Terms of Reference - Environmental Sustainability Working Group of the Steering Committee for the Project to Commercialize Agricultural Biomass for Combustion Energy

Table of Contents

  1. Background
  2. Purpose
  3. Tasks
  4. Deliverables
  5. BMP-EFP Task Team
  6. Members of the Environmental Sustainability Working Group
  7. Decision-Making

Background

The Environmental Sustainability Working Group was formed by the Steering Committee for the Project to Commercialize Agricultural Biomass for Combustion Energy to recommend specifications of agricultural biomass to provide assurance that biomass sourced from Ontario's agricultural sector is renewable and sustainable.

While replacement of coal with agricultural biomass in Ontario Power Generation's (OPG) units is the main focus of this project, the Working Group will also consider other potential users of agricultural biomass including the cement industry, agricultural operations (e.g. greenhouses, livestock operations) and others seeking an alternative fuel source.

Purpose

The purpose of the Environmental Sustainability Working Group is to monitor, assess, and share information related to the environmental sustainability of agricultural biomass used for combustion energy generation, recommend specifications of agricultural biomass to provide assurance that biomass sourced from Ontario's agricultural sector is renewable and sustainable, and provide input leading to the development of appropriate agronomic best management practices and biomass certification requirements.

Tasks

  1. Scan environmental sustainability criteria for agriculture adopted by other jurisdictions at national and sub-national levels, as well as through international agencies/organizations, and determine applicability to agricultural biomass.
  2. Examine and evaluate Ontario's Environmental Farm Plan in terms of how it compares with other jurisdictions' systems for recognizing environmental sustainability and its potential to be adapted for environmental certification purposes.
  3. Recommend specifications of agricultural biomass that include suitable certification requirements to provide assurance that biomass sourced from Ontario's agricultural sector is renewable and sustainable.
  4. Through the work of the BMP-EFP Task Team, determine the feasibility of methods for making biomass certification complementary to the Environmental Farm Plan approval and implementation processes, as an optional additional program.
  5. Monitor international developments related to determining agricultural biomass sustainability and the applicability of other programs' sustainability criteria to Ontario.

Deliverables

  1. Provide quarterly status updates to the Steering Committee on progress.
  2. Research and review potential international, national and sub-national environmental sustainability criteria and certifications systems that may be applied to Ontario's agricultural biomass to provide assurance the biomass is renewable and sustainable.
  3. Based on assessment of existing certification systems, recommend specifications of agricultural biomass to provide assurance that biomass sourced from Ontario's agricultural sector is renewable and sustainable.
  4. Based on Deliverable #3, provide input to the work of the BMP-EFP Task Team on environmental sustainability and certification issues. Refer to the Terms of Reference of the BMP-EFP Task Team for its scope and tasks.
  5. Monitor and assess developments related to applicable international, national and sub-national certification systems. (e.g. Biomass Crop Assistance Program, US Department of Agriculture) and advise the Steering Committee if the Working Group's recommendations need to be revised as a result.
  6. By the end of 2011, provide to the Steering Committee a proposal for certification of environmentally sustainable agricultural biomass, incorporating proposals from the BMP-EFP Task Team for bringing such certification into the Environmental Farm Plan approval and implementation processes.
  7. Provide to the Steering Committee the results of the Life Cycle Assessment of agricultural biomass being conducted for Ontario Power Generation, as well as other relevant LCAs.

BMP-EFP Task Team

The Working Group has established an OMAFRA-led Best Management Practices – Environmental Farm Plan (BMP-EFP) Task Team, which has its own Terms of Reference. The Task Team reports regularly to the Working Group on its progress.

Members of the Environmental Sustainability Working Group

The composition of the working group may vary over time based on the issues being examined. Experts may be invited to participate on an ongoing basis on the working group or contribute on an ad hoc basis. The core members include:

  • Rob Lyng, Ontario Power Generation (Chair)
  • David Armitage, Ontario Federation of Agriculture
  • John Fitzgibbon, Ontario Farm Environmental Coalition
  • Bryan Gilvesy, Norfolk ALUS
  • Adam Hayes, OMAFRA
  • Barry Hill, Ontario Soil & Crop Improvement Association
  • Linda Pim, OMAFRA
  • Paul Smith, OMAFRA
  • Nathan Stevens, Christian Farmers Federation of Ontario
  • Gord Surgeoner, Ontario Agri-Food Technologies
  • Tammy Wong, Ontario Power Generation

Decision-Making

The Environmental Sustainability Working Group will provide information and advice to the Steering Committee and will share information with other Working Groups as needed.

Steering Committee for the Project to Commercialize Agricultural Biomass for Combustion Energy

Figure 1. Steering Committee for the Project to Commercialize Agricultural Biomass for Combustion Energy

Text Equivalent


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 30 May 2011
Last Reviewed: 30 May 2011

Mandats : Groupe de travail sur la durabilité environnementale du Comité directeur du projet d'exploitation commerciale de la biomasse agricole pour la production d'énergie par combustion

Table des matières

  1. Contexte
  2. Objectifs
  3. Tâches
  4. Résultats attendus
  5. Équipe d'étude PGO/PAE
  6. Membres du Groupe de travail sur la durabilité environnementale
  7. Prise de décision

Contexte

Le Groupe de travail sur la durabilité environnementale a été mis sur pied par le Comité directeur du Projet d'exploitation commerciale de la biomasse agricole pour la production d'énergie par combustion en vue de formuler des recommandations sur les caractéristiques techniques relatives à la biomasse agricole. Ces caractéristiques devraient permettre de s'assurer que la biomasse provenant du secteur agricole ontarien est renouvelable et durable.

Le remplacement du charbon par de la biomasse agricole dans les centrales de l'Ontario Power Generation (OPG) constitue l'objectif principal de ce projet. Toutefois, le Groupe de travail devra également tenir compte des autres utilisateurs potentiels de biomasse agricole, y compris l'industrie du ciment, les exploitations agricoles (ex. : les serres, les exploitations d'élevage) et les secteurs qui recherchent d'autres sources de remplacement pour le carburant.

Objectifs

Le Groupe de travail sur la durabilité environnementale a pour objectif de coordonner, d'évaluer et de partager les informations liées à la durabilité environnementale de la biomasse agricole utilisée pour la production d'énergie par combustion. Il a également pour mandat de recommander les caractéristiques techniques relatives à la biomasse agricole qui permettent de garantir les caractères renouvelables et durables de la biomasse provenant du secteur agricole ontarien. Son rôle consiste en outre à formuler des avis utiles à l'élaboration de pratiques optimales de gestion agronomique pertinentes et à la définition d'exigences en matière de certification de la biomasse.

Tâches

  1. Vérifier les critères de durabilité environnementale en agriculture adoptés par d'autres gouvernements, aux échelons nationaux et infranationaux, ainsi que par des agences ou organismes internationaux, et établir s'ils s'appliquent à la biomasse agricole.
  2. Examiner et évaluer le Plan agroenvironnemental de l'Ontario en ce qui a trait aux méthodes employées pour reconnaitre la durabilité environnementale au sein des systèmes utilisés par d'autres gouvernements et évaluer la possibilité de l'adapter à des fins de certification environnementale.
  3. Recommander les caractéristiques techniques relatives à la biomasse agricole, incluant les exigences de certification qui permettent de s'assurer que la biomasse provenant du secteur agricole ontarien est renouvelable et durable.
  4. Avec la collaboration de l'Équipe d'étude PGO/PAE, évaluer la faisabilité des méthodes qui rendraient la certification de la biomasse complémentaire à l'approbation et au processus de mise en œuvre du Plan agroenvironnemental, à titre de programme additionnel facultatif.
  5. Surveiller l'évolution sur la scène internationale des critères de durabilité de la biomasse agricole ainsi que les possibilités d'application de ces critères à d'autres programmes ontariens.

Résultats attendus

  1. Présentation de mises à jour trimestrielles au Comité directeur sur l'état d'avancement des travaux.
  2. Recherche et évaluation de critères potentiels de durabilité environnementale, aux échelons international, national et infranational ainsi que de systèmes de certification qui pourraient s'appliquer à la biomasse agricole ontarienne et permettraient de s'assurer du caractère renouvelable et durable de la biomasse.
  3. Selon l'évaluation des systèmes de certification existants, formulation de recommandations sur les caractéristiques techniques de la biomasse agricole qui permettraient de s'assurer que la biomasse agricole d'origine ontarienne est renouvelable et durable.
  4. Contribution à l'orientation des travaux de l'Équipe d'étude PGO/PAE, en tenant compte du résultat attendu décrit au paragraphe 3, sur les questions liées à la durabilité environnementale et à la certification. Consultation des mandats de l'Équipe d'étude PGO/PAE pour en vérifier la portée et les tâches.
  5. Surveillance et analyse de l'évolution des systèmes de certification sur la scène internationale, nationale et infranationale (ex. : Biomass Crop Assistance Program, du département américain de l'Agriculture) et présentation d'avis au Comité directeur si les recommandations du Groupe de travail doivent être révisées en conséquence.
  6. Pour la fin de 2011, présentation au Comité directeur d'une proposition concernant la certification de biomasse agricole répondant à des critères de durabilité environnementale, en y incluant des propositions de l'Équipe d'étude PGO/PAE visant l'intégration de cette certification dans le processus d'approbation et de mise en œuvre du Plan agroenvironnemental.
  7. Rapport au Comité directeur des résultats sur l'évaluation du cycle vital de la biomasse agricole réalisée pour l'Ontario Power Generation, ainsi que d'autres évaluations pertinentes de cycles de vie.

Équipe d'étude PGO/PAE

Le Groupe de travail a mis sur pied l'Équipe d'étude des pratiques de gestion optimales et des plans agroenvironnementaux (PGO/PAE), coordonnée par le MAAARO, et qui possède ses propres mandats. L'Équipe d'étude présente régulièrement au Groupe de travail un rapport sur l'état d'avancement de ses travaux.

Membres du Groupe de travail sur la durabilité environnementale

La composition du Groupe de travail pourra varier selon les dossiers à l'étude. Des spécialistes pourront être invités à y participer sur une base permanente ou de manière ponctuelle. Liste des principaux membres :

  • Rob Lyng, Ontario Power Generation (président)
  • David Armitage, Fédération de l'agriculture de l'Ontario
  • John Fitzgibbon, Ontario Farm Environmental Coalition
  • Bryan Gilvesy, Norfolk ALUS
  • Adam Hayes, MAAARO
  • Barry Hill, Association pour l'amélioration des sols et des récoltes de l'Ontario
  • Linda Pim, MAAARO
  • Paul Smith, MAAARO
  • Nathan Stevens, Fédération des agriculteurs chrétiens de l'Ontario
  • Gord Surgeoner, Ontario Agri-Food Technologies
  • Tammy Wong, Ontario Power Generation

Prise de décision

Le Groupe de travail sur la durabilité environnementale fournira des informations et des conseils au Comité directeur et partagera des informations avec d'autres groupes de travail, au besoin.

Comité directeur du Projet d'exploitation de la biomasse agricole pour la production d'énergie par combustion

Figure 1. Comité directeur du Projet d'exploitation de la biomasse agricole pour la production d'énergie par combustion

Texte

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 31 mai 2011
Dernière révision : 31 mai 2011