Terms of Reference - Best Management Practices/Environmental Farm Plan Task Team, established under the Agri-Sustainability Working Group of the Steering Committee for the Project to Commercialize Agricultural Biomass for Combustion Energy

Table of Contents

  1. Background
  2. Purpose
  3. Scope
  4. Tasks
  5. Members of the BMP/EFP Task Team
  6. Accountability

Background

The Best Management Practices/Environmental Farm Plan Task Team (BMP/EFP Task Team) was formed by the Agri-Sustainability Working Group of the Steering Committee for the Project to Commercialize Agricultural Biomass for Combustion Energy to identify and guide development of materials related to the Best Management Practices (BMPs) required to achieve sustainable production of agricultural biomass for energy generation.

A Best Management Practice is an environmentally sustainable farm practice, technology or system that integrates the concurrent goals of environmental protection, agricultural productivity, fiscal responsibility, practicality and field-proven efficacy. A BMP can be a preventative measure, a management practice or a remedial measure.

While replacement of coal with agricultural biomass in Ontario Power Generation's (OPG's) units is the main focus of the overall project, this Task Team will also consider the needs/involvement of other potential users of agricultural biomass for combustion energy, including steel and cement manufacturing, agricultural operations (e.g. greenhouses, livestock operations) and others seeking an alternative fuel source. In addition, there is acknowledgement of several competing demands for some forms of agricultural biomass, for example for animal bedding, to manufacture bio-products, etc.

Purpose

The purpose of the BMP/EFP Task Team is to identify and provide direction on the development of BMP materials that support the adoption of farm practices which help to ensure agricultural biomass is produced and harvested in an environmentally sustainable manner, including:

  • Identification of the BMPs that should be implemented through Environmental Farm Plans to sustainably grow and harvest annual and perennial purpose-grown agricultural biomass crops and crop residues
  • Identification of the best ways to communicate these BMPs in order to encourage adoption by producers
  • Input to the Agri-Sustainability Working Group's consideration of environmental certification methods

Scope

  • Focus on defining environmentally sustainable practices related to production and harvest of agricultural biomass – including annual and perennial energy crops, short-rotation woody crops, and crop residues
  • Need for BMPs that ensure agricultural biomass meets the definition of "renewable biomass" under the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) – requirement that soil organic carbon stocks do not decrease over time
  • Investigation of need to address other environmental sustainability factors beyond carbon stocks, e.g. nutrient cycling, soil degradation, biodiversity, invasiveness of biomass crop species
  • Building on knowledge gained across Ontario from researchers, farm-scale demonstration plots, and experience of early adopters
  • Recognition that while significant research on environmental sustainability of agricultural biomass has been completed and is underway, many unanswered questions remain – e.g. energy crop production systems (fertilization, pest management), how to best retain micronutrients, sustainable levels of residue removal. Therefore, BMP development will be an iterative process, with content expected to be relatively general at the outset, followed by refinements over time, as warranted, based on research findings, new certification standards, etc.

Tasks

Timelines for tasks will be based on available resources and the needs of biomass producers and customers.

Tasks could be completed by Task Team members and/or through partnerships with appropriate organizations and/or by consultants as resources permit.

Tasks include but are not necessarily limited to the following:

  • Gather and assess current environmental sustainability recommendations in the EFP, BMP booklets, factsheets, information sheets and other sources as they pertain to agricultural biomass production and harvest
  • Develop recommended list of BMPs to address environmental sustainability of agricultural biomass, with scientific rationale for inclusion
  • Assist OMAFRA Environmental Management Branch staff in developing recommended contents for a new BMP booklet on agricultural biomass sustainability, which should be shared with stakeholder groups (e.g. agricultural and environmental organizations) for input at the appropriate time
  • Determine whether, in the view of the Task Team, the EFP needs to be amended. If so, proposed future amendments will be identified:
    • New worksheets: biomass energy crops; crop residue removal
    • Modifications to existing worksheets if necessary
  • Provide input to the Agri-Sustainability Working Group on sustainability certification methods
  • Identify the requirements of third-party certifiers and develop the training programs necessary to meeting those requirements
  • Undertake a jurisdictional scan or otherwise become aware of:
    • The state of BMP knowledge related to agricultural biomass
    • BMP research needs, with potential to tap into OMAFRA's research funding programs.

Members of the BMP/EFP Task Team

The composition of the Task Team may vary over time based on the issues being examined. Experts may be invited to participate on an ongoing basis as members of the Task Team or contribute on an ad hoc basis.

The core members are:

  • OMAFRA (managers noted in parentheses)
    • Agriculture Development Branch: (Annette Anderson, Dawn Pate) Adam Hayes
    • Environmental Management Branch: Program Coordination, Research & Partnerships: (Nigel Wood) Cindy Bradley-MacMillan,Ted Taylor
    • Environmental Management Branch: Training, Education and Communications: (Mari Komljanec) John Smith
    • Environmental Management Branch: Innovation, Engineering & Program Delivery: (Colleen Fitzgerald-Hubble) Steve Clarke
    • Food Safety & Environmental Policy Branch: (David Cooper) Linda Pim (Chair), Paul Smith
  • Biomass Producer: Jamie Fisher
  • Ontario Federation of Agriculture and/or Ontario Farm Environmental Coalition: David Armitage and/or John Fitzgibbon
  • University of Guelph: Plant Agriculture: Bill Deen
  • Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada: Maxine Kingston

Accountability

  • Regular updates on the Task Team's work will be provided to the Working Group, which in turn will provide updates and advice to the OPG/OMAFRA-led Steering Committee of the Project to Commercialize Agricultural Biomass for Combustion Energy

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 01 December 2010
Last Reviewed: 01 December 2010

Mandats : Équipe d'étude des pratiques de gestion optimales et des plans agroenvironnementaux, parrainé par le Groupe de travail sur la durabilité de la biomasse agricole du Comité directeur du Projet d'exploitation commerciale de la biomasse agricole pour la production d'énergie par combustion

Table des matières

  1. Contexte
  2. Objectif
  3. Portée
  4. Tâches
  5. Membres de l'Équipe d'étude PGO/PAE
  6. Responsabilité

Contexte

L'Équipe d'étude des pratiques de gestion optimales et des plans agroenvironnementaux (Équipe d'étude PGO/PAE) a été mise sur pied par le Groupe de travail sur la durabilité de la biomasse agricole qui relève du Comité directeur du Projet d'exploitation commerciale de la biomasse agricole pour la production d'énergie par combustion. Son objectif est de trouver du matériel et d'en orienter l'utilisation, en ce qui a trait aux pratiques de gestion optimales (PGO) requises pour assurer la production durable de biomasse agricole utilisée comme source d'énergie par combustion.

Une pratique de gestion optimale désigne une pratique, une technologie ou un système agricole respectueux de l'environnement qui a pour but de simultanément protéger l'environnement, assurer la productivité agricole et permettre la responsabilité financière. Une pratique de gestion optimale doit en outre être réaliste et son efficacité doit avoir été démontrée sous des conditions réelles. Il peut s'agir d'une mesure préventive, d'une pratique de gestion ou d'une mesure corrective.

Le remplacement du charbon par de la biomasse agricole dans les centrales de l'Ontario Power Generation (OPG's) constitue l'objectif principal de l'ensemble du projet. Toutefois, cette équipe d'étude va aussi se pencher sur les besoins et la participation d'autres utilisateurs potentiels de biomasse agricole pour la production d'énergie par combustion, notamment les fabricants d'acier et de ciment, les exploitations agricoles (serres, fermes d'élevage) et les différents secteurs qui souhaitent utiliser un carburant de remplacement. On constate en outre une demande concurrentielle de certaines formes de biomasse agricole, pour la production de litière animale, par exemple, la fabrication de bioproduits, etc.

Objectif

L'Équipe d'étude PGO/PAE a pour objectif de trouver du matériel et d'en orienter l'utilisation, afin de promouvoir l'adoption de pratiques agricoles permettant d'assurer que la biomasse agricole est produite et récoltée dans le respect de l'environnement.

  • Établir les PGO qui devraient être mises en œuvre dans le cadre des plans agroenvironnementaux afin d'assurer une croissance et une récolte respectueuses de l'environnement de cultures annuelles et vivaces et de résidus de culture produits à des fins énergétiques.
  • Déterminer les meilleurs moyens de diffuser ces PGO afin d'inciter les producteurs à les mettre en œuvre.
  • Conseiller le Groupe de travail sur la durabilité de la biomasse agricole relativement aux méthodes de certification environnementale.

Portée

  • Définir des pratiques respectueuses de l'environnement liées à la production et à la récolte de biomasse agricole, comprenant notamment les cultures énergétiques vivaces, les cultures ligneuses à courte révolution, et les résidus de cultures.
  • Trouver des PGO qui permettent que la biomasse agricole produite soit conforme à la définition de « biomasse renouvelable » en vertu de l'exigence de la Convention-cadre des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques (CCNUCC), selon laquelle les stocks de carbone organique dans le sol ne doivent pas diminuer avec le temps.
  • Évaluer la nécessité de se pencher sur d'autres facteurs relatifs à la durabilité sur le plan environnemental en plus des stocks de carbone, comme le cycle des éléments nutritifs, la dégradation des sols, la biodiversité et l'envahissement de certaines espèces culturales utilisées pour la production de biomasse.
  • Utiliser les connaissances acquises en Ontario par les chercheurs dans le cadre des parcelles de démonstration à la ferme et par l'expérience de ceux qui ont adopté cette technologie à ses débuts.
  • Tenir compte du fait que malgré l'importance des recherches déjà effectuées et en cours portant sur la durabilité de la biomasse agricole, il reste encore beaucoup de questions sans réponses. Ces questions portent entre autres sur les systèmes de production des cultures énergétiques (fertilisation, lutte antiparasitaire), sur la meilleure manière de retenir les oligoéléments ainsi que sur les limites acceptables sur le plan environnemental relatives à l'enlèvement des résidus de culture. L'élaboration des PGO sera donc un processus itératif et leur contenu devrait être relativement général au début, pour être précisé par la suite, au besoin, selon les résultats des recherches, les nouvelles normes de certification, etc.

Tâches

Les échéanciers des différentes tâches seront établis en fonction des ressources disponibles et des besoins des producteurs et des acheteurs de biomasse.

Les tâches pourront être accomplies par les membres de l'équipe d'étude ou par le biais de partenariats avec les organisations concernées, ou encore par des conseillers, selon les ressources disponibles.

Exemples de tâches à effectuer par l'équipe d'étude :

  • Rassembler et évaluer les recommandations actuelles concernant la durabilité de l'environnement contenues dans les PAE, les fascicules sur les PGO, les fiches techniques, les fiches d'information, etc., qui sont reliées à la production et à la récolte de la biomasse agricole.
  • Dresser une liste des PGO recommandées reliées à la durabilité de la biomasse agricole, et en préciser les fondements scientifiques.
  • Aider le personnel de la Direction de la gestion environnementale du MAAARO à formuler le contenu recommandé pour un nouveau fascicule de la série sur les PGO sur la durabilité de la biomasse agricole, lequel contenu devra être soumis à d'autres groupes d'intervenants (comme des organisations agricoles et environnementales) afin de recueillir leur point de vue en temps opportun.
  • Établir si, selon l'opinion de l'équipe d'étude, il est nécessaire de modifier le PAE. Si oui, préciser les modifications proposées par les moyens suivants :
    • Nouvelles feuilles de travail : cultures énergétiques; retrait de résidus culturaux.
    • Modifications aux feuilles de travail existantes si nécessaire.
  • Conseiller le Groupe de travail sur la durabilité de la biomasse agricole au sujet des méthodes de certification environnementale.
  • Établir les exigences relatives aux certificateurs indépendants et élaborer les programmes de formation nécessaires pour se conformer à ces exigences.
  • Entreprendre un examen des compétences ou s'enquérir des points suivants :
    • L'état des connaissances sur les PGO relatives à la biomasse agricole.
    • Les besoins de recherche sur les PGO, et les possibilités de puiser dans les programmes de financement de la recherche du MAAARO.

Membres de l'Équipe d'étude PGO/PAE

La composition de l'équipe d'étude pourra varier selon les dossiers. Des spécialistes pourront être invités à y participer sur une base permanente ou de manière ponctuelle.

Liste des principaux membres :

  • MAAARO (entre parenthèses, les noms des chefs de direction)
    • Direction du développement de l'agriculture : (Annette Anderson, Dawn Pate) Adam Hayes
    • Direction de la gestion environnementale – Coordination des programmes, de la recherche et des partenariats : (Nigel Wood) Cindy Bradley–MacMillan, Ted Taylor
    • Direction de la gestion environnementale – Formation, éducation et communications : (Mari Komljanec), John Smith
    • Direction de la gestion environnementale – Innovation, génie et prestation des programmes : (Colleen Fitzgerald-Hubble), Steve Clarke
    • Direction des politiques de l'environnement et de la salubrité des aliments : (David Cooper), Linda Pim (présidente), Paul Smith
  • Producteur de biomasse : Jamie Fisher
  • Fédération de l'agriculture de l'Ontario et Ontario Farm Environmental Coalition : David Armitage et John Fitzgibbon
  • Université de Guelph – Phytotechnie : Bill Deen
  • Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada : Maxine Kingston

Responsabilité

  • Des mises à jour sur les travaux de l'équipe d'étude devront être présentées régulièrement au Groupe de travail sur la durabilité de la biomasse agricole qui devra, à son tour, transmettre des mises à jour et des avis au Comité directeur du Projet d'exploitation de la biomasse agricole pour la production d'énergie par combustion, qui est sous la supervision de l'OPG et du MAAARO.
Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 01 decembre 2010
Dernière révision : 01 decembre 2010