The Online Gardener's Handbook 2010
Chapter 5: Fruit
Apricot, Peach, Nectarine, Plum and Prune

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Apricot
  3. Nectarine
  4. Peach
  5. Plum and Prune
  6. Learn More

Introduction

In this chapter, a description of various pests of tender fruit will be provided along with suggested management options. These management options will not include the use of pesticides. Some biopesticides and certain reduced risk pesticides are still available to the homeowner for controlling weeds and pests in lawns and gardens. For more information, refer to Chapter 2 of this handbook and the Ministry of the Environment's website. For suggestions on managing specific weeds and pests, consult local horticulturalists, Master Gardeners or your local garden supply centre.

NOTE FOR TREE OWNERS: There is an exception under the ban that allows you to hire a licensed exterminator authorized to use commercial pesticides to maintain the health of your tree. This exception applies only to pests that threaten the tree's health. For example, the exception cannot be applied to a pest that impacts the quality of the fruit but will not kill the tree itself. To obtain this exception, licensed exterminators are required to obtain a written opinion from a professional tree care specialist that a pesticide is necessary to maintain tree health. For more information, contact the Ministry of the Environment.

Note that many fruit trees can tolerate some damage, particularly to the foliage, without suffering lasting impacts. Pest descriptions below include suggestions for cultural controls however in many situations these may not be necessary.

Apricot

Cytospora Cankers

Cystospora is a fungal infection occurring on the trunk and lower branches that usually enters through wounds in the tree. Twigs develop brownish-black areas around winter-killed buds or scarred areas on the bark. By early summer, a gummy substance appears, and later the bark separates from the wood. The cankers grow larger every year, and are most conspicuous on the main trunk or scaffold branches.

Management Options

As cytospora enters through wounds in the tree, your best defence is to control for peach tree borers (see below) and to avoid bark injury, long pruning stubs, winter injury, or brown rot injury to twigs. Prune trees in spring, not fall, and remove any dead wood before the end of June. Do not prune in cool, wet weather. Do not apply fertilizer after June. Healthy trees growing on well-drained, deep, sandy soil are less likely to get cankers.

Peach Tree Borers

Peach tree borers attack peach, nectarine, apricot and sometimes plum and cherry trees. For more information, see Peach.

Bacterial Spot

Bacterial spot causes small, round, tan spots to appear on leaves which later turn purplish and angular. Small, sunken, round spots also appear on the fruit and later the fruit cracks. Extended periods of wet weather encourage the spread and development of the bacteria.

Management Options

Remove all fruit at harvest and remove infected leaves regularly. When planting, avoid shaded areas with poor air circulation. Keep trees well pruned to promote air circulation and promote rapid drying of foliage and fruit. Plant resistant varieties, if available.

Brown Rot

Brown rot is a fungus that attacks various parts of the tree. Blossoms that become infected shrivel, twigs are killed, and fruit becomes covered with grey-brown mould and rots rapidly. Infected fruit may drop or hang on the tree throughout the winter, and mould can develop on the fruit even after harvesting.

Management Options

Throw all mouldy fruit in the garbage or bury it to reduce infection next summer. Cut dried fruit (mummies) out of trees when pruning and dispose of it in the same manner early in the fall. Remove all remaining fruit from trees at the end of the season. Keep trees well pruned to promote air circulation and promote rapid drying of foliage and fruit.

Nectarine

Cytospora Canker

Cystospora is a fungal infection occurring on the trunk and lower branches that usually enters through wounds in the tree. For more information, see Apricot.

Leaf Curl

Leaf curl is a fungal disease that affects peaches and nectarines. Symptoms are noticeable in spring as reddish areas on leaves, which thicken and blister, causing leaves to curl. Eventually, leaves turn yellow and drop. Twigs and shoots may also be affected, with twigs becoming distorted and reddish areas appearing on the fruit surface. The tree is weakened if disease occurs several years in succession.

Management Options

Remove and destroy infected leaves as they appear in the spring. Plant tolerant varieties, if available.

Oriental Fruit Moths

See Insects and Diseases Affecting Many Fruit Crops.

Peach Tree Borers

Peach tree borers attack peach, nectarine, apricot and sometimes plum and cherry trees. For more information, see Peach.

Bacterial Spot

Bacterial spot causes small, round, tan spots to appear on leaves which later turn purplish and angular. For more information, see Apricot.

Brown Rot

Brown rot is a fungus that attacks various parts of the tree For more information, see Apricot.

Peach

Cytospora Cankers

Cystospora is a fungal infection occurring on the trunk and lower branches that usually enters through wounds in the tree. For more information, see Apricot.

Leaf Curl

Leaf curl causes leaves to curl and reddish blisters to appear. For more information, see Nectarine.

Oriental Fruit Moths

See Insects and Diseases Affecting Many Fruit Crops.

Peach Tree Borers

Peach tree borers attack peach, nectarine, apricot and sometimes plum and cherry trees. The adult or their larvae are seldom seen, but brown frass and gum appear on the trunk from the scaffold branches down to exposed roots, due to larval feeding. Gum may also appear at wounds and on winter-injured bark, which are entry places for the borers. Young trees may be killed. Older trees are able to survive light infestations for a few years but may also weaken and die unless borers are controlled.

Adults are wasp-like moths that lay eggs around the base of the trunk in late summer and early fall. Caterpillars, 2.5-3.0 cm long with brownish heads, hatch and burrow into the wood.

Management Options

Wrap strong paper - not tarpaper - around the trunk of young, transplanted trees up to the lowest branch, and leave in place for at least two years after planting. Any pruning or accidental wounds should be scraped clean. If the tree is infested, remove gum and poke flexible wire into the holes to kill borers. Sterilize the hole with a solution of 1 part bleach in 4 parts water and seal with putty. Do this in the spring and fall.

Bacterial Spot

Bacterial spot causes small, round, tan spots to appear on leaves which later turn purplish and angular. For more information, see Apricot.

Brown Rot

Brown rot is a fungus that attacks various parts of the tree. For more information, see Apricot.

Plum and Prune

Apple Maggots or Railroad Worms

Italian and Stanley plums are susceptible to apple maggots, whereas other plum varieties are not. For more information, see Apples.

Tentiform Leafminers

Adult tentiform leafminers are tiny (3-4 mm long), brown and white moths. The larvae damage the leaves, creating speckled blotches of hollowed out, tented tissue. For more information, see Apples.

Pear Slugs

Pear slugs are the larvae of sawflies and are not true slugs. For more information, see Pears.

Peach Tree Borers

Peach tree borers sometimes attack plum trees. For more information, see Peach.

Bacterial Spot

Bacterial spot causes small, round, tan spots to appear on leaves which later turn purplish and angular. For more information, see Apricot.

Brown Rot

Brown rot is a fungus that attacks various parts of the tree. For more information, see Apricot.

Black Knot

Black knot is a fungal disease of plum and sometimes cherry. Early symptoms appear as greenish swelling that expand over a period of 1-2 years to become hard, woody black swellings up to 10 cm long on branches and small twigs. These eventually girdle and kill the branches.

Management Options

Remove and burn all infected branches. This should be done in late winter, before any new growth begins. Do not leave pruned knots in the garden, as this will serve as a source of new infections. Knots on bigger limbs can be cut out - make the cut at least 10 cm below the knot as the fungus colonizes the inner bark beyond the visible swelling. It is important to prune every year, as early infections are not easy to see. Destroy nearby wild or neglected plum and cherry trees. Japanese plums are more resistant to this disease than European varieties. Mature black knots may be naturally colonized by a parasitic fungus, making them appear creamy-yellow to pink in colour. Black knots colonized by this beneficial fungus do not produce spores.

Learn More

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 25 July 2005
Last Reviewed: 28 June 2010

Manuel du jardinier
Chapitre 5: Fruit
Abricotier, pêcher, nectarinier, prunier

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Abricotier
  3. Nectarinier
  4. Pêcher
  5. Prunier
  6. Liens connexes

Introduction

Le présent chapitre contient une description de divers ravageurs des fruits tendres ainsi que des conseils sur des méthodes de lutte excluant l'utilisation de pesticides. Les jardiniers amateurs peuvent encore se procurer certains biopesticides et certains pesticides à faible risque pour lutter contre les mauvaises herbes et les ravageurs des pelouses et des jardins. Pour avoir plus d'information, voir le Chapitre 2 de ce manuel et le site Web du ministère de l'Environnement. Pour obtenir des conseils sur la lutte contre certains ravageurs ou mauvaises herbes en particulier, s'adresser à un horticulteur, à un maître jardinier ou à un centre de jardinage de votre localité.

Note à l'intention des propiétaires d'arbres : L'interdiction sur les pesticides prévoit une exception pour l'embauche d'un exterminateur titulaire d'un permis et habilité à employer des pesticides commerciaux pour protéger la santé de vos arbres. Cette exception ne vise que les ravageurs qui menacent la santé des arbres. Par exemple, on ne peut l'invoquer pour lutter contre des espèces qui nuisent à la qualité des fruits sans tuer l'arbre lui même. Pour pouvoir s'en prévaloir, les exterminateurs titulaires d'un permis doivent obtenir l'avis écrit d'un professionnel spécialiste de l'arboriculture établissant que l'emploi d'un pesticide est nécessaire au maintien de la santé de l'arbre. Pour plus d'information, communiquer avec le ministère de l'Environnement.

À noter que de nombreux arbres fruitiers tolèrent certains dommages, en particulier au feuillage, sans en souffrir de façon durable. Les descriptions de ravageurs ci dessous sont accompagnées de conseils sur les méthodes de lutte culturale, mais dans de nombreux cas la mise en œuvre de celles ci peut ne pas être nécessaire.

Abricotier

Chancre cytosporéen

Le chancre cytosporéen est une infection fongique du tronc et des branches basses qui entre habituellement par des blessures. Sur les petits rameaux, on remarque des lésions brun noir autour des boutons détruits par l'hiver ou des cicatrices sur l'écorce. Au début de l'été, une substance collante suinte de ces lésions puis des lambeaux d'écorce se détachent. Les chancres grossissent d'année en année et ceux qui se forment sur le tronc principal ou les branches charpentières sont les plus visibles.

Méthodes de lutte

Comme la maladie entre par les blessures de l'arbre, la meilleure mesure préventive consiste à combattre le perceur du pêcher (voir ci dessous), à éviter les longs moignons laissés par la taille ainsi que les lésions infligées à l'écorce et celles produites par l'hiver ou laissées par la pourriture brune sur les rameaux. Tailler les arbres au printemps et non en automne, et enlever tout bois mort avant la fin de juin; ne pas tailler lorsqu'il fait froid et humide. Ne pas épandre d'engrais après le mois de juin. Les arbres sains qui poussent sur des sols bien drainés, profonds et sablonneux sont moins sujets aux chancres.

Perceur du pêcher

Le perceur du pêcher s'attaque au pêcher, au nectarinier, à l'abricotier et parfois au prunier et au cerisier. Pour plus d'information, voir la partie sur le pêcher.

Tache bactérienne

La tache bactérienne produit de petites taches circulaires rousses sur les feuilles. Plus tard, ces taches virent au violet et deviennent anguleuses. On trouve aussi de petites taches enfoncées sur le fruit, qui finit par se fendiller. L'humidité persistante favorise la propagation et la prolifération de la bactérie.

Méthodes de lutte

Enlever périodiquement les feuilles infectées, et prélever tous les fruits au moment de la récolte. Lors de la plantation, éviter les endroits ombragés avec une mauvaise circulation d'air. Garder les arbres bien taillés pour faciliter la circulation de l'air et accélérer le séchage du feuillage et des fruits. Planter des variétés résistantes, si elles sont disponibles.

Pourriture brune

La monoliose ou pourriture brune est due à un champignon qui s'attaque à diverses parties de l'arbre. Les bourgeons infectés se rabougrissent, les branches meurent, les fruits se couvrent d'une moisissure brun gris et pourrissent rapidement. Les fruits infectés tombent ou restent accrochés à l'arbre tout l'hiver et la moisissure peut se développer sur le fruit même après la récolte.

Méthodes de lutte

Jeter aux ordures ou enterrer les fruits moisis afin de limiter l'infection l'année suivante. Faire de même avec les fruits desséchés (momifiés) sur l'arbre au moment de la taille, au début de l'automne. À la fin de la saison, enlever tous les fruits restants des arbres. Garder les arbres bien taillés pour faciliter la circulation de l'air et accélérer le séchage du feuillage et des fruits.

Nectarinier

Chancre cytosporéen

Le chancre cytosporéen est une infection fongique du tronc et des branches basses qui entre habituellement par des blessures de l'arbre. Pour plus d'information, voir la partie sur l'abricotier.

Cloque

La cloque est une maladie fongique des pêchers et des nectariniers. Au printemps, elle produit sur les feuilles des zones rougeâtres très visibles qui épaississent et forment des cloques; les feuilles s'enroulent et finissent par jaunir et tomber. La cloque peut également toucher les pousses et les rameaux; ces derniers se déforment et des zones rouges apparaissent à la surface des fruits. Lorsque la maladie se déclare plusieurs années de suite, elle affaiblit l'arbre.

Méthodes de lutte

Enlever et détruire les feuilles infectées dès qu'on les remarque au printemps. Planter des variétés tolérantes, si elles sont disponibles.

Tordeuse orientale du pêcher

Voir la partie sur les ravageurs et maladies touchant de nombreuses cultures fruitières.

Perceur du pêcher

Le perceur du pêcher attaque le pêcher, le nectarinier, l'abricotier et parfois le prunier et le cerisier. Pour plus d'information, voir la partie sur le pêcher.

Tache bactérienne

La tache bactérienne se manifeste sur les feuilles par de petites taches circulaires rousses qui, plus tard, virent au violet et prennent une forme anguleuse. Pour plus d'information, voir la partie sur l'abricotier.

Pourriture brune

La maladie est causée par un champignon qui attaque diverses parties des arbres. Pour plus d'information, voir la partie sur l'abricotier.

Pêcher

Chancre cytosporéen

Le chancre cytosporéen est une infection fongique du tronc et des branches basses qui entre habituellement par des blessures de l'arbre. Pour plus d'information, voir la partie sur l'abricotier.

Cloque

La cloque provoque l'enroulement des feuilles, qui se couvrent de boursouflures rougeâtres. Pour plus d'information, voir la partie sur le nectarinier.

Tordeuse orientale du pêcher

Voir la partie sur les ravageurs et maladies touchant de nombreuses cultures fruitières.

Perceur du pêcher

Le perceur du pêcher attaque les pêchers, les nectariniers, les abricotiers et, parfois, les pruniers et les cerisiers. Les insectes et les larves passent souvent inaperçus mais la sciure et la substance gommeuse que l'on voit sur le tronc, depuis les racines exposées jusqu'au niveau des branches charpentières, trahissent les ravages de la larve. On trouve aussi de la gomme sur les plaies de l'écorce et des gélivures causées par le froid, qui sont des voies d'accès pour les perceurs. Les jeunes arbres peuvent mourir. Les arbres plus vieux résistent à des infestations bénignes pendant quelques années, mais finissent par s'affaiblir et peuvent en mourir à moins qu'on ne les débarrasse des perceurs.

L'adulte est une noctuelle ayant l'aspect d'une guêpe, qui pond ses oeufs autour de la base du tronc à la fin de l'été et au début de l'automne. De ces œufs sortent des chenilles de 2,5 à 3 cm de longueur, à tête brunâtre, qui creusent des galeries dans le bois.

Méthodes de lutte

Envelopper de papier fort (non goudronné), le tronc des jeunes arbres transplantés, depuis le sol jusqu'à la branche la plus basse. Laisser le papier pendant au moins deux ans. Gratter soigneusement toute blessure causée par l'élagage de grosses branches ou par accident. Si l'arbre est infesté de perceurs, enlever les sécrétions gommeuses et enfoncer un fil de fer souple dans les galeries pour tenter de tuer les chenilles. Stériliser ensuite la galerie avec une solution composée d'une partie d'eau de Javel et de quatre parties d'eau, puis sceller l'orifice avec du mastic, le tout, au printemps et à l'automne.

Tache bactérienne

La tache bactérienne se manifeste sur les feuilles par de petites taches circulaires rousses qui, plus tard, virent au violet et prennent une forme anguleuse. Pour plus d'information, voir la partie sur l'abricotier.

Pourriture brune

La maladie est causée par un champignon qui attaque diverses parties des arbres. Pour plus d'information, voir la partie sur l'abricotier.

Prunier

Mouche de la pomme ou ver chemin de fer

Seules les variétés Italian ou Stanley sont sensibles à la mouche de la pomme. Pour plus d'information, voir la partie sur le pommier.

Mineuse à tente

L'adulte est un papillon nocturne minuscule (3 à 4 mm de longueur), brun et blanc. La larve endommage les feuilles en créant des taches ponctuées de tissu creusé et formant une sorte de tente. Pour plus d'information, voir la partie sur le pommier.

Tenthrède squeletteuse du cerisier

Il s'agit en fait de la larve de la mouche à scie. Pour plus d'information, voir la partie sur le poirier.

Perceur du pêcher

Le perceur du pêcher s'attaque parfois au prunier. Pour plus d'information, voir la partie sur le pêcher.

Tache bactérienne

La tache bactérienne produit sur les feuilles de petites taches circulaires rousses qui, plus tard, virent au violet et prennent une forme anguleuse. Pour plus d'information, voir la partie sur l'abricotier.

Pourriture brune

La maladie est causée par un champignon qui s'attaque à diverses parties des arbres. Pour plus d'information, voir la partie sur l'abricotier.

Nodule noir

Le nodule noir est une maladie fongique du prunier et parfois du cerisier. Les premiers symptômes sont des renflements verdâtres qui s'étendent sur une période de un à deux ans, puis qui durcissent et deviennent ligneux et noirs, et qui peuvent atteindre 10 cm de longueur sur les branches et les petits rameaux. Ils finissent par ceinturer les branches et par les tuer.

Méthodes de lutte

Couper et brûler toutes les branches infectées à la fin de l'hiver, avant le début de toute nouvelle croissance. Ne pas laisser les nodules coupés dans le jardin parce qu'ils deviendraient une nouvelle source d'infection. Les nodules des plus grosses branches peuvent être découpés; inciser à au moins 10 cm sous le nodule parce que le champignon colonise l'écorce interne autour du renflement visible. Il importe d'effectuer la taille chaque année parce que les nouvelles infections ne sont pas faciles à voir. Couper les pruniers et les cerisiers sauvages ou négligés qui se trouvent dans le voisinage. Les pruniers d'Asie sont plus résistants à cette maladie que les variétés européennes. Les nodules noirs parvenus à maturité peuvent être colonisés naturellement par des champignons parasites utiles qui leur donnent une couleur jaune crème à rose; dans ce cas, ils ne produisent pas de spores.

Liens connexes


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 16 juin 2010
Dernière révision : 9 août 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca