Terms of Reference - Technical Working Group of the Steering Committee for the Project to Commercialize Agricultural Biomass for Combustion Energy

Table of Contents

  1. Background
  2. Purpose
  3. Tasks
  4. Deliverables
  5. Technical Issues
  6. Members of the Technical Working Group
  7. Decision-Making

Background

The Technical Working Group was formed by the Steering Committee for the Project to Commercialize Agricultural Biomass for Combustion Energy to coordinate the analysis of the technical feasibility of commercializing agricultural biomass for combustion energy in Ontario.

While replacement of coal with agricultural biomass in Ontario Power Generation's (OPG) units is the main focus of this project, the technical analysis will also address other potential users of agricultural biomass including the cement industry, agricultural operations (e.g. greenhouses, livestock operations) and others seeking an alternative fuel source.

Purpose

The purpose of the Technical Working Group is to coordinate the analysis of technical factors related to commercialization of agricultural biomass for combustion energy in Ontario. The working group's input on technical feasibility from the farm to the aggregator will be a key consideration in the Steering Committee's overall assessment of whether commercialization of agricultural biomass should be pursued.

Tasks

  1. In fall 2010, confirm the technical issues to be addressed, in consultation with the Business Case Working Group and the Steering Committee.
  2. Draw on the necessary expertise and research to enable the working group to address technical considerations related to development of the value chain for agricultural biomass.
  3. Analyze the working group's ability to deliver on these Terms of Reference and the need for additional resources.

Deliverables

  1. Quarterly status updates to the Steering Committee on progress in analyzing technical issues. The updates will include a synthesis of what is known and still needs to be known to complete the analysis.
  2. By the end of 2011, an interim technical analysis will be completed for Steering Committee consideration. The analysis will identify limitations, due for example, to the need for more research. While the interim technical analysis will facilitate the Steering Committee's overall assessment of agricultural biomass feasibility, the Steering Committee may direct the continuation of the working group's analysis beyond 2011.

Technical Issues

The working group will focus on technical issues related to agricultural biomass for combustion that cover stages in the value chain from the farm to the aggregator. The issues include:

  • Agronomy (cultivar selection, rotational cycles, pest management, fertilization, yields, residue removal, harvesting equipment, logistics, etc.)
  • Handling, storage, processing, and transportation from the farm to aggregator
  • Quantity and quality of available biomass
  • Market demand
  • Other items identified in the Steering Committee's Draft Work Plan (June 14, 2010)

OPG is undertaking technical studies related to transportation of processed biomass from the aggregator to their generation facilities, combustion chemistry and the fuel specification. OPG's representative on the working group will share information from these studies, as they may impact the farm to aggregator stages of the value chain.

Markets for agricultural biomass other than OPG may also contribute information to the Technical Working Group on their particular needs. Technical information from the Ontario Federation of Agriculture's "Transformative Project to Generate Energy for Ontario by Developing an Innovative Agricultural Biomass Value Chain Sector" will be considered e.g. jurisdictional scan, market opportunity study, aggregation pilot, and farm-scale demonstration plots. Likewise, information from academic, government and private research projects will also be considered.

Members of the Technical Working Group

The composition of the working group may vary over time based on the issues being examined. Experts may be invited to participate on an on-going basis on the working group or contribute on an ad hoc basis. The core members include:

  • Rene Van Acker, University of Guelph, Dept. of Plant Agriculture (Chair)
  • Bill Deen, University of Guelph, Dept. of Plant Agriculture
  • Barry Hill, Ontario Soil and Crop Improvement Association
  • Bryan Gilvesy, Norfolk ALUS
  • Don Nott, Nott Farms
  • Ray Robertson, Ontario Forage Council
  • Leanne Wilson, Ontario Greenhouse Vegetable Growers
  • Mark Schwartz, Greenfield Ethanol
  • Robert Cummings, Lafarge - Bath Plant
  • David Armitage, Ontario Federation of Agriculture
  • Phil Reinert, Ontario Power Generation
  • Annette Anderson, OMAFRA, Agriculture Development Branch
  • Helma Geerts, OMAFRA, Food Safety and Environmental Policy Branch

Decision-Making

The Technical Working Group will provide information and advice to the Steering Committee and the Business Case Working Group.

While private business may consider the information collected for the technical analysis, this project is not intended to be prescriptive about different business case models, technologies or opportunities to be pursued.
Steering Committee for the Project to Commercialize Agricultural Biomass for Combustion Energy

Figure 1. Steering Committee for the Project to Commercialize Agricultural Biomass for Combustion Energy

Text Equivalent


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 01 December 2010
Last Reviewed: 01 December 2010

Mandats : Groupe de travail technique du Comité directeur du Projet d'exploitation commerciale de la biomasse agricole pour la production d'énergie par combustion

Table des matières

  1. Contexte
  2. Objectifs
  3. Tâches
  4. Résultats attendus
  5. Enjeux techniques
  6. Membres du Groupe de travail technique
  7. Prise de décision

Contexte

Le Groupe de travail technique a été mis sur pied par le Comité directeur du Projet d'exploitation commerciale de la biomasse agricole pour la production d'énergie par combustion en vue de coordonner l'analyse de la faisabilité technique de l'exploitation commerciale de la biomasse agricole pour la production d'énergie par combustion en Ontario.

Le remplacement du charbon par de la biomasse agricole dans les centrales de l'Ontario Power Generation (OPG's) constitue l'objectif principal de l'ensemble du projet. Toutefois, l'analyse technique permettra aussi de tenir compte des autres utilisateurs potentiels de la biomasse agricole, notamment l'industrie de la fabrication du ciment, les exploitations agricoles (serres, fermes d'élevage) et les différents secteurs qui souhaitent utiliser un carburant de remplacement.

Objectifs

Le Groupe de travail technique a pour but de coordonner l'analyse des facteurs techniques liés à l'exploitation commerciale de la biomasse agricole pour la production d'énergie par combustion en Ontario. Les conclusions des travaux du groupe de travail relatives à la faisabilité technique du projet de la ferme au distributeur seront déterminantes dans l'évaluation globale par le comité directeur en vue de décider si l'exploitation commerciale de biomasse agricole devrait ou non être poursuivie.

Tâches

  1. Au cours de l'automne 2010, confirmer les éléments techniques à analyser, de concert avec le Groupe de travail sur l'analyse de rentabilité de la biomasse agricole et le comité directeur.
  2. S'appuyer sur l'expertise et la recherche nécessaires pour permettre au groupe de travail d'évaluer les éléments techniques du projet reliés au développement de la filière de la biomasse agricole.
  3. Analyser la capacité du groupe de travail à accomplir son mandat et évaluer les ressources additionnelles requises.

Résultats attendus

  1. Mises à jour trimestrielles présentées au comité directeur sur l'état d'avancement de l'analyse des enjeux techniques. Les mises à jour comprendront une synthèse des éléments connus et de ceux qui restent à éclaircir pour compléter l'analyse.
  2. L'analyse technique provisoire devra être terminée pour la fin de 2011 pour examen par le comité directeur. L'analyse décrira les contraintes observées, qui pourraient être attribuables, par exemple, à la nécessité de poursuivre les recherches. Bien que l'analyse technique provisoire facilitera l'évaluation globale de la faisabilité du projet d'exploitation commerciale de la biomasse agricole par le comité directeur, ce dernier pourra demander au groupe de travail de poursuivre son analyse au–delà de 2011.

Enjeux techniques

Le groupe de travail examinera les enjeux techniques liés à l'exploitation de la biomasse agricole pour la production d'énergie par combustion qui sont reliés aux divers maillons de la filière de la biomasse, de la ferme au distributeur. Exemples d'enjeux techniques :

  • Enjeux agronomiques (choix des cultivars, cycles de rotation, lutte antiparasitaire, fertilisation, rendements, retrait des résidus, matériel de récolte, logistique, etc.).
  • Manutention, entreposage, transformation et transport de la ferme au distributeur.
  • Quantité et qualité de la biomasse disponible.
  • Demande du marché.
  • Autres points précisés dans le plan de travail provisoire du comité directeur (14 juin 2010).

L'OPG réalise des études techniques liées au transport de la biomasse transformée du distributeur aux centrales électriques, à la chimie de la combustion et aux normes sur les combustibles. Le représentant de l'OPG siégeant au groupe de travail partagera les informations obtenues dans le cadre de ces études avec les autres membres, puisque ces dernières peuvent avoir des répercussions sur les divers maillons de la filière, de l'exploitation agricole au distributeur.

Les utilisateurs de biomasse agricole, autres que l'OPG, peuvent également informer le Groupe de travail technique de leurs besoins précis. Les informations techniques provenant de l'étude de la Fédération ontarienne de l'agriculture sur le projet transformateur visant la production d'énergie pour l'Ontario par le développement d'une filière innovatrice de la biomasse agricole seront examinées, notamment l'examen des compétences, l'étude des débouchés, le projet–pilote de distribution et les parcelles de démonstration à la ferme. De même, les informations générées par les projets de recherche universitaire, gouvernementale et privée seront également prises en considération.

Membres du Groupe de travail technique

La composition du groupe de travail pourra varier selon les dossiers à l'étude. Des spécialistes pourront être invités à y participer sur une base permanente ou de manière ponctuelle. Liste des principaux membres :

  • Rene Van Acker, Université de Guelph, Département de phytotechnie, (président)
  • Bill Deen, Université de Guelph, Département de phytotechnie
  • Barry Hill, Association pour l'amélioration des sols et des récoltes de l'Ontario
  • Bryan Gilvesy, Norfolk ALUS
  • Don Nott, Nott Farms
  • Ray Robertson, Ontario Forage Council
  • Leanne Wilson, Ontario Greenhouse Vegetable Growers
  • Mark Schwartz, Greenfield Ethanol
  • Robert Cummings, Lafarge – usine de Bath
  • David Armitage, Fédération de l'agriculture de l'Ontario
  • Phil Reinert, Ontario Power Generation
  • Annette Anderson, MAAARO, Direction du développement de l'agriculture
  • Helma Geerts, MAAARO, Direction des politiques de l'environnement et de la salubrité des aliments

Prise de décision

Le Groupe de travail technique transmettra des informations au comité directeur et au Groupe de travail sur l'analyse de rentabilité et les conseillera.

Bien que les entreprises privées puissent tenir compte des informations recueillies dans le cadre de l'analyse technique, ce projet n'a pas pour but de recommander l'adoption de modèles, de technologies ou de débouchés précis.

Comité directeur du Projet d'exploitation de la biomasse agricole pour la production d'énergie par combustion

Figure 1. Comité directeur du Projet d'exploitation de la biomasse agricole pour la production d'énergie par combustion

Texte

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 01 decembre 2010
Dernière révision : 01 decembre 2010