The Online Gardener's Handbook 2010
Chapter 8: Appendix
How to use Metric Equivalents

Table of Contents

  1. Measuring the surface area and length of row
  2. Measuring the volume of water
  3. Measuring liquid insecticides and fungicides
  4. Measuring dry pesticides
  5. Learn More

Since January 1, 1981 all pesticide labels give directions in metric measurements only. The easiest way to change over to this new system is to make your measurements also in metric. This may seem difficult but it is really quite simple as long as you have the proper tools for it. You thus avoid having to calculate the conversions from imperial to metric measurements.

Measuring the surface area and length of row: For treatment of lawns and for soil insects in vegetables and flowers you have to know the surface area in square metres; for row crops, such as onion, you need the length of row in metres. Take a long stick or slat and cut it to the length of one, two or three metres (1 metre = 40 inches), depending on the size of your garden and your own preference. Now you have a handy measuring stick and you should forget about yards and feet.

Measuring the volume of water: The second tool you need is a plastic pail for preparing spray mixtures. At the levels of one, two, three, four, five, six and seven litres (1 litre = 35 fluid ounces) make marks on the inside of the pail with paint or a waterproof felt marker. To avoid other uses mark on the outside of this pail "Insecticides, fungicides only".

Measuring liquid insecticides and fungicides: You also need a tool for measuring liquid pesticides from the bottle or can. A tablespoon holds 15 mL and a teaspoon holds 5 mL. These well-known spoon measures can still be used for the metric system. Many product labels also give the rate in spoonfuls.

Measuring dry pesticides: Many manufacturers state the recommended rate for wettable powders and granular products by volume instead of by weight. Hence the tablespoon (15 mL) and the teaspoon (5 mL) can be used. Keep in mind that level spoonfuls and not heaped spoonfuls should be used. If some product labels give the rate by weight in grams, you can also use spoon measures because the level tablespoon equals about 15 grams and the level teaspoonful equals about 5 grams.

Learn More


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 25 July 2005
Last Reviewed: 29 June 2010

Manuel du jardinier
Chapitre 8: Annexe
Comment mesurer avec le système métrique

Table des matières

  1. Surface ou longueur d'un rang
  2. Volume d'eau
  3. Insecticides et fongicides liquides
  4. Pesticides solides
  5. Liens connexes

Depuis le 1er janvier 1981, toutes les étiquettes de produits antiparasitaires donnent leur mode d'emploi exclusivement en unités métriques. La façon la plus facile de s'adapter à ce nouveau système consiste à effectuer ses propres mesures à l'aide du système métrique. Bien qu'elle paraisse difficile, cette méthode est en fait assez simple, pour autant qu'on dispose des bons outils de mesure. De cette façon, on n'a plus à effectuer de conversion du système impérial au système métrique.

Surface ou longueur d'un rang : Pour protéger les pelouses et lutter contre les insectes du sol qui affectent les légumes et les fleurs, il faut connaître la superficie à traiter en mètres carrés; pour les cultures sarclées comme l'oignon, il faut connaître la longueur du rang en mètres. Prendre un long bâton ou une longue latte qu'on coupera pour obtenir un étalon d'un, de deux ou de trois mètres (1 mètre = 40 pouces), selon la taille du jardin et sa préférence. On dispose maintenant d'une mesure utile permettant d'oublier les verges et les pieds.

Volume d'eau : Le deuxième outil dont on aura besoin est un seau de plastique pour la préparation des mélanges à pulvériser. Avec de la peinture ou un marqueur indélébile à pointe feutrée, tracer à l'intérieur du seau des marques correspondant à un, deux, trois, quatre, cinq, six et sept litres (1 litre = 35 onces liquides). Pour empêcher l'utilisation de ce seau pour tout autre produit, inscrivez sur l'extérieur du seau la mention " Pour insecticides et fongicides seulement ".

Insecticides et fongicides liquides : On aura également besoin d'un outil permettant de mesurer les pesticides liquides directement de la bouteille ou du contenant. La cuiller à soupe contient 15 mL et la cuiller à thé contient 5 mL. Ces mesures déjà bien connues peuvent être utiles avec le système métrique. Sur de nombreuses étiquettes, le dosage est aussi exprimé en cuillerées.

Pesticides solides : De nombreux fabricants de poudres mouillables et de produits granulés expriment le taux recommandé en mesures de volume et non en mesures de poids. C'est alors que la cuiller à soupe (15 mL) et la cuiller à thé (5 mL) peuvent servir. Ne pas oublier d'utiliser des cuillerées rases plutôt que des cuillerées combles. Si l'étiquette d'un produit établit le poids en grammes, on peut également se servir des cuillers puisqu'une cuillerée à soupe rase contient à peu près 15 grammes et qu'une cuillerée à thé rase contient à peu près 5 grammes.

Liens connexes


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 16 juin 2010
Dernière révision : 16 juin 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca