination is required to be licensed.

Generally, transfer stations are required to ship any dead animals received within 24 hours of delivery. Dead animals may be kept at transfer stations if stored under refrigerated or frozen conditions.

Shipments from a transfer station must be transported by a licensed collector.

Complete information on the licensing requirements and the responsibilities of operators of transfer stations is available by contacting the ministry's Dead Animal Disposal Advisor or in Regulation 105/09 on the government's e-Laws website.

Salvaging Facilities

Any person who receives deadstock for the purpose of feeding the carcasses to captive wildlife kept at a captive wildlife establishment or for the purpose of salvaging the meat from the carcasses is required to be licensed. Meat salvaged from dead animals may be fed to animals or used for wildlife baiting or sold for these purposes.

To ensure the meat obtained from dead animals is not used for human food, any meat that is sold is required to be denatured and labelled. The regulation also prescribes packaging and portion sizes.

Complete information on the licensing requirements and the responsibilities of operators of salvaging facilities is available by contacting the ministry's Dead Animal Disposal Advisor or in Regulation 105/09 on the government's e-Laws website.

Brokers

Any person engaged in the business of obtaining and re-distributing meat salvaged from deadstock in a raw form continues to be required to be licensed as a broker. Any meat from dead animals that a broker distributes that is altered in any way must be denatured, packaged and labelled in accordance with the Regulation.

Complete information on the licensing requirements and the responsibilities of brokers is available by contacting the ministry's Dead Animal Disposal Advisor or in Regulation 105/09 on the government's e-Laws website.

Rendering Facility

Any person who operates a facility that receives deadstock for the purpose of rendering the carcasses or parts of carcasses by heating to produce rendered products is required to be licensed. Rendered products include fats and meals.

Complete information on the licensing requirements and the responsibilities of operators of rendering facilities is available by contacting the ministry's Dead Animal Disposal Advisor or in Regulation 105/09 on the government's e-Laws website.

Composting Facility

Any person who receives deadstock for the purpose of composting is required to be licensed. EPA approved waste disposal sites that are permitted to accept and compost deadstock for composting are exempt from the FSQA regulation.

As a reminder to Food Safety Quality Act. 2001, Regulation 105/09 licencees and potential licencees, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) requires a permit to be issued to anyone involved in transporting, receiving, processing (harvest - salvage), containment and destruction of bovine (cattle) deadstock in Ontario. For more information contact www.inspection.gc.ca

Regulation 105/09 sets out extensive standards and requirements for deadstock composting facilities. The Regulation provides operators with flexibility in initial composting and curing methods. The siting, facility and operational standards and requirements are designed to ensure deadstock is composted in a manner that minimizes the attraction of scavengers and pests, controls odours and protects surface and ground water. The operational requirements and finished product standards require operators to ensure carcass destruction is completed and the finished compost does not exceed the maximum tolerance standards for pathogens, foreign materials and uncomposted residue.

Finished compost from deadstock that is offered for sale must comply with federal standards set out in the Fertilizers Act and Regulations.

Operators of compost facilities who wish to dispose of materials undergoing composting must do so in accordance with the Regulation. The regulation specifies the permitted destinations of such materials and by whom they may be transported.

Complete information on the licensing requirements and the responsibilities of operators of composting facilities is available by contacting the ministry's Dead Animal Disposal Advisor or in Regulation 105/09 on the government's e-Laws website.

Licensee Record Keeping

Records are to made and be kept for at least three years by:

  • collectors, of every dead animal collected and its disposa,l and the record shall be kept in the transporting vehicle while a dead animal is being transported
  • operators of transfer stations, salvaging facilities, rendering facilities and composting facilities, of every dead animal received and its disposal, and
  • brokers of each unit of meat derived from a dead animal that is received and its disposal.

Operators of composting facilities are required to keep additional records specified in the Regulation.

Complete information on the record keeping requirements and the responsibilities of licensees is available by contacting the ministry's Dead Animal Disposal Advisor or in Regulation 105/09 on the government's e-Laws website.

How do I know if my business is required to be licensed under Regulation 105/09 under the FSQA?

To find out if your business or facility requires a license under Regulation 105/09 under ther FSQA please contact, Dead Animal Disposal Advisor with the Ministry of Agriculture, Food & Rural Affairs (OMAF/MRA) at 1-888-466-2372 ext. 67510 or kevin.joynes@ontario.ca.

How do I become licensed?

All applicants for a licence are required to provide the director with a completed licence application form that includes contact and other business information specified in the Regulation, as well as any other information the director may need to determine an applicant's eligibility for a licence.

Applicants for a licence to operate as a collector are required to provide vehicle information including plate numbers. Applicants are required to certify the vehicles, trailers and transport containers used to transport deadstock meet the vehicle requirements specified in the Regulation.

Applicants for a licence to operate a composting facility, salvaging facility, rendering facility or transfer station are required to prepare and forward maps, plans, specifications and any written procedures specified in the Regulation.

Complete information on the license application and renewal requirements and the responsibilities of applicants is available by contacting the ministry's Dead Animal Disposal Advisor or in Regulation 105/09 on the government's e-Laws website.

Renewal of Licences

A licensee should apply for the renewal of a licence at least 60 days immediately before its expiry if the licensee wishes the licence to be deemed to continue beyond its expiry, where the director has not made a determination to renew the licence before its expiry.

Where can I get information and help?

OMAF/MRA staff are here to help and answer questions, before, during and after the licensing process.

Resources and materials are also available that have all the required information for operators, and staff will work closely with licence holders to provide education and advice on improvements that are required.

Resources available to operators include:

Copy of Regulation 105/09 under the Food Safety Quality Act, 2001

For more information regarding the dead stock regulation, contact:
1 888 4-OMAFRA (1 888 466-2372)
www.omafra.gov.on.ca

For technical information contact:
Kevin Joynes, Dead Animal Disposal Advisor at 1 888 4-OMAFRA (1 888 466-2372) ext.67510
kevin.joynes@ontario.ca

This document is not a description of all of the requirements contained in O. Reg. 105/09, and the regulation itself must be read to determine all such requirements. In the event that there is a conflict between the FSQA or O. Reg. 105/09 and this document, the FSQA and O. Reg. 105/09 govern.

Stakeholders should seek their own legal advice if they have concerns about the requirements or applicability of O. Reg. 105/09, or about the requirements or applicability of any other Act, regulation or policy mentioned in this document.

This document last was updated on June 28, 2013, and will be updated from time to time. Always check the OMAF/MRA website to ensure that you have the most up to date version of this document.

 

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
Local: (519) 826-4047
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

 


Author: Food Safety and Environment Division/OMAF/MRA/Animal Health & Welfare Branch/Veterinary Services
Creation Date: 02 January 2002
Last Reviewed: 11 July 2013

Exigences en matière de permis pour l'élimination des animaux morts ailleurs qu'à la ferme

L'élevage de bétail a pour conséquence naturelle la mort d'animaux à la suite de maladie ou d'infirmité. Les ramasseurs d'animaux morts et les transformateurs de cadavres d'animaux d'élevage jouent un rôle important en s'assurant de l'élimination adéquate des animaux morts ailleurs qu'à la ferme et des cadavres d'animaux que l'exploitant agricole choisit de ne pas éliminer sur sa ferme. Une gestion conforme des animaux morts est primordiale pour maintenir la confiance du public dans les produits alimentaires de l'Ontario et les systèmes permettant d'assurer l'innocuité des aliments.

Le but premier du règlement de l'Ontario 105/09 pris en application de la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments (LQSA), est d'assurer que la viande provenant d'animaux morts n'entre pas dans la chaîne des aliments destinés aux humains. Une autre de ses fonctions primordiales est d'assurer que les animaux qui meurent ailleurs qu'à la ferme, ou qui sont éliminés hors de la ferme, le soient d'une manière qui protège la santé animale et humaine et minimise les effets sur l'environnement.

Le règlement 105/09 porte sur l'élimination des animaux morts hors de la ferme et l'élimination des animaux qui sont morts ailleurs qu'à la ferme. Aux fins des titulaires de permis, les animaux d'élevage morts comprennent les alpacas, bisons, bovins, cerfs, wapitis, chèvres, lamas, moutons, yacks, chevaux, poneys, pourceaux et autres animaux porcins, ratites, lapins et volailles. La volaille désigne les poulets, dindons, oies, canards, pintades, cailles, perdrix et faisans. Les hybrides de ces animaux en font aussi partie.

Le règlement définit qui peut venir chercher ou recevoir les animaux morts pour leur élimination, il précise qui doit être titulaire d'un permis et il établit les méthodes d'élimination. Le règlement exige que tous les professionnels du ramassage d'animaux morts soient titulaires d'un permis. Quiconque reçoit des animaux morts aux fins de récupérer de la viande des carcasses, de nourrir des animaux sauvages en captivité au moyen de carcasses, de fondre, de composter ou d'entreposer et d'expédier des carcasses, doit être titulaire d'un permis. Ce règlement exige aussi que toute personne qui s'adonne à des activités de réception et de distribution de viande provenant d'animaux morts doit être titulaire d'un permis.

Titulaires de permis

Suit plus loin une brève description des personnes qui doivent être titulaires d'un permis et certaines de leurs responsabilités. On peut obtenir les renseignements complets sur les exigences en vue de l'obtention d'un permis et les responsabilités des titulaires auprès du conseiller en élimination de cadavres d'animaux du ministère ou dans le règlement 105/09 sur le site Lois-en-ligne du gouvernement.

Ramasseurs d'animaux morts

Les professionnels du transport et du ramassage d'animaux morts doivent être titulaires d'un permis de ramasseur et répondre aux exigences relatives aux véhicules et au transport. Transport de cadavres d'animaux par un gardien ou un ramasseur d'animaux morts

Les ramasseurs doivent afficher la preuve de leur permis délivré par le ministère sous la forme d'une vignette dans le pare-brise ou d'u ne copie du permis valide de ramasseur.

Les ramasseurs doivent éliminer les animaux morts de l'une des façons suivantes :

  • acheminer l'animal mort à l'exploitant autorisé :
    • d'une station de transfert;
    • d'une installation de récupération;
    • d'une installation de compostage;
    • d'un fondoir;
  • acheminer l'animal mort à un lieu d'élimination de déchets approuvé;
  • acheminer l'animal mort à un établissement équivalent situé à l'extérieur de l'Ontario et pouvant légalement accepter des animaux morts.

En vertu du règlement, un permis de ramasseur est exigé de toute personne qui transporte tout animal mort à partir de l'installation d'un titulaire de permis :

  • chez un autre titulaire de permis;
  • à un autre lieu d'élimination de déchets approuvé;
  • à un établissement équivalent à l'extérieur de l'Ontario.

Sauf dans ces circonstances précises, seuls les ramasseurs et les transporteurs de déchets approuvés en vertu de la Loi sur la protection de l'environnement (LPE) peuvent transporter du compost non fini d'une installation d'élimination par compostage à un lieu d'élimination de déchets approuvé conformément à la LPE.

On peut obtenir les renseignements complets sur les exigences en vue de l'obtention d'un permis et les responsabilités des ramasseurs auprès du conseiller en élimination de cadavres d'animaux du ministère ou en consultant le règlement 105/09 sur le site Lois-en-ligne du gouvernement.

Stations de transfert

Toute personne qui exploite un lieu recevant des animaux morts à la seule fin d'entreposer les carcasses avant de les acheminer à une installation d'élimination approuvée doit être titulaire d'un permis.

De façon générale, les stations de transfert doivent acheminer tout animal mort reçu dans les 24 heures de la livraison. Les animaux morts peuvent être gardés aux stations de transfert s'ils sont conservés réfrigérés ou congelés.

Toute cargaison d'animaux morts en provenance d'une station de transfert doit être transportée par un ramasseur titulaire d'un permis.

On peut obtenir les renseignements complets sur les exigences en vue de l'obtention d'un permis et les responsabilités des exploitants de stations de transfert auprès du conseiller en élimination de cadavres d'animaux du ministère ou en consultant le règlement 105/09 sur le site Lois-en-ligne du gouvernement.

Installations de récupération

Toute personne qui accepte des animaux morts pour nourrir des animaux sauvages gardés en captivité avec les carcasses dans un établissement d'animaux sauvages ou dans le but de récupérer la viande des carcasses doit être titulaire d'un permis. La viande provenant d'animaux morts doit servir à nourrir les animaux ou à la confection d'appâts pour les animaux sauvages ou être vendue à cette fin.

Pour s'assurer que la viande provenant d'animaux morts ne serve pas à l'alimentation humaine, toute viande vendue doit être dénaturée et étiquetée. Le règlement décrit aussi la taille des portions et l'emballage.

On peut obtenir les renseignements complets sur les exigences en vue de l'obtention d'un permis et les responsabilités des exploitants d'installations de récupération auprès du conseiller en élimination de cadavres d'animaux du ministère ou en consultant le règlement 105/09 sur le site Lois-en-ligne du gouvernement.

Courtiers

Toute personne qui exploite une entreprise dans le but d'obtenir et de redistribuer de la viande récupérée d'animaux morts crue continue de devoir être titulaire d'un permis de courtier. Le règlement définit les exigences relatives à la dénaturation, à l'emballage et à l'étiquetage de toute viande provenant d'animaux morts distribuée par un courtier et qui est modifiée par ce dernier en conformité avec le règlement.

On peut obtenir les renseignements complets sur les exigences en vue de l'obtention d'un permis et les responsabilités des courtiers sont disponibles auprès du conseiller en élimination de cadavres d'animaux du ministère ou en consultant le règlement 105/09 sur le site Lois-en-ligne du gouvernement.

Fondoirs

Toute personne qui exploite une installation qui reçoit des animaux morts dans le but de fondre les carcasses ou des parties de carcasses par la chaleur en vue d'obtenir des produits d'équarrissage doit être titulaire d'un permis. Les produits d'équarrissage comprennent entre autres les gras et les moulées.

On peut obtenir les renseignements complets sur les exigences en vue de l'obtention d'un permis et les responsabilités des exploitants de fondoirs auprès du conseiller en élimination de cadavres d'animaux du ministère ou en consultant le règlement 105/09 sur le site Lois-en-ligne du gouvernement

Installations de compostage

Toute personne qui accepte des animaux morts à des fins de compostage doit être titulaire d'un permis. Les lieux d'élimination de déchets approuvés par la LPE et qui ont le droit d'accepter et de composter des animaux morts ne sont pas visés par la LQSA.

Rappelant la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la sécurité des aliments, les titulaires et les demandeurs de permis en vertu du règlement 105/09 ont aussi besoin d'un permis de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) pour quiconque transporte, reçoit, transforme (récolte - récupère), confine et détruit les animaux morts provenant de bovins en Ontario. Pour plus de détails, voir www.inspection.gc.ca

Le règlement 105/09 établit des normes et des exigences détaillées relatives aux installations de compostage d'animaux morts. Le règlement offre aux exploitants de la souplesse dans les méthodes de compostage et de vieillissement initiales. Les normes et les exigences relatives à l'emplacement, aux installations et aux opérations sont conçues pour que les animaux morts soient compostés de façon à empêcher d'attirer charognards et vermine, à minimiser les odeurs et à protéger les eaux de surface et souterraines. Les exigences relatives aux opérations et les normes gouvernant les produits finis stipulent que les exploitants doivent s'assurer de la destruction complète de la carcasse et que le compost fini ne doit pas dépasser les normes maximales tolérées pour les agents pathogènes, les corps étrangers et les résidus non compostés.

Le compost fini d'animaux morts qui est offert à la vente doit être conforme aux normes fédérales stipulées dans la Loi sur les engrais et le règlement.

Les exploitants d'installations de compostage qui souhaitent éliminer des matières qui ont été compostées doivent procéder conformément au règlement. Ce dernier précise les destinations de telles matières et par qui elles peuvent être transportées.

On peut obtenir les renseignements complets sur les exigences en vue de l'obtention d'un permis et les responsabilités des exploitants d'installations de compostage auprès du conseiller en élimination de cadavres d'animaux du ministère ou en consultant le règlement 105/09 sur le site Lois-en-ligne du gouvernement.

Tenue de dossiers des titulaires de permis

Des dossiers doivent être tenus et conservés pendant au mois trois ans par :

  • les ramasseurs d'animaux morts, de chaque animal mort ramassé et de son élimination; ces dossiers doivent être conservés dans le véhicule de transport pendant le transit d'un animal mort;
  • les exploitants de stations de transfert, d'installations de récupération, de fondoirs et d'installations de compostage, de chaque animal mort reçu et de son élimination;
  • les courtiers de chaque unité de viande provenant d'un animal mort qui est reçu et de son élimination.

Les exploitants d'installations de compostage doivent tenir à jour d'autres dossiers et les conserver pendant les délais prévus par le règlement.

On peut obtenir les renseignements complets sur les exigences en vue de l'obtention d'un permis et les responsabilités des titulaires de permis auprès du conseiller en élimination de cadavres d'animaux du ministère ou en consultant le règlement 105/09 sur le site Lois-en-ligne du gouvernement.

Comment puis-je savoir si mon entreprise a besoin d'un permis en vertu du règlement 105/09 pris en application de la LQSA?

Pour savoir si votre entreprise ou votre installation doit être titulaire d'un permis en vertu du règlement 105/09 pris en application de la LQSA, communiquer avec le conseiller en élimination de cadavres d'animaux du ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAO/MRA) au 1 888 466-2372, poste 67510, ou écrire à l'adresse kevin.joynes@ontario.ca.

Comment puis-je devenir titulaire d'un permis?

Tous les demandeurs de permis doivent acheminer au directeur une demande de permis dûment remplie, incluant les renseignements sur la personne ressource et l'information indiquée au règlement, de même que tout autre renseignement que le directeur juge pertinent en vue de déterminer l'admissibilité du demandeur.

Les demandeurs de permis de ramasseur d'animaux morts doivent fournir les renseignements sur les véhicules, y compris les numéros de plaques d'immatriculation. Les demandeurs doivent attester que les véhicules, remorques et récipients servant au transport d'animaux morts sont conformes aux exigences du règlement.

Les demandeurs de permis d'exploitant d'installation de compostage, de récupération, de fondoirs ou de stations de transfert doivent préparer et acheminer les cartes, plans, spécifications et toute autre procédure écrite stipulée par le règlement.

On peut obtenir les renseignements complets sur la demande d'un permis ou les exigences relatives à son renouvellement, et les responsabilités des demandeurs auprès du conseiller en élimination de cadavres d'animaux du ministère ou en consultant le règlement 105/09 sur le site Lois-en-ligne du gouvernement.

Renouvellement de permis

Le titulaire de permis doit en demander le renouvellement au moins 60 jours immédiatement avant son expiration s'il souhaite que le permis soit prolongé après qu'il soit expiré, quand le directeur n'a pas déterminé de renouveler le permis avant son expiration.

Où puis-je obtenir de l'information et de l'aide?

Le personnel du MAAO/MRA est là pour vous aider et pour répondre à vos questions, avant, pendant et après le processus de demande ou de renouvellement d'un permis.

Des personnes et des documents peuvent fournir tous les renseignements nécessaires aux exploitants; le personnel collabore avec les titulaires de permis et leur offre la formation et les conseils nécessaires sur les améliorations qui sont exigées.

Parmi les ressources offertes aux exploitants mentionnons :

Exemplaire du règlement 105/09 pris en application de la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments

Pour plus de détails sur le règlement sur les animaux morts, appeler au

1 888 466-2372
ou écrire au www.omafra.gov.on.ca

Pour de l'information de nature technique, communiquer avec :

Kevin Joynes, conseiller en élimination de cadavres d'animaux au 1 888 466-2372 , poste 67510
kevin.joynes@ontario.ca

Le présent document ne décrit pas toutes les dispositions du Règlement de l'Ontario 105/09, et celui-ci doit être lu pour connaître toutes les règles qu'il faut observer. S'il y a un conflit entre le présent document et la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments ou le Règlement de l'Ontario 105/09, ce sont la loi et le règlement qui l'emportent.

Les personnes concernées devraient obtenir des avis juridiques si elles ont des questions au sujet des dispositions ou de l'applicabilité du Règlement de l'Ontario 105/09, ou au sujet des dispositions ou de l'applicabilité des lois, politiques et règlements mentionnés dans le présent document.

Le présent document a été actualisé le 13 janvier 2010 et le sera de nouveau de temps à autre. Il faut toujours vérifier le site Web du ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales pour être certain d'avoir la version la plus récente du présent document.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

 


Auteur : Food Safety and Environment Division/OMAFRA/Animal Health & Welfare Branch/Veterinary Services
Date de création : 15 avril 2009
Dernière révision : 30 octobre 2013