Excellence in Agriculture Awards - Honourable Mention

excellence in agriculture honourable mention wordmark

Building Roots - Toronto

Building Roots has created an affordable grocery store. The initiative supports low income residents and brings culturally relevant foods to diverse communities. This innovative idea is helping to put good nutritious food onto the dinner tables in low income urban areas. However, Building Roods doesn't stop at providing a low-cost option to food - they also provide educational opportunities via after school programs and summer camps.

 

Slate River Dairy - Thunder Bay District

Slate River Dairy has modified a European butter churn to be able to churn butter and pasteurize milk at the same time. This innovation is one-of-a-kind in Canada - it has reduced the amount of wasted product, while increasing sales by 29 per cent from October 2017 to April 2018. They have also done this while maintaining strict adherence to Canadian food safety standards.

 

BioLiNE Corporation - Lambton County

BioLiNE's innovation brings fertilizer formulators up a notch. Their unique process uses plant-based material (spent mushroom compost versus traditional soft coal sources), meaning no harsh chemicals, heat and minimal energy is used to produce fulvic acid, an organic compound used to bolster soil properties. Importantly, they are upcycling a product that would otherwise be considered waste.

 

Bell's Edge Farm - Wellington County

Bell's Edge Farm have partnered with a local dairy to produce and market gourmet butters, available in 80 Ontario retail stores in just a year-and-a-half of being in business. In addition, Bell's Edge Farm works together with local farms, which has increased production capacity and reduced waste. Their gourmet butters use local ingredients like garlic and maple syrup.

 

Ontario Farmland Trust - Guelph

Ontario Farmland Trust were recognized for their innovation which secures productive agricultural land for generations to come. They have developed a trust agreement that places non-agricultural development restrictions on certain pieces of land, permanently protecting farmland.

 

SoilOptix Inc. - Oxford County

News Release - SoilOptix Inc.

SoilOptix Inc. has adopted technology from Europe that improves the soil sampling process in Canada. They use non-contact sensor that detects the soil's natural decay and the radiation it emits. The sensor has up to 30 different soil layers with a resolution of 335 data points per acre. This process is less invasive than conventional processes (grid sampling) which results in improved soil conservation.

If you have any questions, you can contact Darlene Harrietha, Program Analyst at Darlene.Harrietha@ontario.ca or 519-400-1924.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 26 February 2019
Last Reviewed: 22 August 2019

Programme des prix d'excellence en agriculture - Mention d'honneur

excellence en agriculture mention d'honneur mot=palabra

Building Roots - Toronto

Building Roots a créé une épicerie dont les produits sont offerts à un prix abordable. Grâce à son initiative, des produits frais et abordables sont offerts aux personnes à faible revenu, ce qui permet à un nombre accru de familles urbaines dans le besoin d'avoir à leurs menus de délicieux fruits et légumes. Building Roots ne se limite pas à offrir des produits d'un prix abordable. Elle s'investit aussi dans l'éducation en offrant des camps d'été et des programmes d'activités après l'école.

 

Laiterie Slate River - District de Thunder Bay

La laiterie Slate River a modifié une baratte européenne pour qu'elle puisse en même temps pasteuriser le lait et baratter la crème pour en faire du beurre. Son innovation est unique en son genre au Canada. Elle lui a permis de réduire sa quantité de produits gaspillés tout en augmentant ses ventes de 29 p. 100 entre octobre 2017 et avril 2018. La laiterie a réussi cela tout en respectant rigoureusement les normes canadiennes de salubrité des aliments.

 

BioLiNE Corporation - Comté de Lambton

L'innovation de BioLiNE donne un outil de plus aux formulateurs d'engrais. Son procédé unique en son genre utilise des matières végétales (le compost usé des champignonnières au lieu du produit habituel, le charbon doux). Cela permet de produire de l'acide fulvique, un amendement organique des sols, sans chaleur ni produits chimiques agressifs, et en utilisant peu d'énergie. Notons en outre que son procédé permet de suprarecycler un produit qui serait autrement considéré comme un déchet.

 

Bell's Edge Farm - Comté de Wellington

L'exploitation Bell's Edge Farm s'est associée à une laiterie locale pour produire et commercialiser des beurres gastronomiques qui sont offerts dans 80 points de vente en Ontario, bien qu'elle n'existe que depuis un an et demi. Elle travaille aussi en collaboration avec des fermes locales, ce qui a permis d'augmenter sa capacité de production et de réduire sa production de déchets. Ses beurres gastronomiques sont issus d'ingrédients locaux, notamment l'ail et le sirop d'érable.

 

Ontario Farmland Trust - Guelph

L'organisme Ontario Farmland Trust a été récompensé pour une innovation qui permet de préserver les terres agricoles productives pour les générations à venir. Il a établi un accord de fiducie qui interdit les activités d'aménagement non agricoles sur certaines parcelles, pour que celles-ci soient protégées de façon permanente pour l'agriculture.

 

SoilOptix Inc. - Comté d'Oxford

Salle de presse - SoilOptix Inc.

SoilOptix Inc. a adopté une technologie européenne qui permet d'améliorer le prélèvement d'échantillons de sols au Canada. La technologie emploie un capteur sans contact qui détecte la décomposition naturelle des sols et le rayonnement qu'ils émettent. Le capteur saisit jusqu'à 30 couches de sol différentes à une définition de 335 points de données par acre. Ce procédé perturbe moins les sols que le procédé classique (l'échantillonnage par quadrillage) et favorise ainsi une meilleure conservation des sols.

Si vous avez des questions, vous pouvez communiquer avec Darlene Harrietha, analyste de programme (Darlene.Harrietha@ontario.ca ou 519 400-1924).


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 26 février 2019
Dernière révision : 22 Aout 2019