Vegetable Processing Industry - Directive Updates

The Commission is continuing its work with the processing vegetable sector to help maximize opportunities for growth, innovation and sustainable change to help develop positive sector renewal for the long term.

On August 17, 2016, Jeff Leal, Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs directed the Commission to develop an engagement plan to consult with interested processing vegetable stakeholders, including producers and processors, around any proposed amendments to the regulatory framework for the industry (Regulation 440).

The work that has been done, and continues to be done, ensures that we support stakeholder needs and their long term economic viability, while maintaining regulated marketing in Ontario.

Term Contract Amendments to Reg. 440

March 29, 2018 - An amendment has been made to a term contract clause under R.R.O. 1990, Reg. 440: Processing Vegetables - Marketing.

The amendment extends the notice period for termination without cause to no less than one year.

Proposed Term Contract Amendments to Reg. 440

February 8, 2018

The Ontario Farm Products Marketing Commission is proposing an amendment to the term contract clause under R.R.O. 1990, Regulation 440: Vegetables for Processing - Marketing. Details of the proposed amendment proposed amendment will be posted on the Service Ontario Regulatory Registry until March 26, 2018.

Final Filed Reg. 440 Amendments

Amendments to R.R.O. 1990, Regulation 440 (Vegetables for Processing - Marketing) were filed with the Registrar of Regulations on December 21, 2017.

The amendments are intended to help promote growth, innovation and job creation in the processing vegetable industry by creating opportunities for growers and processors to work together for the benefit of the entire value chain.

Statement from the OFPMC Chair, Jim Clark

December 21, 2017

"On August 17, 2016, the Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs directed the Commission to consult with stakeholders around potential amendments to Regulation 440 and that any proposed changes be evidenced based supported by an independent economic analysis of the processing vegetable industry.

The amendments have been finalized following the Commission's work to meet the directive, and take into consideration the feedback received through the registry posting, broad stakeholder consultations, an informal industry advisory committee, as well as information collected through the economic analysis.

The amendments to Regulation 440 are intended to:

  • Encourage proactive communication and collaboration among value chain partners through an Industry Advisory Committee
  • Support regulated marketing by ensuring that the Ontario Processing Vegetable Growers continue to be involved in establishing the way minimum prices are negotiated for crops where there are numerous processors, while providing all processors and their growers the opportunity to develop customized agreements to meet specific needs
  • Encourage productive discussions that lead to agreements that meet the needs of processors and their growers
  • Establish protocols to help prevent future negotiation impasses by allowing either the processor or growers to initiate conciliation and requiring that negotiating agency members meet with growers prior to deciding to proceed to arbitration

The Commission will monitor the implementation of these amendments to ensure that they are supporting the industry as intended.

The decisions that the Commission has made, and the work that we continue to do, will help support stakeholder needs and their long term economic viability, while maintaining regulated marketing in Ontario.

The health and vitality of the processing vegetable sector are critical to not onlythe province's economy, but to the communities and livelihoods of thousands of Ontarians.

I would like to thank everyone who has provided their input and support over the past year. The Commission truly believes that by strengthening relationships across the value chain, we can help rebuild this industry and set it up for a successful future."

- Jim Clark, Chair, OFPMC

Statement from Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

November 2017 Proposed Reg. 440 Amendment Stakeholder Consultations

On November 3rd and November 23rd, the Commission held consultations, facilitated by Meyers Norris Penny (MNP), with stakeholders to discuss proposed amendments to Regulation 440.

August 2017 Broad Sector Consultations

During the week of August 14, 2017, the Commission held four consultation sessions, facilitated by Meyers Norris Penny (MNP), to gather input and feedback on what changes are required to help the processing vegetable industry become more competitive and prosperous.

Three sessions (August 14, 15 and 16) were held for processing vegetable stakeholders and one session (August 18) was held for those not directly involved in the industry.

Vegetable Processing Sector Economic Analysis

In response to the minister's directive, a detailed economic analysis of industry competitiveness and opportunities for growth has been developed by Al Mussel and Kevin Grier of Agri-Food Economic Systems.

To complete this work, Mr. Mussel and Mr. Grier reached out to growers, processors and other sector stakeholders to gather information and data.

February 2017 Processing Vegetable Industry Consultations

An open consultation meeting was held with all interested vegetable stakeholders on Thursday, February 16, 2017 in Chatham. During the meeting, stakeholders discussed opportunities for collaboration within the industry, ways to improve relationships, as well as a potential pilot project that would feature some direct contracting capabilities for the 2017 tomato crop. February 16, 2017 Consultation Report

A separate workshop was held with only tomato growers and processors on February 23, 2017 in Chatham as an opportunity to discuss potential solutions to help resolve issues around Regulation 440. February 23, 2017 Consultation Report

2017 Crop Negotiations

2017 negotiation committees included growers who had participated in OPVG negotiations previously, as well as growers who were new to the process.

The new negotiating committee setup allowed processors to negotiate with growers who would be contracting with them, as well as growers with negotiating experience to participate and be heard.

Additional Information

Mar 3, 2017 - Statement from the OFPMC Interim Chair, Jim Clark

Mar 3, 2017 - Minister's Statement Regarding OPVG Changes

Aug 17, 2016 - Directive to Farm Marketing Products Commission

Jun 28, 2016 - Proposed amendments to Regulation 440 (Vegetables for Processing - Marketing) under the Farm Products Marketing Act to remove the provisions establishing negotiating agencies and to add provisions establishing an industry advisory committee

Feb 5, 2016 - Proposed amendments to Regulation 440 (Vegetables for Processing - Marketing) under the Farm Products Marketing Act to ensure active grower participation in the negotiating agencies for vegetables for processing


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Firstname SPACE Lastname SPACE HYPHEN SPACE Title/Affiliation
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph)
Use a SEMI COLON to separate multiple entries:
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph; Jane Doe - Crop Specialist/OMAFRA)
Creation Date: dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy
Last Reviewed: dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy

Secteur des légumes de transformation : mises à jour sur la directive

La Commission poursuit le travail qu'elle a entrepris avec le secteur des légumes de transformation pour maximiser les possibilités de croissance, d'innovation et de changement durable en vue d'un renouvellement du secteur à long terme.

Le 17 août 2016, Jeff Leal, ministre de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales a ordonné à la Commission d'élaborer un plan de mobilisation en vue de consulter les intervenants intéressés du secteur des légumes de transformation, dont les producteurs et les transformateurs, sur toutes les modifications proposées au cadre réglementaire du secteur (Règlement 440).

Par le travail que nous avons entrepris et que nous poursuivons, nous visons à répondre aux besoins des intervenants et à favoriser leur viabilité économique à long terme tout en conservant un système de commercialisation réglementée en Ontario.

Les Modifications proposées à la clause relative aux contrats à terme du Règlement 440

8 février 2018

La Commission de commercialisation des produits agricoles de l'Ontario propose d'apporter une modification à la clause relative aux contrats à terme du Règlement 440 (Légumes de transformation - Commercialisation) des R.R.O. 1990. Des précisions sur la modification proposée modification proposée seront affichées dans le Registre de la réglementation de ServiceOntario jusqu'au 26 mars 2018.

Modifications définitives apportées au Règlement 440

Des modifications au Règlement 440 (Légumes de transformation - Commercialisation) des R.R.O. 1990 ont été déposées auprès du registrateur des règlements le 21 décembre 2017.

Ces modifications visent à favoriser la croissance, l'innovation et la création d'emploi dans le secteur de la transformation des légumes en créant des occasions pour les producteurs et les transformateurs de travailler ensemble au profit de toute la chaîne de valeur.

Déclaration du président de la CCPAO, Jim Clark

21 décembre 2017

« Le 17 août 2016, le ministre de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales a demandé à la Commission de consulter les intervenants au sujet de modifications éventuelles au Règlement 440 et que les modifications proposées prennent appui sur des faits reposant sur une analyse économique indépendante de l'industrie de la transformation des légumes.

Les modifications ont été finalisées à la suite du travail que la Commission a effectué pour respecter la directive du ministre, et tiennent compte de l'information recueillie par l'analyse économique ainsi que des observations formulées au cours de l'affichage dans le registre et des séances de consultation des intervenants, et par un comité consultatif officieux de l'industrie.

Les objectifs des modifications au Règlement 440 sont les suivants :

  • Encourager la communication et la collaboration proactives entre les partenaires de la chaîne de valeur grâce à un comité consultatif de l'industrie;
  • Soutenir la commercialisation réglementée en veillant à ce que les Ontario Processing Vegetable Growers continuent de participer à la façon dont les prix minimums des légumes sont négociés lorsqu'il y a plusieurs transformateurs, tout en donnant à tous les transformateurs et à leurs producteurs la possibilité de conclure des ententes sur mesure pour répondre à des besoins précis;
  • Favoriser les discussions productives qui mènent à des ententes répondant aux besoins des transformateurs et de leurs producteurs;
  • Établir des protocoles pour prévenir les impasses dans les négociations en permettant au transformateur ou aux producteurs d'avoir recours à la conciliation et en exigeant que les membres de l'organisme de négociation rencontrent les producteurs avant de décider d'aller en arbitrage.

La Commission surveillera la mise en œuvre de ces modifications afin de vérifier qu'elles aident l'industrie comme elles sont censées le faire.

Les décisions que la Commission a prises, et le travail qu'elle continue d'accomplir, répondront aux besoins des intervenants et favoriseront leur viabilité économique à long terme, tout en maintenant la commercialisation réglementée en Ontario.

La santé et la vitalité du secteur de la transformation des légumes sont cruciales non seulement pour l'économie de la province, mais aussi pour les collectivités et la subsistance de milliers d'Ontariennes et d'Ontariens.

J'aimerais remercier tous ceux qui ont apporté leur contribution et leur soutien au cours de l'année écoulée. La Commission croit vraiment qu'en renforçant les relations dans toute la chaîne de valeur, nous pouvons aider à reconstruire cette industrie et lui assurer un bel avenir. »

- Jim Clark, président de la CCPAO

Déclaration du ministre de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales

Consultations des intervenants de novembre 2017 sur les modifications proposées au Règl. 440

Les 3 et 23 novembre, la Commission a tenu des consultations facilitées par Meyers Norris Penny (MNP) pour discuter, avec les intervenants, des modifications proposées au Règlement 440.

Larges consultations sectorielles à venir août 2017

Pendant la semaine du 14 août 2017, la Commission a tenu quatre séances de consultation, animées par Meyers Norris Penny (MNP), afin de recueillir des idées et des commentaires sur les changements requis pour aider le secteur des légumes de transformation à devenir plus concurrentiel et prospère.

Trois séances (les 14, 15 et 16 août) furent organisées pour les intervenants du secteur des légumes de transformation et une séance (le 18 août) fut organisée pour ceux qui ne sont pas directement concernés par ce secteur.

Analyse économique du secteur des légumes de transformation

En réponse à la directive du ministre, Al Mussel et Kevin Grier d'Agri-Food Economic Systems ont entrepris une analyse économique détaillée de la compétitivité du secteur et des possibilités de croissance de ce dernier.

Pour compléter ces travaux, M. Mussel et M. Grier ont communiqué avec les producteurs, les transformateurs et les autres intervenants du secteur pour recueillir d'autres informations et d'autres données.

Consultations sur le secteur des légumes de transformation, février 2017

  • Une réunion de consultation ouverte en présence de tous les intervenants intéressés a eu lieu le jeudi 16 février 2017 à Chatham. À cette occasion, les participants ont parlé des occasions de collaboration au sein du secteur, des façons d'améliorer les relations et de la possibilité d'un projet pilote offrant des capacités de passation de marchés par entente directe pour la récolte de tomates de 2017. Rapport de consultation du 16 février 2017
  • Le 23 février 2017, à Chatham, on a tenu un atelier distinct à l'intention des seuls producteurs et transformateurs de tomates, où il a été question des solutions possibles aux difficultés entourant le Règlement 440. Rapport de consultation du 23 février 2017

Négociations sur les cultures 2017

Les comités de négociation de 2017 comprenaient des producteurs qui avaient déjà participé à d'autres négociations du Ontario Processing Vegetable Growers (OPVG), ainsi que des nouveaux-venus.

La composition du nouveau comité permettait aux transformateurs de négocier avec les producteurs prêts à passer un contrat avec eux, et également aux producteurs expérimentés de se faire entendre.

Renseignements supplémentaires

3 mars 2017 - Déclaration du président intérimaire du conseil d'administration de la CCPAO, M. Jim Clark

3 mars 2017 - Déclaration du ministre au sujet des changements concernant l'organisme OPVG

17 août 2016 - Directive à la Commission de commercialisation des produits agricoles

28 juin 2016 - Modifications proposées au Règlement 440 (Légumes de transformation - Commercialisation), pris en application de la Loi sur la commercialisation des produits agricoles, afin d'en enlever les dispositions qui établissent des organismes de négociation et d'y ajouter des dispositions créant un comité consultatif de l'industrie

5 février 2016 - Modifications proposées au Règlement 440 (Légumes de transformation - Commercialisation), pris en application de la Loi sur la commercialisation des produits agricoles, afin d'assurer la participation des producteurs actifs aux organismes de négociation pour les légumes de transformation


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Firstname SPACE Lastname SPACE HYPHEN SPACE Title/Affiliation
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph)
Use a SEMI COLON to separate multiple entries:
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph; Jane Doe - Crop Specialist/OMAFRA)
Date de création : dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy
Dernière révision : dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy