The Online Gardener's Handbook 2010
Chapter 4: Vegetables
Potato

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Anthracnose
  3. Colorado Potato Beetles and Blister Beetles
  4. Common Scab
  5. Early Blight
  6. Hollow Heart
  7. Late Blight
  8. Leafhoppers
  9. Learn More

Introduction

Always plant certified seed potatoes. Saving potatoes from previous crops can introduce viruses or other diseases into your garden, which remain in the soil and infect plants for years. Do not use table potatoes purchased from the supermarket. They are often treated to prevent sprouting and will not develop into good plants.

In this chapter, a description of various potato pests will be provided along with suggested management options. These management options will not include the use of pesticides. Some biopesticides and certain reduced risk pesticides are still available to the homeowner for controlling weeds and pests in lawns and gardens. For more information, refer to Chapter 2 of this handbook and the Ministry of the Environment's website. For suggestions on managing specific weeds and pests, consult local horticulturalists, Master Gardeners or your local garden supply centre.

Anthracnose

Anthracnose fungi persist in soil and crop residue and start below the soil surface on potato, causing brown dead areas along, and sometimes completely girdling, the stem. The tubers are infected causing black dots oin the outer skin of potato and inside hollow stems.

Management Options

Rotate crops. Clean up plant residue when digging potatoes to prevent overwintering of spores.

Colorado Potato Beetles and Blister Beetles

For information and management options, refer to the Colorado Potato Beetle section in Insects and Diseases Affecting Many Vegetables.

Common Scab

Common scab is a disease caused by soil-dwelling, bacteria-like organisms. Roughened, sunken or upraised discoloured patches occur on potato tubers. Deep pits on tubers are created when insects attack early infections. Neutral to alkaline soil pH, fresh manure and infected potato seed promote this disease.

Management Options

Check seed for symptoms of scab prior to planting - destroy any diseased seed. Keep soil pH at or below 5.2. Use well-rotted manure and certified seed potatoes. Avoid growing susceptible crops for at least three years in soil where scab has been a problem. Plant scab-resistant potato varieties such as Ontario, Superior, Onaway, Russet Burbank (Netted Gem), Norchip, and Sebago. Maintain high soil moisture for about four weeks after tuber setting begins.

Early Blight

Early blight is a fungal disease occurs annually in most of Ontario by midsummer. Large, brown target spots with concentric rings appear on older leaves and spread to younger ones. Lesions are frequently surrounded by a narrow yellowish border. Potato tubers or tomato fruit are rarely affected, but if the calyx of the tomato is infested, fruit will drop before ripening. If infected, tubers develop dark brown to black, slightly sunken external lesions. The fungus overwinters on diseased residue.

Management Options

Follow proper garden sanitation procedures. Avoid overhead watering and remove and destroy crop debris after harvest. Vigorous plants are less susceptible.

To control leafhoppers, Colorado potato beetles and blister beetles as well as early blight and late blight diseases without pesticides, plant early or medium-early varieties of potatoes. Presprout seed potatoes in trays under light during April and plant in early May. An acceptable crop can be harvested by mid-July, before extensive development of the blight.

Hollow Heart

Hollow heart is an abiotic disorder that can affect large potato tubers. When cut in half, the centre of the tuber shows an irregular hollow area. This cavity is usually outlined in brown, and if the cracks originating at the cavity extend to the surface, the tuber may rot. As a rule, there is no decay involved and the tubers may be used with a little extra trimming.

Management Options

Any condition such as over fertilizing that induces over-sized tubers can cause hollow heart. Closer spacing, less nitrogen and less water will aid in avoiding this disorder. Avoid over-watering when potatoes are sizing. Severity will vary from year to year depending on growing conditions. This condition is favoured by cool, wet soil conditions at flowering.

Late Blight

Late blight is a fungal disease that occurs under wet, cool weather conditions during late August and September. It is usually worse on low-lying, wet land and heavier clay or clay loam soil. Initially, small light to dark green water soaked spots develop on the leaves, and eventually become grey to tan, surrounded by a light green halo. Under humid conditions (e.g. early morning), a white, fuzzy fungal growth often develops on the underside of the leaf. Lesions on tubers are brown to purple and slightly sunken, with a reddish brown rot developing under the skin. Eventually, the entire tuber can rot from a combination of the blight and secondary bacterial infections. The disease originates from infected seed potatoes. Late blight has the potential to be an extremely destructive disease of potatoes in Ontario. This disease can also affect tomatoes, and late blight can be introduced to gardens on infected tomato transplants.

Management Options

Use only certified seed. Destroy volunteer potatoes and control host weeds growing nearby. Ensure plants can dry quickly - avoid overhead watering, water early in the day, do not crowd plants and plant in a sunny spots. Check plants regularly - at least twice a week. Destroy tubers showing dark spots when cutting seed potatoes. Do not compost. For tomatoes, remove and destroy lower infected leaves. Widely space, prune and stake tomato plants. Once the disease shows on leaves, it spreads rapidly. Harvest the potatoes immediately, if infected in late summer, by cutting stems at ground level and waiting two weeks before digging to allow vines to completely dry so fungus spores are not sprinkled on potatoes. If contact is made, potatoes will rot in storage. Vines can be placed on compost. During digging, discard and destroy tubers with brown spots under skin - do not store infected tubers.

Late blight can be introduced to gardens on infected tomato transplants and infected seed potatoes. Inspect all tomato transplants and seed potatoes for signs of disease before planting. Do not plant any diseased plant material. Destroy all transplants and seed potatoes showing symptoms.

To help control late blight, plant early or medium-early varieties of potatoes. Presprout seed potatoes in trays under light during April and plant in early May. An acceptable crop can be harvested by mid-July, before extensive development of the blight. This will work only if the seed potatoes are not themselves infected with the disease.

Leafhoppers

The leafhoppers affecting potato are pale green and about 3 mm long. For more information and additional management options, refer to Chapter 1 and Chapter 4.

Management Options

To help control leafhoppers, Colorado potato beetles and blister beetles as well as early blight and late blight diseases, plant early or medium-early varieties of potatoes. Presprout seed potatoes in trays under light during April and plant in early May. An acceptable crop can be harvested by mid-July, before insects have caused such extensive foliage damage that no further tuber growth is possible.

Learn More

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 21 July 2005
Last Reviewed: 25 June 2010

Manuel du jardinier
Chapitre 4: Légumes
Pomme de terre

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Anthracnose
  3. Doryphore de la pomme de terre et méloé
  4. Gale commune
  5. Brûlure alternarienne
  6. Cœur creux
  7. Mildiou
  8. Cicadelles
  9. Liens connexes

Introduction

Toujours cultiver des pommes de terre de semence certifiées. En conservant celles des récoltes précédentes, on risque d'introduire dans le jardin des maladies virales et autres qui peuvent rester dans le sol et produire des infections pendant des années. Ne pas utiliser de pommes de terre achetées à l'épicerie. Elles produisent rarement de bons plants, parce qu'on les traite souvent pour éviter la germination.

Ce chapitre contient une description de divers ravageurs des pommes de terre ainsi que des conseils sur diverses méthodes de lutte excluant l'utilisation de pesticides. Les jardiniers amateurs peuvent encore se procurer certains biopesticides et certains pesticides à faible risque pour lutter contre les mauvaises herbes et les ravageurs des pelouses et des jardins. Pour avoir plus d'information, voir le Chapitre 2 de ce manuel et le site Web du ministère de l'Environnement. Pour obtenir des conseils sur la lutte contre certains ravageurs ou mauvaises herbes en particulier, s'adresser à un horticulteur, à un maître jardinier ou à un centre de jardinage de votre localité.

Anthracnose

Le champignon de l'anthracnose persiste dans le sol et les résidus de culture, et commence à attaquer la pomme de terre sous la surface du sol, laissant des zones nécrosées brunes le long de la tige, ou la ceinturant parfois complètement. Les tubercules infectés ont des points noirs sur la peau et sur les tiges creuses.

Méthodes de lutte

Pratiquer la rotation des cultures. Bien nettoyer les résidus végétaux au moment de déterrer les pommes de terre afin d'éviter que les spores puissent y passer l'hiver.

Doryphore de la pomme de terre et méloé

Pour trouver de l'information sur les méthodes de lutte, voir sous Ravageurs et maladies touchant de nombreux légumes, la partie qui traite du doryphore.

Gale commune

La gale commune est une maladie causée par des organismes terricoles semblables à des bactéries. Elle se manifeste par des plaques rugueuses, renfoncées ou surélevées et décolorées à la surface des tubercules. Lorsqu'ils attaquent les infections hâtives, les insectes pratiquent de profondes perforations dans les tubercules. Les sols au pH neutre à alcalin, l'application de fumier frais et l'utilisation de semences de pommes de terre infectées sont des conditions propices à cette maladie.

Méthodes de lutte

Avant la mise en terre, rechercher les symptômes de gale sur les semences et détruire celles qui sont atteintes. Maintenir le pH à 5,2 ou moins. Utiliser du fumier bien décomposé et des semences certifiées. S'abstenir de planter les cultures sensibles dans les sols où la gale a sévi il y a trois ans ou moins. Il existe plusieurs variétés de pommes de terre qui résistent à la gale, notamment Ontario, Superior, Onaway, Russet Burbank (Netted Gem), Norchip et Sebago. Garder le sol très humide pendant environ quatre semaines lorsque les tubercules commencent à se développer.

Brûlure alternarienne

La brûlure alternarienne est une maladie fongique qui revient chaque année, vers le milieu de l'été, dans la plupart des régions de l'Ontario. De grosses taches brunes bordées d'anneaux concentriques apparaissent sur les feuilles les plus vieilles et s'étendent ensuite aux plus jeunes. Ces lésions sont souvent entourées d'une étroite bordure jaune. Les pommes de terre et les tomates elles mêmes sont rarement touchées, mais si la fleur a été infectée, la tomate tombera avant de mûrir. Sur les tubercules infectés, il se forme des lésions externes brunes ou noires légèrement enfoncées. Le champignon en cause hiverne sur les résidus infectés.

Méthodes de lutte

Entretenir rigoureusement le jardin. Éviter l'arrosage par aspersion en hauteur, enlever et détruire les débris végétaux après la récolte. Les plants vigoureux sont moins sensibles.

Pour combattre les cicadelles, les doryphores de la pomme de terre et les méloés ainsi que la brûlure septorienne et le mildiou, on peut planter des variétés hâtives et semi hâtives en avril, faire germer des pommes de terre de semence dans des plateaux non recouverts et exposés à la lumière et mettre les plants en pleine terre au début de mai. On obtient ainsi une récolte acceptable dès la mi juillet, avant que la brûlure ou le mildiou fasse trop de dégâts.

Cœur creux

Le cœur creux est une maladie abiotique qui intéresse les gros tubercules de pomme de terre. Le centre du tubercule coupé en deux est percé d'une cavité irrégulière habituellement entourée de brun. Si les fissures partant de la cavité s'étendent jusqu'à la surface, le tubercule peut pourrir. De façon générale, les tubercules ne se décomposent pas et peuvent être consommés une fois les parties endommagées enlevées.

Méthodes de lutte

Une surfertilisation ou tout autre facteur pouvant entraîner la croissance de tubercules surdimensionnés peut causer la maladie du cœur creux. Dans une certaine mesure, on peut prévenir ce phénomène en resserrant les plants et en réduisant les quantités d'azote et d'eau. Ne pas trop arroser pendant que les tubercules grossissent. La gravité de cette maladie varie d'année en année selon les conditions de croissance. Le temps froid et l'humidité du sol au moment de la floraison favorisent son apparition.

Mildiou

Le mildiou est une maladie fongique qui se produit par temps humide et frais, à la fin août et en septembre. Il est généralement plus présent dans les terres basses et humides où le sol est lourd (argile ou limon argileux). Sur les feuilles, il apparaît d'abord de petites taches gorgées d'eau, vert clair ou foncé, qui finissent par devenir grises ou rousses et entourées d'une auréole vert clair. Par temps humide (p. ex. tôt le matin), une moisissure blanche et diffuse apparaît souvent sur la face inférieure des feuilles. Sur les tubercules, les lésions sont brunes ou violettes et légèrement enfoncées, et une pourriture brun rougeâtre se forme sous la pelure. Le tubercule peut finir par pourrir entièrement sous l'effet combiné du mildiou et d'infections bactériennes secondaires. La maladie prend sa source dans les semences infectées. Le mildiou peut faire des dommages extrêmement importants dans les cultures de pommes de terre de l'Ontario. Il touche également les tomates, et il peut entrer dans les jardins sur des plants de tomates à repiquer.

Méthodes de lutte

Ne planter que des semences certifiées. Détruire les pommes de terre qui poussent spontanément et éliminer les mauvaises herbes (hôtes) qui se trouvent à proximité de la culture. S'assurer que les plants s'assèchent rapidement; éviter l'arrosage par aspersion en hauteur, arroser au début de la journée, espacer suffisamment les plants et placer la culture dans un endroit ensoleillé. Inspecter les plants à intervalle régulier, au moins deux fois par semaine. Jeter tous les tubercules de pommes de terre de semence qui présentent des taches ou des points foncés lorsqu'on les tranche. Ne pas les jeter au compost. Sur les plants de tomates, enlever et détruire les feuilles inférieures infectées. Espacer suffisamment les plants de tomates, les tailler et les tuteurer. Une fois que la maladie est apparue sur les feuilles, elle se propage rapidement. Récolter les pommes de terre immédiatement; si l'infection apparaît la la fin de l'été, couper les tiges au niveau du sol et attendre deux semaines avant de creuser, pour permettre aux tiges de s'assécher complètement. On évite ainsi de déverser les spores sur les tubercules, à défaut de quoi ceux ci pourrissent à l'entreposage. Les tiges peuvent être compostées. Tout en déterrant les tubercules, jeter et détruire ceux qui présentent des taches sous la peau, et ne pas entreposer ceux qui sont infectés.

Le mildiou peut entrer dans les jardins sur les pommes de terre de semence et les plants de tomates à repiquer qui sont infectés. Avant la mise en terre, inspecter tous les plants et les tubercules pour trouver les signes de maladie. Ne pas mettre en terre ceux qui sont infectés, et détruire tous ceux qui présentent des symptômes de la maladie.

Pour prévenir le mildiou, planter des variétés de pommes de terre hâtives ou semi hâtives. Faire germer les semences au préalable dans des plateaux sous éclairage en avril et les repiquer en pleine terre au début de mai. Il est possible d'obtenir une récolte acceptable vers la mi juillet, avant toute propagation importante du mildiou. Cette méthode ne donne des résultats que si les semences n'étaient pas infectées elles mêmes.

Cicadelles

Les cicadelles qui s'attaquent aux pommes de terre sont vert pâle et mesurent environ 3 mm de longueur. Pour plus d'information, et pour connaître d'autres méthodes de lutte, voir les parties indiquées ci dessous.

Méthodes de lutte

Pour prévenir les cicadelles, les doryphores de la pomme de terre, les méloés, la brûlure septorienne et le mildiou, planter des variétés de pommes de terre hâtives ou semi hâtives. La germination préalable des pommes de terre de semence en avril dans des plateaux non recouverts et exposés à la lumière permet de mettre les plants en pleine terre au début de mai et d'obtenir une récolte acceptable dès la mi juillet, avant que les insectes aient eu le temps de détruire tout le feuillage et de freiner ainsi la croissance des tubercules.

Liens connexes


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 16 juin 2010
Dernière révision : 9 août 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca