Reducing the Risk of Fire on Your Farm - Introduction

The guide examines the major causes of farm building fires and what can be done to reduce the associated risks. The concepts of fire safety and how they are applied are covered. Strategies are also discussed, using best management practices, to reduce the impact on property and business in the event that a fire does occur.

Reducing the Risk of Fire on Your Farm was developed for consideration in relation to farm buildings such as livestock barns, grain and equipment storage facilities, and other similar farm buildings of low human occupancy. The recommendations pertain to both existing and new construction, supplementing the applicable requirements of the National Farm Building Code of Canada, 1995, (NFBCC) as referenced by Ontario's Building Code (the Building Code), a regulation made under the Building Code Act, 1992. The NFBCC establishes minimum requirements for fire protection of farm buildings of low human occupancy.

The Building Code Act, 1992 requires that a building permit be obtained before any construction, renovation or change of use is undertaken. Using this guide does not relieve the operator from compliance with the prescribed administrative process or the technical requirements in the NFBCC. This guide is intended to explain the principles and concepts of fire safety, and how they relate to the farm and farming practices.

There are other Codes and regulations to be respected when building, renovating or operating farm buildings. For example, the Ontario Electrical Safety Code requires that all electrical equipment used in Ontario display a Canadian electrical approval stamp – Canadian Standards Association (CSA) and Underwriters Laboratory of Canada (ULC). If liquid or gaseous petroleum products are used on the farm, there are Codes specifying requirements for the safe storage and handling of these products. These Codes are enforced by the Technical Standards and Safety Authority (TSSA). The operator is responsible for understanding these requirements as well as other governing regulations on the farm.

The guide is intended to highlight best management practices. To further reduce risk, there are instances where requirements greater than those contained in the NFBCC are specified. Do not rely on Reducing the Risk of Fire on Your Farm as a substitute for specialized legal or professional advice in connection with any particular matter. The user is solely responsible for any use or application of this guide. Although the guide has been carefully written, the authors, committee and the government of Ontario do not accept any legal responsibility for the contents of the guide or for any consequences, including direct or indirect liability, arising from its use.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 20 November 2012
Last Reviewed: 20 November 2012

Réduction des risques d'incendie à la ferme - Introduction

Le présent guide se penche sur les principales causes d'incendies à la ferme et sur ce qui peut être fait pour réduire les risques qui leur sont associés. Il aborde également les notions de sécurité-incendie et leur application ainsi que les stratégies reposant sur des pratiques de gestion optimales à mettre en œuvre pour réduire les répercussions d'un éventuel incendie sur les biens et les activités commerciales.

Le guide Réduction des risques d'incendie à la ferme a été élaboré en fonction de bâtiments agricoles à faible occupation humaine, tels que bâtiments d'élevage, granges, hangars, etc. Les recommandations sont valables tant pour les bâtiments existants que pour les bâtiments neufs; elles complètent les exigences applicables du Code national de construction des bâtiments agricoles, 1995 (CNCBA), cité comme source de référence dans le code du bâtiment de l'Ontario (Ontario Building Code), un règlement pris en application de la Loi de 1992 sur le code du bâtiment. Le CNCBA établit des exigences minimales en matière de protection contre les incendies des bâtiments agricoles à faible occupation humaine.

La Loi de 1992 sur le code du bâtiment exige la levée d'un permis pour toute construction, toute rénovation ou tout nouvel usage. L'utilisation du présent guide ne soustrait aucunement l'exploitant à son obligation de se conformer aux formalités administratives prescrites ou aux exigences techniques prévues dans le CNCBA. Ce guide vise à expliquer les principes et notions de sécurité-incendie et leurs applications à la ferme et en agriculture.

D'autres codes et règlements doivent être respectés lorsqu'on construit, rénove ou exploite des bâtiments agricoles. Par exemple, le code de l'électricité de l'Ontario (Ontario Electrical Safety Code) exige que tout appareil électrique utilisé en Ontario porte le seau d'approbation de l'Association canadienne de normalisation (CSA) ou des Laboratoires des assureurs du Canada (ULC). Si l'on utilise à la ferme des produits pétroliers liquides ou gazeux, il y a des codes à respecter pour garantir que ces produits sont entreposés et manipulés en toute sécurité. Ces codes sont mis en application par la Commission des normes techniques et de la sécurité (CNTS). Il incombe à l'exploitant de comprendre les exigences de ces codes et des règlements auxquels les fermes sont assujetties.

Le présent guide vise à souligner les pratiques de gestion optimales. Dans certains cas, pour réduire davantage les risques, le guide peut préciser des exigences plus rigoureuses encore que celles qui sont prévues dans le CNCBA. Le guide Réduction des risques d'incendie à la ferme ne saurait se substituer à l'avis d'un professionnel, juriste ou autre, relativement à une situation particulière. Le lecteur est entièrement responsable de l'usage ou de l'application de ce guide. Malgré tout le soin apporté à la rédaction de ce guide, les auteurs, le Comité et le gouvernement de l'Ontario se dégagent de toute responsabilité juridique quant au contenu du guide ou quant à d'éventuelles conséquences, directes ou indirectes, résultant de son utilisation.

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 21 novembre 2012
Dernière révision : 21 novembre 2012