The Online Gardener's Handbook 2010
Chapter 5: Fruit
Grape

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Berry Moths
  3. Black Rot
  4. Grape Flea Beetles
  5. Downy Mildew
  6. Powdery Mildew
  7. Learn More

Introduction

In this chapter, a description of various grape pests will be provided along with suggested management options. These management options will not include the use of pesticides. Some biopesticides and certain reduced risk pesticides are still available to the homeowner for controlling weeds and pests in lawns and gardens. For more information, refer to Chapter 2 of this handbook and the Ministry of the Environment's website. For suggestions on managing specific weeds and pests, consult local horticulturalists, Master Gardeners or your local garden supply centre.

Berry Moths

Berry moths are a problem only in areas where grapes are grown commercially. The adult is a 6 mm brown-bodied moth with blue-grey wings that have cream spots near the tips. The larvae are initially cream-coloured with a brown head but become green and then purple when mature. The first generation larvae web together buds, flowers and newly set berries and chew them. The second generation burrow into green berries near the stem. Berries usually shrivel or fall off.

Management Options

Remove nearby wild grapevines. Bury leaf debris.

Black Rot

Black rot can be a serious problem on many grape varieties including Catawba, Concord, Agawam and Niagara. Raised black lesions develop on clusters and leaf stems and on new shoots. Infected berries develop a reddish-brown ring and shortly before harvest shrivel into blue-black mummies.

Management Options

Remove infected debris before the start of the growing season. Cultivate early in season to bury infected mummies and remaining debris.

Grape Flea Beetles

The grape flea beetle is a shiny, metallic, greenish-blue beetle that attacks opening buds in spring. It is 4-5 mm long and jumps when disturbed. The adult chews through the ends and sides of swelling buds. Larvae are black-spotted grubs which feed on leaves.

Management Options

Examine vines in May. If practical, knock the adults off into a pail of soapy water.

Downy Mildew

Downy mildew appears early in the season and affects leaves, tendrils, shoots and fruit, covering these with heavy, white, downy fungus underneath and localized pale yellow areas on top surfaces. Fruit clusters may curl or be completely destroyed. The disease is more serious in wet seasons and in sheltered areas with poor air movement.

Management Options

Prune to allow good air movement. Collect and destroy infected plant material. Cultivate in spring to bury any remaining infected tissue. Agawam, Delaware, Fredonia, Niagara and Van Buren varieties are especially susceptible. Plant less susceptible varieties if possible.

Powdery Mildew

Powdery mildew usually appears later than downy mildew but may be present just after bloom. Blossoms wither and drop, whitish patches appear on upper leaf surfaces in shaded areas of the vine, and fruit may crack and fail to ripen. If the fruit stem is infected, berries drop. Prolonged humid conditions favour its growth.

Management Options

Prune to allow good air circulation and to reduce shading. Agawam, Buffalo, Concord, DeChaunac, Fredonia, Foch, New York Muscat and Seneca varieties are especially susceptible. Plant more resistant cultivars if possible.

Learn More

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 25 July 2005
Last Reviewed: 28 June 2010

Manuel du jardinier
Chapitre 5: Fruit
Vigne

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Tordeuse de la vigne
  3. Pourriture noire
  4. Altise de la vigne
  5. Mildiou
  6. Oïdium
  7. Liens connexes

Introduction

Le présent chapitre contient une description de divers ravageurs des raisins ainsi que des conseils sur des méthodes de lutte excluant l'utilisation de pesticides. Les jardiniers amateurs peuvent encore se procurer certains biopesticides et certains pesticides à faible risque pour lutter contre les mauvaises herbes et les ravageurs des pelouses et des jardins. Pour avoir plus d'information, voir le Chapitre 2 de ce manuel et le site Web du ministère de l'Environnement. Pour obtenir des conseils sur la lutte contre certains ravageurs ou mauvaises herbes en particulier, s'adresser à un horticulteur, à un maître jardinier ou à un centre de jardinage de votre localité.

Tordeuse de la vigne

La tordeuse de la vigne n'est à redouter que dans les régions de viticulture intensive. L'adulte est un papillon nocturne à corps brun de 6 mm de longueur, aux ailes gris bleu dont les extrémités portent des taches crème. Les larves, à tête brune, sont d'abord de couleur crème, puis deviennent vertes et enfin pourpres à la maturité. Les larves de la première génération tissent une toile autour des bourgeons, des fleurs et des grains à peine formés, puis les dévorent. Les larves de la deuxième génération perforent les grains verts juste à côté du pédoncule. En général, les grains attaqués se ratatinent et tombent.

Méthodes de lutte

Arracher les pieds de vigne sauvages des environs. Enterrer les débris de feuilles.

Pourriture noire

La pourriture noire peut causer de graves problèmes sur de nombreux cépages, y compris Catawba, Concord, Agawam et Niagara. Des lésions noires pustuleuses se développent sur les grappes, les pétioles et les nouvelles pousses. Les grains de raisin infectés se couvrent d'un anneau brun rougeâtre et, peu avant la récolte, se momifient et ressemblent à du raisin sec bleu noir.

Méthodes de lutte

Enlever les débris infectés avant la reprise de la saison de croissance. Travailler le sol au début du printemps pour enfouir les grains momifiés et les débris restants.

Altise de la vigne

L'altise de la vigne est un petit coléoptère bleu verdâtre à reflets métalliques qui, au printemps, s'en prend aux bourgeons sur le point d'éclater. L'insecte mesure de 4 mm à 5 mm de longueur et bondit dès qu'on s'approche. L'adulte ronge l'extrémité et les côtés des bourgeons au stade du gonflement. Les larves, ponctuées de noir, dévorent les feuilles.

Méthodes de lutte

Examiner les vignes en mai. Si possible, secouer les rameaux pour faire tomber les coléoptères dans un seau d'eau savonneuse.

Mildiou

mildiou se déclare plus tôt dans la saison et affecte les feuilles, les vrilles, les rameaux et les grappes, couvrant les faces inférieures d'un épais duvet blanc et les faces supérieures, de plaques jaune pâle. Il arrive que les grappes de fruits s'enroulent en tire bouchon ou soient complètement détruites. La maladie est plus grave par temps humide et dans les endroits abrités où l'air circule peu.

Méthodes de lutte

Tailler la vigne de manière à favoriser la circulation d'air. Ramasser et détruire toutes les parties végétales infectées. Travailler le sol au printemps pour enfouir tous les tissus infectés restants. Les cépages Agawam, Delaware, Fredonia, Niagara et Van Buren sont particulièrement sensibles à la maladie. Cultiver des variétés aussi peu sensibles que possible.

Oïdium

L'oïdium ou blanc apparaît en général plus tard que le mildiou, mais peut se déclarer juste après la floraison. Les fleurs se fanent et tombent. La face supérieure des feuilles ombragées se couvre de plaques blanchâtres et les fruits se fendillent sans même mûrir. Si le pédoncule des fruits est infecté, les grains de raisin tombent. Une humidité persistante favorise le développement du mildiou.

Méthodes de lutte

Tailler pour permettre une bonne circulation d'air et faire pénétrer la lumière. Sont particulièrement sensibles les cépages Agawam, Buffalo, Concord, DeChaunac, Fredonia, Foch, New York Muscat et Seneca. Planter des cultivars plus résistants si possible.

Liens connexes


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 16 juin 2010
Dernière révision : 9 août 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca