Recycling Non-Nutrient Agricultural Waste

Are you waste wise?

There are a lot of different types of waste produced by farm businesses. Used and unwanted plastic film, seed bags, pesticide containers, twine, tires and engine oil are just examples of the type of waste that farmers need to dispose of regularly.

Dispose of your agricultural waste responsibly

Burning and burying non-nutrient agricultural waste can pollute the air, contaminate water and can have other potential harmful impacts on the environment, which can harm people and livestock. Consider recycling and reusing your waste instead. Recycling and reusing these materials can help lower your dumping costs while beautifying your property. Plus, it's better for the environment.

There are many programs in Ontario that can help you dispose of your waste responsibly. Not sure where to start? See CleanFARMS' Guide to Recycling Non-Nutrient Agricultural Waste in Ontario for ways to reduce the amount of agricultural waste going to landfill. You can also add the disposal of farm wastes into your Environmental Farm Plan.

Programs

These links offer waste disposal options and describe different recycling programming that may be in your area.

  • Many municipalities in Ontario have agricultural waste recycling programs, such as Kincardine's Agricultural Film Recycling Program. Contact your municipality to see how you can reduce the amount of waste going to landfill.
  • You can prevent containers, machinery fluids, electronics, hazardous materials and other non-nutrient agricultural wastes from ending up in landfills. Check out the CleanFARMS recycling programs and collection sites across the province.
  • Visit the Ministry of the Environment and Climate Change's website to learn more about Ontario's plan for waste reduction and the new Waste-Free Ontario Act, and other waste-diversion programs in the province. Contact the ministry at 1-800-565-4923 or submit a message on their website.

Resources


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Firstname SPACE Lastname SPACE HYPHEN SPACE Title/Affiliation
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph)
Use a SEMI COLON to separate multiple entries:
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph; Jane Doe - Crop Specialist/OMAFRA)
Creation Date: dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy
Last Reviewed: dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy

Recyclage des déchets agricoles non fertilisants

Gérez-vous bien vos déchets?

Une entreprise agricole produit beaucoup de types de déchets différents. Les films plastiques, sacs de semences, contenants de pesticides, ficelles, pneus et huiles à moteur qui ont servi et dont on veut se débarrasser ne sont que des exemples des types de déchets que les producteurs ont souvent besoin d'éliminer.

Éliminez vos déchets agricoles de manière responsable

Le brûlage et l'enfouissement des déchets agricoles non fertilisants peuvent polluer l'air, contaminer l'eau et avoir, sur l'environnement, d'autres répercussions néfastes pour les personnes et les animaux d'élevage. Pensez plutôt à recycler et à réutiliser vos déchets. En recyclant et en réutilisant ces matières, vous pouvez contribuer à réduire les sommes que vous payez à la décharge tout en enjolivant votre propriété. Et l'environnement ne s'en portera que mieux.

Il existe de nombreux programmes en Ontario pour vous aider à éliminer vos déchets de manière responsable. Par où commencer? Consultez le guide publié par AgriRÉCUP, Guide to Recycling Non-Nutrient Agricultural Waste in Ontario; vous y découvrirez des moyens de réduire la quantité de déchets agricoles qui se retrouvent dans les décharges. Vous pouvez aussi inclure l'élimination des déchets agricoles dans votre Plan agroenvironnemental.

Programmes

Les liens qui suivent présentent des possibilités d'élimination des déchets et décrivent différents programmes de recyclage qui peuvent être offerts dans votre région :

  • Bien des municipalités de l'Ontario possèdent des programmes de recyclage des déchets agricoles. Par exemple, voici le programme de recyclage des films agricoles (en anglais seulement) offert à Kincardine. Communiquez avec votre municipalité pour voir comment vous pouvez réduire la quantité de déchets acheminés à la décharge.
  • Vous pouvez éviter d'acheminer à la décharge des contenants, des fluides de moteurs, des appareils électroniques, des matières dangereuses et des déchets agricoles non fertilisants. Consultez le site d'AgriRÉCUP pour connaître ses programmes de recyclage et savoir où se trouvent les points de collecte dans la province.
  • Consultez le site du ministère de l'Environnement et de l'Action en matière de changement climatique pour plus d'information sur le plan de réduction des déchets élaboré par l'Ontario, la nouvelle Loi favorisant un Ontario sans déchets et les programmes ontariens de réacheminement des déchets. Communiquez avec le Ministère au 1 800 565-4923 ou soumettez un message à partir de son site.

Resources

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur :
Date de création : dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy
Dernière révision : dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy