Reducing the Risk of Fire on Your Farm - Leading Causes of Farm Building Fires

Table of Contents

  1. Misuse of Ignition Source or Igniting Equipment
  2. Design, Construction or Maintenance Deficiency
  3. Other Factors that Contribute to the Impact of Fires

The Office of the Fire Marshal manages a database on all fire and explosion occurrences in Ontario. Data reported by fire departments for 2004 – 2007 were analyzed for occurrences involving farm buildings to identify common causes and what can be learned to reduce them. Figure 1 shows a very large swine facility after it was destroyed by fire, in less than one hour.

Aerial photo of a large swine operation that was completely destroyed by fire in less than one hour.  All that remains standing are feed bins and a drive shed in the background.

Figure 1.0. This large swine barn was completely destroyed by fire. (Photo credit: P. Stolk, Farm Mutual Reinsurance Plan)

While the sources of many fires are undetermined due to significant fire damage, there are three leading causes of identifiable farm fires, as reported by fire services.

Mechanical/electrical failure
  • short circuit or ground fault in electrical equipment
  • failure of the built-in automatic controls in mechanical equipment or system
Misuse of ignition source or igniting equipment
  • improperly discarded smoker's material
  • ignition source left unattended
  • smoking where flammable vapours are present
  • improper use of extension cords (e.g. overloaded circuit, multiple strings in sequence)
Design, construction or maintenance deficiency
  • improperly constructed building feature or system
  • improperly installed object such as a heating appliance that is too close to combustible building features
  • improper maintenance such as failure to remove accumulation of combustible dust or debris, which is then ignited by heating appliances, process equipment or electrical equipment
  • faulty product design causes a fire even when the product is installed and used correctly

Mechanical/Electrical Failure

The insurance industry, in association with the Electrical Safety Authority (ESA), reviewed additional information on mechanical and electrical failures leading to barn fires. They identified the corrosive environment found inside confined livestock barns as the leading cause of degradation or failure of electrical equipment. The degradation is typically corrosion of the exposed metal components (e.g. wires, connections, etc.). The corrosion increases the resistance at these points causing a reduction in the flow of electricity through the circuit. The increased resistance results in more of the electrical energy being converted to heat (Figures 1.1 and 1.2). As the corrosion levels continue to increase, the heat generated rises to the ignition temperature of the materials surrounding the equipment. The decay can occur over a short period of time. Evidence of corrosion has been observed in barns less than five years after construction.

The image on the left shows a thermographic picture (uses colour to indicate different temperatures in the electrical; equipment) to show that the increased electrical resistance in the receptacle box from corrosion is being converted to heat and hence a fire hazard. The image on the right shows a close up picture of the same electrical receptacle (ceiling mounted) in the  livestock barn.

Figure 1.1. Thermographic picture of an electrical receptacle in a livestock barn. (Photo credit: R. Drysdale, Farm Mutual Reinsurance Plan)

The image on the left shows a thermographic picture (uses colour to indicate hot spots) to show the hot spots on an electrical panel in a livestock barn.  The image on the right is a normal picture of the same electrical panel in the livestock barn.

Figure 1.2. Thermographic picture of an electrical panel in a livestock barn. (Photo credit: R. Drysdale, Farm Mutual Reinsurance Plan)

Misuse of Ignition Source or Igniting Equipment

A commonly reported cause of fires in farm buildings is the misuse of equipment (i.e. arc welders, cutting torches or grinders) in the presence of combustible materials or gases without the proper safeguards. The careless use of smoker's materials (i.e. cigarettes, matches, pipes) continues to be a common cause of fires. Fires reported in this group reflect human error and are preventable with best practice operating procedures (Figure 1.3).

Picture of a man, inside a barn, using a grinder on a piece of metal.  The person is grinding over two bales of hay which are combustible materials.  This activity should be done outside the barn and away from anything that might catch fire.

Figure 1.3. Grinding operation taking place in the presence of combustible materials. Use this type of equipment outside the barn and away from combustibles, or put safeguards in place to reduce the risk of accidental ignition. 

Design, Construction or Maintenance Deficiency

Improperly designed, installed or maintained building systems are another common cause of farm building fires. This includes heating equipment, lighting systems, process equipment and electrical distribution. For example, heat shields for a suspended radiant tube heater may become displaced with the use of a high pressure washer. Without the shields properly in place, the underside of the ceiling becomes too hot and increases the potential for ignition and fire (Figures 1.4 and 1.5). Although the design and installation of the equipment is correct, a maintenance deficiency would be identified as the cause of the fire.

Picture of a radiant tube heater, suspended from the ceiling of the barn, with a section of its heat shield missing.  As a result of the missing heat shield, there is evidence of charring on the wood ceiling.

Figure 1.4. Radiant tube heater with heat shield displaced. Note charring on the ceiling. (Photo credit: R. Drysdale, Farm Mutual Reinsurance Plan)

Picture of a u-joint of a radiant tube, suspended from the ceiling, with a section of its heat shield missing above the joint.  The image shows how close the section with the missing heat shield is to the wood ceiling and an electrical conduit (all combustible).

Figure 1.5. Radiant tube heater lacking heat shield. Note close proximity to combustibles (wood ceiling and conduit). (Photo credit: R. Drysdale, Farm Mutual Reinsurance Plan)

Other Factors that Contribute to the Impact of Fires

In addition to looking at the causes of fire, it is important to review other factors that contribute to fire growth and the magnitude of the losses. An ignition source must be close to combustible materials for fire to start. Combustible materials cannot be totally avoided on the farm, but reducing their use in construction and establishing good housekeeping practices goes a long way in reducing fire growth. The use of fire compartments is an effective design strategy to contain a fire and prevent total building destruction. To be effective, keep fire compartments in good condition, including the proper operation of fire doors. Early detection and fire response are key to reducing the magnitude of farm fires. Many of these concepts and recommended considerations are covered in this guide.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 20 November 2012
Last Reviewed: 20 November 2012

Réduction des risques d'incendie à la ferme - Principales causes d'incendies à la ferme

Table des matières

  1. Mauvaise utilisation d'une source d'inflammation ou d'un dispositif d'allumage
  2. Déficience dans la conception, la construction ou l'entretien
  3. Facteurs aggravants

Le Bureau du commissaire des incendies gère une base de données dans laquelle sont consignés tous les cas d'incendies et d'explosion qui surviennent en Ontario. Une analyse des données publiées par les services d'incendie pour les années 2004 à 2007 a permis de recueillir de l'information sur les incendies touchant des bâtiments agricoles et de dégager les principales causes de ces incendies et les leçons qu'on peut en tirer. La figure 1 montre une méga-porcherie détruite par les flammes, en moins d'une heure.

Photo aérienne d'une méga-porcherie complètement détruite par les flammes, en moins d'une heure. Les seuls éléments épargnés sont des silos à moulée et un hangar.

Figure 1.0. Porcherie entièrement détruite par les flammes. (Mention de source : P. Stolk, Farm Mutual Reinsurance Plan)

Même si dans bon nombre de cas, l'ampleur des dommages empêche de déterminer la cause exacte de l'incendie, les services d'incendie attribuent les incendies à la ferme à trois causes principales.

Défaillance mécanique ou électrique
  • court-circuit ou défaut de mise à la terre du matériel électrique;
  • défaillance d'une commande automatique intégrée dans un appareil ou un système mécanique.
Mauvaise utilisation d'une source d'inflammation ou d'un dispositif d'allumage
  • négligence dans l'utilisation du tabac;
  • source d'inflammation laissée sans surveillance;
  • utilisation du tabac en présence de vapeurs inflammables;
  • mauvaise utilisation de rallonges électriques (p. ex., circuit surchargé, plusieurs jeux de lumières en séquence).
Déficience dans la conception, la construction ou l'entretien
  • défaut de construction ou d'installation d'un élément ou d'un système du bâtiment;
  • mauvaise installation d'un appareil, p. ex., un appareil de chauffage placé trop près d'un élément combustible du bâtiment;
  • mauvais état d'entretien, p. ex., omission d'enlever poussière ou débris combustibles qu'un appareil de chauffage, de procédé ou électrique peut enflammer;
  • défaut de conception d'un produit, indépendamment de la manière dont celui-ci est installé et utilisé.

Défaillance mécanique ou électrique

Le secteur de l'assurance et l'Office de la sécurité des installations électriques ont passé en revue des données supplémentaires sur les défaillances mécaniques et électriques de nature à causer des incendies dans les bâtiments d'élevage. Ils ont déterminé que le milieu corrosif présent à l'intérieur des bâtiments d'élevage clos est la principale cause de la dégradation ou de la défaillance du matériel électrique. La dégradation se manifeste le plus souvent par la corrosion des éléments métalliques exposés (p. ex., câbles ou connexions). La corrosion augmente la résistance à ces endroits, ce qui ralentit la circulation du courant électrique dans le circuit. La résistance accrue fait en sorte que davantage d'électricité se trouve convertie en chaleur (figures 1.1 et 1.2). Au fur et à mesure que les niveaux de corrosion continuent de s'accroître, la chaleur produite s'élève jusqu'à atteindre le point d'inflammation des matériaux avoisinants. La dégradation peut se produire en peu de temps. Des signes de corrosion sont observés dans des bâtiments moins de cinq ans après la construction.

Illustration en deux parties montrant, à gauche, une image thermographique (et les températures indiquées par le code de couleur) d'une boîte de prise de courant dans laquelle la corrosion provoque un accroissement de la résistance électrique et un échauffement qui constitue un risque d'incendie. La partie de droite montre un gros plan de la même boîte de prise de courant (fixée au plafond) telle qu'on la voit dans le bâtiment d'élevage.

Figure 1.1. Image thermographique d'une prise de courant située dans un bâtiment d'élevage. (Mention de source : R. Drysdale, Farm Mutual Reinsurance Plan)

Illustration en deux parties montrant, à gauche, par une image thermographique (et les températures indiquées par le code de couleur), les points chauds dans un panneau électrique situé dans un bâtiment d'élevage. La partie de droite montre une photo normale du même panneau électrique.

Figure 1.2. Image thermographique d'un panneau électrique situé dans un bâtiment d'élevage. (Mention de source : R. Drysdale, Farm Mutual Reinsurance Plan)

Mauvaise utilisation d'une source d'inflammation ou d'un dispositif d'allumage

Une cause fréquemment signalée d'incendies dans les bâtiments agricoles est la mauvaise utilisation d'appareils (tels que soudeuses à arc électrique, chalumeaux coupeurs ou meuleuses) en présence de gaz ou de matériaux combustibles, sans mesures de protection convenables. La négligence dans l'utilisation du tabac (cigarettes, allumettes, pipes, etc.) reste une cause fréquente d'incendies. Les incendies attribuables aux causes mentionnées ici témoignent de l'erreur humaine et sont évitables pour peu qu'on observe des pratiques exemplaires (figure 1.3).

Photo d'un homme debout en train de travailler un morceau de métal à l'aide d'une meuleuse. À ses pieds, se trouvent deux balles de foin, un matériau combustible. Cette activité devrait se faire à l'extérieur du bâtiment, loin de tout ce qui est de nature à prendre feu.

Figure 1.3. Opération de meulage effectuée en présence de matériaux combustibles. Utiliser ce type de matériel hors du bâtiment et loin des combustibles ou mettre en place des mesures de protection pour réduire le risque d'inflammation.

Déficience dans la conception, la construction ou l'entretien

Des systèmes mal conçus, mal installés ou mal entretenus constituent une autre cause courante d'incendies dans les bâtiments agricoles. Il peut s'agir d'appareils de chauffage et d'éclairage, de matériel servant à des procédés et de matériel de distribution de l'électricité. Par exemple, le jet d'eau d'un nettoyeur haute pression peut déplacer les écrans thermiques destinés à protéger les surfaces d'un générateur de chaleur à tubes radiants. Si les écrans thermiques sont déplacés, la sous-face du plafond peut devenir trop chaude, ce qui augmente les risques d'inflammation et d'incendie (figures 1.4 et 1.5). Même si la conception et l'installation du matériel sont bien faites, un incendie peut aussi être mis sur le compte d'une lacune dans l'entretien.

Photo d'une portion noircie du plafond d'un bâtiment d'élevage, montrant les tubes radiants et l'écran protecteur qui y sont suspendus, à un endroit où il manque justement une section de l'écran protecteur entre le plafond et les tubes radiants.

Figure 1.4. Générateur de chaleur à tubes radiants dont les écrans ont été déplacés. Remarquer les traces de carbonisation au plafond. (Mention de source : R. Drysdale, Farm Mutual Reinsurance Plan)

Gros plan d'un raccord en U reliant deux tubes radiants suspendus à un plafond. Le raccord n'est surmonté d'aucun écran protecteur, malgré la proximité du plafond en bois et d'un conduit électrique en plastique (deux matériaux combustibles).

Figure 1.5. Absence d'écran protecteur au-dessus d'un tube radiant. Noter la proximité de matériaux combustibles (plafond en bois et conduit). (Mention de source : R. Drysdale, Farm Mutual Reinsurance Plan)

Facteurs aggravants

En plus d'examiner les causes d'incendies, il est important de passer en revue les facteurs qui contribuent à la propagation des flammes et à l'aggravation des pertes. Pour qu'un incendie se déclare, il faut qu'une source d'inflammation se trouve à proximité de matériaux combustibles. À la ferme, il est impossible d'éliminer complètement les matériaux combustibles, mais en en réduisant l'emploi dans la construction et en adoptant de bonnes pratiques de tenue des locaux, on peut contribuer grandement à réduire la propagation des flammes. Le recours aux compartiments résistant au feu constitue une stratégie de conception efficace pour contenir un foyer d'incendie et empêcher la destruction de tout un bâtiment. Pour que le compartiment résistant au feu donne des résultats, le garder en bon état, en veillant particulièrement à ce que les portes coupe-feu fonctionnent correctement. La maîtrise des incendies passe par une détection et une intervention précoces. Le présent guide s'attarde à bon nombre de ces notions et recommandations.

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 21 novembre 2012
Dernière révision : 21 novembre 2012