Farm Fire and Emergency Sketch

Farm fires, especially those involving livestock, are a devastating and stressful event for farm families. The property damage, loss of poultry or livestock, interruption of production and injuries cost the Ontario agricultural industry millions of dollars a year.

What is a Farm Fire and Emergency Sketch?

A farm fire and emergency sketch is an aerial photo of your farm that identifies significant farm features, fire risk areas, water sources and access routes for emergency vehicles. Developing this sketch is an important first step in preparing for emergencies, as information given during an emergency, when stress levels are high, can be sporadic and incomplete, or the person who has the information may not be available.

The sketch can also be used for:

  • training your family and employees for emergency situations
  • developing a preventative maintenance and housekeeping schedule to reduce the risks of fire
  • ensuring the safety of first responders during an emergency

We recommend that you store your sketch at your operation to have on-hand in the event of an emergency. It's also a good idea to share it with local fire prevention officers or use it as a basis for a fire prevention inspection (a service offered by some municipalities). Giving first responders the sketch ahead of time will help them to know potential risks on your farm, and provides an opportunity to improve their response to an emergency.

Creating a Farm Fire and Emergency Sketch

Step 1: Aerial Photo

Get an aerial image of your farm and property. You can find an aerial image of your farm using the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs' (OMAFRA) Agricultural Information Atlas (AIA) at ontario.ca/agmaps. However, an aerial image from any source will work.

Step 2: Farm Fire and Emergency Checklist

With the help of first responders, we compiled a checklist to help you identify the important items to include in your sketch (attached). Items included in the checklist are based on first responder knowledge of how farm fires start, how fires could have been prevented and the site specific details that affect the response to a fire or emergency.

Using the checklist as a guide, identify all of your farm's features on the aerial image using labels. You can label the features by hand, with icons, stickers or shapes, or whatever helps you to create a comprehensive and legible sketch. We have attached a page of icons that you can use for your sketch. If the sketch becomes too cluttered, use more specific aerial images to break down your sketch into the various sections of your property.

In addition to the checklist, here are some other items to consider for your sketch:

  • where you think the highest risks are
  • areas of the farm where combustible materials are stored close to sources of ignition
  • where livestock can be corralled if it is possible to turn livestock loose in the event of a fire

Step 3: Legend

Create a legend that describes what each label or icon on your sketch means, and always keep the legend with the sketch. Include emergency contact information in the legend or on the map.

Final Product

Figure 1 is an example of a completed farm fire and emergency sketch with a legend. The sketch shows that the farm keeps 45 dairy heifers and 250 feeder hogs in separate barns. It identifies the laneway access to the property, location of the equipment shed and any fuel or chemical storages. A safe meeting place where all people are to gather in an emergency is marked.

Image of a completed farm fire and emergency sketch with legend

Figure 1. Example of a completed farm fire and emergency sketch with legend

The items in the checklist and on the sketch will vary from farm to farm and may change over time, so we recommend that you regularly review your sketch and update it if necessary.

Next Steps

There is more you can do to create a safer farm for you, your family, your employees and your livestock.

Training

Train your family and employees in how to respond during an emergency. Review the sketch with family members and employees to identify safe meeting spots, evaluate laneway accessibility and discuss livestock management in the event of a fire.

Maintenance

Use the sketch in combination with the checklist to identify any areas on your farm that could be updated for safety. Reviewing these areas on a regular basis will not only reduce the risk of fire, but also increase the safety of everyone on the farm during an emergency, including first responders. This might include

  • trimming branches and tree limbs
  • clearing laneways and paths during winter
  • storing flammable materials properly and away from ignition sources

Emergency planning

Contact your municipal office and fire department to see if they offer fire prevention services. Many insurance companies, as well as the Electrical Safety Authority, offer inspection services for the purpose of reducing the risk of a fire. Review your farm fire and emergency sketch with them as they may have additional advice on how to reduce the risk of fire or other emergencies. They may also review their response protocols in the event that a fire does occur.

Industry awareness

Talk to different groups or farm organizations about how to manage livestock during a crisis. They may have information available about livestock behaviour during farm fires. Understanding how livestock behave under stress can make a huge difference in managing expectations or rescuing them during fires.

Additional Information

Farm Fire and Emergency Checklist

Date Sketch Created:_______________________________

Farm name _______________________________________

Address __________________________________________

Emergency Contacts

__Spills Action Centre 1-800-268-6060

__Hydro

__Union Gas or propane supplier

__Livestock vet

__Hospital

Roads and Laneway Access

__Roads to farm, including nearest crossroads

__Safety meeting point

__Traffic control (someone to direct fire trucks, block roads from public traffic, etc.)

__Any potential access barriers

__Inaccessible sides of buildings

__Seasonal access points

__Overhanging trees

__Soft laneways not suitable for larger vehicles

__Other

All Utility Shutoffs

__Hydro (per building and farm)Natural gas

__Propane

__Heating oil

__Backup generators

__Anaerobic digester generator

__Solar panel disconnect

Alternative Energy Sources

__Solar panels - ground mounted

__Solar panels - roof mounted

__Battery bank location

__Anaerobic digester

Onsite Water Sources

__Surface water - ponds, rivers, creeks

__Cisterns

Environmental Notes

__Wells

__Tile inlets and catchbasins

__Surface water (in case of spills)

Buildings

__House or other residential area

__Permitted smoking areas

__Livestock housing

__Equipment storage

__Workshop

__Fruit/vegetable storage

__Grain storage

Livestock Housing

__Indicate all livestock housing buildings and type of livestock in each building

__Swine

__Sheep

__Dairy

__Goats

__Beef

__Horses

__Poultry

__Mixed

__Other

__Attic access points

__Bale or feed chute

__Accessible doorways and gates for livestock

__Combustibles (hay, straw)

__Manure storage

__Underground __Above ground

__Slatted Flooring materials

__Concrete __Plastic slats

__Manure clean out (holes in floor or walls)

__Pass through holes (poultry)

Chemical Storages

__Fertilizer

__Pesticide, herbicide, etc.

Fuel Storages

__Propane tank

__Gas

__Diesel

__Oil

Existing Fire Prevention

__Sprinklers

__Internal fire walls or doors

__Fire retardant curtains

__Other: (list - e.g. dry hydrant)

Disclaimer

This web page is intended for informational purposes only, and is not intended to provide engineering, legal or other advice. OMAFRA does not guarantee absolute accuracy or sufficiency of subject material, nor can we accept responsibility for health and safety recommendations that may have been omitted. We recommend that you consult with your own professional engineer or lawyer as applicable to determine the best course of action or legal requirements applicable to your farm.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca


Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 25 October 2016
Last Reviewed: 25 October 2016

Croquis en cas d'urgence ou d'incendie à la ferme

Les incendies à la ferme, spécialement ceux qui impliquent des animaux d'élevage, constituent un événement dévastateur et stressant pour les familles agricoles. Les dommages infligés à la propriété, les pertes de volaille ou de bétail, l'interruption de la production et les blessures subies se traduisent par des pertes de millions de dollars chaque année pour l'industrie agricole ontarienne.

Qu'est-ce qu'un croquis en cas d'urgence ou d'incendie à la ferme?

Un croquis en cas d'urgence ou d'incendie à la ferme est une photo aérienne de votre ferme qui identifie ses caractéristiques importantes, les zones posant des risques d'incendie, les sources d'eau et les voies d'accès pour les véhicules d'urgence. L'élaboration de ce croquis est une première étape importante de votre préparation à des situations d'urgence puisque l'information qui peut être fournie pendant l'urgence, lorsque le niveau de stress est élevé, est parfois sporadique et incomplète, ou la personne qui possède l'information peut ne pas être disponible.

Le croquis peut également être utilisé pour :

  • former votre famille et vos employés en cas d'urgence;
  • élaborer un calendrier d'entretien et de nettoyage préventifs afin de réduire les risques d'incendie;
  • assurer la sécurité des premiers intervenants pendant une urgence.

Nous recommandons que vous conserviez votre croquis sur les lieux de l'exploitation pour l'avoir à portée de la main en cas d'urgence. C'est également une bonne idée de le partager avec les agents locaux de prévention des incendies ou de vous en servir pour une inspection de vos mesures de prévention des incendies (un service qui est offert par certaines municipalités). En fournissant le croquis d'avance aux premiers intervenants, vous les aiderez à identifier des risques possibles sur les lieux de votre ferme et à améliorer leurs mesures d'intervention en cas d'urgence.

Élaboration d'un croquis en cas d'urgence ou d'incendie à la ferme

Étape 1 : Photo aérienne

Obtenez une image aérienne de votre ferme et de la propriété. Vous trouverez une image aérienne de votre ferme dans l'Atlas de l'information agricole du ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAARO) mais une image aérienne d'une autre source est également acceptable.

Étape 2 : Liste de contrôle en cas d'urgence ou d'incendie à la ferme

Avec l'aide de premiers intervenants, nous avons compilé une liste de contrôle pour vous aider à identifier les points importants que vous devriez indiquer sur votre croquis (liste ci-jointe). Les points mentionnés sur la liste se fondent sur les connaissances des premiers intervenants concernant les causes d'un incendie à la ferme, les moyens de prévenir un tel incendie et les détails particuliers à un site qui influent sur l'intervention en cas d'un incendie ou d'une autre urgence.

En vous guidant sur la liste de contrôle, indiquez toutes les caractéristiques de votre ferme sur l'image aérienne en vous servant des icônes fournies. Vous pouvez identifier les caractéristiques avec des mots, icônes, autocollants ou dessins, ou avec n'importe quoi qui vous permettra d'élaborer un croquis complet et facile à comprendre. Nous avons joint une page d'icônes dont vous pouvez vous servir. Si le croquis devient trop encombré, utilisez des images aériennes plus détaillées pour diviser votre croquis en différentes sections de la propriété.

En plus de ce qui est indiqué sur la liste de contrôle, voici d'autres points dont vous devriez tenir compte pour élaborer votre croquis :

  • Endroits qui posent les plus gros risques
  • Emplacements sur la ferme où du matériel inflammable est situé près de sources d'inflammation
  • Lieux où les animaux peuvent être regroupés s'il est possible de les faire sortir pendant l'incendie

Étape 3 : Légende

Créez une légende qui décrit ce que chaque icône ou dessin veut dire sur votre croquis et gardez toujours la légende avec le croquis. Précisez les coordonnées des personnes à contacter en cas d'urgence sur la légende ou le croquis.

Produit final

La figure 1 est un exemple d'un croquis en cas d'urgence ou d'incendie à la ferme avec une légende. Le croquis montre que la ferme garde 45 vaches laitières et 250 porcs d'engraissement dans des étables séparées. Il identifie la voie d'accès à la propriété, l'emplacement de la remise d'entreposage du matériel et tout lieu d'entreposage de produits chimiques ou de carburant. Un lieu de rencontre sécuritaire où tous les gens peuvent se rendre en cas d'urgence est également indiqué.

Image d'un croquis en cas d'urgence ou d'incendie à la ferme avec une légende

Figure 1. Exemple d'un croquis en cas d'urgence ou d'incendie à la ferme avec une légende. Les caractéristiques indiquées sur la liste de contrôle et le croquis varieront d'une ferme à l'autre et peuvent changer avec le temps. Nous vous recommandons donc de vérifier régulièrement votre croquis et de le mettre à jour au besoin.

Prochaines étapes

Il y a d'autres mesures que vous pouvez adopter pour rendre votre ferme plus sécuritaire pour vous, votre famille, vos employés et vos animaux d'élevage.

Formation

Formez votre famille et vos employés pour qu'ils sachent quoi faire en cas d'urgence. Examinez le croquis avec eux pour identifier des lieux de rencontre sécuritaires, évaluer l'accessibilité à la propriété et discuter de ce qu'il faut faire avec les animaux en cas d'incendie.

Entretien

Utilisez le croquis avec la liste de contrôle pour identifier tout endroit sur votre ferme qui pourrait être amélioré pour être plus sécuritaire. Un examen régulier de ces endroits réduira les risques d'incendie et permettra également d'accroître la sécurité de toutes les personnes à la ferme pendant une urgence, y compris les premiers intervenants. Cet entretien peut comprendre :

  • Émonder les branches des arbres
  • Dégager les voies d'accès et les sentiers en hiver
  • Entreposer adéquatement le matériel inflammable et le tenir loin des sources d'inflammation

Planification en cas d'urgence

Communiquez avec le bureau de votre municipalité et votre service des incendies pour voir s'ils offrent des services de prévention des incendies. Plusieurs compagnies d'assurance ainsi que l'Office de la sécurité des installations électriques offrent des services d'inspection afin de réduire les risques d'incendie. Examinez votre croquis en cas d'urgence ou d'incendie à la ferme avec eux pour voir s'ils auraient d'autres conseils sur des façons de réduire les risques d'incendie ou d'autres urgences. Ils peuvent également examiner leurs propres protocoles d'intervention en cas d'incendie.

Sensibilisation de l'industrie

Discutez avec différents groupes ou organismes agricoles des meilleures façons de gérer des animaux d'élevage pendant une crise. Ils peuvent posséder de l'information utile sur le comportement de ces animaux pendant un incendie à la ferme. Bien comprendre comment des animaux réagissent en période de stress peut influer grandement sur la façon de les gérer ou de les sauver pendant un incendie.

Renseignements additionnels

Liste de contrôle en cas d'urgence ou d'incendie à la ferme

__Adresse

__Nom de la ferme

Contacts en cas d'urgence

__Centre d'intervention en cas de déversement: 1-800-268-6060

__Hydro

__Union Gas ou fournisseur de propane

__Vétérinaire pour le bétail

__Hôpital

Chemins et voies d'accès

__Chemins menant à la ferme, y compris l'intersection la plus proche

__Point de rencontre sécuritaire

__Contrôle du trafic (quelqu'un qui dirige les camions de pompiers, bloque la circulation du public, etc.)

__Tout obstacle possible à l'accès

__Côtés inaccessibles de bâtiments

__Points d'accès saisonniers

__Arbres en surplomb

__Allées au sol mou peu propices au

__déplacement de gros véhicules

__Autre

Interruption des services

__Hydro (pour chaque bâtiment et ferme)

__Gaz naturel

__Propane

__Huile de chauffage

__Génératrices auxiliaires

__Groupe électrogène du digesteur anaérobie

__Déconnexion des panneaux solaires

Autres sources d'énergie

__Panneaux solaires - posés au sol

__Panneaux solaires - posés sur le toit

__Emplacement du groupe de piles

__Digesteur anaérobie

Sources d'approvisionnement d'eau sur place

__Eau de surface - étangs, rivières, ruisseaux

__Réservoirs

Détails environnementaux

__Puits

__Entrées de drain et bassins récepteurs

__Eau de surface (en cas de déversement)

Bâtiments

__Maison ou autre lieu de résidence

__Aires permises pour fumer

__Logement des animaux d'élevage

__Remise d'entreposage du matériel

__Atelier

__Entreposage de fruits/légumes

__Entreposage de grains

Logement des animaux d'élevage

__Indiquez tous les bâtiments logeant des animaux d'élevage et le type de bétail dans chaque bâtiment

__Porcs

__Moutons

__Bovins laitiers

__Chèvres

__Bovins de boucherie

__Volaille

__Mixte

__Chevaux

__Autre

__ Points d'accès au grenier

__Glissières de bottes ou d'aliments

__Entrées accessibles et barrières pour le bétail

__Combustibles (foin, paille)

__Entreposage de fumier

__Souterrain __Au-dessus du sol

__Matériaux de planchers en lattes

__Béton ___Lattes en plastique

__Enlèvement du fumier (trous - planchers ou murs)

__Trous d'évacuation (volaille)

Entreposage de produits chimiques

__Engrais

__Pesticide, herbicide, etc.

Entreposage de carburant

__Réservoir de propane

__Gaz

__Diesel

__Huile

Mesures actuelles de prévention des incendies

__Sprinkleurs

__Murs ou portes pare-feu à l'intérieur

__Rideaux ignifuges

__Autre : (liste - comme des bornes sèches, etc.)

Exonération de responsabilité

La présente page Web n'est fournie qu'à titre d'information. Elle ne saurait remplacer l'avis d'un ingénieur, d'un juriste ou d'un autre professionnel. Le MAAARO ne garantit pas que l'information est absolument précise ou complète ni n'assume de responsabilité quant à d'éventuelles recommandations pour la santé et la sécurité qui auraient pu être omises. Nous recommandons que vous consultiez votre propre ingénieur ou juriste, selon le cas, afin de déterminer la ligne de conduite ou les obligations juridiques applicables à votre ferme.

 

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Firstname SPACE Lastname SPACE HYPHEN SPACE Title/Affiliation
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph)
Use a SEMI COLON to separate multiple entries:
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph; Jane Doe - Crop Specialist/OMAFRA)
Date de création : dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy
Dernière révision : dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy