Terms of Reference - Business Case Working Group of the Steering Committee for the Project to Commercialize Agricultural Biomass for Combustion Energy

Table of Contents

  1. Background
  2. Purpose
  3. Tasks
  4. Deliverables
  5. Business Case Analysis
  6. Members of the Business Case Working Group
  7. Decision-Making

Background

The Business Case Working Group was formed by the Steering Committee for the Project to Commercialize Agricultural Biomass for Combustion Energy to coordinate analysis of business considerations associated with the use of agricultural biomass for combustion energy in Ontario.

While replacement of coal with agricultural biomass in Ontario Power Generation's (OPG) units is the main focus of this project, the business case analysis will also address other potential users of agricultural biomass including the cement industry, agricultural operations (e.g. greenhouses, livestock operations) and others seeking an alternative fuel source.

Purpose

The purpose of the Business Case Working Group is to analyze whether there is a business case for agricultural biomass for combustion to justify commercialization in Ontario. Business considerations will be central to the Steering Committee's overall assessment of whether commercialization of agricultural biomass should be pursued.

Tasks

  1. Assemble the necessary expertise to enable the working group to develop an objective, transparent and flexible analysis of business considerations at each step in the agricultural biomass value chain.
  2. Draw on the expertise of the Technical Working Group, Environmental Sustainability Working Group, and other research underway to analyze whether there is a business case for agricultural biomass.
  3. Analyze the working group's ability to deliver on these Terms of Reference and the need for additional resources.
  4. Develop a draft framework for the business case analysis that includes both quantifiable and unquantifiable inputs. The framework will include a workplan with timelines for all of the required inputs, using the draft Steering Committee Work Plan (June 14, 2010) as a starting point for scoping the working group's work. This framework will be presented to the Steering Committee at its fall 2010 meeting.
  5. Provide advice to the Steering Committee and its other working groups on research gaps that need to be filled to analyze the business case.

Deliverables

  1. Quarterly status updates to the Steering Committee on progress in analyzing the business case. The updates will include a synthesis of what is known and still needs to be known to complete the analysis.
  2. By the end of 2011, the business case analysis will be completed for Steering Committee consideration. The business case will be a key factor in the Steering Committee's overall assessment of agricultural biomass feasibility.

Business Case Analysis

The framework for the business case needs to account for different supply, demand and processing scenarios and be flexible to making adjustments over time as information is revealed. The business case analysis will consider different pathways that businesses could chose to take in pursuing the opportunity.

The following are some of the key components to be considered:

  • Economics
    • Financial analysis at each step in the agricultural biomass value chain
    • Business risk management
    • Impact on competing uses for agricultural biomass
    • Competitiveness with forestry biomass, US-sourced biomass and other sources of energy
  • Risks of proceeding/not proceeding
  • Deliverable schedule
  • Environmental and societal considerations
  • Other items identified in the Steering Committee's Draft Work Plan (June 14, 2010)

Members of the Business Case Working Group

The composition of the Working Group may vary over time based on the issues being examined. Experts may be invited to participate on an on-going basis as members of the working group or contribute on an ad hoc basis.

The core members include:

  • John Kelly, Erie Innovations & Commercialization (Chair)
  • Gord Surgeoner, Ontario Agri-Food Technologies
  • Barry Hill, Ontario Soil and Crop Improvement Association
  • John Clement, Christian Farmers Federation of Ontario
  • Dean Tiessen, Pyramid Farms (Miscanthus grower & business owner, greenhouse owner/operator)
  • Scott Abercrombie, Gildale Farms (aggregator)
  • Kurt Vanclief, Willowlee Sod Farms Ltd. (switchgrass producer)
  • Aung Oo, Sarnia-Lambton Research Park, University of Western Ontario
  • Al Ker, University of Guelph, Institutional Economics, Trade, Risk Management
  • Lovleen Bassan, Ontario Power Generation
  • Stephen Duff, OMAFRA (Senior Economist)
  • Saif Sumbal, OMAFRA (Economist)
  • Helma Geerts, OMAFRA (Policy)

Decision-Making

The Business Case Working Group will provide advice to the Steering Committee.

While private business may consider the information collected for the business case analysis when making business decisions, this project is not intended to be prescriptive about different business models, technologies or opportunities to be pursued.

Steering Committee for the Project to Commercialize Agricultural Biomass for Combustion Energy

Figure 1. Steering Committee for the Project to Commercialize Agricultural Biomass for Combustion Energy

Text Equivalent


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 01 December 2010
Last Reviewed: 01 December 2010

Mandats : Groupe de travail sur l'analyse de rentabilité du Comité directeur du Projet d'exploitation commerciale de la biomasse agricole pour la production d'énergie par combustion

Table des matières

  1. Contexte
  2. Objectif
  3. Tâches
  4. Résultats attendus
  5. Analyse de rentabilité
  6. Membres du Groupe de travail sur l'analyse de rentabilité
  7. Prise de décision

Contexte

Le Groupe de travail sur l'analyse de rentabilité a été mis sur pied par le Comité directeur du Projet d'exploitation commerciale de la biomasse agricole pour la production d'énergie par combustion en vue de coordonner l'analyse des aspects commerciaux associés à l'utilisation de biomasse agricole pour la production d'énergie par combustion en Ontario.

Le remplacement du charbon par de la biomasse agricole dans les centrales de l'Ontario Power Generation (OPG's) constitue l'objectif principal de l'ensemble du projet. Toutefois, l'analyse de rentabilité permettra de tenir compte des autres utilisateurs potentiels de la biomasse agricole, notamment l'industrie de la fabrication du ciment, les exploitations agricoles (serres, fermes d'élevage) et les différents secteurs qui souhaitent utiliser un carburant de remplacement.

Objectif

Le Groupe de travail sur l'analyse de rentabilité a pour objectif d'évaluer si la production de biomasse agricole pour la production d'énergie par combustion est suffisamment rentable pour en justifier l'exploitation commerciale en Ontario. La rentabilité sera déterminante dans l'évaluation globale par le comité directeur, en vue de décider si l'exploitation commerciale de biomasse agricole devrait ou non être poursuivie.

Tâches

  1. Regrouper l'expertise nécessaire pour permettre au groupe de travail d'effectuer une analyse objective, transparente et nuancée de la rentabilité pour chaque maillon de la filière de la biomasse agricole.
  2. S'appuyer sur l'expertise du Groupe de travail technique, du Groupe de travail sur la durabilité environnementale et sur les autres projets de recherche en cours pour analyser s'il est rentable d'exploiter commercialement la biomasse agricole.
  3. Analyser la capacité du groupe de travail à accomplir ces mandats et évaluer les ressources additionnelles requises.
  4. Préparer un cadre de référence provisoire pour l'analyse de rentabilité comprenant les facteurs quantifiables et non quantifiables. Le cadre de référence comprendra un plan de travail avec des échéanciers pour tous les facteurs pertinents, fixés selon le plan de travail provisoire du comité directeur (14 juin 2010), et il sera utilisé comme point de départ pour établir la portée des tâches du groupe de travail. Ce cadre sera présenté au comité directeur à sa réunion, à l'automne 2010.
  5. Conseiller le comité directeur et ses autres groupes de travail sur les lacunes qui devraient être comblées en recherche pour mener à bien l'analyse de rentabilité.

Résultats attendus

  1. Mises à jour trimestrielles présentées au comité directeur sur l'état d'avancement de l'analyse de rentabilité. Les mises à jour comprendront une synthèse des éléments connus et de ceux qui restent à éclaircir pour compléter l'analyse.
  2. L'analyse de rentabilité devra être terminée pour la fin de 2011 pour examen par le comité directeur. Cette analyse sera déterminante dans l'évaluation globale par le comité directeur de la faisabilité de l'exploitation commerciale de biomasse agricole.

Analyse de rentabilité

Le cadre de référence de l'analyse de rentabilité doit tenir compte des divers scénarios relatifs à l'offre, à la demande et à la transformation et être suffisamment souple pour permettre d'y apporter éventuellement des modifications selon les informations disponibles. L'analyse de rentabilité devra aussi se pencher sur les différentes possibilités commerciales permettant d'exploiter ce débouché.

Exemples d'éléments importants à examiner :

  • Aspect économique
    • Analyse financière relative à chaque maillon de la filière de la biomasse agricole.
    • Gestion des risques d'entreprise.
    • Répercussions sur les utilisations concurrentes de la biomasse agricole.
    • Concurrence avec la biomasse forestière, la biomasse de source américaine et les autres sources d'énergie.
  • Risques de donner suite ou non au projet.
  • Échéancier des résultats attendus.
  • Enjeux environnementaux et sociétaux.
  • Autres points précisés dans le plan de travail provisoire du comité directeur (14 juin 2010).

Membres du Groupe de travail sur l'analyse de rentabilité

La composition du groupe de travail pourra varier selon les dossiers à l'étude. Des spécialistes pourront être invités à y participer sur une base permanente ou de manière ponctuelle.

Liste des principaux membres :

  • John Kelly, Erie Innovations & Commercialization (président)
  • Gord Surgeoner, Ontario Agri-Food Technologies
  • Barry Hill, Association pour l'amélioration des sols et des récoltes de l'Ontario
  • John Clement, Christian Farmers Federation of Ontario
  • Dean Tiessen, Pyramid Farms (producteur de miscanthus et propriétaire d'entreprise, propriétaire/exploitant de serres)
  • Scott Abercrombie, Gildale Farms (distributeur)
  • Kurt Vanclief, Willowlee Sod Farms Ltd. (producteur de panic raide)
  • Aung Oo, Sarnia-Lambton Research Park, University of Western Ontario
  • Al Ker, Université de Guelph, Économie institutionnelle, commerce, gestion des risques
  • Lovleen Bassan, Ontario Power Generation
  • Stephen Duff, MAAARO, (économiste principal)
  • Saif Sumbal, MAAARO, (économiste)
  • Helma Geerts, MAAARO (politiques)

Prise de décision

Le Groupe de travail sur l'analyse de rentabilité conseillera le comité directeur.

Bien que les entreprises privées puissent tenir compte des informations recueillies dans le cadre de l'analyse de rentabilité pour prendre des décisions de nature opérationnelle, ce projet n'a pas pour but de recommander l'adoption de modèles, de technologies ou de débouchés précis.

Comité directeur du Projet d'exploitation de la biomasse agricole pour la production d'énergie par combustion

Figure 1. Comité directeur du Projet d'exploitation de la biomasse agricole pour la production d'énergie par combustion

Texte

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 01 decembre 2010
Dernière révision : 01 decembre 2010