The Online Gardener's Handbook 2010
Chapter 4: Vegetables
Carrot, Celery, Lettuce, Parsnip

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Aster Yellows
  3. Carrot Rust Flies
  4. Downy Mildew
  5. Leaf Spots and Blight
  6. Pea Leafminer
  7. Learn More

Introduction

In this chapter, a description of various carrot, celery, lettuce and parsnip pests will be provided along with suggested management options. These management options will not include the use of pesticides. Some biopesticides and certain reduced risk pesticides are still available to the homeowner for controlling weeds and pests in lawns and gardens. For more information, refer to Chapter 2 of this handbook and the Ministry of the Environment's website. For suggestions on managing specific weeds and pests, consult local horticulturalists, Master Gardeners or your local garden supply centre.

Aster Yellows

Aster Yellows is caused by a mycoplasma-like organism, with symptoms similar to viral diseases. It affects carrot, celery and lettuce, turning leaves yellow and stunting growth. Carrots also develop multiple crowns and many lateral roots. The disease is spread by the aster leafhopper.

Management Options

Prompt removal and destruction of affected plants is of some help. Control weeds in and around the garden. Reduce leafhopper populations - for information on managing leafhoppers, refer to Beans.

Carrot Rust Flies

The first generation adults of carrot rust flies lay eggs near the young carrot and parsnip plants during May; the small yellowish-white maggots that hatch invade the roots. The maggots will feed on root hairs for up to a month before tunnelling into the carrot. A second generation usually occurs in mid-to-late July. Adults are shiny and black and approximately 6 mm in length. The maggots are cream-white and legless with dark mouthhooks. Roots are covered with rust-red burrows and surface scars, but damage is usually limited to the lower two-thirds of the root.

Management Options

Delay seeding until July 1. This usually reduces populations of the second generation in late July, but some damage by the larvae may be expected. Plant these crops away from sheltered areas as this fly avoids windy locations. Remove and destroy infested roots - do not compost. Control weeds in the carrot family (e.g. Queen Anne's Lace) that are in and around gardens.

Downy Mildew

Downy mildew is a fungal disease that affects lettuce and primarily occurs in cool, moist weather in spring and fall. Yellow patches develop on leaves, later becoming brown and faintly netted with dark markings. Undersides of patches may be covered with a downy, white fungus growth under humid conditions. Infected tissue usually dies.

Management Options

Plant resistant varieties, space adequately and follow proper watering practices. Remove and destroy infected tissue. Rotate out of lettuce and celery if possible.

Leaf Spots and Blight

Leaf spots and blight are quite common on carrot and celery and cause leaves to turn brown or black and curl. First symptoms appear on the lower leaves, usually in late July. On carrots, mild symptoms do not need to be treated. On celery, usually older, outer leaves are affected so there is often little impact on plant, unless the blight starts to affect the celery stalks or when a majority of the leaves are infected.

Management Options

Plant disease-free, hot-water treated seed. Follow proper watering procedures. Rotate crops and improve air circulation.

Pea Leafminer

The pea leafminer has been found in the Holland Marsh area of Ontario, on celery, lettuce (especially the head and leaf types) and other leafy vegetables. Adults are small, black to grey flies with yellow markings. Eggs are laid in the leaves, leaving small "bronzed" puncture marks. Females pierce the leaves to feed on plant sap. Larvae feed between the leaves, creating straight mines that follow the veins. The pea leafminer is typically a late season pest with populations peaking anytime from the end of August through the middle of September.

Management Options

Harvesting susceptible crops before the beginning of September may avoid population peaks when the most severe damage occurs.

Learn More

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 21 July 2005
Last Reviewed: 25 June 2010

Manuel du jardinier
Chapitre 4: Légumes
Carotte, céleri, laitue, panais

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Jaunisse de l'aster
  3. Mouche de la carotte
  4. Mildiou
  5. Tache foliaire et brûlure des feuilles
  6. Mineuse sud américaine
  7. Liens connexes

Introduction

Ce chapitre contient une description de divers ravageurs de la carotte, du céleri, de la laitue et du panais, ainsi que des conseils sur diverses méthodes de lutte excluant l'utilisation de pesticides. Les jardiniers amateurs peuvent encore se procurer certains biopesticides et certains pesticides à faible risque pour lutter contre les mauvaises herbes et les ravageurs des pelouses et des jardins. Pour avoir plus d'information, voir le Chapitre 2 de ce manuel et le site Web du ministère de l'Environnement. Pour obtenir des conseils sur la lutte contre certains ravageurs ou mauvaises herbes en particulier, s'adresser à un horticulteur, à un maître jardinier ou à un centre de jardinage de votre localité.

Jaunisse de l'aster

La jaunisse de l'aster, causée par un mycoplasme des plantes, produit des symptômes semblables à ceux des viroses. Elle infecte la carotte, le céleri et la laitue dont les feuilles jaunissent et la croissance ralentit. Les carottes développent plusieurs petits collets et plusieurs racines latérales. Cette maladie est transmise par la cicadelle de l'aster.

Méthodes de lutte

Il est utile d'enlever rapidement les plants infectés et de les détruire. Désherber le jardin et ses environs. Réduire les populations de cicadelles; voir l'information pertinente dans la partie sur les haricots.

Mouche de la carotte

En mai, les adultes de la première génération de mouches de la carotte pondent près des jeunes plants de carotte et de panais; après avoir éclos, les petits asticots blanc jaunâtre envahissent les racines. Ils peuvent se nourrir des poils absorbants pendant un mois avant de creuser des galeries vers l'intérieur de la carotte. Une deuxième génération apparaît habituellement durant la dernière quinzaine de juillet. Les adultes sont brillants et noirs, d'une longueur d'environ 6 mm. Les asticots sont blanc crème et dépourvus de pattes, avec des crochets buccaux foncés. Les racines sont couvertes de cicatrices superficielles et de galeries rouge rouille, mais ces dommages sont généralement limités aux deux tiers inférieurs.

Méthodes de lutte

Retarder les semis jusqu'au 1er juillet. Ce retard réduit normalement la population de la deuxième génération, qui apparaît à la fin juillet. Malgré tout, on doit s'attendre à quelques dommages par les larves. Semer ces cultures loin des endroits abrités, car la mouche évite les endroits venteux. Enlever et détruire les racines infestées, ne pas les composter. Éliminer les mauvaises herbes de la famille de la carotte qui poussent dans le jardin ou autour (carotte sauvage).

Mildiou

Le mildiou est une maladie fongique qui touche la laitue, principalement par temps frais et humide, au printemps et à l'automne. Le feuillage se couvre de taches jaunes qui deviennent ensuite brunâtres et légèrement bigarrées de marques sombres. Par temps humide, la face inférieure de ces taches peut se couvrir d'une moisissure duveteuse blanche. Généralement, les tissus infectés meurent.

Méthodes de lutte

Cultiver des variétés résistantes, espacer suffisamment les plants et adopter de bonnes méthodes d'arrosage. Enlever et détruire les tissus infectés. Si possible, prévoir une rotation sans laitue et sans céleri.

Tache foliaire et brûlure des feuilles

Les taches foliaires et la brûlure des feuilles sont fréquentes sur la carotte et le céleri, dont le feuillage brunit ou noircit et se recroqueville. Les premiers symptômes se manifestent sur les feuilles du bas, habituellement à la fin juillet. Sur les carottes, il n'est pas nécessaire de traiter les symptômes légers. Sur le céleri, habituellement plus vieux, ce sont les feuilles extérieures qui sont touchées; le plant est donc souvent peu endommagé à moins que la brûlure s'étende aux branches ou à la majorité des feuilles.

Méthodes de lutte

Employer des semences saines, traitées à l'eau chaude. Adopter de bonnes méthodes d'arrosage. Pratiquer la rotation des cultures et améliorer la circulation de l'air.

Mineuse sud américaine

En Ontario, la mineuse sud américaine a été découverte dans la région du marais Holland sur du céleri, de la laitue (notamment pommée et frisée) et d'autres légumes à feuilles. Les adultes sont de petites mouches noires ou grises à marques jaunes. Les femelles pondent dans les feuilles, où elles laissent de petites piqûres " bronzées ". Elles percent les feuilles pour boire la sève. Les larves se nourrissent entre les feuilles en creusant des galeries rectilignes qui suivent les nervures. La mineuse sud américaine est généralement un ravageur de fin de saison dont les populations peuvent atteindre leur maximum à tout moment entre la fin août et la mi septembre.

Méthodes de lutte

Il est possible de récolter les cultures susceptibles avant le début septembre pour éviter le pic de population, pendant lequel les dommages sont les plus importants.

Liens connexes


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 16 juin 2010
Dernière révision : 9 août 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca