On-Farm PED Deadstock Disposal in Cold Weather


Porcine Epidemic Diarrhea virus (PED) was confirmed in Ontario in January 2014. The risk of PED transmission between farms is high. On-farm biosecurity is critical to keep this serious virus out of your barns. Producers with PED infected deadstock should work with their deadstock collector to minimize the risks of transmission, or consider on-farm mortality disposal alternatives. This Infosheet discusses options for PED deadstock disposal on-farm in cold weather. Additional information on deadstock disposal is also found on the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture and Food
(OMAF) website

Actions for On-Farm PED Deadstock Disposal in Cold Weather

Some key principles for PED deadstock disposal during cold weather include:

a) Establish a Line of Separation:

Identify and mark a clear line on the barn property across which equipment, personnel, and materials should not cross, or should only be crossed with the appropriate biosecurity protocols. Put up a sign on something large and sturdy that won't blow away. Use bright colours visible in the snow. Put your phone number on the sign so delivery people or approved visitors don't accidentally cross the line to find you. Lines of separation are already part of most farms' biosecurity protocols, but the boundaries may not be obvious in winter as existing signs may be obscured by snowbanks. String some ropes to establish a boundary. Define the area clearly.

b) Deadstock Collection:

If deadstock is normally picked up by a deadstock collection service it is important to contact the collector when PED is found so that steps can be taken by both the producer and collector to mitigate the risk of disease spread.

c) Access Existing Information for On-Farm Disposal:

Information is available outlining the four recommended on-farm deadstock disposal approaches: composting, use of a disposal vessel, burial and incineration. These approaches are approved under the deadstock regulation and are designed to minimize environmental risk. Most PED mortalities are piglets; therefore the information for small animal deadstock disposal is most relevant.

  • OMAF's website contains information about on-farm disposal techniques as well as Ontario's deadstock disposal regulations and how they apply:
  • Detailed information about disposal options is available in OMAF's Deadstock Disposal Best Management Practices (BMP) book. This BMP book is available at your local OMAF Resource Centre or online.

d) Minimize Traffic On and Off the Farm:

Minimize traffic coming on and off the farm to prevent the spread of PED, and ensure any vehicles coming on to your farm are following your biosecurity protocol. Traffic might include equipment to dig a burial pit, deliver compost substrate, or deliver or install new equipment such as a tank for a disposal vessel, an in-vessel composter, or a freezer. PED survives well in cold conditions making movement of contaminants from snow surfaces onto tires or vehicles a risk. Steps to minimize risk include:

  • Keep digging equipment for deadstock disposal away from the barn site. Consider snow-blowing a temporary laneway to the compost/burial location across the field and away from the barn.
  • Keep delivery people or approved visitors beyond the line of separation or the end of the lane, not at the barn.
  • Keep farm tractors for hauling deadstock, compost material, or equipment away from the disposal site until the disposal site is established and no further off-farm traffic is expected at the disposal site.
  • Clean and disinfect tractors, excavators, and other equipment after being on-site at the PED-infected farm. Follow cold weather disinfection procedures such as those provided by Ontario Pork.

e) Timing of Deadstock Disposal:

Updated deadstock regulations were enacted in 2009. According to the regulation, dispose of deadstock within 48 hours of death unless they are kept in cold or frozen storage. Cold weather makes cold storage easier. If deadstock are kept in frozen storage (inside or outside), they have to be kept on the farm where they died, in a leak-proof container, and covered up or out of public view. Keep deadstock secured to prevent scavengers from accessing them. Deadstock can be kept in cold storage for up to 14 days following death. While the regulation allows frozen storage for up to 240 days, for PED deadstock long-term storage is not recommended since the virus can survive for months at freezing temperatures, increasing the risk of virus transmission. Storing piglet deadstock in freezers is permitted until a disposal site is prepared. If deadstock are to be composted, it is recommended that they are added to the compost pile unfrozen.

f) Composting:

Proper composting of deadstock disposes of the carcasses and creates temperatures that destroy the PED virus. Piglet deadstock will compost well in a properly designed passive windrow compost pile, even in cold weather. With a good recipe, cold compost materials will start to heat up within a few hours and remain in this heated state throughout the compost period. Do not add frozen deadstock to the compost pile. To prevent freezing during start-up, substrates should be as dry as possible. The unfrozen deadstock will provide the moisture for the pile.

For compost designs and recipes, see the Deadstock Disposal BMP (p. 57) and the OMAF factsheet, Windrow Composting of Poultry Carcasses. Composting piglets is similar to composting poultry deadstock as described in the factsheet.

Getting the right compost substrate materials is important, particularly when it's cold. While wood shavings are expensive, they are readily available from sources that supply the dairy and poultry sector (check the classifieds ads in local farm newspapers). On-farm materials such as very dry manure (>30% dry matter), hay, and silage, or clean off-farm materials (wood shavings) are all good substrates. If possible, do not use manure from the PED-infected barn as a substrate ingredient in the compost pile since hauling manure out of a barn or storage with a high infection rate will increase the risk of transmission off-site.

Compost that reaches proper composting temperatures should provide sufficient treatment to eliminate the PED virus. Turning and monitoring deadstock compost piles as described in the Deadstock Disposal BMP will result in the best treatment of materials. The deadstock regulation requires keeping the compost piles at least 6 m (20 ft.) from tile drains. See the suggestions in the Burial Section if tile spacing doesn't allow for this separation.

Quick Steps to Compost in Winter:

For more detailed information see Windrow Composting of Poultry Carcasses.

  • Clear snow from the compost site and the area where substrate materials will be temporarily piled. Use a non-swine neighbour's tractor to prevent contamination of other delivery vehicles.
  • Bring in small square bales, shavings, hay or other substrates and warm solid non-swine manure to the site prior to bringing deadstock or tracking barn contaminants to the site. Bedding pack manure from beef or dairy is best as it will stay warm from breaking down and composting, even in the cold.
  • Create a 3 m X 3 m (10 ft. X 10 ft.) foot box with square bales.
  • Lay down a 30 - 60 cm (1 - 2 ft.) deep base layer of substrate (shavings, hay etc.).
  • Bring unfrozen deadstock to the site. Lay piglet carcasses so they are not touching. Larger animal carcasses should be 30 cm (1 ft.) apart from each other. Keep carcasses at least 20 cm (9 ins.) away from the edge.
  • Add manure or silage on top of the carcasses to initiate pile heating. If the carcasses are frozen and it's freezing outside, add up to 15 cm (6 ins.) of warm solid manure to get the compost heating.
  • Put down another 15 cm (6 ins.) layer of substrate, and add more piglet carcasses. Use thicker substrate layers (up to 30 cm (1 ft.)) if carcasses are larger. Continue until the pile is 1.5 - 2 m (4-6 ft.) high and cone-shaped.
  • Cover the completed pile with an additional 60 cm (2 ft.) of substrate.
  • One of these piles requires about 6 - 8 cubic meters (8 - 10 cubic yards) of substrate. Generally, using more substrate is better than using less.
  • As an estimate, use about 1.5 - 2 cubic meters (2-3 cubic yards) of substrate for each 1000 kg (2000 lbs.) of piglet deadstock.
  • Monitor the compost pile for scavengers. If digging is evident, re-cover dug up spots with substrate. Use large square bales or stack the walls higher to reduce scavenger access.
  • As an alternative, construct the compost pile inside a heated and ventilated farm building, if only dealing with a small amount of mortalities. Monitor indoor piles regularly for over-heating.

g) Disposal Vessels:

Though not commonly used in the swine sector, a disposal vessel is an excellent option for PED deadstock. A disposal vessel is a tank that is leak-proof when installed in the ground. Deadstock is added without any extra substrate and the deadstock decompose in the tank. Disposal vessels are a good option during an outbreak of sickness because they contain the contaminated deadstock in one spot for a long time as biological breakdown occurs. This minimizes the risk of transmission or seepage of any contaminants. The disposal vessel can be a clean old tank (feed bin, water tank, etc.) and should not contain any leftover materials. If making modifications to the tank, ensure there is no chance of fire or explosion caused by any liquid or vapour in the tank. Repair all holes to prevent seepage. According to the deadstock regulation, a disposal vessel must be at least 16 m (50 ft.) from a tile drain.

Quick Steps to Installing a Disposal Vessel in Winter:

For more detailed information see Disposal Vessels for On-Farm Deadstock.

  • Find a leak-proof tank with a maximum volume 10 m3 (2500 US gal). Ensure there are no residual liquids or vapours present and seal shut any drain holes. Cut a hatch opening large enough to drop in carcasses. Ensure there's a vent hole or vent pipe at the top. Install a lid on the hatch opening with a lock on it for safety purposes.
  • Pick a tank volume based 1:1 on the volume of deadstock. Determine deadstock volume by assuming carcasses have the same density of water (i.e. a 2 kg (5 lb) carcass is ~ 2 L (0.5 US gal) in volume). If placing frozen deadstock in a disposal vessel, budget for at least 25% extra volume.
  • Dig a large hole in a dry non-tiled area. Don't pick a low area or a spot that will be wet in the spring since even a heavy tank can "float" up out of the ground if surface or ground water fills the loose soil space around the vessel. Place the vessel mostly submerged in the hole, with about 60 cm (2 ft.) of the vessel remaining above ground. Back fill and compact the dirt around the vessel, slope the dirt against the vessel walls to shed water. Remove the digging equipment to avoid contamination.
  • Place the carcasses in the vessel. Do not add any substrate or other materials.
  • Close and lock the lid.

h) Burial:

Burial of mortalities is an acceptable method in the deadstock regulation. A large excavator is needed when digging in frozen ground, but in many cases the ground is only frozen in the first 30 - 60 cm (1 - 2 ft.) particularly when the ground is snow-covered. Dig the burial pit in a long and narrow shape, as described in the Deadstock Disposal BMP (p.89). Alternatively, dig a large auger hole (at least 30 cm (1 ft.) in diameter). Place the burial pit at least 6 m (20 ft.) from the tile drain to minimize the possibility of seepage in the spring. In systematically tiled fields with 12 m (40 ft.) spacing, identifying the tiles in winter and finding a spot with sufficient setbacks may be difficult. If you have to bury on tiled land, use the excavator to cut the tiles up and downslope of the burial location. Finding the upstream and downstream tiles will be difficult on frozen ground.

Quick Steps for Burial in Winter:

For more detailed information see Burial of On-Farm Deadstock

  • Clear the snow from the digging area and the dirt piling area.
  • Dig a narrow trench 60 cm (2 ft.) wide, 90 cm (3 ft.) deep, or dig a 30 cm (1 ft.) wide auger hole 2 m (6 ft.) deep. Use a large excavator for frozen ground. Dig safely.
  • Dig in an area away from tile drains and wet areas.
  • Place the carcasses in the pit, filling it up nearly to the ground level. Refill with excavated dirt. Mound the earth at least 60 cm (2 ft.) or more above the ground surface to minimize scavenger digging and to allow for settling.
  • When refilling the pit after the carcasses are added, avoid re-filling with snow.
  • For biosecurity purposes, dig the pit with an excavator and move the excavator off-site prior to bringing out the deadstock. Use the farm tractor loader to load the carcasses in the pit, to refill the top of the pit, and to mound the dirt. Otherwise, if the excavator is kept on site during burial, clean and decontaminate it following cold weather disinfection procedures such as those provided by Ontario Pork.
  • Monitor for evidence of scavenger access. Refill scavenger holes.

i) Emergency Authorizations for Deadstock Disposal:

If the options listed don't work for your operation and you need to try something else or seek an exemption from some part of the deadstock regulation, an Emergency Authorization for Deadstock Disposal can be issued. To apply for an Emergency Authorization, contact:

  • During normal business hours (8 am to 5 pm EST): Agricultural Information Contact Centre, at 1-877-424-1300.
  • During after-hours or non-business days: Spills Action Centre, at 1-800-268-6060.


There are several workable deadstock disposal options that can be put in place on the farm, even in cold weather. Check the OMAF website for guidance and direction. In addition, the Agricultural Information Contact Centre may be able to direct you to local OMAF technical staff to support you through emergency circumstances.

Contact: Agricultural Information Contact Centre,



For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 30 January 2014
Last Reviewed: 6 February 2014

Élimination par temps froid à la ferme des cadavres d'animaux morts de la DEP

L'introduction en Ontario du virus de la diarrhée épidémique porcine (DEP) a été confirmée en janvier 2014. Le risque de transmission de la DEP entre les exploitations porcines est élevé. L'application de mesures de biosécurité à la ferme est cruciale pour empêcher que ce virus grave ne s'introduise dans vos porcheries. Les producteurs aux prises avec des carcasses d'animaux morts de la DEP devraient collaborer avec leur service de ramassage d'animaux en vue d'atténuer les risques de transmission, ou envisager l'élimination à la ferme des cadavres d'animaux. Cette fiche d'information porte sur les diverses possibilités d'élimination par temps froid à la ferme des animaux morts de la DEP. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'élimination des cadavres d'animaux, consultez le site Web suivant du ministère de l'Agriculture et de l'Alimentation de l'Ontario (MAAO).

Marche à suivre pour l'élimination par temps froid à la ferme des animaux morts de la DEP

Exemples de principes de base pour l'élimination par temps froid d'animaux morts de la DEP :

a) Délimitez la zone de sécurité.

Identifiez et délimitez une limite évidente sur le site des porcheries qui ne peut pas être franchie par de l'équipement, du personnel et du matériel à moins d'appliquer des protocoles appropriés de biosécurité. Placez un signe sur un support assez grand et suffisamment rigide pour rester en place. Utilisez des couleurs vives bien visibles dans la neige. Inscrivez votre numéro de téléphone sur le panneau afin que les services de livraison ou les visiteurs autorisés ne traversent pas accidentellement la limite pour tenter de vous joindre. La délimitation des zones de sécurité fait déjà partie des protocoles de biosécurité de la plupart des exploitations agricoles, mais il arrive que les limites ne soient pas toujours bien visibles en hiver lorsque les panneaux sont cachés par les bancs de neige. Tendez des cordes pour clairement démarquer la zone en question.

b) Ramassage des animaux morts

Si les carcasses sont habituellement ramassées par un service de ramassage d'animaux morts, il est important de communiquer avec le fournisseur de service au moment où l'on constate la présence du virus de la DEP à la ferme de manière à ce que le producteur et le service de ramassage puissent prendre les mesures nécessaires pour minimiser la transmission de la maladie.

 

c) Consultez l'information existante sur l'élimination des cadavres d'animaux à la ferme.

Il existe de l'information sur les quatre méthodes recommandées d'élimination des cadavres d'animaux à la ferme : compostage, conteneurs d'élimination des cadavres d'animaux, enfouissement et incinération. Ces méthodes sont approuvées en vertu de la réglementation sur les animaux morts et elles ont été mises au point en vue de minimiser les risques pour l'environnement. La plupart des animaux qui meurent de la DEP sont des porcelets; par conséquent, ce sont les renseignements concernant l'élimination des cadavres de petits animaux qui sont le plus pertinents.

d) Réduisez au minimum la circulation de véhicules qui entrent sur le site de l'exploitation et qui en sortent.

Minimisez la circulation des véhicules qui entrent sur le site et qui en sortent, afin de prévenir la propagation de la DEP et de vous assurer que l'entrée de tout véhicule sur la ferme se fait conformément à votre protocole de biosécurité. Il peut s'agir de la machinerie servant à creuser une fosse d'enfouissement, des camions qui livrent du substrat à compost ou de la machinerie pour la livraison ou l'installation de nouvel équipement comme un réservoir pour les conteneurs d'élimination des cadavres d'animaux, un composteur en contenants ou un congélateur. La DEP survit bien en conditions froides, ce qui signifie que les contaminants peuvent se transmettre aux pneus et aux véhicules par la surface de la neige. Exemples de mesures à prendre pour réduire ces risques :

  • Rangez l'équipement utilisé pour l'élimination des cadavres à l'extérieur du site de la porcherie. Envisagez de souffler la neige pour dégager une allée temporaire qui traverse le champ jusqu'au site de compostage ou d'enfouissement à l'écart de la porcherie.
  • Faites en sorte que les livreurs et les visiteurs autorisés ne franchissent pas les limites de la zone de sécurité ou ne dépassent pas l'extrémité de l'allée et ne pénètrent pas dans la porcherie.
  • Laissez les tracteurs de la ferme utilisés pour transporter les cadavres d'animaux, le matériel de compostage ou l'équipement sur le site de la porcherie jusqu'à ce que le site d'élimination soit établi et qu'il n'y ait pas d'autres véhicules provenant de l'extérieur qui se rendent sur le site d'élimination.
  • Nettoyez et désinfectez les tracteurs, les rétrocaveuses et toute pièce d'équipement qui ont été sur un site infecté par la DEP. Respectez les directives de désinfection par temps froid comme celles qu'on peut trouver sur le site Web suivant (en anglais seulement) : www.ontariopork.on.ca/Portals/0/Docs/Production/disease/OSHAB-Cold-Weather-Trailer-Disinfection-final.pdf

e) Délais à respecter relatifs à l'élimination des cadavres d'animaux.

La mise à jour de la réglementation concernant les cadavres d'animaux est entrée en vigueur en 2009. En vertu de cette réglementation, on doit éliminer les cadavres d'animaux dans les 48 heures suivant leur décès à moins que ces derniers soient conservés en entreposage frigorifique ou congelé. Il est donc plus facile de les entreposer par temps froid. Si les cadavres sont conservés congelés dans un site d'entreposage (à l'intérieur ou à l'extérieur), ils doivent rester sur le site de la ferme où ils sont morts, dans un contenant étanche et couvert, ou placés hors de la vue du public. Protéger les cadavres des charognards. Les cadavres d'animaux peuvent être gardés en entreposage frigorifique pour une période maximale de 14 jours après leur mort. Bien que le règlement permette de garder les cadavres congelés jusqu'à 240 jours, l'entreposage à long terme des animaux morts de la DEP n'est pas recommandé étant donné que le virus peut survivre pendant plusieurs mois aux températures de congélation, ce qui accroît le risque de transmission du virus. L'entreposage des cadavres de porcelets dans des congélateurs est autorisé jusqu'à ce qu'un site d'élimination soit aménagé. Si les cadavres d'animaux doivent être compostés, il est recommandé de les ajouter non congelés au tas de compost.

f) Compostage.

Un compostage adéquat des cadavres d'animaux permet d'éliminer ces derniers à des températures qui détruisent le virus de la DEP. Les cadavres de porcelets vont bien se composter dans un andain de compost passif correctement préparé, même par temps froid. Un procédé de compostage rigoureux fait en sorte que les matières commenceront à chauffer en moins de quelques heures même par temps froid et maintiendront leur chaleur durant toute la durée du compostage. N'ajoutez pas de cadavres congelés au tas de compost. Les substrats utilisés doivent être aussi secs que possible afin de prévenir le gel au moment du démarrage. Les cadavres non congelés fourniront l'humidité requise au tas de compost.

Pour de l'information sur les techniques de compostage et les structures possibles, consultez le document sur l'Élimination des cadavres d'animaux (PGO) (p. 57) et la fiche technique du MAAO, Compostage en andain des cadavres de volaille. Le compostage des porcelets est semblable au compostage des volailles décrit dans cette fiche technique.

Il est important d'utiliser un substrat de compostage approprié, surtout lorsqu'il fait froid. Bien que les copeaux de bois soient chers, il est facile de s'en procurer auprès des fournisseurs d'exploitations laitières et avicoles (consultez les petites annonces dans les journaux agricoles locaux). Les matières issues de la ferme comme le fumier très sec (pourcentage de matière sèche >30 %), le foin, l'ensilage ou des matières non agricoles propres (copeaux de bois) sont tous de bons substrats. Si possible, n'utilisez pas de fumier provenant de la porcherie infectée par la DEP comme substrat dans le tas de compost, puisque le transport de fumier hors d'une porcherie ou d'une structure d'entreposage dont le taux d'infection est élevé augmentera les risques de propager le virus à l'extérieur du site.

Un compost qui atteint des températures adéquates devrait permettre d'éliminer le virus de la DEP. Les matières de compostage seront efficacement transformées si l'on retourne et vérifie le tas de compost, comme cela est décrit dans le document sur les pratiques optimales relatives à l'Élimination des cadavres d'animaux. La réglementation sur les cadavres d'animaux exige de placer les tas de compost à au moins 6 m (20 pi) des drains agricoles. Voyez les suggestions à ce sujet dans la section portant sur l'enfouissement pour les cas où l'espacement entre les drains ne permet pas de respecter cette distance.

  • Guide pratique : Marche à suivre pour le compostage en hiver.
    • Dégagez la neige du site de compostage et de la zone où les matières utilisées comme substrat seront temporairement empilées. Utilisez le tracteur d'un voisin qui n'élève pas de porcs afin de prévenir la contamination des autres véhicules de livraison.
    • Apportez sur le site de compostage de petites balles carrées, des copeaux de bois, du foin ou d'autres substrats ainsi que du fumier solide tiède ne provenant pas de porcs avant d'apporter les cadavres ou des matières issues de la porcherie susceptibles d'être contaminées. Le fumier provenant de système à litière profonde d'exploitation laitière ou bovine est idéal, car il restera tiède en se décomposant et en compostant, même par temps froid.
    • Montez des boîtes de 3 m X 3 m (10 pi X 10 pi) avec des balles carrées.
    • Étalez une couche de base de substrat (copeaux, foin, etc.) de 30 à 60 cm (1 à 2 pi).
    • Apportez les cadavres non congelés au site de compostage. Étendez les carcasses de porcelets de manière à ce qu'elles ne se touchent pas. Les carcasses des plus gros animaux devraient être espacées de 30 cm (1 pi). Placez les carcasses à au moins 20 cm (9 po) de l'extrémité.
    • Ajoutez du fumier ou de l'ensilage sur le dessus des carcasses pour que le tas commence à chauffer. Si les carcasses sont congelées et que les températures extérieures sont sous le point de congélation, ajoutez jusqu'à 15 cm (6 po) de fumier solide tiède pour que le tas commence à chauffer.
    • Étalez une autre couche de 15 cm (6 po) de substrat, et ajoutez d'autres carcasses de porcelets. Étalez des couches plus épaisses [jusqu'à 30 cm (1 pi)] si les carcasses sont plus grosses. Continuez ainsi jusqu'à ce que le tas atteigne 1,5 à 2 m (4 à 6 pi) de hauteur et prenne une forme conique.
    • Recouvrez le tas avec une couche additionnelle de substrat de 60 cm (2 pi).
    • L'une des piles doit avoir environ de 6 à 8 mètres cubes (8 à 10 verges cubes) de substrat. Il est habituellement préférable d'utiliser une plus grande quantité de substrat qu'une quantité insuffisante.
    • Utilisez environ 1,5 à 2 mètres cubes (2 à 3 verges cubes) de substrat pour chaque 1 000 kg (2 000 lb) de carcasses de porcelets.
    • Surveillez les signes de la présence de charognards autour des tas de compost. S'il est évident qu'il y a eu creusage, recouvrez les zones dégagées avec du substrat. Utilisez de grosses balles carrées ou montez des parois plus hautes pour limiter l'accès des charognards.
    • On peut aussi monter un tas de compost à l'intérieur d'un bâtiment de ferme chauffé et ventilé, si le nombre d'animaux morts est peu élevé. Inspectez régulièrement les tas à l'intérieur pour ne pas qu'il y ait surchauffe.

g) Conteneurs d'élimination des cadavres d'animaux

Bien qu'ils ne soient pas couramment utilisés dans le secteur porcin, les conteneurs d'élimination des cadavres d'animaux représentent un excellent moyen d'éliminer les carcasses d'animaux touchés par la DEP. Un conteneur d'élimination est un réservoir qui est étanche lorsqu'il est enfoui dans le sol. Les carcasses y sont ajoutées sans substrat additionnel et elles se décomposent par la suite. Les conteneurs d'élimination constituent une solution valable en cas d'éclosion de maladie, car ils permettent de regrouper les cadavres contaminés en un seul endroit pendant une longue période durant leur décomposition. Cette méthode minimise les risques de transmission ou d'écoulement des contaminants. Le conteneur d'élimination peut être un vieux réservoir propre (silo à moulée, réservoir d'eau, etc.) qui ne doit pas contenir de matières résiduelles. Si l'on modifie le réservoir, on doit s'assurer qu'il n'y a pas de risque d'incendie ou d'explosion associé à la présence d'un liquide ou d'un gaz dans le réservoir. Réparez tous les trous afin de prévenir l'écoulement. En vertu de la réglementation sur les cadavres d'animaux, un conteneur d'élimination doit être placé à au moins 16 m (50 pi) d'un drain agricole souterrain et être installé dans une zone exempte de canalisation de drainage.

  • Guide pratique : Marche à suivre pour l'installation hivernale d'un conteneur d'élimination.
    • Utilisez un réservoir étanche d'un volume maximum de 10 m3 (2 500 gallons US). Scellez tous les trous en les soudant et assurez-vous qu'il n'y a plus de liquides ou de gaz résiduels dans le réservoir. Pratiquez dans le réservoir une ouverture suffisamment grande pour y introduire les carcasses. Prévoyez un orifice d'aération ou un évent sur le dessus. Placez un couvercle sur la trappe d'accès avec un dispositif de verrouillage pour plus de sécurité.
    • Choisissez un réservoir qui présente un ratio 1:1 par rapport au volume des cadavres d'animaux. Établissez le volume de carcasses à entreposer en présumant qu'elles ont la même densité que l'eau (c.-à-d. qu'une carcasse de 2 kg (5 lb) occupe environ un volume de 2 L (0,5 gallon US). Pour des carcasses congelées placées dans un conteneur d'élimination, prévoyez au moins 25 % de volume additionnel.
    • Creusez un gros trou dans une zone sèche sans drainage souterrain. Ne choisissez pas une baissière ou une zone qui sera mouillée au printemps puisque même un réservoir lourd peut émerger à la surface du sol si de l'eau de surface ou souterraine remplit l'espace libre autour du conteneur. Enfouissez la plus grande partie du conteneur dans le trou, et laissez environ 60 cm (2 pi) dépasser de la surface du sol. Le sol doit être remblayé et compacté autour du conteneur, puis incliné pour laisser ruisseler l'eau de surface. Retirez des lieux le matériel ayant servi au creusage afin d'éviter toute contamination.
    • Introduisez les carcasses dans le conteneur. N'ajoutez pas de substrat ou d'autres matières.
    • Fermez et verrouillez le couvercle.

h) Enfouissement

L'enfouissement des carcasses constitue une méthode acceptable selon la réglementation. On doit utiliser une grosse rétrocaveuse pour creuser en sol gelé. Toutefois, dans de nombreux cas, le sol n'est gelé que dans les premiers 30 à 60 cm (1 à 2 pi), surtout lorsque le sol est recouvert de neige. Creusez la fosse d'enfouissement en lui donnant une forme allongée et étroite, tel que décrit dans le document sur les pratiques optimales relatives à l'Élimination des cadavres d'animaux (p. 89). On peut aussi creuser un gros trou de tarière (d'au moins 30 cm (1 pi) de diamètre). Placez la fosse d'enfouissement à au moins 6 m (20 pi) de tout drain agricole souterrain afin de minimiser les risques de ruissellement au printemps. Dans les champs comportant des drains agricoles espacés de 12 m (40 pi), il peut être difficile de repérer les drains en hiver et de trouver un endroit qui permet de respecter les distances de retrait recommandées. S'il est impossible de ne pas enfouir les carcasses dans un champ comportant des drains, utilisez la rétrocaveuse pour couper les drains en amont et en aval du site d'enfouissement. Il peut cependant être difficile de repérer les drains en amont et en aval lorsque le sol est gelé.

  • Guide pratique : Marche à suivre pour l'enfouissement en hiver.
    • Dégagez la neige de la zone de creusage et du tas de terre.
    • Creusez une tranchée étroite de 60 cm (2 pi) de largeur, 90 cm (3 pi) de profondeur, ou creusez un large trou de tarière de 30 cm (1 pi) de largeur et de 2 m (6 pi) de profondeur. Utilisez une grosse rétrocaveuse en sol gelé. Soyez prudent en creusant.
    • Creusez à l'écart des drains agricoles et des zones humides.
    • Introduisez les carcasses dans la fosse, et remplissez-la à peu près jusqu'à la surface du sol. Remettez en place le sol retiré durant le creusage. Recouvrez de terre pour former un monticule dépassant d'au moins 60 cm (2 pi) la surface du sol afin de diminuer le risque de présence de charognards et de permettre au sol de se tasser.
    • Au moment du remplissage de la fosse après y avoir introduit les carcasses, évitez d'y pousser de la neige.
    • À des fins de biosécurité, creusez la fosse avec une rétrocaveuse et retirez cette dernière du site avant d'y apporter les cadavres d'animaux. Utilisez le tracteur de la ferme pour pousser les carcasses dans la fosse, pour remplir la fosse avec de la terre et former un monticule. Si la rétrocaveuse est laissée sur le site durant l'enfouissement, on doit la nettoyer et la décontaminer en suivant le protocole de désinfection par temps froid décrit sur le site Web suivant ( en anglais seulement) : www.ontariopork.on.ca/Portals/0/Docs/Production/disease/OSHAB-Cold-Weather-Trailer-Disinfection-final.pdf.
    • Surveillez les signes de présence de charognards. Remplissez les trous que ces derniers peuvent faire.

i) Autorisation en cas d'urgence relative à l'élimination de cadavres d'animaux.

Si les méthodes énumérées ne peuvent pas s'appliquer à votre exploitation, et que vous devez avoir recours à une autre manière de procéder ou que vous cherchez à obtenir une dispense relativement à une partie de la réglementation sur les cadavres d'animaux, une autorisation en cas d'urgence peut être accordée en vertu du Règlement sur l'élimination des animaux morts. Pour demander une autorisation en cas d'urgence :

  • Communiquez avec le Centre d'information agricole au 1 877 424-1300 durant les heures normales de bureau (8 h à 17 h, heure de l'Est).
  • Après les heures d'ouverture ou pendant les jours de congé ou fériés, communiquez avec le Centre d'intervention en cas de déversement au durant au 1 800 268-6060.

Résumé

Il existe plusieurs méthodes pratiques d'éliminer les cadavres d'animaux à la ferme, même par temps froid. Consultez le site Web du MAAO pour des conseils et des recommandations. De plus, le Centre d'information agricole peut être en mesure de vous diriger à votre conseiller local du MAAO qui pourra vous encadrer en cas d'urgence.

Ressource : Centre d'information agricole, 1 877 424-1300, ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

 


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 31 janvier 2014
Dernière révision : 7 février 2014