The Online Gardener's Handbook 2010

An Integrated Approach To Successful Gardening

The Gardener's Handbook is a reference guide for home gardeners that provides useful tips on growing vegetables, fruit, ornamental plants and lawns. The guide covers topics ranging from recommended planting times to descriptions of common garden pests and how to prevent and manage them.

In April 2009, the government of Ontario implemented a province-wide Cosmetic Pesticide Ban, which limits the availability of many pesticides to homeowners. There are many non-chemical options available to homeowners for controlling pests. The goal of this manual is to provide homeowners with information needed to keep gardens healthy, including the maintenance of healthy, pest-resistant plants; the identity and biology of pests commonly found in gardens; and the various cultural, natural and other options available for managing them.

The first sections of this manual provide general information on plant production and causes and symptoms of damage. We recommend that you read this section first It provides a basis for the remainder of the publication, which is divided into four commodity sections: vegetables, fruit, ornamental plants (trees, shrubs, and flowers) and lawns. In the vegetable and fruit sections, host plants are listed alphabetically, followed by detailed information about corresponding pests and diseases. In the lawn and ornamental sections, it is the disease and pest problems that are listed alphabetically.

Table of Contents

  1. Causes of Plant Injury
  2. Integrated Pest Management
  3. A Word About Soil
  4. Vegetables
  5. Fruit
  6. Ornamental Plants
  7. Lawns
  8. Appendix

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 03 May 2010
Last Reviewed: 01 June 2010

Manuel du jardinier

Le Manuel du jardinier est un ouvrage de référence pour les jardiniers amateurs, qui y trouveront des conseils utiles sur la culture des légumes, des fruits, des plantes ornementales et des pelouses. Il couvre des sujets divers : dates de mise en terre recommandées, descriptions de ravageurs communs des jardins, méthodes de prévention et de lutte contre ces espèces, etc.

En avril 2009, le gouvernement de l'Ontario a mis en œuvre l'interdiction des pesticides à des fins esthétiques, qui s'applique à toute la province et qui restreint l'utilisation de nombreux produits de cette nature par les jardiniers amateurs. Ceux ci disposent de nombreuses autres méthodes pour lutter contre les ravageurs. L'objet du présent manuel est précisément de leur fournir l'information dont ils ont besoin à cette fin : maintien de plants sains et résistants aux ravageurs, identification et caractéristiques biologiques des principaux ennemis des jardins, et diverses autres méthodes culturelles, naturelles et autres de prévention et de lutte contre ces espèces.

Les premiers chapitres contiennent des informations générales sur la culture des végétaux, sur les causes des dommages et leurs symptômes. Nous vous recommandons de commencer par lire la présente partie; vous y trouverez des éléments de base pour la suite, qui est divisée en quatre parties : légumes, fruits, plantes ornementales (arbres, arbustes et fleurs), et pelouses. Dans la section légumes et la section fruits, les plantes hôtes sont présentées par ordre alphabétique et cette présentation s'accompagne de la description détaillée des ravageurs et des maladies qui s'attaquent à elles. Dans la section pelouses et la section plantes ornementales, ce sont les maladies et les ravageurs qui sont présentés par ordre alphabétique.

Table des matières

  1. Comment les dommages sont causés
  2. Lutte Intégrée
  3. Le sol
  4. Légumes
  5. Fruit
  6. Plantes ornementales
  7. Pelouses
  8. Annexe

Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 16 juin 2010
Dernière révision : 9 août 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca