The Online Gardener's Handbook 2010
Chapter 5: Fruit
Blueberry, Currant, Gooseberry

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Blueberry
  3. Currant and Gooseberry
  4. Learn More

Introduction

In this chapter, a description of various berry pests will be provided along with suggested management options. These management options will not include the use of pesticides. Some biopesticides and certain reduced risk pesticides are still available to the homeowner for controlling weeds and pests in lawns and gardens. For more information, refer to Chapter 2 of this handbook and the Ministry of the Environment's website. For suggestions on managing specific weeds and pests, consult local horticulturalists, Master Gardeners or your local garden supply centre.

Blueberry

Cranberry Fruitworm

Eggs of this pest are laid in small green fruit, and the larvae that emerge from them feed on the developing fruit. One larvae ties clusters of several fruit together with silk and damages many berries. Messy feeding sites, with external sawdust-like excrement and webbing, are characteristic of the damaged fruit. The caterpillar is greenish, with brownish red tinges on the back and about 9.5 mm long when mature. Adults are V-shaped with a pointed head, and are greyish-brown with white markings.

Management Options

Handpick and dispose of larvae. Keep blueberry bushes free of debris. Frequent cultivation of the soil between plants can help keep numbers of this pest down.

Phomopsis and Fusicoccum Stem Cankers

Several stem cankers affect highbush blueberries. Fusicoccum forms distinct elliptical cankers on the lower half of the stem. Phomopsis cankers are less defined than fusicoccum, and appear as flattened and elongated areas on the stem. Both cankers can result in rapid wilting and dying of the two to three year old blueberry canes. Leaves turn reddish brown and remain attached to the cane.

Management Options

Prune out and burn diseased canes as soon as they appear. Blueberry plants are more susceptible to phomopsis if they are over-fertilized with nitrogen, are grown in poorly drained soils, suffer from winter injury or are damaged or wounded.

Currant and Gooseberry

Aphids

Aphids are often a serious problem on currants, especially red currants. They cause leaves to pucker, curl and show red blisters.

For more information, refer to the aphids section of Chapter 1.

Management Options

For management options, see Raspberries.

Currant Borers, Currant Stem Girdlers

Currant borers and currant stem girdlers cause injury to the wood of the canes. Affected shoots look sickly with small, yellowed leaves. Eventually, the shoots will die.

Management Options

Shoots should be cut out and destroyed when symptoms are noticed at any time of the year. Shoots older than three years are less productive and should be removed in spring before leaf buds break to minimize the potential for attack. Apply manure to promote vigorous growth of new canes.

Currant Fruit Flies

Maggots in the fruit are larvae of currant fruit flies. Infested berries ripen prematurely and many drop to the ground.

Management Options

Remove and destroy infested berries to reduce risk the following season.

Currant Sawflies

The larva of the sawfly is 2.5 cm long, green, with many legs and a black spotted body. It eats the leaves of gooseberries and red or white currants (not black currants) as plants come into full leaf. The adult is a small black wasp-like insect.

Management Options

Inspect plants regularly beginning in the spring and remove any larvae by hand.

Leaf Spot

Fungal leaf spot diseases are often the cause of early defoliation. Spots are first brown and later grey; leaves yellow and drop.

Management Options

Gathering and destroying infected leaves after they have dropped can be a very effective sanitation method if done thoroughly. If mulch is used, apply fresh mulch after leaf fall.

Powdery Mildew

Powdery mildew is a problem mainly on gooseberry and black currant. The fungus initially appears as a white fluffy mildew that later turns to a brown, felt-like coating on leaves, twigs, and fruits. Hot, humid weather favours the disease.

Management Options

Reduce shading and improve air circulation around the planting. Prune to keep rows narrow (30 - 50 cm) and plants spaced 15 cm apart.

Rust

The rust fungus spends part of its life cycle on white pine, but requires the currant or gooseberry as a host to complete its life cycle. Only the black currant, however, is defoliated. Orange spots, later growing into pimples, appear on the lower surface of leaves.

Management Options

The Consort black currant is resistant to white pine blister rust. Avoid planting currants and white pine near each other.

Scale Insects

Scale insects, particularly San Jose scale, are often found on shoots. The scales are up to 4 mm across, round, with a greyish, nipple-shaped projection in the centre that contain lemon-yellow, sack-like insects. For more information, refer to the section on scale insects in Chapter 1.

Management Options

A light infestation may be kept in check by birds and beneficial insects. Scale biological controls are commercially available, and may help to reduce populations.

Learn More

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 25 July 2005
Last Reviewed: 28 June 2010

Manuel du jardinier
Chapitre 5: Fruit
Bleuets, cassissier et groseillier

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Bleuets
  3. Cassissier et groseillier
  4. Liens connexes

Introduction

Le présent chapitre contient une description de divers ravageurs des cultures de petits fruits ainsi que des conseils sur des méthodes de lutte excluant l'utilisation de pesticides. Les jardiniers amateurs peuvent encore se procurer certains biopesticides et certains pesticides à faible risque pour lutter contre les mauvaises herbes et les ravageurs des pelouses et des jardins. Pour avoir plus d'information, voir le Chapitre 2 de ce manuel et le site Web du ministère de l'Environnement. Pour obtenir des conseils sur la lutte contre certains ravageurs ou mauvaises herbes en particulier, s'adresser à un horticulteur, à un maître jardinier ou à un centre de jardinage de votre localité.

Bleuets

Pyrale des atocas

Ce ravageur pond dans les petits fruits verts et, après avoir éclos, les larves se nourrissent des fruits en développement. Une même larve endommage de nombreux fruits, dont elle relie plusieurs grappes avec des fils de soie. Les fruits endommagés présentent habituellement des points d'alimentation salis avec des excréments externes à l'aspect de sciure ainsi que des toiles. La chenille est verdâtre avec des teintes rouge brunâtre sur le dos; à maturité, elle atteint une longueur d'environ 9,5 mm. Les adultes ont la forme d'un V avec une tête pointue et ils sont brun grisâtre avec des taches blanches.

Méthodes de lutte

Ramasser les larves à la main et les éliminer. Maintenir les plants de bleuets exempts de débris. Le travail régulier du sol entre les plants permet de limiter la multiplication de ce ravageur.

Chancres de la tige à Phomopsis et à Fusicoccum

Plusieurs formes de chancre de la tige touchent les bleuets en corymbe. Fusicoccum forme des chancres elliptiques reconnaissables sur la partie inférieure de la tige. Les chancres à Phomopsis sont moins caractéristiques et apparaissent comme des zones aplaties et allongées sur la tige. Les deux formes de maladie peuvent provoquer un flétrissement rapide et la mort des tiges de bleuets de deux ou trois ans. Les feuilles prennent une teinte brun rougeâtre et restent fixées aux tiges.

Méthodes de lutte

Couper et brûler les tiges malades dès que la maladie apparaît. Les plants de bleuets sont plus susceptibles à Phomopsis s'ils ont reçu un excès d'engrais azotés, s'ils poussent dans des sols mal drainés, s'ils ont subi des lésions dues à l'hiver ou sont endommagés ou blessés.

Cassissier et groseillier

Pucerons

Les pucerons causent souvent des dommages graves aux groseilliers, surtout aux variétés rouges. Les feuilles attaquées froncent, s'enroulent et présentent des cloques rouges.

Pour plus d'information, voir la partie sur les pucerons au Chapitre 1.

Méthodes de lutte

Pour les méthodes de lutte, voir la partie sur les framboises.

Sésie du groseillier, cèphe du groseillier

Ces insectes foreurs et anneleurs, respectivement, ravagent parfois l'écorce des tiges ligneuses. Les tiges parasitées ont une apparence maladive, portent de petites feuilles jaunes et finissent par mourir.

Méthodes de lutte

Couper les tiges malades dès qu'on les remarque, quelle que soit la saison. Les tiges de plus de trois ans sont moins productives et devraient être taillées au printemps avant le débourrement des bourgeons à feuilles afin de minimiser les risques d'infestation. Épandre du fumier pour stimuler la croissance des nouvelles tiges.

Mouche du groseillier

Les « vers » qu’on trouve parfois dans les fruits sont des larves de la mouche du groseillier. Les groseilles infestées mûrissent prématurément et, très souvent, tombent au sol.

Méthodes de lutte

Ramasser et détruire les fruits infestés de manière à réduire les risques d’infection l’année suivante.

Tenthrède du groseillier

Les larves de la tenthrède du groseillier ont le corps vert tacheté de noir, de nombreuses pattes et mesurent 2,5 cm de longueur. Elles rongent les feuilles des groseilliers et des gadeliers blancs ou rouges (mais dédaignent les cassissiers) dès que ces arbustes ont déployé leurs feuilles. L'adulte est un petit insecte noir ressemblant à une guêpe.

Méthodes de lutte

Inspecter régulièrement les plants à partir du printemps et enlever toutes les larves à la main.

Tache foliaire

La maladie des taches foliaires entraîne souvent la chute prématurée des feuilles. Les taches sont d'abord brunes puis deviennent grises. Les feuilles jaunissent et tombent.

Méthodes de lutte

Ramasser et détruire les feuilles infectées après qu'elles sont tombées. Cette précaution est très efficace si elle est faite soigneusement. Si l'on utilise un paillis, il faut le renouveler après la chute des feuilles.

Oïdium

Le blanc (oïdium) affecte surtout les groseilliers et les gadeliers noirs (cassissiers). Le champignon ressemble d'abord à une moisissure blanche duveteuse puis se transforme en un feutrage brun sur les feuilles, les rameaux et les fruits. Le temps chaud et humide prédispose à la maladie.

Méthodes de lutte

Réduire l'ombe et améliorer la circulation d'air autour de la plantation. Éclaircir pour maintenir des rangées étroites (30 à 50 cm) et les plants espacés (15 cm).

Rouille vésiculeuse

Le champignon de la rouille vésiculeuse passe une partie de son cycle vital sur le pin blanc, mais a besoin d'un groseillier, d'un gadelier ou d'un cassissier pour le terminer. Le cassissier est cependant le seul à perdre ses feuilles. Des taches orangées viennent ponctuer la face inférieure des feuilles et se transforment plus tard en pustules.

Méthodes de lutte

La variété de cassis Consort résiste à la rouille vésiculeuse du pin blanc. Il ne faut pas planter de groseilliers à proximité de pins blancs.

Cochenilles

Les cochenilles, surtout les cochenilles de San José, parasitent souvent les nouvelles tiges. Elles ressemblent à de petites coques rondes d'au plus 4 mm de diamètre, au centre desquelles on remarque un mamelon grisâtre qui dissimule des insectes jaune citron en forme de pochette. Pour plus d'information, voir la partie sur les cochenilles au Chapitre 1.

Méthodes de lutte

Une infestation légère peut être tenue en échec par les oiseaux et les insectes utiles. Dans le commerce, on trouve des produits de lutte biologique qui permettent de réduire les populations de cochenilles.

Liens connexes


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 16 juin 2010
Dernière révision : 9 août 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca