The Online Gardener's Handbook 2010
Chapter 4: Vegetables
Beet, Swiss Chard, Spinach

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Leafminers
  3. Learn More

Introduction

In this chapter, a description of various leafy vegetable pests will be provided along with suggested management options. These management options will not include the use of pesticides. Some biopesticides and certain reduced risk pesticides are still available to the homeowner for controlling weeds and pests in lawns and gardens. For more information, refer to Chapter 2 of this handbook and the Ministry of the Environment's website. For suggestions on managing specific weeds and pests, consult local horticulturalists, Master Gardeners or your local garden supply centre.

Leafminers

Several species of Leafminers damage leafy vegetables in Ontario. Look for the presence of twisted tunnels or mines inside the leaves. For more information, see the Leafminer section of Chapter 1.

The pea leafminer has been found in the Holland Marsh area of Ontario. The adult causes severe stipling (bronzing) damage to leaves of spinach and Swiss chard. Mining of the leaves by pea leafminer larvae is not as common. For more information on the pea leafminer, see lettuce and celery.

Management Options

Damage may not be an issue if only roots and stems are eaten. Leafminer feeding may be more problematic on spinach and Swiss chard. Grow New Zealand-type spinach, which is not attacked. Destroy damaged leaves; do not compost. Scrape off eggs, which are laid by some species on the undersides of leaves.

Learn More

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 21 July 2005
Last Reviewed: 25 June 2010

Manuel du jardinier
Chapitre 4: Légumes
Betterave, bette à carde, épinards

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Mineuses
  3. Liens connexes

Introduction

Ce chapitre contient une description de divers ravageurs des légumes à feuilles ainsi que des conseils sur diverses méthodes de lutte excluant l'utilisation de pesticides. Les jardiniers amateurs peuvent encore se procurer certains biopesticides et certains pesticides à faible risque pour lutter contre les mauvaises herbes et les ravageurs des pelouses et des jardins. Pour avoir plus d'information, voir le Chapitre 2 de ce manuel et le site Web du ministère de l'Environnement. Pour obtenir des conseils sur la lutte contre certains ravageurs ou mauvaises herbes en particulier, s'adresser à un horticulteur, à un maître jardinier ou à un centre de jardinage de votre localité.

Mineuses

Plusieurs espèces de mineuses s'attaquent aux plantes à feuilles en Ontario. Rechercher la présence de galeries ou de tunnels tordus dans les feuilles. Pour plus d'information, voir la partie sur les mineuses au Chapitre 1.

En Ontario, la mineuse sud américaine a été découverte dans la région du marais Holland. L'adulte produit des piqûres prononcées (bronzées) sur les feuilles d'épinards et de bettes à cardes. Moins fréquemment, la larve de la mineuse sud américaine creuse aussi des galeries dans les feuilles. Pour plus d'information sur ce ravageur, voir les parties sur la laitue et le céleri.

Méthodes de lutte

Les dommages peuvent être négligeables si seules les racines et les tiges sont attaquées. Les effets des mineuses qui s'alimentent peuvent être plus préoccupants dans le cas des épinards et de la bette à carde. Cultiver les épinards de Nouvelle Zélande, qui ne sont pas attaqués par ces insectes. Détruire les feuilles endommagées, mais ne pas les composter. Certaines espèces pondent sur la face inférieure des feuilles; dans ce cas, enlever les œufs en les grattant.

Liens connexes


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 16 juin 2010
Dernière révision : 9 août 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca