Animal Health Act, 2009

Animal Health Act, 2009

InfoSheet
January 2010


The Animal Health Act, 2009 came into force on January 21, 2010. It provides measures for the Province to prevent, detect and respond to animal diseases and other potential animal health hazards. The act will help Ontario better protect its people, its animals and its economy.


Key Definitions

Animals
Because all animals have the potential to carry and transmit diseases that can pose risks to animal or human health, the act applies to all animals. Implementation will focus primarily on farmed animals (livestock and poultry).

Hazards
The act covers a broad range of issues that could affect the health of animals - not just diseases. The legislation refers to this larger group as "hazards", and includes:

  • Chemicals that could contaminate inputs, such as animal feed.
  • Radiological hazards, such as nuclear contamination.
  • Physical contaminants, such as metal shards in animal feed.


Chief Veterinarian For Ontario (CVO)

While there has been a CVO within the ministry since 2005, the position now has legislated qualifications, functions and powers. The CVO must be a licensed veterinarian with a minimum of five years in veterinary practice. This person can appoint inspectors under the act, direct that inspections occur, and establish surveillance zones. The CVO is also responsible for reporting to the Chief Medical Officer of Health any matter that might pose a significant risk to public health.


Inspectors

Working within ministry protocols and procedures, and under the guidance of the CVO, inspectors will work closely with industry partners to protect animal health in Ontario. If there is reason to believe a potentially significant animal health issue exists, or if the CVO is taking action to prevent an animal health issue, the act allows for inspectors to:

  • Inspect animals and/or related items, such as vehicles and premises.
  • Take samples and perform tests.
  • Issue compliance and quarantine orders
  • Perform other duties requested by the CVO.

Responding To Animal Health Issues

Provisions in the act allow the government to take important steps to help reduce negative economic and public health impacts associated with animal health issues.

Prevention
The government will be able to take proactive steps to prevent diseases from affecting animals in Ontario, or to prevent its spread. For example, should a disease be found in an Ontario animal, or elsewhere in Canada, the ministry could establish control areas to keep it from entering Ontario, or to minimize its spread.

Detection
Should there be reason to believe an animal health issue might exist, OMAFRA staff could sample or test at-risk animals, allowing more rapid detection of a potentially larger issue.

Response
If a potentially significant animal health disease, or other issue, were found in Ontario, the act provides a range of tools to control or mitigate the effects. For example, the government might increase monitoring and testing in certain areas, or establish quarantines, surveillance zones or animal health control areas.

Quarantine - if an animal health hazard was identified at an individual premises, testing could be conducted, animals or related products could be held, or other measures could be ordered by the CVO to contain the situation.

Surveillance zone - if further monitoring for a hazard were required, a broader surveillance area could be set up, up to a maximum of 10 kilometres around quarantined premises.

Control area - this could involve movement restrictions within or to/from a certain area to prevent or control an issue that posed a significant risk to animal or human health in the province or part of it. Only the minister can establish a control area.

Destruction order - if necessary to control a situation, the CVO can order that animals, or related products, be destroyed.

Compenstion

Should the CVO decide that an animal health issue require animals to be euthanized, the act allows the minister to compensate producers for the loss, based on the animal's market value. The Minister can also authorize compensation for the reasonable cost of cleaning and disinfection that might have been incurred while complying with an order made under the act.


Future Regulations And Consolidation Of Other Acts

In the future, existing acts (Bees Act, Livestock Community Sales Act, and Livestock Medicines Act) and associated regulations may be modernized and consolidated under the Animal Health Act.

The ministry is committed to consulting with industry partners on regulations that are established under the act, including one around reportable diseases.


Traceability

The act provides a framework for the minister to establish and oversee a provincial traceability system for animals and related products. Any traceability initiatives that might be developed provincially would align with national initiatives.
If traceability-related regulations were required under this act, they would be developed in consultation with industry partners.


For more information:
Telephone: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: animalhealth@ontario.ca

www.ontario.ca/omafra

Loi de 2009 sur la santé animale

Loi de 2009 sur la santé animale

Ficheinfo
Décembre 2009

La Loi de 2009 sur la santé animale a franchi l'étape de la troisième lecture le 8 décembre 2009. Une fois édictée, la loi fournira à la province des moyens de prévenir et de détecter les maladies animales et d'autres dangers potentiels pour la santé et d'y réagir. En outre, la loi aidera l'Ontario à bien protéger ses gens, ses animaux et son économie.

Définitions imoirtantes

Animal
Étant donné que tous les animaux peuvent porter et transmettre des maladies susceptibles de représenter un risque pour la santé animale ou humaine, la loi s'applique à tous les animaux. Cependant, la mise en œuvre sera principalement axée sur les animaux d'élevage (bétail et volaille).

Danger
La loi couvre tout un éventail d'éléments pouvant avoir une incidence sur la santé des animaux et ne se limite pas uniquement aux maladies. Ces éléments sont appelés " risques " et comprennent :
" les produits chimiques pouvant contaminer les intrants, tels que les aliments des animaux;
" les dangers radiologiques, comme la contamination nucléaire;
" les contaminants physiques, par exemple les fragments de métal dans les aliments pour animaux.

Vétérinaire en chef de l'ontario (VCO)

Même s'il y a un VCO au ministère depuis 2005, les qualités requises, les fonctions et les pouvoirs du titulaire de ce poste sont maintenant définis par la loi. Le VCO doit posséder un permis et exercer la médecine vétérinaire depuis au moins cinq ans. Cette personne peut nommer des inspecteurs en vertu de la loi, demander que des inspections soient effectuées et créer des zones de surveillance. De plus, le VCO est chargé de déclarer au médecin-hygiéniste en chef toute question qui peut poser un risque important pour la santé publique.

Inspecteurs

Sous la direction du VCO, les inspecteurs appliquent les protocoles et procédures du ministère et collaborent étroitement avec les partenaires de l'industrie afin de protéger la santé des animaux en Ontario. S'il y a des motifs de croire qu'il existe des risques importants pour la santé animale ou si le VCO prend des mesures pour prévenir une maladie animale, la loi autorise les inspecteurs à faire ce qui suit :

  • inspecter des animaux ou des choses s'y rapportant, comme des véhicules et des locaux;
  • prélever des échantillons et effectuer des tests;
  • donner des ordres de conformité ou de quarantaine;
  • exécuter d'autres tâches à la demande du VCO.

Intervention en cas de maladie animale

Les dispositions de la loi permettent au gouvernement de prendre des mesures importantes afin d'aider à atténuer les effets négatifs que les problèmes liés à la santé animale peuvent avoir sur l'économie et la santé publique.

Prévention
Le gouvernement pourra prendre des mesures préventives pour empêcher l'apparition ou la propagation de maladies animales en Ontario. Par exemple, si la présence d'une maladie animale est détectée en Ontario, ou ailleurs au Canada, le ministère pourra créer des régions de contrôle pour limiter le plus possible la propagation de la maladie en question ou l'empêcher d'atteindre l'Ontario.

Détection
S'il y a des motifs de croire qu'un problème touchant la santé animale existe, le personnel du ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario pourra prélever des échantillons sur les animaux visés ou les soumettre à des tests pour permettre la détection rapide de problèmes potentiels importants.

Intervention
La loi prévoit toute une gamme de mesures visant à maîtriser ou à atténuer les effets d'une maladie animale potentiellement grave ou d'un autre problème qui serait détecté en Ontario. Par exemple, le gouvernement pourra accroître la surveillance et les tests dans des régions en particulier, effectuer des mises en quarantaine ou encore créer des zones de surveillance ou des régions de contrôle de la santé animale.

Quarantaine - Si un risque pour la santé animale est relevé dans un lieu précis, on pourra effectuer des tests ou détenir les animaux ou les produits connexes ou le VCO pourra ordonner que d'autres mesures soient prises pour maîtriser la situation.

Zone de surveillance - Si un risque nécessite une surveillance accrue, une grande zone de surveillance, d'au plus 10 kilomètres, pourra être créée autour du lieu mis en quarantaine.

Région de contrôle - Il peut s'agir de limiter les déplacements à l'intérieur d'une région donnée ou entre celle-ci et d'autres régions afin de prévenir ou de maîtriser une situation présentant un risque important pour la santé animale ou humaine dans l'ensemble ou une partie de la province. Seul le ministre peut créer des régions de contrôle.

Ordre de destruction - Si une situation doit être maîtrisée, le VCO peut ordonner que des animaux ou des produits connexes soient détruits.

Indemnisation

Si le VCO décide qu'un problème de santé animale exige que des animaux soient euthanasiés, la loi permet au ministre d'indemniser les producteurs pour la perte subie, d'après la valeur marchande des animaux. Le ministre peut également autoriser le versement d'une indemnité pour les frais raisonnables de nettoyage et de désinfection qu'une personne a engagés afin d'observer un ordre donné en vertu de la loi.

Futurs réglements et regroupment d'autres lois

Dans l'avenir, les lois existantes (Loi sur l'apiculture, Loi sur la vente à l'encan du bétail et Loi sur les médicaments pour le bétail) et les règlements connexes pourront être modernisés et regroupés avec la Loi sur la santé animale.

Le ministère s'est engagé à consulter les partenaires de l'industrie au sujet des règlements d'application de la loi et notamment d'un règlement portant sur les maladies à déclaration obligatoire.

Traçabilité

La loi fournit un cadre qui permettra au ministre de créer un système provincial de traçabilité à l'égard des animaux et des produits connexes et de superviser son fonctionnement. Toute mesure provinciale relative à la traçabilité sera alignée sur les initiatives nationales.
Si des règlements concernant la traçabilité doivent être élaborés en vertu de la loi, cela se fera en collaboration avec les partenaires de l'industrie.


Pour en savoir plus
Téléphone : 1 877 424-1300
Courriel : animalhealth@ontario.ca

www.ontario.ca/maaaro