The Online Gardener's Handbook 2010
Chapter 4: Vegetables
Asparagus

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Asparagus Beetles
  3. Asparagus Rust
  4. Learn More

Introduction

In this chapter, a description of various asparagus pests will be provided along with suggested management options. These management options will not include the use of pesticides. Some biopesticides and certain reduced risk pesticides are still available to the homeowner for controlling weeds and pests in lawns and gardens. For more information, refer to Chapter 2 of this handbook and the Ministry of the Environment's website. For suggestions on managing specific weeds and pests, consult local horticulturalists, Master Gardeners or your local garden supply centre.

Asparagus Beetles

Asparagus beetles occasionally damage both the spear and the fern stages of plant growth. There are two species of beetles, one orange with black spots, the other metallic blue-black with 6 yellow spots; both are about 0.5 cm long. Larvae are olive-green or dark grey, emerging from dark, bullet-shaped eggs, which are very visible on the developing spears in late May, early June.

Management Options

On small plantings, hand pick and destroy beetles. Cut and destroy any spears when eggs are observed. Wash off eggs, larvae and beetles with a strong spray of water. Destroy nearby wild asparagus, which could harbour beetles. Remove dead fern growth.

Asparagus Rust

Asparagus rust appears in the late spring as slightly raised, light green, oval lesions. They turn creamy-orange and then reddish-brown and blister as they mature. Severe rust infections stunt growth, reduce plant vigour and may even kill young shoots.

Management Options

Plant tolerant varieties. Remove and destroy infested crop residues. Cut spears below the soil line during harvest. Water in the morning to allow plants time to dry off before nighttime.

Learn More

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 21 July 2005
Last Reviewed: 25 June 2010

Manuel du jardinier
Chapitre 4: Légumes
Asperge

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Criocère de l'asperge
  3. Rouille de l'asperge
  4. Liens connexes

Introduction

Le présent chapitre contient une description de divers ravageurs des cultures d'asperges ainsi que des conseils sur des méthodes de lutte excluant l'utilisation de pesticides. Le jardinier amateur peut encore se procurer certains biopesticides et pesticides à faible risque pour lutter contre les mauvaises herbes et les ravageurs des pelouses et des jardins. Pour avoir plus d'information, voir le Chapitre 2 de ce manuel et le site Web du ministère de l'Environnement. Pour obtenir des conseils sur la lutte contre certains ravageurs ou mauvaises herbes en particulier, s'adresser à un horticulteur, à un maître jardinier ou à un centre de jardinage de votre localité.

Criocère de l'asperge

Les criocères de l'asperge ravagent parfois les asperges parvenues au stade de rameaux plumeux et de pointes. Il y a deux espèces de criocères, l'une orangée avec des points noirs, l'autre bleu noir métallique avec six points jaunes; les deux mesurent 0,5 cm de longueur. Les larves, vert olive ou gris foncé, sortent d'œufs foncés en forme d'ogive qui sont très visibles sur les turions en croissance, à la fin mai et au début de juin.

Méthodes de lutte

Dans les petites plantations, ramasser les adultes à la main et les tuer. Couper et détruire toutes les pointes qui portent des œufs. Faire tomber les œufs, les larves et les adultes avec un fort jet d'eau. Détruire les asperges sauvages présentes à proximité, qui peuvent héberger des criocères. Éliminer les feuilles mortes.

Rouille de l'asperge

La rouille de l'asperge se manifeste vers la fin du printemps sous forme de lésions ovales, vert pâle, légèrement surélevées, qui finissent par virer à l'orangé crémeux puis au brun rouge avant de se fendiller. Les infections graves freinent la croissance, affaiblissent les plants et peuvent même tuer les turions.

Méthodes de lutte

Choisir des variétés tolérant la maladie. Éliminer et détruire les résidus de récoltes infestées. À la récolte, couper les pointes sous le niveau du sol. Arroser le matin pour permettre aux plantes de sécher avant la tombée de la nuit.

Liens connexes


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 16 juin 2010
Dernière révision : 9 août 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca