Season Extension Techniques for Vegetable Crops

Many vegetable crops, especially heat-loving crops such as cucurbits (vine crops), peppers, tomatoes, eggplant and sweet corn, benefit from the use of plastic mulch and row covers. Some benefits associated with season extension include:
  • earlier harvest
  • increased yield
  • higher-quality produce
  • soil moisture retention
  • reduced disease pressure
  • reduced fertilizer leaching
  • increased season-long nutrient availability
  • weed control

Plastic Mulch

Most mulches are made of polyethylene. Table 1, Plastic Mulch Types, describes the different types. They are available in widths of 1.2-1.5 m (4-5 ft) with a thickness of 1-1.5 mil (thousandths of an inch).

Several commercial plastic mulch layers are available. Proper set-up of the mulch layer is essential. The edges of the mulch should be well covered, and the plastic should be tight on the soil surface to permit heat transfer to the soil. Angle the discs and press wheels of the mulch layer to ensure a tight and uniform fit.

Do not lay mulch on dry soil. If the soil is very dry, irrigate or wait for rainfall before laying. Soil moisture is important for heat retention. Lay mulch 2-3 weeks prior to planting for maximum soil heating.

 

Table 1. Plastic Mulch Types
Type Average Soil Warming
at 2 in.depth
Advantages Disadvantages
Black 2°C-4°C Prevents weed seed germination Good soil-to-plastic contact is necessary to ensure maximum heat transfer.

Clear
4°C-8°C Can be used with direct-seeded crops such as sweet corn. Weed germination under the mulch requires good preplant (residual) weed control.
White -1°C (cools the soil) .
Keeps the soil temperature lower to minimize bolting in cool season crops.
Weed germination may occur under the mulch. Requires good preplant weed control.
Infra-red
transmitting (IRT)
6°C Absorbs certain wavelengths of light, preventing weed seed germination and growth. Expensive. Tomato and pepper yields may be lower on IRT mulches than on black.

Photo-degradable
Same as
undegradable mulch
Breaks down with exposure to sunlight, eliminating the need for retrieval and disposal at the end of the season. Rate of breakdown can be inconsistent. Buried edges frequently do not break down, leaving plastic residue in the field. These plastic residues are often difficult to retrieve.

Biodegradable
Same as
undegradable mulch
Usually a starch-based plastic. Broken down by soil micro-organisims. Most of these mulches are relatively new in the marketplace, and only limited quantities are available. There is a big range in the quality and degradability of products. Always field-test new products on a limited scale first.

Row Covers

Row covers can be used to promote earlier production by increasing the canopy air temperature and protecting young transplants from wind damage. There are two basic types: floating row covers and low tunnels.

Regardless of the type of row cover used, heat can build up inside the covers and damage crops. Temperatures should be monitored. Remove or ventilate the covers when the temperature exceeds 32°C-35°C (90°F-95°F). For crops that require bee pollination (vine crops), row covers must be removed or opened up at flowering time.

High temperatures under the row cover during flowering may cause fruit deformities or a decrease in pollen viability.

Floating Covers

These are made of polypropylene or various polyester-type fabrics and are laid directly over the crop. They are available in sheets up to 15 m (50 ft) wide to cover multiple rows. Floating covers are well suited for large acreages and low-growing plants. They are not recommended for use on upright-growing crops such as tomatoes and peppers. They may cause abrasions on the plant's shoot tips.

Low Tunnels

These are made of white or clear polyethylene and are supported over the crop on wire hoops. The plastic usually has slits or perforations for ventilation. Commercially available layers install hoops, lay the plastic covers over the hoops and bury the edges of the row cover in one operation.

Research in Ontario has demonstrated that use of low tunnels can result in earlier production of lettuce, peppers, cucumbers and melons. Tunnels used on fresh-market tomatoes should be removed well before flowering. Extended use of row covers on tomatoes may result in reduced fruit set.

High Tunnels

A high tunnel is a semi-permanent, simplified greenhouse. It is typically made of a metal tubing framework and a single sheet of polyethylene plastic. Each end of the tunnel is open or contains a large wooden door frame, allowing for the use of small field equipment inside the tunnel.

A high tunnel may expand the growing season by 3-4 weeks, but will not function well for growing during the winter. It is possible to expand the growing season even more by adding temporary heaters to the structure.

In addition to expanding the growing season, high tunnels may improve the harvest quality of certain vegetable crops. Shoulder-checking (russetting) and cracking of tomatoes may be reduced when the fruit is protected from rain. A reduction in leaf wetness may also help reduce disease problems.

During the hot summer months, the tunnels may be ventilated simply by rolling up the plastic sidewalls, allowing air to move through the structure. As the inside of the tunnels does not receive any natural rainwater, drip irrigation is highly recommended.

Remove the plastic from the high tunnel during the winter months. This will improve the lifespan of the plastic. It will also prevent structural damage to the tunnel due to snow load or inclement weather.

Plastic Disposal

Used plastic mulches are difficult to recycle due to the amount of dirt, plant material and water present. Limited recycling opportunities do exist in some areas. In most areas, disposal at a licensed landfill site is currently the most practical option. Burning or on-farm burial is not recommended.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Elaine Roddy - Vegetable Crop Specialist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 20 February 2009
Last Reviewed:

11 February 2013

Techniques de prolongation de la saison des cultures de légumes

Il est avantageux d'avoir recours aux paillis et aux minitunnels plastiques pour bon nombre de cultures de légumes, surtout les cultures thermophiles comme les cucurbitacées, les poivrons, les tomates, les aubergines et le maïs sucré. Voici certains effets bénéfiques des techniques de prolongation de la saison de croissance :

  • récolte plus hâtive
  • augmentation des rendements
  • produits de qualité supérieure
  • rétention de l'humidité du sol
  • réduction de la pression des maladies
  • diminution des pertes d'engrais par lessivage
  • augmentation de la disponibilité des éléments nutritifs durant toute la saison
  • réduction des mauvaises herbes

Paillis plastiques

La plupart des paillis sont faits de polyéthylène. Les différents types de paillis plastiques sont décrits au tableau 1. Ces paillis sont offerts en largeurs de 1,2 à 1,5 m (4 à 5 pi) et leur épaisseur se situe entre 1 et 1,5 mil (millième de pouce).

Plusieurs types de dérouleuses pour les films plastiques sont offerts sur le marché. Il est important de bien régler la dérouleuse, car les extrémités du paillis doivent être bien recouvertes et le film doit adhérer étroitement à la surface du sol pour permettre le transfert de chaleur vers le sol. Régler l'angle des disques et des roues tasseuses de la dérouleuse afin que le paillis soit bien étanche et soit appliqué de manière uniforme.

Ne pas poser de paillis sur un sol sec. L'irriguer ou attendre qu'il pleuve avant de poser le paillis si le sol est très sec, car l'humidité du sol est nécessaire pour retenir la chaleur. Mettre les paillis en place de 2 à 3 semaines avant la plantation pour un réchauffement maximum du sol.

 

Tableau 1. Types de paillis plastiques
Type Réchauffement moyen du sol
à 2 po de profondeur
Avantages Désavantages
Noir 2-4 °C Prévient la germination des semences de mauvaises herbes Le film plastique doit bien adhérer au sol afin d'optimiser le transfert de chaleur.
Transparent 4-8 °C Peut être utilisé avec les cultures en semis direct comme le maïs sucré. Des traitements efficaces d'herbicides (résiduels) sous le paillis avant la plantation sont nécessaires afin de prévenir la levée des mauvaises herbes
Blanc -1 °C (rafraîchit le sol) Garde la température du sol plus fraîche afin de réduire la montée en graines des cultures de saison fraîche. Les mauvaises herbes peuvent lever sous le paillis. Un bon désherbage est nécessaire avant la plantation.
Infrarouge 6°C Absorbe certaines longueurs d'ondes lumineuses, ce qui empêche la germination des semences de mauvaises herbes et leur croissance. Coûteux. Le rendement des cultures de tomates et de poivrons peut être moins élevé avec les paillis de plastique à transmission infrarouge qu'avec les paillis de plastique noir.
Photodégradable Même que pour les paillis non dégradables. Se dégrade sous l'action de la lumière solaire, ce qui élimine la nécessité de récupérer les paillis et de les éliminer en fin de saison. Le taux de dégradation peut être irrégulier. Il arrive souvent que les extrémités qui sont enfouies ne se dégradent pas, ce qui laisse des résidus de plastique dans le champ, lesquels sont souvent difficiles à récupérer.
Biodégradable Même que pour les paillis non dégradables. Plastique généralement à base d'amidon. Se dégrade sous l'action des microorganismes du sol. La plupart de ces paillis sont relativement nouveaux sur le marché et sont offerts en quantité limitée. Il existe une grande diversité dans la qualité et la dégradabilité des produits. Toujours faire un essai préalable des nouveaux produits sur une petite surface dans le champ.

Minitunnels

Les tunnels peuvent faciliter les récoltes hâtives, car ils augmentent la température ambiante du couvert végétal et protègent les jeunes plants repiqués des dommages causés par le vent. Il existe deux types principaux de tunnels : les minitunnels flottants et les minitunnels standards.

Quel que soit le type de minitunnel utilisé, la chaleur peut s'accumuler à l'intérieur de l'abri et endommager les cultures. Il faut donc contrôler les températures. Retirer les minitunnels ou assurer la ventilation lorsque les températures excèdent 32 à 35 °C (90 à 95 °F). Dans le cas des cultures qui exigent d'être pollinisées par des abeilles (cucurbitacées), on doit enlever les minitunnels ou les ouvrir au moment de la floraison.

Des températures élevées sous les minitunnels durant la floraison peuvent provoquer certaines déformations des fruits ou diminuer la viabilité du pollen.

Minitunnels flottants

Les minitunnels flottants sont faits de polypropylène ou de divers types de polyester et sont placés directement sur la culture. Ils sont offerts en feuilles allant jusqu'à 15 m (50 pi) de largeur, ce qui permet de recouvrir plusieurs rangées. Les minitunnels flottants conviennent bien aux grandes superficies et aux cultures basses. Ils ne sont pas recommandés pour les cultures érigées comme les tomates et les poivrons. Ils peuvent causer des dommages aux extrémités des tiges en raison du frottement.

Minitunnels standards

Ces minitunnels sont en polyéthylène blanc ou transparent et sont soutenus au-dessus des cultures à l'aide d'arceaux. Le plastique est généralement fendu ou perforé pour permettre l'aération. Les dérouleuses offertes sur le marché installent les arceaux, étendent le film plastique sur ces derniers et enfouissent les extrémités du minitunnel en une seule opération.

Des recherches réalisées en Ontario ont montré que l'utilisation des minitunnels standards peut devancer les récoltes de laitue, de poivrons, de concombres et de melons. Les minitunnels utilisés dans les cultures de tomates pour le marché du frais doivent être retirés longtemps avant la floraison. L'utilisation prolongée de minitunnels sur les tomates peut réduire la mise à fruits.

Grands tunnels

Un grand tunnel est en fait une serre semi-permanente, simplifiée. Il est habituellement formé d'une structure tubulaire métallique et d'un unique fil de plastique en polyéthylène. Chacune des extrémités du tunnel est ouverte ou dotée d'un large cadre de porte en bois, ce qui permet d'y introduire des pièces de machinerie de petite taille.

Un grand tunnel peut prolonger la saison de croissance de trois à quatre semaines, mais il ne permet pas de faire des cultures durant l'hiver. Il est possible de prolonger encore davantage la saison de croissance en ajoutant des appareils de chauffage temporaires dans la structure.

En plus de prolonger la saison de croissance, les grands tunnels peuvent améliorer la qualité de la récolte de certaines cultures légumières. Le roussissement et le fendillement des tomates peuvent être moins fréquents lorsque les fruits sont protégés de la pluie. Une humidité moins élevée des feuilles peut aussi aider à réduire certaines maladies.

Durant les mois chauds de l'été, on peut aérer les tunnels en enroulant tout simplement les extrémités latérales des films plastiques, ce qui permet à l'air de circuler à travers la structure. L'irrigation goutte à goutte est recommandée, étant donné qu'il ne pleut pas à l'intérieur des tunnels.

Retirer le film plastique des grands tunnels pour les mois d'hiver afin de prolonger la durée de conservation du plastique et de prévenir les dommages causés à la structure du tunnel en raison du poids de la neige ou du mauvais temps.

Élimination du plastique

Les paillis plastiques usagés se recyclent difficilement en raison de la présence de poussières, de résidus végétaux et d'eau. Quelques possibilités de recyclage sont toutefois offertes à certains endroits. Dans la plupart des régions toutefois, il est plus pratique d'apporter les plastiques à un site d'enfouissement autorisé. Il n'est pas recommandé de brûler les plastiques ni de les enfouir à la ferme.


Auteur : Elaine Roddy - spécialiste de la culture des légumes/OMAFRA
Date de création : 23 décembre 2009
Dernière révision : 11 février 2013

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca