Energy Conservation

Table of Contents

  1. Benefits of Energy Conservation
  2. Conserving Energy in the Farmhouse
  3. Conserving Energy on the Farm
  4. Conserving Energy on the Move
  5. Additional Resources

Benefits of Energy Conservation

Green energy should start with energy efficiency. Doing more with less is the easiest, simplest and most cost-effective way to reduce your energy bills and your greenhouse gas emissions. And if you're considering installing a renewable energy system, reducing your energy use first means that a smaller, less costly system will meet your needs.

There are lots of opportunities to save energy on the average Ontario farm. A series of energy audits in 2006 revealed that most farms could cut their electricity costs by up to 15 per cent through conservation measures.

Conserving Energy in the Farmhouse

The Internet offers many good resources on cutting household energy bills through measures like insulating, caulking and weatherstripping, and switching to more energy-efficient appliances. Natural Resources Canada's Office of Energy Efficiency is a good starting point for information on residential energy efficiency.

A home energy audit through Natural Resources Canada's ecoENERGY Retrofit for Homes program can help you identify how to get the biggest bang for your energy efficiency buck, as well as make you eligible for a number of grants.

Visit the Ontario Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure's energy conservation pages for energy-saving tips, calculators and conservation guides, or check the Ontario Power Authority’s Every Kilowatt Counts site.

Finally, Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation offers a number of factsheets on renovating for energy savings.

Conserving Energy on the Farm

Looking for ways to reduce the energy you use in your daily farming operations? The Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs has produced several factsheets on energy conservation and efficiency on the farm.

AgEnergy Co-operative's 54 Energy Savings Technologies for Agriculture lists a variety of energy-saving technologies, along with the estimated annual savings for each one.

You can also find information on industrial energy-efficient equipment from Natural Resources Canada's Office of Energy Efficiency.

For sector-specific conservation tips, check the National Dairy Council of Canada's Guide to Energy Efficiency Opportunities in the Dairy Processing Industry or Energy Efficiency and Online Tools for Greenhouses from Union Gas.

Conserving Energy on the Move

Don't forget about your vehicles! You'll find many resources on transportation energy efficiency from Natural Resources Canada's Office of Energy Efficiency, while the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs offers tips to reduce fuel consumption on the farm.

Finally, consider greening your fuel consumption by choosing an ethanol or biodiesel blend.

Additional Resources

Programs

AgEnergy Services offers a program to help Ontario agriculture and agri-food businesses implement efficiency measures.

Videos

Hydro One Network has a series of online videos showcasing energy-wise farming.

Newsletter

The Ontario Power Authority produces Electricity Conservation on Ontario Farms, an e-newsletter to help Ontario farmers better manage their electricity costs.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 22 April 2009
Last Reviewed: 22 January 2014

Économie d'énergie

Table des matières

  1. Avantages de l'économie d'énergie
  2. L'économie d'énergie à la maison
  3. L'économie d'énergie à la ferme
  4. L'économie d'énergie dans les transports
  5. Ressources supplémentaires

Avantages de l'économie d'énergie

L'énergie verte, c'est d'abord et avant tout l'efficacité énergétique. Faire plus avec moins est le moyen le plus simple et le plus rentable de réduire vos coûts énergétiques et vos émissions de gaz à effet de serre. Si vous envisagez d'installer un système d'énergie renouvelable, commencez par réduire votre consommation d'énergie : un système plus petit et moins coûteux pourra alors répondre à vos besoins.

Dans les fermes ontariennes, il existe toutes sortes de moyens d'économiser l'énergie. Une série de vérifications énergétiques (disponible en anglais seulement) menées en 2006 a révélé que la plupart des fermes pourraient réduire leurs frais d'électricité jusqu'à 15 p. 100 en prenant des mesures d'économie d'énergie.

L'économie d'énergie à la maison

Vous trouverez sur Internet une foule de renseignements judicieux sur les façons de réduire vos frais énergétiques par des moyens tels que l'isolation, le calfeutrage, l'installation de coupe-bise et l'achat d'appareils électroménagers plus éconergétiques. L'Office de l'efficacité énergétique de Ressources naturelles Canada est un bon point de départ pour se renseigner sur l'économie d'énergie à la maison.

Une évaluation énergétique résidentielle par l'entremise du programme écoÉNERGIE Rénovation – Maisons de Ressources naturelles Canada pourrait vous aider à déterminer les changements à apporter pour réaliser les meilleures économies d'énergie et vous rendre admissible à différentes subventions.

Consultez les pages Web du ministère de l'Énergie et de l'Infrastructure de l'Ontario sur l'économie d'énergie pour des conseils, des calculateurs et des guides sur l'économie d'énergie, de même que le site Chaque kilowatt compte de l'Office de l'électricité de l'Ontario.

Enfin, la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement propose des fiches d'information sur la rénovation éconergétique.

L'économie d'énergie à la ferme

Vous voulez savoir comment réduire votre consommation d'énergie dans le cadre de vos activités agricoles quotidiennes? Le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario a produit plusieurs fiches techniques sur l'économie d'énergie et l'efficacité énergétique à la ferme.

Le document d'AgEnergy Co-operative intitulé 54 Energy Savings Technologies for Agriculture (disponible en anglais seulement) énumère une variété de technologies éconergétiques et les économies estimatives annuelles que chacune permet de réaliser.

Vous trouverez également des renseignements sur l'équipement industriel éconergétique sur le site de l'Office de l'efficacité énergétique de Ressources naturelles Canada.

Pour des conseils sur les économies d'énergie applicables à des secteurs précis, consultez le Guide sur les possibilités d'accroître l'efficacité énergétique dans l'industrie de transformation de produits laitiers du Conseil national de l'industrie laitière du Canada ou la page Energy Efficiency and Online Tools for Greenhouses (disponible en anglais seulement) sur le site Web de Union Gas.

L'économie d'énergie dans les transports

N'oubliez pas vos véhicules! Vous trouverez de nombreuses ressources sur l'économie d'énergie dans les transports sur le site de l'Office de l'efficacité énergétique de Ressources naturelles Canada, et le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario propose des conseils pour réduire votre consommation de carburant à la ferme.

Enfin, envisagez d'adopter des carburants verts comme un mélange d'éthanol ou de biodiésel.

Ressources supplémentaires

Programme

AgEnergy Services (disponible en anglais seulement) offre aux entreprises agricoles et agroalimentaires de l'Ontario un programme les aidant à mettre en œuvre des mesures d'efficacité énergétique.

Vidéos

Hydro One Networks a préparé une série de vidéos en ligne (disponible en anglais seulement) sur l'agriculture éconergétique.

Bulletin

L'Office de l'électricité de l'Ontario produit le bulletin électronique Electricity Conservation on Ontario Farms pour aider les agriculteurs ontariens à mieux gérer leurs frais d'électricité.

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 12 mai 2009
Dernière révision : 10 février 2014