Traceability Resources

What is Traceability?

Agri-food Traceability is the ability to follow products through all stages of the agri-food chain - from production to retail. It provides us with an effective way to track an identified product (and its attributes) as it moves between locations. It is important:

  • to help you meet your market requirements and access new market opportunities;
  • for effective product recall;
  • for planning. preparing, response and recovery efforts in the event of an animal disease outbreak;
  • to ensure confidence in your products; and
  • for protection of your business and your customers.

A traceability system captures, stores and shares information about products received, internal production and operational processes, all the way to finished goods that are shipped and sold to the customer.

Types of traceability systems range from simple paper-based recordkeeping to more sophisticated information management that uses automated and computerized components for efficient data capture and secure access to information.

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1 877 424-1300
E-mail: traceability@ontario.ca
Follow us on Twitter


Author: Food Safety and Traceability Programs Branch
Creation Date: February 1, 2013
Last Reviewed: 15 March 2016

Trousse d'information sur la traçabilité

Qu'est-ce que la traçabilité?

La traçabilité agroalimentaire est la capacité de faire le suivi des produits à tous les stades de la chaîne agroalimentaire, soit de la production à la vente au détail. C'est un moyen efficace de suivre la trace des produits (et de leurs ingrédients) d'un endroit à l'autre. Cela peut s'avérer utile pour :

  • satisfaire aux exigences du marché et obtenir de nouveaux débouchés;
  • effectuer efficacement des rappels de produits;
  • assurer la planification, la préparation, les interventions et la reprise des activités en cas d'éclosion d'une maladie animale;
  • offrir des produits qui inspirent confiance;
  • protéger l'entreprise et les clients.

Un système de traçabilité sert à recueillir, à conserver et à diffuser des renseignements sur les produits reçus et les processus internes de production et d'exploitation, et ce, jusqu'aux produits finis qui sont expédiés et vendus aux clients.

Il existe divers types de systèmes de traçabilité, qui vont de la simple tenue de dossiers sur support papier à un système perfectionné de gestion de l'information comportant des éléments automatisés ou informatisés qui assurent la saisie efficace des données et un accès sécurisé à celles-ci.

 


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877-424-1300
Courriel : traceability@ontario.ca

Suivez-nous sur Twitter



Auteur : OMAFRA Staff
Date de création : 13 fev 2013
Dernière révision : 30 avril 2013