The Online Gardener's Handbook 2010
Chapter 4: Vegetables
Beans

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Beans (not Broad, Fava or Windsor)
  3. Beans: Broad, Fava or Windsor
  4. Learn More

Introduction

In this chapter, a description of various bean pests will be provided along with suggested management options. These management options will not include the use of pesticides. Some biopesticides and certain reduced risk pesticides are still available to the homeowner for controlling weeds and pests in lawns and gardens. For more information, refer to Chapter 2 of this handbook and the Ministry of the Environment's website. For suggestions on managing specific weeds and pests, consult local horticulturalists, Master Gardeners or your local garden supply centre.

Beans (not Broad, Fava or Windsor)

Bean Rust

Bean rust is caused by a fungus and can be a very devastating disease that re-occurs yearly if not controlled. Numerous reddish-brown, circular, raised lesions up to 2 mm in diameter appear on leaves and sometimes pods. If leaves are severely infected, they will yellow, shrivel and drop. Infection is favoured in moderate temperatures when plants are moist for 10-18 hours. Pole beans are more susceptible than bush beans.

Management Options

Plant resistant varieties. Rotate crops. Remove and destroy all infected plant residues. Cut down and destroy vines and other crop refuse immediately after harvest and use new poles each year or thoroughly disinfect old ones. Follow proper watering practices and promote air circulation. In a small garden it may be necessary to stop growing beans for at least one growing season.

Leafhoppers

For information and descriptions, refer to the Leafhoppers section of Chapter 1.

Management Options

Wash nymphs (the more sedentary stages) off plants (especially leaf undersides) with a strong jet of water. Setting out yellow sticky traps near infested plants may trap some incoming adults, although it will also attract and trap beneficial insects (e.g. predators). Leafhoppers have a number of natural predators and parasites which can help keep populations in check.

Mexican Bean Beetle

The Mexican bean beetle is a dirty to coppery-yellow colour with 16 black dots (8 on each wing cover). It belongs to the same family as the ladybug and may be mistaken for it. The Mexican bean beetle overwinters in garden debris and appears on beans in late June. Later, groups of orange-yellow eggs will be seen on the underside of bean leaves. Soft, yellow larvae, 2mm long with black-tipped spines develop from the eggs. They feed on the underside of leaves, removing the green and leaving the veins.

Management Options

Do not mistakenly kill beneficial ladybugs. Hand pick and destroy adults and larvae. Crush egg masses when observed. Follow garden sanitation procedures, especially in the fall to prevent beetles overwintering in plant debris. Timing of planting to harvest an early crop before beetle feeding becomes significant may help. Some sources suggest that interplanting rows of beans with rows of potato or nasturtiums, or planting savory or marigold can help to repel this pest, however there is little hard evidence to support this.

Seed-corn Maggots

For information and management options, see the section on Corn pests.

White Mould

For descriptions and management information see White Mould section under Insects and Diseases Affecting Many Vegetables.

Beans: Broad, Fava or Windsor

Aphids

These beans are different from green and wax beans. They are not attacked by the same insects, but are often severely infested by aphids, which can lead to mosaic and yellow mosaic virus. For more information and management options see Aphids section under Insects and Diseases Affecting Many Vegetables.

Management Options

Plant broad beans as early as possible, or start them indoors and set out as transplants to avoid heavy aphid infestations.

Learn More

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 21 July 2005
Last Reviewed: 25 June 2010

Manuel du jardinier
Chapitre 4: Légumes
Haricots

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Haricots (sauf gourgane, féverole ou fève de Windsor)
  3. Haricots (gourgane, féverole ou fève de Windsor)
  4. Liens connexes

Introduction

Le présent chapitre contient une description de divers ravageurs des cultures de haricots ainsi que des conseils sur des méthodes de lutte excluant l'utilisation de pesticides. Le jardinier amateur peut encore se procurer certains biopesticides et pesticides à faible risque pour lutter contre les mauvaises herbes et les ravageurs des pelouses et des jardins. Pour avoir plus d'information, voir le Chapitre 2 de ce manuel et le site Web du ministère de l'Environnement. Pour obtenir des conseils sur la lutte contre certains ravageurs ou mauvaises herbes en particulier, s'adresser à un horticulteur, à un maître jardinier ou à un centre de jardinage de votre localité.

Haricots (sauf gourgane, féverole ou fève de Windsor)

Rouille du haricot

La rouille du haricot est une maladie causée par un champignon et parfois très dévastatrice qui peut récidiver année après année si l'on ne prend pas les mesures qui s'imposent. Une multitude de petites lésions pustuleuses brun rouge, circulaires, pouvant atteindre 2 mm de diamètre, macule les feuilles et parfois aussi les cosses. Les feuilles gravement infectées jaunissent, se recroquevillent et tombent. L'infection est favorisée par une humidité persistant sur les plants pendant 10 heures à 18 heures lorsqu'il fait modérément chaud. Les haricots grimpants sont plus sensibles à la rouille que les haricots nains.

Méthodes de lutte

Planter des variétés résistantes. Pratiquer une rotation des cultures. Éliminer et détruire tous les résidus végétaux infectés. Couper et détruire les tiges et les autres résidus de culture immédiatement après la récolte; chaque année, utiliser de nouveaux tuteurs ou bien désinfecter les anciens. Appliquer de bonnes méthodes d'arrosage et assurer une bonne aération. Dans un petit jardin, il faut parfois s'abstenir de cultiver des haricots pendant au moins une saison de croissance.

Cicadelles

Pour trouver l'information pertinente et des descriptions, voir au Chapitre 1 la partie consacrée aux cicadelles.

Méthodes de lutte

Faire tomber les nymphes (stades plus sédentaires) des plants (en particulier de la face inférieure des feuilles) à l'aide d'un fort jet d'eau. Près des plants infestés, les plaquettes collantes jaunes permettent parfois de capturer quelques adultes qui viennent d'arriver, mais elles attirent et capturent aussi des insectes utiles (prédateurs). Il existe plusieurs prédateurs et parasites naturels des cicadelles qui permettent de limiter leurs populations.

Coccinelle mexicaine des haricots

La coccinelle mexicaine des haricots est de couleur blanc maculé à jaune cuivré et est ornée de 16 points noirs (8 sur chaque couverture alaire). Elle appartient à la même famille que la coccinelle commune et peut être méprise pour cette dernière. La coccinelle mexicaine des haricots hiverne dans les débris végétaux. Elle migre sur le haricot à la fin de juin. Plus tard, des grappes d'œufs jaune orangé apparaissent sous les feuilles. Il en sortira des larves jaunes et molles d'une longueur de 2 mm dotées de poils raides aux pointes noires. Elle se nourrit au revers des feuilles, dont elle ne laisse que les nervures.

Méthodes de lutte

Éviter de tuer par erreur les coccinelles utiles. Ramasser à la main et détruire tous les adultes et les larves. Écraser les grappes d'œufs. Surtout en automne, enlever du jardin tous les débris végétaux où les adultes peuvent passer l'hiver. Il peut être utile de prévoir la date des semis pour permettre une récolte précoce avant que la coccinelle mexicaine des haricots puisse produire des dommages significatifs. Certaines sources laissent entendre qu'il est possible de repousser ce ravageur en plaçant des rangs intermédiaires de pommes de terre ou de capucines, ou en plantant de la sarriette ou des soucis, mais il y a peu de preuves tangibles à cet effet.

Mouche des légumineuses

Pour trouver de l'information et connaître les méthodes de lutte, voir la partie sur les ravageurs du maïs.

Moisissure blanche

Pour trouver des descriptions et de l'information sur les méthodes de lutte, voir la partie sur la moisissure blanche, sous Ravageurs et maladies touchant de nombreux légumes.

Haricots (gourgane, féverole ou fève de Windsor)

Pucerons

Ces fèves, différentes des haricots verts et jaunes, ne sont pas attaqués par les mêmes insectes, mais elles sont souvent gravement infestées par les pucerons qui peuvent provoquer l'infection par le virus de la mosaïque ou de la mosaïque jaune. Pour trouver plus d'information et connaître les méthodes de lutte, voir la partie consacrée aux pucerons sous Ravageurs et maladies touchant de nombreux légumes.

Méthodes de lutte

Planter les gourganes le plus tôt possible ou les démarrer à l'intérieur pour les transplanter ensuite en pleine terre de façon à éviter les infestations de pucerons.

Liens connexes


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 16 juin 2010
Dernière révision : 9 août 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca