Project to Commercialize Agricultural Biomass for Combustion Energy Year-End Status Report - December 2011

This Status Report documents Working Group progress in assessing the feasibility of commercializing agricultural biomass for combustion energy, for the consideration of the Steering Committee. It identifies the activities undertaken by the Working Group and learnings from these activities i.e. what is known and still needs to be known on priority areas of focus. It also identifies outstanding priorities and how they will be addressed to allow for project planning.


Working Group: Environmental Sustainability

Chair: Rob Lyng, OPG

Working Group Members: Tammy Wong, OPG; David Armitage, OFA; Linda Pim, OMAFRA; Bryan Gilvesy, Norfolk ALUS; John Fitzgibbon, OFEC; Barry Hill, OSCIA; Nathan Stevens, CFFO ;Gord Surgeoner, OAFT; Adam Hayes, OMAFRA; Paul Smith, OMAFRA; Rob Cumming, Lafarge

Reporting Period: 2010/01 to 2011/12


Working Group Purpose

(Copy from Terms of Reference)

The purpose of the Environmental Sustainability Working Group is to monitor, assess, and share information related to the environmental sustainability of agricultural biomass used for combustion energy generation, recommend specifications of agricultural biomass to provide assurance that biomass sourced from Ontario's agricultural sector is renewable and sustainable, and provide input leading to the development of appropriate agronomic best management practices and biomass certification requirements.


Activities Undertaken or Planned by the Working Group

Activities Undertaken or Planned

Completion Date of Activities Undertaken

Deliverable

Comments

Identify and describe individual activities e.g. forums, consultation with experts, review of research, development of fuel spec or model

yyyy/mm

Study, data, report, presentation, memo etc.

 
  • Development of (draft) "Fuel Specification for Agricultural Biomass Sustainability Criteria and Assurance"

2010/10

Draft fuel specification

The draft fuel spec was considered and agreed upon by the WG in Oct. 2010. Since then, considerations related to grower acceptability of an EFP-based sustainability spec have led to additional work on a sustainability framework by the BMP-EFP Task Team, which reports to the Working Group

  • Assessment of Certification Systems for Agricultural Biomass for Biofuels; USDA Biomass Crop Final Rule; Biomass Sustainability Criteria: Recent Developments in Europe; Council on Sustainable Biomass Production (CSBP)

2010/05, 2011/01, 2011/09

Presentations to Working Group by Tammy Wong, OPG

International reviews found that Ontario's Environmental Farm Plan stacks up well to US and EU approaches. Tammy continues to scan for new ag biomass standards – e.g. Council on Sustainable Biomass Production "Draft Provisional Standard for Sustainable Production of Agricultural Biomass" (July 2011)

  • Life Cycle Assessment of Agricultural Biomass (Heather MacLean, Goretty Dias et al.) – conducted for OPG

2011/09

Presentation to Working Group by Goretty Dias

Publication planned in the journal Global Change Biology Bioenergy (GCB Bioenergy. Working Group members raised issues related to water footprint, and examination of soil carbon sequestration below the top 30 cm. Work continuing on Direct Land Use Change methodologies prior to publication.

  • BMP-EFP Task Team development of a Framework for Sustainable Agricultural Biomass Production and Removal

Ongoing (expected completion Nov. 2011)

Framework (checklist) for biomass producers to use to determine sustainable agricultural biomass production and removal, in conjunction with a peer-reviewed Environmental Farm Plan

OMAFRA soils specialists on task team are making final revisions to the framework, to be presented to the Working Group for its consideration

  • Information-sharing re: Lafarge-World Wildlife Fund-Canada Joint Partnership to Explore a Biomass Fuel Future

2011/09

Presentation to Working Group by Rob Cumming and WWF's Steven Price

Discussion about areas of common interest and issues where WG may be taking a different approach (e.g. EFP-based)


Significant Findings on Each Working Group Area of Focus

Focus Area

What is Known

What Still Needs to be Known

Based on key Working Group tasks and deliverables as per the Terms of Ref.

e.g. significant opportunities, challenges and barriers

i.e. critical information gaps

  • Agricultural biomass sustainability criteria from other jurisdictions and international agencies / organizations, and how Ontario's Environmental Farm Plan measures up (for certification purposes) in comparison of the biomass being renewable and sustainable

Ontario's Environmental Farm Plan content and approach stacks up well against other agricultural biomass sustainability frameworks, particularly with addition of sustainability framework / checklist currently being finalized by the BMP-EFP Task Team.

Need to know the sustainability standards / certification / verification needs of various agricultural biomass end-users as markets develop.

  • Monitoring and assessing developments related to new international, national and sub-national certification systems

New certification systems come to attention of Working Group and are assessed in terms of how Ontario's Environmental Farm Plan measures up.

Proliferation of sustainability standards / certification systems may present challenges for biomass producers planning to sell in the international market. For Ontario producers selling into the Ontario market, EFP and accompanying sustainability checklist should be sufficient.


Overall Assessment

(Provide an assessment (or preliminary assessment if more needs to be known) of the (technical, economic or environmental) feasibility of agricultural biomass for combustion energy. To do this, synthesize the information above on What is Known and What Still Needs to be Known and summarize the observations of the Working Group on biomass feasibility)

Environmental sustainability parameters for Ontario production of agricultural biomass for energy generation are generally well understood. However, a method of certification or other form of sustainability assurance needs to be decided upon for Ontario producers and end-users of Ontario-produced biomass. Sustainability assurance as a process associated with a farmer's Environmental Farm Plan (EFP) is currently the preferred path forward; the BMP-EFP Task Team is finalizing a sustainability framework/checklist for use by Ontario biomass producers in conjunction with their EFPs. The EFP performs well against an international scan of existing guidelines and certification systems for agricultural biomass.

Life Cycle Assessment for agricultural biomass as undertaken for Ontario Power Generation is of considerable interest to the Working Group. Both the researchers and Working Group members have identified some limitations of currently available LCA models.

The Working Group's work will benefit from liaison with the Lafarge Canada / World Wildlife Fund Canada joint project on agricultural biomass fuels.


Outstanding Priorities

Outstanding Priorities

How and When Priorities Will be Addressed

Consequences if Priorities are not Addressed

Identify priorities that still need to be addressed to complete or validate the Working Group's assessment of feasibility (one row per priority)

Identify the activities required to address the outstanding priorities and provide the target completion date for each activity (yyyy/mm)

List the impact of not responding to the outstanding priority

  • Certification / sustainability assurance: Task Team's sustainability framework
  • BMP-EFP Task Team will present the agricultural biomass sustainability framework to the Working Group for its review, expected by Nov.-Dec. 2011.
  • Taking the sustainability framework forward is essential to fulfilling the mandate of the Working Group.
  • Certification / sustainability assurance: Evaluation of the Task Team's sustainability framework against (internationally available) sustainability assurance systems
  • Discussion at Working Group about the sustainability framework versus other sustainability assurance systems in terms of both Ontario biomass producer acceptance and the needs of biomass end-users. January-March 2012.
  • Discussion of the most workable sustainability assurance system for both biomass producers and end-users is essential to fulfilling the mandate of the Working Group.

Additional Notes/Comments

(Enter additional comments, not summarized in other areas of this report, but critical to understanding the status of the project in terms of its timelines, resources and deliverables)


References

(Identify the resources used by the Working Group to arrive at their assessment (e.g. reports, websites, key experts consulted) )

Scan of biomass sustainability certification standards


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 23 August 2012
Last Reviewed: 22 January 2014

Projet d'exploitation commerciale de la biomasse agricole pour la production d'énergie par combustion Rapport de fin d'année - Décembre 2011

Le présent rapport rend compte au comité directeur de l'état d'avancement des travaux entrepris par le groupe de travail dans le but d'évaluer la faisabilité de l'exploitation commerciale de la biomasse agricole pour la production d'énergie par combustion. Il énumère les activités entreprises par le groupe de travail et les connaissances acquises grâce à ces activités, c.-à-d., les connaissances actuelles et les lacunes à combler dans les secteurs prioritaires. Pour faciliter la planification, il souligne également les grandes priorités et comment elles seront abordées.


Groupe de travail : Groupe de travail sur la durabilité environnementale

Président : Rob Lyng, OPG

Membres du groupe de travail : Tammy Wong, OPG; David Armitage, FAO; Linda Pim, MAAARO; Bryan Gilvesy, Norfolk ALUS; John Fitzgibbon, OFEC; Barry Hill, AASRO; Nathan Stevens, CFFO; Gord Surgeoner, OAFT; Adam Hayes, MAAARO; Paul Smith, MAAARO; Rob Cumming, Lafarge

Période visée par le rapport : 01/2010 à 12/2011


Objectif du groupe de travail

(Texte tiré de l'énoncé du mandat)

Le Groupe de travail sur la durabilité environnementale a été mis sur pied pour : suivre, évaluer et partager l'information liée à la durabilité environnementale de la biomasse agricole utilisée pour la production d'énergie par combustion; recommander des normes techniques relatives à la biomasse agricole qui permettront de garantir que la biomasse issue du secteur agricole ontarien est renouvelable et durable; et formuler des avis utiles à l'élaboration de pratiques de gestion agronomique optimales pertinentes et à la détermination d'exigences en matière de certification de la biomasse.


Activités entreprises ou planifiées par le groupe de travail

Activités entreprises ou planifiées

Date d'achèvement des activités entreprises

Résultats attendus

Remarques

Nommer et décrire chaque activité, p. ex., forums, consultations auprès d'experts, examen de la recherche, élaboration de modèles ou de normes visant les combustibles

mm/aaaa

Étude, données, rapport, exposé, communiqué, etc.

 

  • Élaboration d'une ébauche de normes techniques débouchant sur des critères et une garantie de durabilité de la biomasse agricole

10/2010

Ébauche de normes.

L'ébauche a été étudiée et acceptée par le groupe de travail en oct. 2010. Depuis, la question de l'acceptabilité par les producteurs d'une norme de durabilité fondée sur les PAE a amené l'équipe d'étude des pratiques de gestion optimales et des plans agroenvironnementaux (PGO/PAE), qui relève du groupe de travail, à élaborer un cadre de durabilité.

  • Évaluation des systèmes de certification de la biomasse destinée à la production de biocombustibles; règlement définitif du USDA sur les cultures servant à la production de biomasse; critères de durabilité de la biomasse : progrès récents en Europe; Council on Sustainable Biomass Production (CSBP)

05/2010, 01/2011, 09/2011

Exposé de Tammy Wong, OPG, devant le groupe de travail

Selon des études internationales, le Programme Canada-Ontario des plans agro-environnementaux se compare bien aux démarches entreprises par les É.-U. et la C.E. Tammy reste à l'affût de nouvelles normes sur la biomasse agricole, p. ex., la norme « Draft Provisional Standard for Sustainable Production of Agricultural Biomass » publiée en juillet 2011 par le Council on Sustainable Biomass Production.

  • Analyse du cycle de vie de la biomasse agricole (Life Cycle Assessment of Agricultural Biomass) effectuée pour le compte d'OPG par Heather MacLean, Goretty Dias et coll.)

09/2011

Exposé de Goretty Dias devant le groupe de travail

Publication prévue dans le périodique Global Change Biology Bioenergy (GCB Bioenergy). Les membres du groupe de travail ont soulevé des points relativement à l'empreinte aquatique et à l'étude du piégeage du carbone sous la première couche de 30 cm de sol. D'ici la publication, poursuite des travaux sur les méthodologies de modification directe de l'utilisation du territoire.

  • Élaboration par l'équipe d'étude PGO/PAE d'un cadre visant la production et le prélèvement durables de la biomasse agricole

En cours (achèvement prévu en nov. 2011)

Cadre (liste de vérification) que les producteurs de biomasse utiliseront conjointement avec un plan agro-environnemental revu par des pairs pour s'assurer du caractère durable de la production et du prélèvement de la biomasse agricole.

Les spécialistes des sols du MAAARO qui font partie de l'équipe d'étude mettent la dernière main au cadre en vue de le soumettre au groupe de travail.

  • Partage d'information dans le cadre d'un partenariat entre Lafarge, le Fonds mondial pour la nature (WWF) et le Canada visant l'étude des perspectives offertes par un combustible issu de la biomasse

09/2011

Exposé de Rob Cumming, Lafarge, et Steven Price, WWF, devant le groupe de travail.

Échanges sur les points présentant un intérêt commun et les problèmes que le groupe de travail peut chercher à résoudre d'une manière différente (p. ex., en s'appuyant sur un plan agro-environnemental).


Conclusions importantes pour chacun des secteurs prioritaires étudiés par le groupe de travail

Secteur prioritaire

Connaissances actuelles

Lacunes à combler

Selon les tâches et les résultats attendus du groupe de travail conformément à son mandat

P. ex., occasions intéressantes, défis et obstacles

C.-à-d., lacunes critiques dans le savoir

  • Critères de durabilité de la biomasse agricole adoptés par d'autres territoires et organismes internationaux et évaluation (aux fins de certification) de l'efficacité du Programme Canada-Ontario des plans agro-environnementaux à s'assurer du caractère renouvelable et durable de la biomasse

Le contenu et l'approche du Programme Canada-Ontario des plans agro-environnementaux se comparent avantageusement à ceux d'autres cadres assurant la durabilité de la biomasse agricole, surtout avec le cadre / la liste de vérification sur la durabilité environnementale que l'équipe d'étude PGO/PAE est en train de mettre au point.

Au fur et à mesure que des marchés se créent, il faut cerner les besoins de normalisation, de certification et de vérification qu'ont les différents utilisateurs finaux de la biomasse agricole.

  • Suivi et évaluation des progrès touchant les nouveaux systèmes de certification internationaux, nationaux et infranationaux

Le groupe de travail est mis au fait des nouveaux systèmes de certification, ce qui lui permet de les comparer au Programme Canada-Ontario des plans agro-environnementaux.

La multiplication des normes de durabilité ou des systèmes de certification risque de compliquer les choses aux producteurs qui veulent vendre leur biomasse sur les marchés internationaux. Pour les producteurs ontariens qui écoulent leur biomasse sur les marchés de l'Ontario, les PAE et la liste de vérification de la durabilité qui les accompagne devraient suffire.


Évaluation globale

(Fournir une évaluation (ou une évaluation préliminaire s'il reste encore de l'information à recueillir) sur la faisabilité (technique, économique ou environnementale) de l'exploitation commerciale de la biomasse agricole pour la production d'énergie par combustion. Pour ce faire, synthétiser l'information fournie ci-dessus, sous Connaissances actuelles et Lacunes à combler et résumer les observations du groupe de travail sur cette faisabilité.)

Les paramètres de durabilité environnementale pour la production ontarienne de biomasse agricole à vocation énergétique sont généralement bien compris. Il reste toutefois à décider d'une méthode de certification ou d'une autre forme de garantie de durabilité à offrir aux producteurs ontariens et aux utilisateurs finaux de la biomasse produite en Ontario. La formule d'une garantie de durabilité assortie au plan agro-environnemental (PAE) de l'agriculteur constitue pour le moment la solution privilégiée; l'équipe d'étude PGO/PAE met actuellement au point un cadre de durabilité ou une liste de vérification destiné à être utilisé par les producteurs de biomasse de l'Ontario conjointement avec leur PAE. Le PAE se compare avantageusement aux directives sur la biomasse agricole et aux systèmes de certification actuellement utilisés ailleurs dans le monde.

Le groupe de travail s'intéresse de près à l'analyse du cycle de vie de la biomasse agricole qui est entreprise par Ontario Power Generation. Chercheurs et membres du groupe de travail voient des lacunes dans les modèles d'analyse du cycle de vie actuellement utilisés.

Le groupe de travail bénéficiera de sa participation avec Lafarge Canada et le Fonds mondial pour la nature à un projet conjoint sur les combustibles issus de la biomasse agricole.


Grandes priorités

Grandes priorités

Comment et quand s'occuper des priorités

Conséquences si l'on ne s'occupe pas des priorités

Indiquer les actions prioritaires qu'il reste à mener pour achever ou valider l'étude de faisabilité effectuée par le groupe de travail (une rangée par priorité).

Indiquer les activités qui doivent être entreprises pour s'occuper des grandes priorités, et fournir une échéance pour l'achèvement de chacune (mm/aaaa).

Indiquer ce qu'il adviendrait si l'on ne s'occupait pas des grandes priorités.

  • Certification ou assurance de durabilité : Cadre de durabilité du groupe de travail
  • Avant nov. ou déc. 2011, l'équipe d'étude PGO/PAE doit soumettre au groupe de travail un cadre de durabilité de la biomasse agricole.
  • La mise de l'avant du cadre de durabilité est indispensable à la réalisation du mandat du groupe de travail.
  • Certification ou assurance de durabilité : Comparaison du cadre de durabilité de l'équipe d'étude aux systèmes de certification de la durabilité utilisés ailleurs dans le monde
  • De janv. à mars 2012, le groupe de travail doit se demander lequel du cadre de durabilité ou d'un autre système de garantie de la durabilité bénéficiera de l'acceptation des producteurs de biomasse de l'Ontario et répondra aux besoins des utilisateurs finaux de la biomasse.
  • Un débat sur la garantie de durabilité la plus pertinente pour les producteurs de biomasse et les utilisateurs finaux est indispensable à la réalisation du mandat du groupe de travail.

Notes ou remarques supplémentaires

(Ajouter ici toute remarque qui ne figure pas ailleurs dans ce rapport, mais qui est cruciale pour comprendre où en est le projet en termes d'échéancier, de ressources et de résultats attendus.)


Bibliographie

(Indiquer les ressources dont le groupe de travail s'est servi pour en arriver à son évaluation (p. ex., rapports, sites web, principaux experts consultés))

Étude des normes de certification de la durabilité de la biomasse

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 28 août 2012
Dernière révision : 10 février 2014